We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Strand Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Management photos
The Strand Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

296 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for The Strand Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 296: English reviews
Coventry, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 August 2015

Fortunate that the weather was great, but the hotel added to to experience of yet again another wonderful stay in Donegal. Food and drink were excellent and the service brilliant. The aroma from the turf (peat) fires is absolutely terrific and everyone is so friendly

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Peter R
StrandBallyliffin, Manager at The Strand Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am delighted that you enjoyed you stay with us.

Newtownards, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 August 2015

The staff at the hotel were extremely professional and friendly at all times. The service in the hotel was very efficient and the food was extremely tasty and great value for money. The hotel itself has a very friendly and home from home feeling that allowed me to relax during the entire break

 Report
Helpful?
Thank alanm77
StrandBallyliffin, Owner at The Strand Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much. When I read your comments it confirms to me that our approach and efforts are working and we certainly want The Strand Hotel Ballyliffin to be Family focused and friendly, offering good food, value and service.

Reviewed 15 August 2015 via mobile

Went here for a meal with my parents and grandparents while visiting Inishowen. The food was delicious and the portion size was very generous. We were served by a lovely lady who was fantastic and the manager came around to ensure we were happy with our visit, excellent customer service. The atmosphere of the hotel was very warm and welcoming.I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CeireDoh
StrandBallyliffin, Owner at The Strand Hotel, responded to this review

The Strand Hotel Ballyliffin is a Family run Hotel and we certainly do out utmost to ensure that each and every visitor feels welcome. Quantity, quality, value and service are all part and parcel of what we are endeavoring to deliver. I am so happy that you enjoyed your meal and I welcome your return.

Guildford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 August 2015

We stayed 2 nights for a wedding and had a really lovely time. The family room we had booked had lots of room, lovely views and good beds. The breakfasts were very well done, the staff were always there and ready to help (even at 6.30am when I needed coffee before getting ready for the wedding). The rates were a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 777Alex777
StrandBallyliffin, Owner at The Strand Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We specialise in weddings and are fortunate to have the most experienced wedding team in Inishowen. I am delighted that you enjoyed the couple of days you spent here. Maybe you will have the opportunity to return again in the near future.

Moville, Ireland
Reviewed 5 August 2015

Great value 5 course meal for 20 euro. Suitable for a large group of golfers, walkers or just hungry people. Good plain food. Recommend the prawn cocktail and chicken wing starters, both delicious. Pay 5 euro extra for a sirloin steak, well worth it, served with potatoes and vegetables and with chips and coleslaw on request.Beautiful light Bailey's cheesecake was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank donegalfan2015
StrandBallyliffin, Owner at The Strand Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We have a great selection of menus available throughout the week. We strive to offer good honest food at good honest prices in the heart of Inishowen on The Wild Atlantic Way.

Marseille, France
Reviewed 27 July 2015

We had a very nice break here. The staff are friendly, bending over backwards to make us feel at home. This was not my first stay at the Strand, and will probably not be my last. Highly enjoyable and would recommend it to everyone.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Michael B
StrandBallyliffin, Owner at The Strand Hotel, responded to this review

Merci beaucoup Monsieur. We are delighted that you enjoyed your visit and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Dundonald, Belfast.
Reviewed 26 July 2015 via mobile

We called in for dinner on our latest trip to Ballyliffin and everything was just as good as always. Tasty food, excellent service and comfortable surroundings. We are never disappointed. Thanks again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 2020vision
StrandBallyliffin, Owner at The Strand Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your visit. We are delighted that you enjoyed your meal and as ever we were delighted to see you again.

Donegal Town, Ireland
Reviewed 15 July 2015

On arrival we had two guests who had not made a booking for the Hotel, The staff we're excellent sorting our friends with a double room, all of which we're clean, spacious, fully equipped and comfortable, in the morning a full Irish or continental breakfast awaited us which again was excellent! very reasonable rates and wonderful staff I'll be back...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank inishowen2015
StrandBallyliffin, Owner at The Strand Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are delighted that we could accommodate you and that you enjoyed to stay with us.

County Tyrone, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 July 2015

Having only seen our room, we left within 5 mins after checking in. Stained carpet, frayed duvet covers, stained toilet lid, old style TV sitting on a unit which blocked the wardrobe doors, filthy telephone, paintwork on walls chipped & general decor was awfuI. In serious need of refurbishment.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Annette C
StrandBallyliffin, Owner at The Strand Hotel, responded to this review

We are always extremely disappointed to receive such a negative review. While we understand that you were not happy with your allocated room we are disappointed that we were not afforded the opportunity to try and put that right before you left. A very small number of our rooms have yet to be refurbished and are a little tired. We...

Flemington, New Jersey
Reviewed 12 July 2015

This was a fine hotel to stay for one night. The pub was fine and seemed to be a popular hang-out. Room was clean, just a bit worn looking. Breakfast was very good in a lovely room looking out on the garden and beach beyond. Views around the town were pretty.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank EZTravelBuff
StrandBallyliffin, Owner at The Strand Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for reviewing your stay with us. We are delighted that you recommend The Strand Hotel for a nights stay. The seaview is beautiful.

89 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (33)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (17)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (56)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Other (30)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballyliffin
0.2 km away
Ballyliffin Lodge & Spa Hotel
0.2 km away
Ballyliffin Hotel
Ballyliffin Hotel
#3 of 4 in Ballyliffin
347 reviews
0.4 km away
Ballyliffin TownHouse
Ballyliffin TownHouse
#2 of 4 in Ballyliffin
109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 km away
Malin Hotel
Malin Hotel
#1 of 1 in Malin
203 reviews
17.7 km away
Inishowen Gateway
Inishowen Gateway
#1 of 5 in Buncrana
837 reviews
21.9 km away
Redcastle Hotel
Redcastle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Moville
1,811 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast included
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Banquet Room
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Family run Hotel, near to Ballyliffin Golf Club and overlooking the beautiful Pollan beach. Ideal location for family holidays, a short break, your wedding or a conference. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Strand Hotel

Address: Strand Hotel Main Street, Ballyliffin, Ireland
Region: Ireland > County Donegal > Ballyliffin
Price Range: $123 - $164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Strand Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your The Strand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Strand Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We had room 53 which a sea view.”
 of 5 bubbles 977philipr, 21 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Find out where the family rooms are and get as far away as possible.”
 of 5 bubbles Biawatch, 5 Dec 2016 | Read review
“ask for room with views of Pollan beach”
 of 5 bubbles jamesdF5858VT, 12 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Did not stay as hotel was full when we tried to book. Good sign.”
 of 5 bubbles 827frankd, 19 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Avoid rooms overlooking the car park and above the main entrance, as these get a bit noisy late at night.”
 of 5 bubbles marting971, 11 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5