Blue Spruce Resort

Blue Spruce Resort

cabin 10
Traveller (125)
Windwood Cottage
Room & Suite (48)
Pool & Beach (21)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

5.0
#1 of 2 ranches in Dwight
4.8 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.8 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.9 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Value
Blue Spruce Resort is an outstanding fully equipped Cottage Resort and Motel, perfectly at home in its ideal setting of pristine lakes and diversified forests. Located near the West Gate of Algonquin Park, Ontario, Canada, it is one of the largest fully-equipped housekeeping resorts in Muskoka.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Beach
Tennis court
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Kids' outdoor play equipment
BBQ facilities
Non-smoking hotel
Wifi
Board games / puzzles
Self-serve laundry
Room features
Air conditioning
Kitchenette
Microwave
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Mid-range
Quaint
133Reviews5Q+A30Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 108
  • 21
  • 3
  • 0
  • 1
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Jerry wrote a review Jul 2021
Toronto, Canada1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
My wife and I just returned from ANOTHER stay at the Blue Spruce Resort is located on beautiful Oxtongue Lake, 10 minutes from the west gate of Algonquin Park. To say we love this resort is an understatement. We have travelled to many resorts mostly in the tropics and this rivals any 5 star resort when it comes to cleanliness, safety and the care and attention of management and staff. The atmosphere is low key yet there is tons do for couples and young families alike. We have been here at different times during all 4 seasons and it has been spectacular every time. If you are here in the spring, summer or especially fall we highly recommend renting one of the canoes and heading up the Oxtongue River to Ragged Falls. This is a very doable trip for even the most novice of paddlers. Bring a picnic lunch and hike to the top of the falls for a breathtaking yet serene panoramic view of the area.
We have always stayed in one of the 15? cabins they have to offer. Each equipped with a kitchen and wood burning fireplace. These cabins are truly a home-away-from-home. Thank you Lynda and Scott for another fantastic vacation.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Make sure you bring plenty of the food and drink you’ll require for the amount of time you are...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Scott Hayden, Owner at Blue Spruce Resort
Responded Jul 28, 2021
Hello moms011540, Thank you for your five-star review! So glad to hear you are one of the lucky ones that have had the opportunity to visit us and Ragged Falls in all seasons, they each offer such a different experience in the area! Lynda & Scott Hayden
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
bellasusanna wrote a review Oct 2021
Toronto124 contributions90 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We recently stayed 2 nights in a studio after being notified of a cancellation. Based on previous reviews and their excellent website we had a fair idea of what to expect and now understand why it is always booked. Cleanliness being the number one observation and overall excellent value for your dollar.The unit was spotless,spacious and in great repair for an older building .A lovely view onto Oxtongue Lake and the flaming Autumn colours. Outside table and chairs at each unit. The kitchen was sparsely equipped but had everything one would need to make dinners. Not fancy appliances but clean and functional. Loved the idea of a backdoor and a wee patio area with each unit having their own barbecue. The beds were very comfortable…we brought our own blankets as requested. Sadly the weather did not allow us to take advantage of all the water related activities offered…boat rentals ect. That will have to wait for another time. We are hoping to return in the winter to a unit with a Fireplace. I am sure it will be a comfy cozy and beautiful respite in the long dark days. This is an exceptional property.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Book early!
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Cathy M wrote a review Oct 2021
Belle River, Canada28 contributions42 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Another great stay at Blue Spruce! We stayed in a Studio this time and forgot just how perfect these accommodations are for 2 people. Everything you need and a perfect view of Oxtongue Lake. Great self checkin and checkout in place but always nice to say Hi to Lynda at the office. This resort is top notch and well presented. The beaches are well groomed and we enjoyed soaking in the view. The peak colours this time around just made it extra special. Thanks again and we will be back! Cathy and Earl
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Doug W wrote a review Apr 2022
Mississauga, Canada2,816 contributions907 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Driving into this resort you can immediately see the PRIDE OF OWNERSHIP. And once you are greeted by staff this just adds to the whole experience that you will enjoy.
Reasonable rates for a variety of accommodations and amenities which will keep everyone happy and busy. for your stay.
A lovely location with a small beach and boat launch area on the Oxtongue Lake Narrows.
This resort offers you comparable rates which a dismal and run-down place across the water is charging and has nothing to offer.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
John W wrote a review Sep 2021
Cambridge, Canada903 contributions342 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
The Blue Spruce Resort is in a great location near Algonquin Park, Dwight, Dorset, and Huntsville. We stayed in a Suite Room that was a good size for a couple. The room was very clean and well maintained. The bed was on the hard side which after a few nights started to effect our sleep. Every room around us was occupied by regulars, mostly senior. All griped about the low toilets in the rooms.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
love2travel4242 wrote a review Sep 2022
Toronto, Canada141 contributions109 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
This place is well located close to Algonquin Park with good water toys and a nice beach. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The cottage which was large and well laid out however was very dated and needed a deep clean. The furniture smelled and the beds were lumpy. The wifi was poor and the kitchen utensils were dull and worn out. The towels provided were tiny. I would not stay here again.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
2.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Scott Hayden, Owner at Blue Spruce Resort
Responded Sep 29, 2022
Dear love2travel4242,

 Please be assured that your comments have been taken very seriously and we are following up on each point of improvement. 
 It is disappointing that you did not reach out to us during your stay so we might have worked towards fixing the deficiencies you encountered. We always have staff on site and we provide contact phone numbers should you need assistance at any hour of day.

 On the other hand, we are glad that you've enjoyed our closeness to Algonquin Park, wide array of good water toys, 2 sandy beaches, the large well laid out cottage and our attentive hard-working staff who do their utmost and go the extra mile to pamper our valued guest.

 Once again, thank you for your feedback and we hope to have you return to Blue Spruce Resort for another stay with us. 
 Regards

 Scott and Lynda Hayden
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Chris M wrote a review Mar 2021
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Had a fantastic stay at Blue Spruce!! Such an Algonquin gem. Not only for the beautiful views and easy access to hiking / cross country skiing but the accommodations were amazing! Owners Lynda and Scott really made us feel at home. We stayed in one of the suites which had plenty of space for the two of us. Big kitchen, beautiful view of the lake and the beds were super comfy.  

One thing to emphasize is that they take the Covid cleanliness situation very seriously and the place was completely spotless. This is something to be wary of when picking a getaway (ex Air bnb) and they are very much on top of it. 

Can't wait to visit again!!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Can only speak for suite 8, but fantastic lake view
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Scott Hayden, Owner at Blue Spruce Resort
Responded Apr 7, 2021
Hi Nomad737113, Thank you for your kind words and five-star rating, the safety for our guests and staff are our top priority! We are so happy you were able to experience a safe getaway with us in these uncertain times Lynda & Scott Hayden
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Al V wrote a review Feb 2020
4 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Our family has been coming to Blue Spruce Resort for six years, once in the fall and then again during the family day weekend, and we and cannot say enough about the gift that this resort is to us and our family. A pristine location, amazing recreational opportunities regardless of the season, superb facilities, clean clean clean!!! Scott and Lynda are superb hosts, and will do anything to make sure our stay is the best it can be. The staff too are friendly, accommodating and very efficient. Once we found Blue Spruce, we never found the need to look anywhere else in the Algonquin highlands area for a place to relax and unwind.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from BlueSpruceResort, Owner at Blue Spruce Resort
Responded Feb 25, 2020
Thank you for taking the time to write this review, this is very much appreciated. So glad you found us and had an amazing time, we will pass this on to the staff. Think Snow... Lynda and Scott
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Ruth P wrote a review Mar 2022
2 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
The room was clean and spacious, kitchen was very well equipped, staff was friendly. The lake is right across the road and the cross country ski trails a short walk away. We had a wonderful time skiing on the groomed trails and on the lake. Skating was a bit bumpy but nice to be outside. Stayed 2 nights and would have liked to be there longer. We had a great time!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Bucky J wrote a review Mar 2021
13 contributions1 helpful vote
3.0 of 5 bubbles
We recently stayed in a studio at the blue spruce. The web site says our studio has “a great view of the lake”. In fact, the window in the main living area faces directly into the parking lot. The lake is beyond the parking lot, so principally what you see are cars. Also, there was a constant stream of people walking by our window from the parking lot, requiring us to close the very dark drapes. No shears to let the light in. This was very disappointing. The terrific view that is represented on the websit is a misrepresentation
Read more
Date of stay: March 2021
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Scott Hayden, Owner at Blue Spruce Resort
Responded Mar 10, 2021
Hi Bucky J, We are so sorry you didn’t feel the same as others about the view. We wish you had brought up how impactful this would be to your stay. You are always welcome to park your vehicle in the side parking lot if it was disrupting your view, we will also note on our website that the Motels are located 200ft from the lake. For the future, we have many other accommodations that are closer to the waterfront and in a more solitude location. Lynda & Scott Hayden
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Allan Bambra asked a question Jul 2020
Lindsay, Canada
what is the phone number of blue spruce resort
Answer from Al V
4 contributions
The phone number, found on the website under “contact information” is 705-635-2330.
Allan Bambra asked a question Jul 2020
Lindsay, Canada
what is your phone number
BusyBees4 asked a question Aug 2017
Brooklin, Canada30 contributions35 helpful votes
Do the cottages have a coffee maker or a Keurig?
Answer from Marcia V
Alliston, Ontario, Canada34 contributions1 helpful vote
Yes they have a coffee maker. Which was nice to brew your own coffee.
Answer from TonyD5769
Twickenham, United Kingdom26 contributions13 helpful votes
Hi ... Further to MsKoka's answer, yes the Lakeside Inn is the only thing within a 5 minute walk. If you don't mind driving, there's Huntsville 30 minutes away or Dorset (south of Dwight, down Highway 35) about 20-25 minutes away : look for the Trading Bay restaurant by the Narrows bridge in Dorset. In Dwight itself (10 or so minutes' drive) there is The Cookhouse and the Spring Lake Resort. Of these, we've only eaten at the Trading Bay though, and in various spots in Huntsville. Whatever you choose to do, have a very good trip!
Answer from MsKoka
Toronto, Ontario, Canada17 contributions1 helpful vote
Hello. I have never been to Blue Spruce in the winter. I am a summer guest only. The best person to answer your question would be Scott Hayden the owner of Blue Spruce. I can tell you though, that Scott runs a fabulous resort, and I'm sure you will have a wonderful time.
BostonNix wrote a tip Jul 2022
Cape Cod, Massachusetts352 contributions150 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Try to get a cottage away from the highway and with a lake view. The motel rooms are away from the highway."
Read full review
bellasusanna wrote a tip Oct 2021
Toronto124 contributions90 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Book early!"
Read full review
Michelle M wrote a tip Jul 2021
14 contributions3 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"you will not be disappointed no matter what accommodation you are offered."
Read full review
Jerry wrote a tip Jul 2021
Toronto, Canada1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Make sure you bring plenty of the food and drink you’ll require for the amount of time you are there. Not a lot of close grocer options."
Read full review
Chris M wrote a tip Mar 2021
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Can only speak for suite 8, but fantastic lake view"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Dwight area.
ALSO KNOWN AS
blue spruce hotel muskoka
LOCATION
CanadaOntarioMuskoka DistrictDwight
NUMBER OF ROOMS
26
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Blue Spruce Resort: UPDATED 2024

Frequently Asked Questions about Blue Spruce Resort
Which popular attractions are close to Blue Spruce Resort?
Nearby attractions include Algonquin Logging Museum Trail (1.2 km), Hemlock Bluff Trail (1.2 km), and Oxtongue Rapids Park (6.5 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Blue Spruce Resort?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free parking, and kids activities.
Which room amenities are available at Blue Spruce Resort?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Blue Spruce Resort?
Guests can enjoy barbeque facilities during their stay.
Is parking available at Blue Spruce Resort?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Blue Spruce Resort?
Conveniently located restaurants include Spring Lake Motel Resort and Restaurant, Din's Fresh Fries, and BeaverTails.
Are there any historical sites close to Blue Spruce Resort?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Robinson's General Store (14.9 km).
Does Blue Spruce Resort have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the lake view available here.
Is Blue Spruce Resort accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
All Dwight HotelsDwight Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in DwightHotels near Blue Spruce Resort
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars