We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Royal Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Royal Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

270 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Royal Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 250: English reviews
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewed 29 May 2016

Staff looked nice and clean but busy with their own talking , it took us 60 minutes ( one hour ) to get food . They only had 3 tables to serve ...they never came to table in this waiting time to offer anything ..no bread or olive oil which is known for area ! After all waiting I went...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Earth2013
RoyalriebeekCapeTown, Owner at The Royal Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Earth2013, I am sorry that your experience was not as you may expect from us. These are not our standards and it was unfortunate that our convection oven shortly before caught fire due to an electrical short within the oven causing delays. Although these things are beyond our control I understand that as a client this is not your...

Paarl, South Africa
Reviewed 29 May 2016 via mobile

First time to have lunch at the De Stoep restaurant / Royal Hotel restaurant and was pleasantly surprised at the quality and high standard of the food. I had the oysters as starter and duck confit as a main. Both dishes were excellent. I "trusted" the chef / menu and had the Tabasco with the oysters and together with the...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank GrietWesternCape
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewed 20 May 2016

It wasn't our first visit to the Royal Hotel so we were expecting a warm welcome from the staff. It really was overwhelming and we felt inmediately as if we came home. The room was superb and the kingsize bed looked like 2 kingsize beds. Service was excellent. Diner and the 5 course breakfast unexpected fine and affordable. The chenin...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Pierre S
Bracknell, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 May 2016

We stayed for one night in January 2016 during a 25 night/15 location road trip, so this review is relatively objective. As per the title, this was our second visit, and we enjoyed it as much as the previous one. The hotel is verging on old school in the stoop and bar areas, but with modern bedrooms. The staff were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JoeCBansteadUK
Reviewed 14 May 2016 via mobile

Previous revue enticed us to visit. Recommended as best dining in the area but expensive. Expensive part was correct but surely not the best in the area. We both had fillet with the three times fried chips. It was definitely the worst fillet we have ever eaten. Did not have the texture of fillet. It was compact and chewy. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Greg G
RoyalriebeekCapeTown, Owner at The Royal Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Greg, Thank you for your review. I'm sorry to hear that your dining experience with us was not satisfactory. Especially since it concerns our top selling dish of which we only have had raving reviews until now. We only use prime grade Sparta fillet which normally is more tender than the cheaper options of our suppliers. On the other...

Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewed 4 May 2016

What an amazing experience spending a night and day at this hotel and lovely quaint village. The service at the a Royal hotel was excellent. The receptionist that assisted us had a great sense of humour, the barman gave us amazing advice on which gin and tonics to try - yes they are the best and we did the traditional...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank ruthi
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
Reviewed 3 May 2016

Wonderful selection of Gin with a knowledgeable bar tender to assist you in your selection process. Sundowners on the stoep with it's colonial style decor & paddle fans - sipping G&T's - who can ask for more.

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Jacqui R
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewed 2 May 2016 via mobile

Centrally & well situated. Very comfortable rooms with aircon/heater. Super friendly staff. Dinner in the courtyard was lively and also breakfast on front patio/ stoep. Small pool and deck. 4pm carrot cake is a must!! Gin cocktails a hit.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LaLa1977SouthAfrica
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewed 2 May 2016

Perfect weekend getaway from Cape Town at the Royal Hotel, Riebeek Kasteel. Exceptional bar / restaurant / reception service 1st and 2nd May, 2016. Don't leave before having one of their amazing Gin and Tonics. We will hopefully be back soon.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank NickWhite_12
Cape Town, South Africa
Reviewed 2 May 2016

This is an elegant hotel in a charming location. On previous occasions in the past, we have always enjoyed a delicious meal. We (a party of 6) visited the restaurant for lunch and while the food was well-presented, tasty and the hotel staff were very friendly, there were a few disappointing things. Four of our party ordered the Pork Belly...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank pia261

131 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (126)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
View from Room (19)
Viewed
Dining (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (39)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (39)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Riebeek Kasteel
4.9 km away
Riebeek Valley Hotel
Riebeek Valley Hotel
#1 of 1 in Riebeek-West
266 reviews
0.7 km away
The Victorian Cow
The Victorian Cow
#4 of 16 in Riebeek Kasteel
49 reviews
0.5 km away
Red Tin Roof
Red Tin Roof
#2 of 16 in Riebeek Kasteel
97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
25.1 km away
Tulbagh Hotel
Tulbagh Hotel
#1 of 18 in Tulbagh
607 reviews
0.2 km away
La Montagne Bed and Breakfast
La Montagne Bed and Breakfast
#7 of 16 in Riebeek Kasteel
26 reviews
0.3 km away
Shades of the Valley
Shades of the Valley
#3 of 16 in Riebeek Kasteel
31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
"The grand old lady finally has her new dress on" is what the locals said when The Royal was refurbished and upgraded to the highest standards in 2005/2006. After serving more than seven generations, the oldest hotel of the Western Cape occupies a very special place in the hearts of both local and international visitors. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Royal Hotel

Address: 33 Main St, Riebeek Kasteel 7307, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Riebeek Kasteel
Price Range: $155 - $396 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Royal Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your The Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Hotel Riebeek Kasteel
The Royal Hotel Riebeek Kasteel, Western Cape
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Royal Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Room 1 is excellent”
 of 5 bubbles AK7130, 1 Jan 2017 | Read review
“My review focussed on the drinks”
 of 5 bubbles Place-a-Manger, 17 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Garden rooms are spacious and quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles FrancisB185, 11 Sep 2016 | Read review
“The garden rooms are very nice. Room 5 can be a bit noisy with staff being up early in the kitchen.”
 of 5 bubbles Cejames04, 23 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Choose an inside room to be more cosy on cold winter nights”
 of 5 bubbles , 15 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5