We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Mansion

04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
No availability for your dates from these sites
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Management photos
The Mansion
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

294 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Mansion
See the most recent reviews
Showing 242: English reviews
Ilkley, West Yorkshire
Reviewed 29 July 2011

We stayed at this hotel in April and was surprised at first where it was located (down a bumpy track that makes you feel like you're in the middle of no where). Once you get your bearings however, you will realise you are only a 20min tuc, tuc ride from town at a cheap price. The staff at this hotel...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank chelrisla
North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 July 2011

Lovely old colonial house rooms were very comfortable and staff were very attentive. I must say one thing though the pool was a bit dirty and the children's play ground really needs fixing other then that we had a lovely stay .

 Report
Helpful?
Thank liyanahay
London
Reviewed 23 June 2011

I booked this hotel based on Trip Advisor reviews and couldn't believe how cheap it was. Having stayed there I think they should charge more and improve facilities. The service and food couldn't be faulted and our room was lovely. But there were tiny ants running all over our bed, there was no protection between the sheet and the mattress,...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank AliceCristal
Dhanuka, General Manager at The Mansion, responded to this review

Dear Sir/Madam, Thank you for visiting us and for your review. I think the way you feel about our rate is due to our policy of charging locals and foreigners equally. Regarding the swimming pool we experienced a major leakage last couple of months and we had some difficulties cleaning. To be frank being a pool surrounded with trees we...

Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewed 19 June 2011

We have visited The Mansion ending our three week Sri Lanka journey. Such a good, friendly and hospital place! Luxurous, stylish, very friendly management and staff, spacious rooms and good food.... at least the rice & curries we had, as well as the Sri Lankan breakfasts. We stayed for four nights and will certainly be back on our next Sri...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Joondaan
Nuneaton
Reviewed 4 June 2011

As others have said, the house is hard to find. However we had a car and driver, who rang ahead to get directions. It is a very interesting, historic place to stay and the communal areas are impressive. The staff were polite and helpful. The food was good and inexpensive, and the staff were obliging over providing vegetarian food. However...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank dhw77
Bengaluru, India
Reviewed 22 May 2011

We landed at around 8 PM. Our bookings were ready and we were taken to our rooms.Rooms were airy with large windows. This property is a very old one, was a house which has been converted to a hotel. Food was quite good. Charges reasonable.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ms27sud
London
Reviewed 18 May 2011

Please give this place a look, its such a fantastic colonial house in fantastic ground and the staff were amazing - any problems we may have had were dealt with quickly and with a genuine friendly attitude. The hotel is located a little outside Kandy so you would need to get a tuc tuc or a driver. Also the only...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SharonODubai
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Reviewed 2 May 2011

The Mansion is a British Colonial Bungalow been converted into a 11 room hotel. The property has no feel of an hotel but is more like a rich guest house. The management team led by Pulasti is very efficient and takes great effort in ensuring you have a good comfortable stay at the Mansion. We were lucky to be there...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kapsi
Midlands England
Reviewed 13 April 2011

I stayed at the Mansion for 2 nights with my sister in 2010 and we went back again in March 2011 for 3 nights. It still was not enough time. The building is beautiful, set in the most amazing surroundings. I feel I could just stay there all day every day relaxing and taking in the clean air. Every time...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Gish2
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 April 2011

What a fabulous find away from it all! Although it's 11km from Kandy, it's well worth the journey. The rooms are basic but very clean(but what you expect knowing M Gandhi stayed here in 1928!) the staff are very welcoming and make you feel as if you're the lady of the manor. Recommend this to anyone who wants to soak...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank belgianbun

231 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (221)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (63)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Dining (25)
Viewed
Room/Suite (28)
Viewed
View from Room (12)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (15)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (7)
Viewed
3:47
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (61)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (3)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aladeniya
18.2 km away
Madulkelle Tea and Eco Lodge
7.6 km away
Elephant Stables
Elephant Stables
#2 of 54 in Kandy
501 reviews
2.9 km away
Manor House Kandy
Manor House Kandy
#25 of 54 in Kandy
173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.5 km away
Earl's Regency
Earl's Regency
#1 of 2 in Tennekumbura
1,915 reviews
9.8 km away
Theva Residency
Theva Residency
#1 of 1 in Hantana
601 reviews
8.1 km away
The Secret Kandy
The Secret Kandy
#13 of 54 in Kandy
245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast included
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Mansion was built in the 1920s by Punchi Banda Nugawela, Diyawadana Nilame, of the "Temple of The Tooth' in Kandy. He was a chieftain in Kandy who was believed to have lived a lavish lifestyle during the early 20th century. The designer of this architectural masterpiece is fully European and the architect still remains a mystery. In 1999 Mr. Rathnapala Marawanagoda, the last resident, decided to convert the villa into a hotel. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Mansion

Address: 213 Kurunegala Road, Aladeniya 20000, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Kandy District > Aladeniya
Price Range: $60 - $94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
The Mansion Hotel Kandy
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Mansion staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from The Mansion staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All rooms are good and they will add an extra bed if there are three people staying together.”
MCH1963, 5 Mar 2014 | Read review
“We had the room upstairs with the huge freestanding bath, lovely”
sasha026, 15 Feb 2014 | Read review
“think there all pretty good”
escobarluca, 2 Feb 2014 | Read review
“My only tip: make sure you get a room upstairs, not down. The ground floor is a little damp and darker than the bright and airy upstairs.”
VanRin, 12 Jan 2014 | Read review
“We loved the room with the sitting area at the front of the building.”
lynatbello, 30 Nov 2013 | Read review
5 of 5