We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
4308 Hwy 60, Dwight, Ontario P0A 1H0 Canada
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Traveller (122)
Room & Suite (47)
Pool & Beach (21)

About

#1 of 6 in Dwight
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Blue Spruce Resort is an outstanding fully equipped Cottage Resort and Motel, perfectly at home in its ideal setting of pristine lakes and diversified forests. Located near the West Gate of Algonquin Park, Ontario, Canada, it is one of the largest fully-equipped housekeeping resorts in Muskoka.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Beach
Tennis court
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Kids' outdoor play equipment
Non-smoking hotel
Self-serve laundry
Wifi
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Kitchenette
Microwave
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
125Reviews5Q+A29Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 103
  • 20
  • 2
  • 0
  • 0
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Doug W wrote a review Apr. 2022
Mississauga, Canada1873 contributions811 helpful votes
Driving into this resort you can immediately see the PRIDE OF OWNERSHIP. And once you are greeted by staff this just adds to the whole experience that you will enjoy. Reasonable rates for a variety of accommodations and amenities which will keep everyone happy and busy. for your stay. A lovely location with a small beach and boat launch area on the Oxtongue Lake Narrows. This resort offers you comparable rates which a dismal and run-down place across the water is charging and has nothing to offer.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Ruth P wrote a review Mar. 2022
2 contributions
The room was clean and spacious, kitchen was very well equipped, staff was friendly. The lake is right across the road and the cross country ski trails a short walk away. We had a wonderful time skiing on the groomed trails and on the lake. Skating was a bit bumpy but nice to be outside. Stayed 2 nights and would have liked to be there longer. We had a great time!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
Cathy M wrote a review Oct. 2021
Belle River, Canada31 contributions21 helpful votes
Another great stay at Blue Spruce! We stayed in a Studio this time and forgot just how perfect these accommodations are for 2 people. Everything you need and a perfect view of Oxtongue Lake. Great self checkin and checkout in place but always nice to say Hi to Lynda at the office. This resort is top notch and well presented. The beaches are well groomed and we enjoyed soaking in the view. The peak colours this time around just made it extra special. Thanks again and we will be back! Cathy and Earl
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
bellasusanna wrote a review Oct. 2021
Toronto130 contributions87 helpful votes
We recently stayed 2 nights in a studio after being notified of a cancellation. Based on previous reviews and their excellent website we had a fair idea of what to expect and now understand why it is always booked. Cleanliness being the number one observation and overall excellent value for your dollar.The unit was spotless,spacious and in great repair for an older building .A lovely view onto Oxtongue Lake and the flaming Autumn colours. Outside table and chairs at each unit. The kitchen was sparsely equipped but had everything one would need to make dinners. Not fancy appliances but clean and functional. Loved the idea of a backdoor and a wee patio area with each unit having their own barbecue. The beds were very comfortable…we brought our own blankets as requested. Sadly the weather did not allow us to take advantage of all the water related activities offered…boat rentals ect. That will have to wait for another time. We are hoping to return in the winter to a unit with a Fireplace. I am sure it will be a comfy cozy and beautiful respite in the long dark days. This is an exceptional property.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Travelled
Room Tip: Book early!
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
John W wrote a review Sep. 2021
Cambridge, Canada816 contributions296 helpful votes
The Blue Spruce Resort is in a great location near Algonquin Park, Dwight, Dorset, and Huntsville. We stayed in a Suite Room that was a good size for a couple. The room was very clean and well maintained. The bed was on the hard side which after a few nights started to effect our sleep. Every room around us was occupied by regulars, mostly senior. All griped about the low toilets in the rooms.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Travelled
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Michelle M wrote a review Jul. 2021
14 contributions3 helpful votes
This is our third year visiting Blue Spruce Resort… In our first review we expressed our excitement that there was finally a vacancy - now we know that these vacancies often come when long time guests can no longer rebook. What always amazes us at this resort is the quiet, low keyed approach. You can enjoy activities if you wish, or you can just sit and smell fresh air, watch the ripples on the water. read, swim, just be. Everything you possibly need is there for you, right down to a corkscrew(very important) and a BBQ, wifi, etc. And the attention to cleanliness is phenomenal. This year, the storms have been interesting and keeping the staff on their toes - and as soon as they could, the staff was out their fixing what they could. Yes COVID has impeded in some things being offered - the community BBQ with Lynda’s baked beans the one we miss the most. But the interaction with the guests has not suffered in the least - you truly do feel like a member of the family when you stay there - is what makes you want to return. You leave knowing you are not just a number but a respected guest. So when asked if we want to reserve for next year, without hesitation the answer was yes. Who knows maybe I can even consider offering worship on the beach next year. And one of these days we would love to be able to visit during the other seasons of the year. Until next year
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: you will not be disappointed no matter what accommodation you are offered.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Scott Hayden, Owner at Blue Spruce Resort
Responded Jul. 28, 2021
Hi Michelle! Thank you for your review, we love the wording of "quiet, low keyed approach" we are very keen on keeping the atmosphere as relaxing and "get back to nature" as possible! I will pass along your kind words to all staff who are now experts at storm restoration around the resort. Countdown for Summer 2022 is on, see you then if not sooner! Lynda & Scott Hayden
Read more
Jerry wrote a review Jul. 2021
Toronto, Canada1 contribution
My wife and I just returned from ANOTHER stay at the Blue Spruce Resort is located on beautiful Oxtongue Lake, 10 minutes from the west gate of Algonquin Park. To say we love this resort is an understatement. We have travelled to many resorts mostly in the tropics and this rivals any 5 star resort when it comes to cleanliness, safety and the care and attention of management and staff. The atmosphere is low key yet there is tons do for couples and young families alike. We have been here at different times during all 4 seasons and it has been spectacular every time. If you are here in the spring, summer or especially fall we highly recommend renting one of the canoes and heading up the Oxtongue River to Ragged Falls. This is a very doable trip for even the most novice of paddlers. Bring a picnic lunch and hike to the top of the falls for a breathtaking yet serene panoramic view of the area. We have always stayed in one of the 15? cabins they have to offer. Each equipped with a kitchen and wood burning fireplace. These cabins are truly a home-away-from-home. Thank you Lynda and Scott for another fantastic vacation.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Travelled
Room Tip: Make sure you bring plenty of the food and drink you’ll require for the amount of time you are...
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Scott Hayden, Owner at Blue Spruce Resort
Responded Jul. 28, 2021
Hello moms011540, Thank you for your five-star review! So glad to hear you are one of the lucky ones that have had the opportunity to visit us and Ragged Falls in all seasons, they each offer such a different experience in the area! Lynda & Scott Hayden
Read more
gurdishgill wrote a review Apr. 2021
Toronto, Canada92 contributions21 helpful votes
+1
I stayed in one of the studio rooms over Easter 2021 weekend. Room, bathroom and kitchen were very clean. I used the kitchen on both days to cook dinner. Kitchen has the essential dishes and utensils. Bed was very comfortable. View from the room was very nice. The road in front of the property offers a nice morning and evening walking area. Ragged falls on the Oxtongue river are a 5 minute drive. I really enjoyed my stay here!
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Scott Hayden, Owner at Blue Spruce Resort
Responded Apr. 7, 2021
Hi gurdishgill, So glad you enjoyed your stay and got to see the famous Ragged Falls at such a beautiful time of year, we hope to host you again soon! Lynda and Scott Hayden
Read more
Chris M wrote a review Mar. 2021
1 contribution
Had a fantastic stay at Blue Spruce!! Such an Algonquin gem. Not only for the beautiful views and easy access to hiking / cross country skiing but the accommodations were amazing! Owners Lynda and Scott really made us feel at home. We stayed in one of the suites which had plenty of space for the two of us. Big kitchen, beautiful view of the lake and the beds were super comfy.   One thing to emphasize is that they take the Covid cleanliness situation very seriously and the place was completely spotless. This is something to be wary of when picking a getaway (ex Air bnb) and they are very much on top of it.  Can't wait to visit again!!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2021
Rooms
Location
Service
Room Tip: Can only speak for suite 8, but fantastic lake view
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Scott Hayden, Owner at Blue Spruce Resort
Responded Apr. 7, 2021
Hi Nomad737113, Thank you for your kind words and five-star rating, the safety for our guests and staff are our top priority! We are so happy you were able to experience a safe getaway with us in these uncertain times Lynda & Scott Hayden
Read more
Bucky J wrote a review Mar. 2021
4 contributions1 helpful vote
We recently stayed in a studio at the blue spruce. The web site says our studio has “a great view of the lake”. In fact, the window in the main living area faces directly into the parking lot. The lake is beyond the parking lot, so principally what you see are cars. Also, there was a constant stream of people walking by our window from the parking lot, requiring us to close the very dark drapes. No shears to let the light in. This was very disappointing. The terrific view that is represented on the websit is a misrepresentation
Read more
Date of stay: March 2021
Value
Cleanliness
Helpful
Share
Response from Scott Hayden, Owner at Blue Spruce Resort
Responded Mar. 10, 2021
Hi Bucky J, We are so sorry you didn’t feel the same as others about the view. We wish you had brought up how impactful this would be to your stay. You are always welcome to park your vehicle in the side parking lot if it was disrupting your view, we will also note on our website that the Motels are located 200ft from the lake. For the future, we have many other accommodations that are closer to the waterfront and in a more solitude location. Lynda & Scott Hayden
Read more
Previous
123456
ALSO KNOWN AS
blue spruce hotel muskoka
LOCATION
CanadaOntarioMuskoka DistrictDwight
NUMBER OF ROOMS
26
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Blue Spruce Resort
Which popular attractions are close to Blue Spruce Resort?
Nearby attractions include Algonquin Logging Museum Trail (1.2 km), Hemlock Bluff Trail (1.2 km), and Oxtongue Rapids Park (6.5 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Blue Spruce Resort?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free parking, and kids activities.
Which room amenities are available at Blue Spruce Resort?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
Is parking available at Blue Spruce Resort?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Blue Spruce Resort?
Conveniently located restaurants include Spring Lake Motel Resort and Restaurant, Mohawk Grill, and Din's Fresh Fries.
Are there any historical sites close to Blue Spruce Resort?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Robinson's General Store (14.9 km).
Does Blue Spruce Resort have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the lake view available here.
Is Blue Spruce Resort accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.