We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hotel Tree of Life

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Hotel Tree of Life
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

201 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 136: English reviews
Start your review of Hotel Tree of Life
 Click to rate
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Reviewed 6 days ago NEWvia mobile

I visited this place with my family. This is one of the oldest hotel in Kandy. This is a nature resort and if you want to enjoy nature this is the place . The hotel is bit old and hence need a facelift , however it has all the amnesties required . There is well maintained garden with walkways and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mahesh9910
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We arrived to the hotel tired and in need of comfort. Although the grounds of the hotel were beautiful, our room was less so. The air conditioning was old and not very effective. There were a lot of bugs and lizards in the room during our stay and the bath was dirty. There was no wifi in the rooms, only...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jegallag
Kandy, Sri Lanka
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

One of the best places that I have Visited.Good place to be if you are a nature lover.Friendly staff always with a smile in their faces, Food is tasty and rooms are very comfortable.Surrounding is amazing.Good place to relax :)

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nim L
Roshan R, Front Office Manager at Hotel Tree of Life, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, Thank you for your review on Trip Adviser. it was great to see your positive comment. To receive a great comment from satisfied customer is our goal. I am sure our team is looking forward to see a positive comment always. I will share this with our team. Thank you once again for being with us and look...

New Delhi, India
Reviewed 19 March 2017

I opted for this Tree of Life hotel because of it's peaceful green environ, & it came out fulfilling. It has spacious rooms, delicious multi-cuisine food, & prompt service. The only minor lacune was it's poor wi-fi.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank deep_pacific
Roshan R, Front Office Manager at Hotel Tree of Life, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, Thank you for your comment of TripAdvisor. it was pleasure to see your positive comment.Positive comment from a satisfied customer is always our goal. I will share your comment with the team and I am sure they will love to see your positive comment. Thank you once again for being with us and hope to well come you...

Petah Tiqwa, Israel
Reviewed 17 March 2017

We had a reservation for 2 nights. We were a couple, a part of a group and we've arrived to this resort hotel in the evening after a very long and tiring day. We've received a key to our room and went to refresh a bit before dinner (The room was down the trail). The room we got had 3...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AOIGold
Roshan R, Front Office Manager at Hotel Tree of Life, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, Thank you for taking your time to review on TripAdvisor. We are sorry of the inconvenient caused during your recent visit to us. We have taken all your concern areas and taking immediate action to attend those areas. With regards to the hot water,telephone and wifi yes we had a big issue the day you arrive. We had...

Nugegoda, Sri Lanka
Reviewed 15 March 2017

You have a choice for deluxe rooms, chalets or super luxury villas. So many things to do from mountain biking, birdwatching, Ayurveda, adventure walk, fishing, swimming etc. And also very friendly staff and excellent care by them. It's a huge 65 acre land to enjoy nature!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ruwan H
Chandigarh, India
Reviewed 20 February 2017

I must say the Hotel is nothing less than SUPERB!!!! Away from city and situated at 500 mts. above sea level plus with 65 acre property and all covered with trees is the place where you can think to stay. The Hotel name speaks for itself Tree of life meaning tree is our life and if we cut them down...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Raman271985
Roshan R, Front Office Manager at Hotel Tree of Life, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, Thank you for taking your valuable time to review us on tripadvisor. It was pleasure to see your positive comment on tripadvisor. We are happy too since you had wonderful holiday with us. We love the nature and we always put our 100% to protect it for the next generation. It good to hear that you enjoyed with...

Farnham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 January 2017

We stayed as a family group in December and much enjoyed our stay. The rooms in the upper area were very good, through the bathrooms needed some repair etc. We found the food excellent and the chef was happy to provide plain meals for the children. Early mornings my wife and I went birdwatching with good sightings both within the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 365Robert
Roshan R, Front Office Manager at Hotel Tree of Life, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, Thank you for your comment on tripadvisor. It was pleasure to see that you had wonderful time with us during your recent visit to Tree of life. Positive feedback from satisfied clients is our greatest reward for us. I will share your positive comment with the team and I am sure they will be glad to hear this....

Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewed 16 January 2017 via mobile

Tucked away in the greenery, Tree of Life is a complete surprise package. With plants and trees all around, the place provides a great ambience. Rooms are large and well maintained. The breakfast and dinner buffets are arranged in a quaint poolside restaurant.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Abhilasha S
Roshan R, Front Office Manager at Hotel Tree of Life, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, Thank you for your positive comment on Tripadvisor. It was happy to hear that you have enjoyed our nature. We always love our nature and we do lot of activities to protect if for the future. I will shire your comment on the food and accommodation with the others. I am sure the positive comment always give them...

Bengaluru, India
Reviewed 10 January 2017

Awesome place...quaint and has a traditional facade. Neatly tucked away from the main streets yet very accessible. Spacious rooms with excellent view. Breakfast venue is appealing but very basic fare.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank reeman2017

147 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (144)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (28)
Viewed
Room/Suite (25)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (75)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Malagammana
8.1 km away
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
#8 of 53 in Kandy
915 reviews
5.5 km away
Earl's Regent Hotel
Earl's Regent Hotel
#9 of 53 in Kandy
689 reviews
11.1 km away
Earl's Regency
Earl's Regency
#1 of 1 in Tennekumbura
1,890 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 km away
Cinnamon Citadel Kandy
6.8 km away
Sevana City Hotel
Sevana City Hotel
#4 of 53 in Kandy
671 reviews
7.2 km away
View 360
View 360
#27 of 53 in Kandy
26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Hotel Tree of Life is a Nature Resort and it is half an hour drive from Kandy Town. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel Tree of Life

Address: Yahalatenna, Barigama, Malagammana ky20234, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Malagammana
Price Range: $90 - $170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Tree of Life 3.5*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Tree of Life reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tree Of Life Hotel
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel Tree of Life staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Hotel Tree of Life staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Chalets: separated, super privacy, affordable Villas: super luxury, quite expensive Deluxe rooms: in a storied building”
RuwanH, 15 Mar 2017 | Read review
“We stayed in the rooms above the dining room/swimming area. Probably better that those lower down”
365Robert, 20 Jan 2017 | Read review
“wifi connection to be improved.”
362thusharaa, 27 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Check WiFi reception and bed quality before settling in.”
Seshadri_iyer, 3 Dec 2016 | Read review
“The rooms at the top of the hill gives you easy access to the restaurant, rest you might have to walk a bit.”
PranabKhar, 11 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5