Destiny Bay Resort

Destiny Bay Resort

11935 Bc-3a, Boswell, British Columbia VOB 1A0 Canada

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

4.5
#1 of 1 cottage in Boswell
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.1 of 5 bubbles
Service
3.9 of 5 bubbles
Value
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Romantic
Property amenities
Sauna
Restaurant
Beach
Currency exchange

Location

11935 Bc-3a, Boswell, British Columbia VOB 1A0 Canada
Getting there
Castlegar Airport
65.5 km
See all flights
Cranbrook Airport
72.9 km
See all flights
1 Restaurant
within 10 kilometers
16Reviews3Q+A5Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 11
  • 2
  • 1
  • 1
  • 1
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Scott N wrote a review Jul 2023
Phoenix, AZ9 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Located on the east side of beautiful Kootenay Lake in a relatively unpopulated area, Ron and Lynn have created a wonderful getaway. We stayed for 2 nights in one of the cabins and it was very quiet. It's always fun to have a longtime chef as the owner, as not only were we treated to a nice breakfast buffet, but the star of the show was the delicious multi-course dinner which is included in the price. We had our choice of 5-6 entrees. It was like dining at a very nice restaurant! Ron even gave me a few of his cooking secrets, which I've already put into practice...thanks, Ron! My wife and I spent a late afternoon on one of the paddleboats. It was a surreal feeling to have the lake to ourselves as we literally could not see anyone else for miles each way. Hope to visit again!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Ronald Mondor, Owner at Destiny Bay Resort
Responded Jul 14, 2023
Thank you for your review. It is our pleasure to provide a unique experience for our guests and do expect that all of our guests have a wonderful experience. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Canada.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
ChelseaLS wrote a review Aug 2013
Calgary, Canada22 contributions6 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
My boyfriend had booked us into one of the cabins at Destiny Bay for 2 nights... 2 nights was not long enough. This place is gorgeous! Its tranquil location on Kootenay Lake was the perfect escape from our regular city life. There are no TV's in any of the rooms, no phones, no wifi. The rooms are very clean, well kept and comfortable. Ron and Lynn are fantastic hosts who run the entire show. Ron cooks wonderful dinners every night and a buffet every morning. Lynn drops by each room every morning and leaves a package of fresh homemade muffins for guests. The beach is right there, with canoes, kayaks, pedal boats and fire pit. Ron and Lynn have 3 of the friendliest dogs who roam the property at night when the gate is closed and a goat who you will see on top of their house mowing the grass roof in the mornings. We will definitely return.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2013
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
himalayaDelta wrote a review Aug 2007
Delta, Canada28 contributions14 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Destiny Bay Resort is located on the eastern shore of Kootenay Lake. The resort consists of three suites in the main lodge and five cabins overlooking the lake and the Selkirk Mountains across the lake. My wife and I had a cabin. It was large, with the most comfortable king size bed. The cabin had a large porch, a fire place, a refrigerator etc. The cabin had a sod roof! The resort has its own beach with use of canoes and paddle boats. Included in the price is a delcious buffet breakfast and a gourmet (and I mean gourmet) four course dinner with plenty of choices. The ambiance and setting of the resort makes for a totally, comfortable, relaxing and very romantic escape. I would recommend it to any couple looking for a quiet, romantic getaway. We had a most wonderful time and plan on returning.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2007
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesCheck-in / front desk
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesBusiness service (e.g., internet access)
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Kuntarina B wrote a review Jan 2023
2 contributions
2.0 of 5 bubbles
This is a long overdue review that I should have wrote months ago. Dear friends of mine were married at this resort. The location was beautiful unfortunately the owners were definitely financially struggling from covid. I had to vacuum my own room due to an excessive amount of mouse feces . My shower was not in operation. I was charged and excessive amount for my room and very basic breakfast and lunch that was to be included in my cost of the room. I did not argue I paid the nearly $1500 for two nights. I felt like an unwanted guest at their home. I feel that this resort would be more successful if the owners were not running it and it was under proper management. I understand they have had hardship over covid but I would not recommend anyone staying here for the price that they are asking. They gouged the wedding party I was with. There was not a second thought when I was handed a vacuum to clean up the mouse feces. I really hope that the owners of Destiny Bay hire proper management and staff.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Room Tip: Beware of mouse feces in your room.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Ronald Mondor, Owner at Destiny Bay Resort
Responded Jan 23, 2023
Dear Kuntarina B We are very disappointed to hear of the experience you had at the resort, and we extend our sincerest apologies for the issues you allegedly encountered. We believe that most of your comments are not true to fact and while we can’t change the past, please know that your experience was an exception. We have reviewed the payment records and confirm that you paid less than half of the amount you stated, and the wedding party was charged only for the amount initially quoted when the reservation was made. You are welcome to contact us directly by email to manager@destinybay.com if you have any additional questions or concerns.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Sheila Richardson wrote a review Feb 2009
Richmond, Canada179 contributions137 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
We have stayed at this resort in the past and enjoyed it but during our recent visit we found that customer service and the quality of the food had seriously deteriorated. The owners were unpleasant and not at all accommodating. Would not recommend this place.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2008
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
2.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
2.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesCheck-in / front desk
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
2.0 of 5 bubblesBusiness service (e.g., internet access)
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Bethab5485 wrote a review Aug 2016
4 contributions8 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
We have not been here for over 20 years and were excited to come back. Our first dinner there was wonderful, but we had a few disappointments. The room had been advertised as having a hot tub, but it had a whirlpool bathtub. The room is very dated with a terrible mattress. During dinner the first night there was a wild windstorm that knocked out the power for miles, and the power was out for about 24 hours. I certainly understand that it wasn't the owners fault, but there was no apology for the inconvenience, cold showers, no electrical in our room, etc. Most resorts would have a generator. It would have been nice to even be offered a complimentary glass of wine at dinner, but instead we were told " why do you need to shower - bathe in the lake" , or "just use the flashlight". Dinners are included in the pricing, and it is the food that saves this resort. We won't be back because of the dated accommodations and attitude of the owner.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2016
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Rosepeace2u wrote a review Aug 2012
Washtucna, WA3 contributions2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We have spent our anniversary here for many years since our first visit in 1985. We have always enjoyed our stays there and Ron and Lynn did little things to make this stay just a little more special. Ron took a picture of us on the evening of our anniversary that turned out very nice (with my camera) and will provide a very nice reminder of our special time there this year. The hummingbirds were always a treat and were again this year in spite of the rains. We stayed in Solitude this time.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2012
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: We have stayed in several different Cabins. All are excellent. Solitude has steps up to the...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Majgen wrote a review Aug 2012
52 contributions21 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
If you are expecting a full service hotel, move on. However, if you are looking for a family friendly B&B, with fantastic 4star meals, a great view of beautiful Kootanie Lake, and peace and tranquility, this is the best place!
Ron and Lynn are excellent hosts, and they love what they do. The food is out of this world, but not greasy or heavy. The French onion soup is the best! They were very accommodating to my kids' dietary needs.
This is such a quaint and relaxing setting. It seems that they have a lot of repeat visitors. Where else do the owners give you a hug when you are visiting?
We'll be looking forward to seeing Ron and Lynn again next year, along with their goats, and their 3 Newfie's Cinderella, Betty Boop, and king Sebastian.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2012Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
BrightLightsDreamer wrote a review Jul 2010
31 contributions15 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Such an adorable, quaint little place. The location is beautiful. The owners are wonderful and very friendly. The food is really good, especially the French onion soup. Lovely place, would definitely return.
Read more
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1alan280 wrote a review Sep 2020
Cranbrook, Canada140 contributions47 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Staying in one of the cabins is outstanding and allows for special time with a special person. Access to lake was a bonus along with beach chairs. kayaks and paddle boats. Food was good with lots of choice.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: As there are many interesting people staying here ask to be seated with another couple at dinner.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Ronald Mondor, Owner at Destiny Bay Resort
Responded Sep 12, 2020
Thank you for your review and we are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Katie D asked a question Jul 2020
5 contributions
Are kids allowed?
Answer from Ronald M
Well behaved children are welcomed however there is an additional per person charge.
Answer from gmkenny
Creston, Canada6 contributions4 helpful votes
Yes, if you phone ahead to make reservations.
Kuntarina B wrote a tip Jan 2023
2 contributions
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"Beware of mouse feces in your room."
Read full review
1alan280 wrote a tip Sep 2020
Cranbrook, Canada140 contributions47 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"As there are many interesting people staying here ask to be seated with another couple at dinner."
Read full review
dadenjr wrote a tip Jun 2017
Spokane, Washington1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Get one of the Individual cabins on the shore"
Read full review
L B wrote a tip Sep 2015
Cranbrook, Canada217 contributions17 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"In June it was great to be able to make use of the fireplace. (also has electric heat)"
Read full review
Rosepeace2u wrote a tip Aug 2012
Washtucna, WA3 contributions2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"We have stayed in several different Cabins. All are excellent. Solitude has steps up to the Bathroom, so while it has a king sized bed, if mobility is a problem, try a different cabin."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Boswell area.
LOCATION
CanadaBritish ColumbiaBoswell
NUMBER OF ROOMS
8
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Destiny Bay Resort - Reviews & Photos

Frequently Asked Questions about Destiny Bay Resort
Which popular attractions are close to Destiny Bay Resort?
Nearby attractions include Glass Bottle House (3.8 km) and Arrowsmith Gallery (5.0 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Destiny Bay Resort?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an on-site restaurant, a sauna, and currency exchange.
What food & drink options are available at Destiny Bay Resort?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant during their stay.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Destiny Bay Resort?
Yes, guests have access to a sauna during their stay.