Grassroots Wayanad, Valley-view Tents

Grassroots Wayanad, Valley-view Tents

Koilery Kunnu via Pinangode Pozhuthana Post, Kalpetta 673575 India
Traveller (301)
Dining (27)
Room & Suite (17)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Did you already book this hotel?

About

4.5
#6 of 31 guest houses in Kalpetta
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Value
Grassroots is at the foothills of the Vythiri ranges with the majestic Chembra peak to the left and the Banasura/Kuruchermala to the right. The property straddles a tea estate and has a swift flowing river with a Pannia (a tribe found in Kerala & Tamil Nadu) colony at the edge of the river. Set on a three acre slope of coffee, areca nut and pepper, Grassroots overlooks the tea plantations planted during the colonial era. A quaint stream below forms a general area of activity for the scattered population of tribals and other residents. The Banasura range of mountains beyond completes the picture, making it truly magical. Accommodation is in Luxury Swiss tents, spacious and plush with every amenity that the discerning traveler would want.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free breakfast
Restaurant
Room features
Flatscreen TV
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Modern
Mid-range
230Reviews6Q+A68Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 147
  • 60
  • 11
  • 4
  • 8
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Arun wrote a review Feb 2023
Ooty (Udhagamandalam), India
5.0 of 5 bubbles
What else can I say but wow. Superlatives fall short of adequately capturing our experience at Grassroots. Vineeth thoroughly briefed us on everything, including the best places to see and how to reach them.
Our Luxury Eco Tent exceeded all expectations by a long shot. It had a magnificent king bed, a stunning complete bathroom, a lounge area, and a dressing area.
Every morning throughout our stay, a wonderful breakfast was also provided.

The entire crew was outstanding. You must stay here if you can afford it.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Rachel Ravi, General Manager at Grassroots Wayanad, Valley-view Tents
Responded Feb 15, 2023
Dear Sir, A welcome review indeed. Boutique properties as ours, especially one that does Glamping... Glamorous camping in the hills of Wayanad.. often get clientele whose expectations vary & are unhappy. We are delighted when our guests understand the concept & our ethos & allow themselves to submerge in the beauty of the land, the picturesque Tea, coffee, spice plantations we are in..the authentic Kerala cuisine we dish up & mostly our genuine hospitality. Our high end tents are not cottages or hotel rooms, but beautiful spaces with luxury & convenience for every well tuned traveller. Do visit our other 3 properties under the brand Red Earth in Tadoba, Gokarna and Kabini Warm regards Team Grassroots 8884733188 8884733500
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Vikram K wrote a review Aug 2023
Bangalore, India
4.0 of 5 bubbles
1. Great location. Outskirts of Kalpetta. Close to the hills and tea estates.
2. Luxury tents pretty good. Had all facilities ac, tv, toilets etc. Very spacious and comfortable
3. Food good, but can have more options and quantity. Taste good
4. Ambience and hospitality - good. The staff are very helpful and hospitable

Negatives.
1. Lot of monkeys in the property. Wasn't able to sit out and enjoy the property.
2. Overpriced for the kind of facilities and meals provided
3. Could have more activities and engagement options inside/ outside the property.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2023
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: 1. Lots of monkeys which could be a bit inconvenient 2. Explore the surrounding places near the...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Big wheels wrote a review Mar 2015
Holt, United Kingdom
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We decided to book this accommodation after reading the positive comments left on trip advisor. This place is really worth visiting. The owner is a guy called Aditya who is a wealth of information regarding the surrounding area. He will recommend and organise any excursions you wish to attend making your stay as stress free and relaxed as can be. The meals are provided by a group of smashing guys who really know there stuff when it comes to hosting and cooking Kerelan cuisine. Set in a lush coffee plantation the tents reminded me slightly of the key camp french concept yet on a more smaller, private and personal scale. If you like to get close to nature then this is the place for you ! A very enjoyable experience in a beautiful and so far virtually unspoilt part of India.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2015Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
MytravelTales20 wrote a review Dec 2020
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Grassroots offers a good camping like experience for one night with tent cottages almost in middle of a forest. Rooms were clean, but amenities and service were a huge put off. Water bottles looked very shabby and unclean. Caretaker came across as an arrogant person who wanted to avoid any extra effort than minimum. For even something as simple as tea for the breakfast, he would reluctantly say I'll see if I can provide. We were a group of 3 families and he wouldn't be willing to serve in separate groups, rather insist everyone comes at once. Given the location of property the experience could have been much better with few improvements like better service, and additions like campfire , nearby treks.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Ravi redearth kabini, Owner at Grassroots Wayanad, Valley-view Tents
Responded Feb 20, 2021
The issues raised have been attended to We deeply regret the inconvenience caused Staff have been pulled up
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Abhinav wrote a review Aug 2022
1.0 of 5 bubbles
This is basically a cheap tenthouse for which they are charging hefty amount of money. Interestingly I found it so bad that today only I checked in but seeing the condition I want to make other people aware not to loose their hard earned money. The tenthouse has lot of insects including mosquitoes which makes your life hell...they have provided one mosquito repellent in the tent when asked for extra repellent they denied.
2) Light is too dim in the room.
3) Tent is at too much height making aged people very difficult to reach.
4) It is too far if you are coming from Bangalore in between you will find tremendous properties in Sultan Bathery, kalpetta etc.
5) AC is not working though weather does not demand it but when you are paying the money at least you should get all facilities.
6) Restaurant does not look like restaurant itself like how when we were child in school tables and chairs used to be their.
7) From the tent house to the restaurant distance is there it is very difficult to reach in night as proper lighting system is not there as well as proper stairs is also not there as I am accompanied by old age people they are finding this place very weird.
8) We are 3 people who have checked in for the third person they didn't even bother to provide Cot they have given a thin bedding put it on the floor and asked to sleep on that thin matress on the ground itself. Why the hell we should be paying such an amount if we have to sleep on the floor, such bad hospitality is not seen anywhere.
9) Now coming onto food served is ok type only. In breakfast they provided poori bhaji, bread jam and butter only so be ready to get shocked on this part also because they lack both quality and number of cuisines.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Rachel Ravi, General Manager at Grassroots Wayanad, Valley-view Tents
Responded Feb 15, 2023
Dear Sir, Grassroots is a glamping property. A boutique unit with no frills & yet has had excellent feedback from our International as well as well travelled Indian clientele. However this is not a property suited for those who are looking at a typical hotel/resort. It is a choice one needs to make after reading thoroughly on a property & also keeping in mind what one is looking for in a holiday. For those who have enjoyed, this property has had 5 star reviews. For those who are not into nature & do not comprehend glamping, this is a wrong choice. And ofcourse when a refund is denied, negative reviews are to be expected. Which is sad on the team that works hard to make guests comfortable & happy.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Abhishek wrote a review May 2022
1.0 of 5 bubbles
A Smelly tent with NO Light inside the room, NO Amenity, NO food . You have to order food and wait for at least 1-2 hour.. Be careful when you visit with your family.
There is no manager so don't expect much from helper. We left the property as we didn't find safe for kids.

Please see recent review before booking. we have done mistake as Goibibo have give false review in website. Before COVID this Place might be good but this is my review.

ONE more important thing i missed out..
1. You don't expect anything from owner of the property .. He don't bother for all
this this. He is not going to refund single rupee.
2. Goibibo website is for booking the site and surely not for solving the problem.
They clearly said we can't help on this, Thank you
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
1.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
1.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: smelly room, No light,
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Rachel Ravi, General Manager at Grassroots Wayanad, Valley-view Tents
Responded Feb 15, 2023
Dear Sir, Grassroots is a glamping property. A boutique unit with no frills & yet has had excellent feedback from our International as well as well travelled Indian clientele. However this is not a property suited for those who are looking at a typical hotel/resort. It is a choice one needs to make after reading thoroughly on a property & also keeping in mind what one is looking for in a holiday. For those who have enjoyed, this property has had 5 star reviews. For those who are not into nature & do not comprehend glamping, this is a wrong choice. And ofcourse when a refund is denied, negative reviews are to be expected. Which is sad on the team that works hard to make guests comfortable & happy.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Sudhindra wrote a review Mar 2015
Bangalore District, India
4.0 of 5 bubbles
The tents are in the middle of dense vegetation and very peaceful, the silence is broken only by the birds or a breeze. It is good place for a lazy vacation. The staff was very cordial and polite.The food was repetitive(Paneer for all the meals) and tasted fine(not great).

It is common to spot house lizards and rats in your tent . The place is in the middle of no where you cannot walk outside the property to buy any items if required.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2015
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
MiliC wrote a review Mar 2015
Bengaluru, India
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Red Earth Kabini and Grassroots have a tie up and unfortunately they both have problems. Many people from my office are not quite shocked paying the amount and then landing up in a room where the jacuzzi doesnt work. Here I shall outline the key factors why grassroots didnt impress me. The tents are very old, only tent no 4 has a good view but is without a tv and electric plugs not working. Tent no 1 is really bad with again no electric sockets working. Food is good only on the days when their are foreign guests around otherwise they will serve you only chicken. There are lot of insects in the tents and it is only not safe to walk around the property post sunset as leopards and sloth bear enter the property to hunt wild boars and have hunted two dogs of the hotel manager. Plantation walk is ok but nothing so extraordinary about as you will see a broken dilapidated iron bridge by walking quite a distance. Research well and prepare your own itinerary before you travel to north wayanad. Banasura sagar dam, pookut lake, lakkidi view point and thirunelli temple are worth visiting. Minimum of 4 days are required if you want to visit all these places. Muthunga forest is ok but useless if you want to visit for tigers. Dnt go to that stupid bamboo village, you can buy village handicrafts quite easily on the road to chembra peak. Yes dont miss chembra peàk. If you are not a trekker, walk only to the point where the watch tower is located. That is the beauty of wayanad. Grassroots doesnt have a reception. Staff is untrained but very well behaved. If you want to visit wayanad book for silverwoods or planet green plantation resort. They will not eat your head with excess of frank sinatra n other jazz that you already listen in your car while driving to office. The Manager is a whimsical man with a foreigner appeasement outlook. It was our first anniversary and grassroots verbally qouted that they will do something for us .....but didnt. If some money was thrusted in their mouth maybe they would done something....from being rustic it borders down to unkempt tents as the manager just hovers around the kitchen but doesnt even have a single look at the housekeeping. And forget any welcome drink or attention probably you will find the manager having ganja with the hippies.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2015Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: oChoose room four which has a view but no electric sockets or tv or wi fi. So forget abt charging...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from kuthanur, Owner at Grassroots Wayanad, Valley-view Tents
Responded Mar 11, 2015
We are deeply hurt by this vicious, unfounded and baseless review. We are deeply suspicious of the motives of this review. We initially thought that we would not respond to such trash, but our young team felt that we had to set the record straight , however defenceless we are against such wild insinuations Grass roots is run by Aditya who is the promoter /owner of this place and is a young budding entrepreneur, all of 23 years and his young team. It is driven by Adityas passion for his enterprise. Aditya is your Host, Friend, Guide, Manager and all rolled in one And to make such sweeping remarks ,without an iota of truth against a young lad is clearly uncalled for and smacks of vendetta Grass roots has 100% power back up and all tents have air conditioners, Fans, Electric Kettles, Mini Fridges And Cable TVS and much more. A plug point could have been loose, but to say that there is no provision to charge a phone, is ludicrous ,to say the least We do not differentiate between Indians and Foreigners and it is purely a figment of the reviewer’s imagination. We do not charge or cater to site seeing in Wayanad. It is purely the guests decision, if she wants to climb Chembra peak or otherwise or visit a Bamboo village or not. If a guest seeks our help we are always willing to help and guide. We have no comments to offer on the reviewer’s insight into wayanad and its places to visit. Music , food are all subject to each ones likes and we try and cater to all. And we are open to suggestions and request always We will take on board and act on all suggestions We request the guest not to to use this forum to promote other properties and this does make us wonder as to what the motives are Lastly , we request the reviewer not to make wild unsubstantiated allegations against any one
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Cobbyf wrote a review Feb 2018
London
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We had a delightful few days stay at Grassroots tented retreat in Wayanad. We loved it so much we extended our stay.

The place has a calming and relaxed atmosphere, set beautifully in a landscaped coffee plantation. It definately has that “getting away from it all” feeling.

The Rajastani boutique tents are well equipped with the best showers in India! They are strategically built so the balconies are at tree top level, giving that “tree house” vibe without the price tag... perfect for bird watching.

Nothing was ever too much to ask from Prajwal, the wonderful host; tailored dining requirements, beers on request, (free) guided walks in the tea plantations. You can also trek or bamboo raft, or just kick back and relax if you prefer. Even our onward accommodation booking was taken care of. We felt totally looked after.

Tequila, the resident dog, and her 2 pups greatly enhanced the enjoyment of our stay.

If you love nature, green spaces and tranquility, this is the place for you.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2018Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Hema_Gopal1995, Manager at Grassroots Wayanad, Valley-view Tents
Responded Feb 21, 2018
Greetings from Grass Roots, Wayanad !!! thank you for your positive comments. Along with my team, we certainly looking forward to welcoming your return in the very near future.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Globetrotteran wrote a review Apr 2015
3.0 of 5 bubbles
We have been to almost all places in Wayanad and have experience staying in more than 4 resorts by now. Being with my partner, this time I compromised myself to take a luxurious halt. Voraciously going through the tripadvisor reviews (after the booking was made), we were baffled reading one of the review by "Mili" with terrifying incidents and warnings about the resort. Still we decided to show in. Well, to say, the forest is indeed very far away from Grassroots and we could hardly find any wild animal nearby. Moreover it is a residential area. Usually tripadvisor reviews are very genuine and useful for globetrotters like me to find best place to stay. Kindly avoid reviews that bluff cooked up stories. Frankly speaking me and my wife had a pleasant experience with Grassroots. The cottage was indeed well maintained, neat and had a feel of a real tent with maximum amenities like AC, mini fridge, pedestrian fan, kettle etc. furnishings are very classic. The wash room and toilet is neat and hygienic. Had there been more choice of food in the resort kitchen I would have rated it 5/5...
Read more
Date of stay: April 2015Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Rupa asked a question Nov 2019
1 contribution
Do they allow unmarried couples?
Dipayan Saha asked a question Apr 2018
Hyderabad, India1 contribution
Is it a safe place to stay for couples?
Answer from Elza K
Tbilisi, Georgia1 contribution1 helpful vote
It seemed quite safe and comfortable to me.
Answer from Rachel Ravi
Mysuru (Mysore), India71 contributions6 helpful votes
Grassroots is a very private, boutique hotel with just 5 luxury Swiss tents. set in a coffee & spice plantation, overlooking acres of tea with a scenic river below & tall mountains all around..this unique property enjoys the weather of a hill station. The tents are extremely well maintained with all the needs of a discerning traveller. currently Wayanad enjoys cool days. please do check your weather forecast as weather can change. come prepared with walking shoes, light woollens, umbrella. please feel free to call us on 8884733188 for any query.
Answer from Rachel Ravi
Mysuru (Mysore), India71 contributions6 helpful votes
Thank you for your interest. we would be happy to connect with you and based on all your requirements, give you the best option. you could connect with us on 8884733188 or info@redearthkabini.in cheers, Team Red Earth
Vikram K wrote a tip Aug 2023
Bangalore, India9 contributions3 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"1. Lots of monkeys which could be a bit inconvenient 2. Explore the surrounding places near the property. 3. Parking is a bit of a hassle "
Read full review
Abhishek wrote a tip May 2022
1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"smelly room, No light,"
Read full review
Rupesh G wrote a tip Jun 2018
Vadodara, India1 contribution1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Lavish Tent rooms "
Read full review
Dipayan Saha wrote a tip Apr 2018
Hyderabad, India1 contribution
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"best views, quieter rooms, peace, serenity, forest, tents"
Read full review
Divya Lobo wrote a tip Dec 2017
Bengaluru, India139 contributions50 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Take the rooms closer to the gate so you have a shorter walk to the dining area/exit."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Kalpetta area.
PRICE RANGE
C$62 - C$84 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
IndiaKeralaWayanad DistrictKalpetta
NUMBER OF ROOMS
5
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Grassroots Wayanad, Valley-view Tents - UPDATED Prices, Reviews & Photos

Frequently Asked Questions about Grassroots Wayanad, Valley-view Tents
Which popular attractions are close to Grassroots Wayanad, Valley-view Tents?
Nearby attractions include Wayanad Tea Museum (1.7 km), Karalad Lake (5.1 km), and Karlad Lake (5.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Grassroots Wayanad, Valley-view Tents?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and free parking.
What food & drink options are available at Grassroots Wayanad, Valley-view Tents?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast and an on-site restaurant during their stay.
Is parking available at Grassroots Wayanad, Valley-view Tents?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Grassroots Wayanad, Valley-view Tents?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Coffee Grove Restaurant & Resorts - CG - Ala, Udupi Restaurant, and The Bungalow Restaurant.
Are there any historical sites close to Grassroots Wayanad, Valley-view Tents?
Many travellers enjoy visiting En Ooru Tribal Heritage Village (7.5 km).
All Kalpetta HotelsKalpetta Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in KalpettaHotels near Grassroots Wayanad, Valley-view Tents
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars