We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Travelodge Gateshead

TravelodgeUS$56*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Management photos
Travelodge Gateshead
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

329 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Travelodge Gateshead
See the most recent reviews
Showing 328: English reviews
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 November 2016 via mobile

Stayed at the travelodge on the 10th November to the 12th excellent customer service from Justine would definitely recommend this hotel easy to get to the metro centre and Newcastle city centre . Clean and tidy free car park nice room hope to see Justine again when I come back thanks travelodge !!

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank mpmcgrath69
TravelodgeUK, Remy from the Social Media Team at Travelodge Gateshead, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback about our team member Justine. It will give us great pleasure in passing your kind comments onto our hotel team and we thank you for bringing your experience to our attention. We do hope you choose to visit Travelodge again soon.

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 November 2016

ideal for shopping and restaurants, the skiff inn has delicious food , two minute walk away the staff were very friendly , a lovely place to eat . frankie and bennie breakfast was lovely , good selection

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
 Report
Helpful?
2Thank J3755AOlindam
TravelodgeUK, Charlotte from The Social Media Team at Travelodge Gateshead, responded to this review

May we thank you for sharing your recent experience of our Gateshead Travelodge with us and taking the time to write your review. We are pleased to learn you were happy with the Hotel’s location and that your overall experience was a positive one. We aim to offer our guests great value stays in comfortable surroundings and we are happy...

Whitehaven, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 November 2016

Wound not recommend this hotel for a disabled person, totally unacceptable in these modern times. Disabled twin room - no handrails/grab rails in the bedroom, small bed, the bed was only 2.6 wide (adult is a size 12), support alarm other side of the room. Bed was in front of windows so you had to climb over the bed to...

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Q8566GMsandrac
TravelodgeUK, Nicolas from the Social Media team at Travelodge Gateshead, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are really sorry to hear that you had many issues during your stay with us. We strive to offer the best service possible for our guests so please accept our apologies that we did not succeed in doing so on this occasion. We have passed on your feedback to...

merseyside
Reviewed 4 November 2016 via mobile

Not much wrong with this place. I would highly recommend it. It's 10 minutes walk from the Metro centre, and has decent links to Newcastle. The room are like new and the breakfast very good. There is on site parking and the service at reception excellent.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank MrTwonky
TravelodgeUK, Shannon from the Social Media Team at Travelodge Gateshead, responded to this review

We would like to thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We are so pleased to hear that you were happy with the location of the Hotel and that your overall experience was a positive one. Your feedback is invaluable and a copy of your comments will be passed to the Hotel Manager. Thank you once again...

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 October 2016

Location is good, there's KFC just opposite, TGI Fridays, and located near to superstore. ASDA is nearby so if you need to top up petrol no need to worry, but just take note, the ASDA there is not 24 hours although it's signs says so. Room is great, good value considering we didn't have reservation online, just go there, ask...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank KDH1976
Stamford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 October 2016 via mobile

Warm welcome on arrival, clean and tidy rooms and a willingness to help. There was a minor issue that was not the fault of the hotel but the staff (Tara was fab!!) worked hard and fast to sort it brilliantly. As the title implies, we couldn't have asked for more...thank you!

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank David A
Gateshead, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 October 2016

Lovely hotel with friendly helpful staff making my stay extra enjoyable , a must stay for anybody looking to stay in a nice hotel . Restaurants close by and easy access to get to makes it a recommendable place to stay whether your going in to Newcastle or staying nearby . Rooms are comfortable making you feel like your at...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank paul t
Reviewed 10 October 2016

We stayed here with a young baby and 3 years old. The staff called me prior to my stay and said they would set up a cot for us in the room this was all set up and ready on our arrival. The staff were friendly and attentive. Old downside was there was no cooked breakfast option however frankie and...

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Kirsty_camp
Preston, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 October 2016 via mobile

2nd stay at this travelodge. Used for a stay with a friend for shopping and to take advantage of the TGI Friday cocktail menu which is a 2 minute walk away. Receptionist (jade) lovely on arrival and offered information about nearby places to eat. Location perfect for all shops and retail parks in the area. Will be returning.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank L n
Manchester
Reviewed 9 October 2016

Stayed here for a weekend. Reasonably priced, clean spacious room, good location for access to Newcastle centre. You will need a taxi into the centre but only about £10-12, there are a couple of restaurants next to the hotel + a KFC, and the huge metro retail park is only a 10min walk away. Staff are helpful and can't really...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank DNE2010

29 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (19)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (11)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Swalwell
0.7 km away
Newcastle Gateshead Marriott Hotel MetroCentre
0.2 km away
Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Metro Centre
Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Me...
#16 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
699 reviews
5.6 km away
Ramada Encore Newcastle-Gateshead
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 km away
Jurys Inn Newcastle Gateshead Quays
0.3 km away
Premier Inn Newcastle (Metro Centre) Hotel
4.5 km away
Premier Inn Newcastle - Team Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about Travelodge Gateshead

Address: Clasper Way, Swalwell, Gateshead NE16 3BE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Gateshead > Swalwell
Price Range: $58 - $153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge Gateshead 2*
Number of rooms: 134
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz and Travelodge Hotels Ltd so you can book your Travelodge Gateshead reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Gateshead Hotel Swalwell
Travelodge Hotel Gateshead
Travelodge Hotel Swalwell
Travelodge Newcastle Upon Tyne
Travel Lodge Newcastle Upon Tyne
Newcastle Upon Tyne Travelodge
Newcastle Upon Tyne Travel Lodge
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Travelodge Gateshead staff and other travellers.
7 questions
Ask a question
Cramlington, United Kingdom
over a year ago
England, United Kingdom
Glasgow, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from Travelodge Gateshead staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Higher rooms seem to be quieter.”
masondoyle, 31 Mar 2017 | Read review
“302 and 304 are spacious.”
868louiser, 25 Mar 2017 | Read review
“River view.”
  • View from Scotswood Bridge
  • Double Room
georgebT3298DF, 13 Feb 2017 | Read review
“At the back facing the car park, there is a slight bit of noise from the train line but its very minimal”
622alv, 9 Jan 2017 | Read review
“The hotel i noticed was used for many party goers, so if you wanted a quieter hotel or room here the top floor was very quiet for us”
gypsypete90, 8 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Travelodge
US$56* /night
View Deal
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates