We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hatton Court Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Hatton Court Hotel
Hatton Court Hotel
Panoramas (11)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,213 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Hatton Court Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,207: English reviews
Tewkesbury, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 October 2014

Visited this lovely location for afternoon tea and it really couldn't have been any nicer. Super selection of finger sandwiches, cakes and scones. All were very tasty, especially the scones which were quite perfect. All in all it was really lovely and having been to other establishments for similar occasions, could really recommend it. Also a mention to the lovely...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank maNoble
Chloe G, Deputy Manager at Hatton Court Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write your review of Hatton Court. I'm delighted that you enjoyed your afternoon tea with us, I will ensure your kind comments are passed on to Chef and the rest of the team. I hope we can welcome you back to Hatton Court again.

Birmingham
Reviewed 27 October 2014 via mobile

I booked the hotel as a last minute birthday get away for me and my husband. On arrival we had a complimentary upgrade and a birthday card which was a nice touch. Very welcoming polite staff. We ate in the restaurant and had a lovely 3 course meal. The room was really nice and large, a little tired but understand...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cherina
Chloe G, Deputy Manager at Hatton Court Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write your review of Hatton Court. I'm delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for your kind comments. Our refurbishment has started and is due to be fully completed in the early part of the New Year. I hope that we can welcome you back to Hatton Court soon...

oxon
Reviewed 26 October 2014

We have stayed many times here and always best to get a refurbished room. Lovely meals beautifully cooked but after 3 courses I could have eaten more as the quantities were very small. Maybe they have a different chef? Very friendly attentive staff and everywhere lovely and clean. They still have the drab curtains which hopefully when all the refurbishment...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bobby18
Chloe G, Deputy Manager at Hatton Court Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time toy write your review of Hatton Court. I'm pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us again. Thank you for your kind comments regarding the staff, I will ensure that these are passed on to them. The refurbishment has started so hope we can welcome you back to Hatton Court soon Thank you again...

Cobourg, Canada
Reviewed 26 October 2014

We stayed two nights at this hotel and it was very disappointing. Their web site advertised two junior suites with sitting areas and that is what we booked. On arrival we were given a junior suite (room 6) which had a four poster bed but no sitting area. There was not even an armchair - just two upright chairs. I...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank William A
Chloe G, Deputy Manager at Hatton Court Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write your review of Hatton Court. Please would you contact me directly so I can discuss the issues with your stay with you. Many thanks Chloe

Bridgham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 October 2014

We are a well travelled couple who have experienced many hotels. We were concerned about comments on poor showers and shabby rooms. We found our room pleasant with great views. Yes it could do with a face lift, and this is happening soon. There was ample hot water for a relaxing bath. Breakfast was excellent . Dinner was delicious ....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Catherine Jane M
Chloe G, Deputy Manager at Hatton Court Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write your review of Hatton Court. I'm delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and will pass your kind comments on to all the staff. The refurbishment has started so I hope we can welcome you back to Hatton court soon.

Gloucester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 October 2014

I went back to the hotel for first time in 10 years for my birthday last weekend with my husband and son. The furnishings and decor looked tired and not the magical, attention to deail that the hotel had been. We ate in the brasserie and had a choice of menus so could have eaten in the restaurant if we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank twinksy
Chloe G, Deputy Manager at Hatton Court Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review - we have sent an email to you as below, but have not heard back from you. Thank you for taking the time to write, I am sorry our calls did not reach. I was aware of your sons unfortunate situation and the processes that subsequently followed. I think that my Deputy was not meaning...

Midlands
Reviewed 24 October 2014

Had a one night Secret Escapes deal with friends. The afternoon tea and tasting menu were very good. Breakfast ok, but bacon not well cooked. Staff were friendly and helpful. A good location for visiting Gloucester/Cheltenham and the Cotswolds. Let down by bathroom. The jacuzzi bath was badly scratched, grout in edge tiles black with mould and wooden shelf below...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Worcestertraveller25
Chloe G, Deputy Manager at Hatton Court Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write your review of Hatton Court. I'm pleased that overall you enjoyed your stay with us and that your Dinner and Afternoon Tea were good. My apologies that the Bacon at breakfast was not as well cooked as you would of liked, we would of course have changed this for you at the...

Bristol
Reviewed 20 October 2014

We were part of a larger party here to celebrate a 60th birthday. We stayed in room 24 which I assume was one of the cheapest as it could have done with refurbishment; it had threadbare carpets, peeling paint and smelt of drains unless we left the window open. Most of the hotel looked a bit like it had seen...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Lizzle7
Chloe G, Deputy Manager at Hatton Court Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write your review of Hatton Court. I'm sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your room. I agree that some of our rooms are staring to look a little tired but am pleased to say that a full refurbishment has started and due to be fully completed in the early part of...

Hereford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 October 2014

booked a weekend break for two with a buy a gift for two voucher. Hotel was lovely, we had a problem with our room when we arrived but it was quickly rectified and we were very happy with the room we were moved too, very comfortable bed, nice bathroom with whirlpool bath, mini bar, complimentary sparkling and still water and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank pauline o
Chloe G, Deputy Manager at Hatton Court Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write your review of Hatton Court, I'm really pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and that Reception dealt with the problem with the room quickly. I'm glad you liked your room and the facilities and that you found the staff to be helpful and friendly, I will pass on your feedback...

Leighton Buzzard, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 October 2014

My wife had been given a voucher for afternoon tea for mothers day and as were in the area Cheltenham we decided to use it at Hatton Court. Whilst were were the only ones having afternoon tea on Saturday October 18th 2014 it in no way detracted from the excellent service wer received and the appetising and well presented afternoon...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Barry W
Chloe G, Deputy Manager at Hatton Court Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write your review of Hatton Court. I'm delighted that you enjoyed your Afternoon Tea with us. I hope we can welcome you back again. Thank you again for your review

430 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (246)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (29)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (65)
Viewed
Bathroom (24)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Other (113)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (178)
Viewed
Amenities (5)
Viewed
Executive Double Room (25)
Viewed
Executive Room, Main House (27)
Viewed
Dining (23)
Viewed
Superior Double Room, East Wing (22)
Viewed
Superior Room, East Wing (24)
Viewed
The Hotel (52)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Upton St Leonards
2.0 km away
Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel
Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall ...
#1 of 2 in Upton St Leonards
745 reviews
8.9 km away
Hatherley Manor
Hatherley Manor
#1 of 1 in Down Hatherley
777 reviews
1.6 km away
Hallmark Hotel Gloucester
Hallmark Hotel Gloucester
#11 of 21 in Gloucester
1,470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.0 km away
Snooty Fox Hotel
Snooty Fox Hotel
#6 of 6 in Tetbury
627 reviews
5.3 km away
The Edward Hotel
The Edward Hotel
#8 of 21 in Gloucester
337 reviews
4.7 km away
Hotel Ibis Gloucester
Hotel Ibis Gloucester
#3 of 21 in Gloucester
1,052 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
‘Contemporary country house with the Cotswolds warmest welcome’ Set high on an escarpment overlooking the Severn Vale this 45 bedroom country house hotel lies between the Cathedral City of Gloucester and Regency Cheltenham. Hatton Court provides the right balance between traditional hotel service and all the benefits you would expect from a contemporary hotel. The Tara Restaurant is renowned locally. It is an ideal place from which to explore the Cotswolds. Hatton Court is a reassuring size; not large and impersonal, nor too small. As a former splendid Cotswold home the feeling is of being eminently comfortable as opposed to grand. Nothing is hurried. The reception is very much a lounge, with leather sofas, magazines and an open fireplace for those chillier days. Next door the bar is more a place to relax, take tea, read and talk than to rush. The care taken to prepare the food, combined with a smiling service, is complemented by the thought that has gone into creating the Tara Restaurant. Fully refurbished in late 2009 the natural colours and soft lighting make a relaxing environment for friends and relations to enjoy each other’s company. Private dining facilities are available in the equally well appointed Cotswold Room. The peace of the surrounding countryside and comfortable bedrooms, some with whirlpool baths, make for a good night’s sleep ready for another day exploring the Cotswolds. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hatton Court Hotel

Address: Upton Hill, Upton St Leonards, Gloucester GL4 8DE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Gloucester > Upton St Leonards
Price Range: $112 - $377 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hatton Court Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Hatton Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Hatton Court
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hatton Court Hotel staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Hatton Court Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Insist on a refurbished room”
 of 5 bubbles kennethsR6664MU, 13 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Our room was seperate from the hotel very quite considering there was a wedding in the main hotel.”
 of 5 bubbles 364WendyS, 12 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Avoid room 49 if you are tall.”
 of 5 bubbles llwchwr, 23 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Try and get in the old building...”
 of 5 bubbles P8519GNtomr, 19 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Larger rooms have jacuzzi bath”
 of 5 bubbles _ajghutch, 18 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5