Riverside Motel Dwight

Riverside Motel Dwight

2822 ON-60, Dwight, Dwight, Ontario P0A 1H0 Canada
signage
Traveller (39)
cottage bathroom
Room & Suite (15)
Great swimming hole.
Pool & Beach (2)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

4.0
#2 of 2 motels in Dwight
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Service
3.8 of 5 bubbles
Value
Now under NEW OWNERSHIP! Dan, Triptta and Ella Butkovich invite you to Get Lost (in nature) with them at one of the areas best kept secrets. Newly updated rooms with luxury amenities and linens await along with one of the most beautiful properties in the area. The Boyne River runs alongside which provides excellent swimming and fishing holes as well as the ability to paddle directly into Lake of Bays. All guests have access to our 8acres of forest as well as the common grounds which includes BBQs and picnic benches, volleyball court, horseshoes and a fire pit. We are a 20 minute drive from the West Gate of Algonquin Park and 15 minutes from Huntsville.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Bicycle rental
Golf course
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Non-smoking hotel
Room features
Air conditioning
Kitchenette
Refrigerator
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Quaint
Charming
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish, Catalan

Location

2822 ON-60, Dwight, Dwight, Ontario P0A 1H0 Canada
73Reviews0Q+A11Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 27
  • 26
  • 6
  • 5
  • 9
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Liisa C wrote a review Aug 2020
Brampton, Canada
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We were camping in Algonquin, but got rained out and didn't feel like spending another night in a damp tent, so my hubby and I called around the area and found a vacancy at this motel. The first thing we noticed when we pulled up was that it was a little rustic, as with mostly all lodgings in the area. However, the grounds were lovely, with an area for a campfire with adirondack chairs, and a little play area for the kids. There was a covered area with two barbecues and a picnic table. Large trees surrounded the area and a scenic river was nearby. Dan was very polite and informative, and apologetic; they were just finishing with the cleaning, but we hadn't given much notice so that was okay--we were just happy to get out of the rain. His wife and child were very nice as well. When we entered our room, we saw that it had been recently updated, with new decor and lovely touch-ups to make guests feel welcome and at home. Our room had a little kitchenette with a hot plate, toaster, microwave, coffee maker, dishes, pots and pans, etc. Coffee and tea were supplied. We were at a motel, but it had the feel of a cozy cabin, and if this was the owner's intention, he hit the hammer on the nail! I had a wonderful sleep in a soft cozy bed, with fresh clean linens. The room was immaculate. I'd definitely visit again.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Dan Butkovich, Owner at Riverside Motel Dwight
Responded Aug 27, 2020
WOW Liisa! We are gushing! SO glad we were able to get you out of the rain and into a 'room with the feel of a cozy cabin'...that IS what we were going for! Keep an eye out on our site for the announcement of our "forest tents" which will be the closest thing to camping, but with a nice outdoor shower and attached bathroom! Thanks again for staying with us, hope to see you again soon
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
MeghanG83 wrote a review Oct 2023
London, United Kingdom
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed here for one night while driving through Algonquin. We received a lovely welcome and recommendations for things to do in the area.

Our room was really cute and had the feel of a cabin. Yes it was rustic - people who are complaining about that seem to be missing the point. That just added to the charm. Our room was very clean and had everything you needed to be comfortable for your stay including free coffee making facilities.

As we were only staying for a short time we didn’t get the chance to try out the bbq area or the swimming place behind the motel but other guests we spoke to mentioned enjoying them. I would happily stay here again if I was back in the area.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2023Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
cherie1691 wrote a review Sep 2016
Gatineau, Canada
3.0 of 5 bubbles
First, we were a group of travellers on bikes. So we wanted the experience of the property after our day of travelling thru Algonquin Park. They had assured us when booking that it had a campfire. Otherwise, as long as the room was clean, we were good.

We arrive, the couple is very helpful, they had a campfire started. When we ordered pizza in, they came and turned the "party" lights on in the gazebo for us to eat.

We added wood to the fire,.........we are 55 years old, and have been having fires for many years. The male came along, and told us not to add wood, that it is to be a campfire. We were a little surprised by that comment, (this was not by any means a fire that was blazing........) at about 10PM, I decided to go to bed, and the couple came out, again up in arms over the size of this fire, (which had not changed since the first comment) He actually said "Are you stupid?.....I said a campfire, not a bonfire." His wife is screaming at him that he hasn't done enough, so he picks up the 2 5 gallon pails of water he had sitting beside it for emergencies, and doused the fire. Besides the 5 of my group, the other couples were speechless. Moments after that, the "party" had moved to the gazebo, when the male ran around the back of the building and shut the power off, leaving everyone in the dark. The wife says, see hydro is out, party is over, I have to be up at 6AM. Now, not sure what that had to do with anything, as they were all looking at one of the guests pictures he takes for his business, so it was a gathering of a few men, talking. As well, another guest informed me that they lock the gates at 11PM, no one can enter or leave at that point. The next morning I brought her back her keys, I said nothing, other than here are your keys, she then attempted some pleasantries with me, I decided I would just leave, with my thoughts, and he yells out. "Well, we didn't like them anyway". I will let him have the last word.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2016
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
2.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Melissa wrote a review Aug 2021
Montreal, Canada
1.0 of 5 bubbles
We paid 600$ for two nights but it was so terrible then we took decision to leave after the first morning. We ask for refund but owner didn’t accept.
- the matress was totally destroyed.
- the futon was less than one inch thick and feel sleep on the steel frame.
- We suppose to have kitchen… the fridge was smaller than my cooler.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Keith M wrote a review Jul 2023
+1
1.0 of 5 bubbles
The room smelt so bad of mold I had to take the smelly out of the car and attach it to the AC. There was barely enough water pressure to get wet in the morning and I was not sure that I would be able to get the soap out of my hair. The owner tries hard, hand picked flower in the room, what is considered furniture is painted nicely, but it’s like lipstick on a pig. The building is dilapidated, floors and ceilings are wonky, windows need a board to hold open, single pain glass….honestly, the building itself should probably be condemned. I’ll never stay there again and anyone who rates this place over a 2 star must be a family member, worst place I have EVER stayed at!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Dan Butkovich, Owner at Riverside Motel Dwight
Responded Aug 18, 2023
Hi Keith, so rather than mentioning ANYTHING while you stayed here, you have chosen to keep quiet and leave a scathing review. I spoke with you a few times right after you checked in and you said 'all was fine'. You never mentioned a smell, the water pressure or...well... anything! Oh and not one other guest mentioned the pressure OR any smells coming from that room, or any other. You are right in that it is an old building with some character - we love the hand made windows. We are not open in winter so no need for double pane. I guess I must have hundreds of family members as we are very well rated across all sites. I would recommend that for future stays at any hotel rather than saying nothing and having a poor stay, that you actually say something to the owners so they can have a chance to make things better. Perhaps you just like to complain (but only online after you have gone). Its ok if you dont return, we dont/wont miss guests like you.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Paul C wrote a review Sep 2022
1.0 of 5 bubbles
My wife and I stayed at Dwight Riverside Inn August 18 to 22, 2022. When we arrived the proprietor promised to give us an invoice that would allow us to claim an Ontario Staycation tax credit. Despite this promise and follow ups by us, Dwight Riverside Inn failed to give us that invoice, meaning we are unable to get that tax credit. The proprietor took a credit card payment that included a HST component but failed to give us an invoice that follows HST rules.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Dan Butkovich, Owner at Riverside Motel Dwight
Responded Aug 18, 2023
But the stay was amazing! The HST receipt was issued to the guest who made the booking in time to obtain the credit.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
574Elioz wrote a review Jul 2013
Toronto, ON
5.0 of 5 bubbles
A group of 6 of us just came back from Riverside in Dwight and it was fantastic. We stayed 3 days, 4 nights and we were treated like gold. Leonard and Monica (I believe those are their names) are the most hospitable people you can ask for. This isn't your typical motel....take a walk down a small hill towards the back and it is paradise. Small waterfalls, and a very private swimming area can be found, just follow the wood chips. Fresh towels were brought to our rooms daily, as well as paper plates, utensils and napkins for meals. Other great features were 2 bbq's available anytime, badminton/vollyball nets, fire pit, etc. All close to a small grocery store, cafe and beach!

Overall I would rate this place a 5+, especially considering the price. Will return next year!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2013
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Corey C wrote a review Oct 2017
Toronto, Canada
1.0 of 5 bubbles
We chose to stay in this Motel because of the reviews read here on TripAdvisor. Unfortunately, we had a bad experience. The owners seem specifically paranoid about the cost of hydro and while we were out during the day they entered our room not to clean it and make beds but to turn the heat off. They also entered our friends room and unplugged all their camera chargers. They made snide racial comments and I've included a photo of a notice that was in the room. Algonquin Park is known for its visitors from Japan during the first two weeks of October. When we arrived the first night the owner had to come out and ask or dusk in with a flashlight because it was so dark we couldn't see anything. The locks on the main doors of each room are nothing but bathroom locks. If you don't put your dirty towels outside after your shower your towels will not be replaced. When we returned after dinner at 9 p.m. on the second night we couldn't even find a property because there was not one light on. I have also included a photo to show how dark it was. We needed to use our car lights in order to get our key into the door and we both tripped on things trying to find our way. As you can see in my third photo the spare pillows were no more than an inch thick. They were also very dirty. I have been in motel rooms that cost $50 or $60 a night and been more pleased than I was with this place that was charging us $110. Needless to say, I won't be recommending this Motel to anyone nor will I ever be staying there again
Read more
Date of stay: October 2017Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Dan B, Owner at Riverside Motel Dwight
Responded Jun 19, 2018
Hi Corey, We are the new owners of the Riverside Motel in Dwight and I wanted to take a moment to address your points to ensure that any future guests can understand that we have addressed many, if not all, of your concerns. - We will not, under any circumstances enter a guests room without their permission or prior consent for the duration of their stay unless there is a safety issue. - I dont see any photos attached to your review so I cannot make comment on the 'racist material' in the room. I can assure you that there is no tolerance for racism or any kind of personal attacks on an individual for ANY reason on our property. - the property is now 'appropriately lit'. The entrance sign and lights are illuminated all night and the lighting outside of the rooms has also been addressed. On some nights we may choose to turn out the outdoor lights so as to enjoy the incredible night sky full of stars, satellites and the occasional shooting star! - security of the site is extremely important. We have a security system capturing activities in common areas as well as recording traffic coming and going. The locks on the doors are on the list to update, but the incredibly low crime rates in Dwight allow us to take care of other pressing items first - As is industry standard, towels and linens will be changed upon request only. As an environmentally responsible business we would encourage people to reuse and recycle as often as possible. - all towels and linens have been changed and new luxury bathroom amenities are now included. We will be replacing pillows and duvets over the coming months as required. - I can assure you that cleanliness is not an issue with us. All rooms are completely cleaned prior to each guests check-in. If there are any concerns around the condition of any room it will be addressed immediately. Finally, You should know that we are in the process of completely updating the rooms including fully renovating the bathrooms. I do hope that you will give us an opportunity to correct the experience that you had last fall, I do expect that your review will be significantly more positive then this one. Warm Regards, Dan Butkovich
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
waichow wrote a review Oct 2015
Whitby, Canada
1.0 of 5 bubbles
This is what happened to us. When we enter the motel room, we found the toilet seat and sink was broken. So we talk to the owner to ensure they know these damage is not done by us. We also ask if we can change the room cause it is very noisy; close to the road side. This seem to piss the owner off; especially the female owner. So the motel owner tell us to leave and offer us a refund $40 to us. They charge us for $107 but only return us $40. So we refuse to move out.
Couple minutes later, the male owner return with $105 and ask us to leave. This is ridicules coz he told us he gonna charge us $2 for using the washroom. They try to use force to push us away from room. So we call police. How this happen in Canada?? Riverside motel is the nightmare to the traveller, the room is dirty especially the washroom. How can they thrown people out when people complaining something was broken? How come they can be such rude and yelling “out, out, out” and physically push people out? Unfortunately police can lay any charge to the motel owner. Never ever try this motel.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2015
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Room Tip: more ture review will help travellers to eliminate a nightmare hoel /motel
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
TheColemanFamily wrote a review Aug 2013
Guelph, Canada
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed in Dwight before heading to Algonquin Provincial Park and I'm glad we chose this place! The property is very well maintained, comfortable rooms with all you could need, including board games, kitchenette, fridge & dishes. The owners are wonderful and very accommodating. Be sure to check out the property behind the hotel...Monika referred to it as "Paradise" when we checked in, and she wasn't kidding! Beautiful riverside area for swimming and picnicking. Lots of amenities you wouldn't expect from a motel, such as guest bbq, badminton/volleyball net, and a communal fire pit. I read some reviews on here that said their in-room fridges didn't work, but I think these travelers just neglected to turn on the power bar in the kitchen! Excellent price, but be sure to book your reservations early! Just a stone's throw from Erika's, a fantastic café in Dwight with excellent coffee, sandwiches and pastries.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2013
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
No results found.Try changing or clearing your search to read questions and answers.
Virginia Moffat wrote a tip Aug 2019
Waterford, Michigan1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"All rooms are comfortable and wonderful.."
Read full review
planettraveller01 wrote a tip Aug 2019
Toronto, Canada7 contributions4 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"The futon is not for 2 adults, may be for 2 kids. Very clean, reliable. If you hate tents, this is a great option."
Read full review
Maria R wrote a tip Jul 2018
Toronto, Canada77 contributions10 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Ask a room close to the beach trail."
Read full review
JaniceVautour wrote a tip Jun 2018
Caledon, Canada1 contribution1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"The kitchenette rooms have microwave electric hot plates all dishes forks, knives cups provided as well as coffee maker tea mini fridge"
Read full review
stan s wrote a tip Sep 2017
1 contribution
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"look for standard 'big-named' properties"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Dwight area.
PRICE RANGE
C$143 - C$227 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
CanadaOntarioMuskoka DistrictDwight
NUMBER OF ROOMS
12
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Riverside Motel Dwight - UPDATED Prices, Reviews & Photos

Frequently Asked Questions about Riverside Motel Dwight
Which popular attractions are close to Riverside Motel Dwight?
Nearby attractions include Dwight Trading Post (0.2 km), Oxtongue Craft Cabin & Gallery (3.5 km), and Oxtongue Rapids Park (4.7 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Riverside Motel Dwight?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free parking, and kids activities.
Which room amenities are available at Riverside Motel Dwight?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a refrigerator.
Is parking available at Riverside Motel Dwight?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Riverside Motel Dwight?
Conveniently located restaurants include Henrietta's Pine Bakery ,Dwight, Muskoka on the Rocks, and Erika's.
Are pets allowed at Riverside Motel Dwight?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Riverside Motel Dwight?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, and Catalan.
Are there any historical sites close to Riverside Motel Dwight?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Robinson's General Store (13.6 km).
Is Riverside Motel Dwight accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
All Dwight HotelsDwight Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in DwightHotels near Riverside Motel Dwight
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars