We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Hollow Bottom

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
The Hollow Bottom
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

196 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 195: English reviews
London
Level Contributor
90 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Great beer, good food, lovely staff: ok some of the rooms are "compact" and earplugs help if you're above the bar (!) -- but who cares: this is unfailingly excellent value in a delightful village in the Cotswolds where Hugh and Charlie and their staff always make you welcome.

Helpful?
Thank YetAnotherLondoner
Mandurama, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Have eaten here a few times and even stayed a few years ago. Always feel welcomed with delicious food and friendly staff, including some Aussies! Very popular spot with the tourists, even has a Beach Backyard for those occasional UK Summer days! Beautiful setting in the Cotswolds at Guiting Power.

Helpful?
Thank Sally G
TalkisGood, Owner at The Hollow Bottom, responded to this review

Thank you Sally for such a great review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your experience and great hospitality here at The Hollow Bottom. Hope to see you again soon. Hugh. More 

Malmo, Sweden
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 27 October 2016 via mobile

Had an amazing stay in this little gem.Food staff and rooms five star.The manager Hugh a fellow Scot was the perfect host although the chef cooked fantastic food looked a little untidy in his chefs uniform. Will definitely return again

Helpful?
Thank Gbrown45
TalkisGood, Owner at The Hollow Bottom, responded to this review

Graeme Brown, after all these years since our days at Motherwell College it is good to see you are still capable of winding up Charlie our "untidy Chef" and your best mate! Hope your place in Malmo "Drumbar Lilla Torg" is still flying and myself and Charlie will be over next Summer to celebrate you turning into an Old Man... More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2016

My boyfriend and I wanted a romantic night away and stumbled across this gem. It's in close driving distance to the Slaughters, Bourton on the Water and Stow on the Wold but we also liked that it was secluded in a small village. They automatically reserve a table in their restaurant for all guests which is appreciated. Once checking in... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank thesetwoeyes1
TalkisGood, Owner at The Hollow Bottom, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We're sorry you seemed to have issues with noise. We are a pub after all and there are times when it will be busy and noisy. We stop serving at 12.30 as per our license and the room has sound proofing floors and ceilings to try and eliminate the rare problem. We also offer two... More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 October 2016

Picked The Hollow Bottom at random really and what a great choice. Everything about it was just lovely, the staff were great, the location was perfect, the beer was lovely, the room was lovely and cosy and the food was fantastic. All in all a perfect little weekend break and we will be coming back.

Helpful?
1 Thank Tony G
TalkisGood, Owner at The Hollow Bottom, responded to this review

Thank you for randomly picking us Tony! We appreciate you taking the time the leave such a lovely review and we are very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay. Please do return soon, we look forward to it! Hugh. More 

Guernsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2016 via mobile

We stayed in Mrs Muck, a double room above the bar, on a Sunday night. The room was fairly small but perfectly comfortable and prettily furnished in creams, and had beautiful views front and back. The bathroom, including a good sized bath, was quite big with lots of hot water. We were welcomed warmly and enjoyed a bottle of wine... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank claireypurple
TalkisGood, Owner at The Hollow Bottom, responded to this review

What a lovely review, thank you! Thank you for taking the time to share your experience, we are delighted that you had such a lovely stay and enjoyed your room, food, service and surroundings. Please do pop in again if you are around the area! Hugh More 

Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2016

We stayed here for a night whilst walking the Gustav Holst Way. The setting and the village are very appealing but at £100 a night the accommodation is far too expensive for what is provided. We stayed in Bindaree which to my mind is a shed like after thought in the garden. The finish of the room is poor with... More 

Helpful?
5 Thank 709123
TalkisGood, Owner at The Hollow Bottom, responded to this review

Our apologies that you did not have the same experience of all our other happy guests. Bindaree ranges between £68 and £180 a night throughout the year and we think it is well worth it. We do have plans to improve the bathroom area, we hope you can return and check it out upon completion, maybe that will help you... More 

Inverurie, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2016 via mobile

Lovely evening meal ++++. Wonderful breakfast. Attentive staff ; friendly and welcoming. Stunning village that was so tranquil; wonderful for walking . Definitely recommend visiting this pub We were there mid week so can't comment on how busy it gets at the weekend.

Helpful?
3 Thank Blomk
TalkisGood, Owner at The Hollow Bottom, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review! We are delighted to hear that you had such an great time & experience. Thank you for the recommendation and please do return soon! See you then! Hugh. More 

Greater Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2016

Great place to stay. We stayed Bank Holiday weekend for one night en route to Cheltenham, there was live music at 'the beach' Friendly staff very helpful, nice atmosphere in the pub. Excellent dinner and breakfast. Would visit again,

Helpful?
3 Thank daver46361
TalkisGood, Owner at The Hollow Bottom, responded to this review

What a great review, thank you! I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and to hear that you would visit us again! It is great that you got to see the live music on the beach, what a great night that was. See you again! Hugh More 

Devon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2016

Back to stay on Earth Summit for the 4th time. A lovely relaxed break yet again for myself and my husband. A lovely room and breakfast and evening meal up to our expectations as usual. The staff are lovely and helpful and nothing was too much trouble. So glad we found this gem.

Helpful?
4 Thank Jan1301
TalkisGood, Owner at The Hollow Bottom, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave such a lovely review. We really appreciate it! So glad you enjoyed your stay for the 4th time! We do hope you return to our gem soon! We look forward to seeing you then. Hugh. More 

77 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (43)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (22)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (34)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Other (29)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Guiting Power
7.7 km away
The Slaughters Country Inn
The Slaughters Country Inn
#1 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
957 reviews
9.8 km away
Number Four at Stow and Cutler's Restaurant
Number Four at Stow and Cutler's...
#2 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
923 reviews
6.7 km away
Lords of the Manor Hotel
Lords of the Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in The Slaughters
984 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 km away
The Slaughters Manor House
The Slaughters Manor House
#2 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
463 reviews
11.9 km away
Ellenborough Park
Ellenborough Park
#2 of 22 in Cheltenham
1,130 reviews
13.6 km away
Redesdale Arms Hotel
Redesdale Arms Hotel
#1 of 3 in Moreton-in-Marsh
1,031 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Hollow Bottom is a beautiful, traditional 17th Century Inn. Recently refurbished to blend the rustic with the contemporary. We have 4 letting rooms, 3 above the bar area and 1 outside near the rear garden. The Hollow Bottom is a bustling, busy country pub and restaurant and therefore noise can be heard in all the bedrooms on occasions despite the heavy acoustic underlay. It is a great place to visit for a unique atmosphere in the most beautiful village in the world. Come and see for yourselves! ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Hollow Bottom

Address: Winchcombe Road, Guiting Power, Cheltenham GL54 5UX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Cheltenham > Guiting Power
Price Range: $113 - $197 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Hollow Bottom 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Book Direct Rooms, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your The Hollow Bottom reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hollow Bottom Hotel Guiting Power
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Hollow Bottom staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Mayenne, France

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from The Hollow Bottom staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Staying above the bar is very noisy but dont think it can be avoided.”
 of 5 bubbles thesetwoeyes1, 20 Oct 2016 | Read review
“The king and two doubles are in the main building above the bar; the twin is in a separate building in the garden and was quieter”
 of 5 bubbles Phil25, 19 May 2016 | Read review
“Annexe best for accessibility”
 of 5 bubbles Tram433, 12 May 2016 | Read review
“One of the bedrooms has a bathroom across the hall, it's OK but if you can get one of the other rooms it would make for a better experience.”
 of 5 bubbles CaterhamCSR, 6 May 2016 | Read review
“Eart Summit for couples is well appointed and spacious room with a great shower!”
 of 5 bubbles tonyj34, 28 Dec 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay