We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Ballyliffin Lodge & Spa Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Ballyliffin Lodge & Spa Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

917 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Ballyliffin Lodge & Spa Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 913: English reviews
Magherafelt, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 August 2015

We had such a good experience the first visit we went back and got a great deal on a three for two bed and breakfast. When I booked the room by telephone I told them we celebrating our wedding anniversary and asked for a good room. What a surprise on arrival to find we had been given the Executive Suite....

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Jack C
BLCustomerCare, Manager at Ballyliffin Lodge & Spa Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Jack C Great to hear that on all visits to the hotel that you have had a great experience. Your kind comments regarding the excellent service from staff and your lovely food have been passed onto our front of house and chef team. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 August 2015

Waited an age for a barrel of Guinness to be changed. The staff member who served me, didn't tell me they were off to the cellar to change it & didn't apologise for the extremely lengthy delay on their return. Too many people on stools at the bar made it difficult to get served in the first instance & it...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Clarisa99
BLCustomerCare, Manager at Ballyliffin Lodge & Spa Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Clarisa99 I am disappointed to hear that you waited to long for a barrel of Guinness to be changed, and the member of staff should have informed you if you would have to wait for it to be changed. We have now passed on your comments to the Bar manager. I am glad to hear that after your wait...

ballymena
Reviewed 23 August 2015 via mobile

I am spending the night in the Ballyliffin lodge and spa. I used the spa this afternoon and what can I say, it was excellent. From customer service, to spa treatments it was a wonderful experience. If your planning a trip here book in for treatments, you won't be disappointed.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank BallymenaRuth
BLCustomerCare, Manager at Ballyliffin Lodge & Spa Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Ballymena Ruth Our spa treatments are indeed recommended by many for their quality and value, we are delighted to hear that the treatments and the customer service you experienced lived up to your expectations. We hope to see you again soon

Belfast, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 August 2015

The Ballyliffen is a firm favourite of ours. This was the first time we had stayed in the busy summer month of August. There was also a wedding which we hadn't been informed about when booking. The noise went on a long time but to be very honest I can sleep through most noises!! The staff are lovely and all...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Margaret B
BLCustomerCare, Manager at Ballyliffin Lodge & Spa Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Mebates Many thanks for taking the time to write your review. We are glad to hear that the Ballyliffin Lodge is a favourite hotel & location for you. I am sorry to hear that you were not aware of a wedding happening on the night of your stay as we try to ensure that all guests are informed through...

County Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 21 August 2015

We stopped for lunch In Jack's bar at this 4 star hotel in memory of my deceased father Jack. The fish and chips were greasy, and the chips the worst in Ireland, all small bits, not one full size chip in the bowl. When I mentioned this to the waitress, she apologized but did nothing further. I expected much more...

 Report
Helpful?
7Thank jpmryan
BLCustomerCare, Manager at Ballyliffin Lodge & Spa Hotel, responded to this review

Dear pmryan We are shocked and extremely disappointed that you did not have a positive experience in Jacks Bar, this is certainly not the standard that we would normally provide at our AA Rosette winning Bar & Restaurant. Your comments have indeed been listened to and passed on. We hope that you will return so that we can ensure that...

Cavan, Ireland
Reviewed 20 August 2015

Having recently retired I was given a weekend break in the Ballyliffin Lodge & Spa by one of my friends. What a gift! The hotel facilities were superb, staff efficient and friendly. I made a mix up with my booking, but Roisin at the desk solved all. Many thanks. The food was top class, better than many so called 5Star...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank SeamasClarke
BLCustomerCare, Manager at Ballyliffin Lodge & Spa Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Seamas Clarke, Thank you for leaving your kind comments. We do indeed aim to provide a high standard of quality and service. We pride ourselves in ensuring our guests leave with a positive lasting memory of our food, service and leisure facilities in the Ballyliffin Lodge and we hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Reviewed 18 August 2015 via mobile

Me and my husband recently had our wedding here.. And i can safely say everything was absoutley perfect which was all down to ricardo... He literally could not have done enough for us from the night before until the day after.. Hes a true credit to ballyliffin lodge. As regards the food it was exceptional and in ambundance as guests...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Gemma M
BLCustomerCare, Manager at Ballyliffin Lodge & Spa Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Gemma, The wedding team are delighted to hear that your experience of your wedding day lived up to your dreams, we pride ourselves in our product, facilities and customer service and always try to exceed our guests expectations. Your kind comments have been passed on to all concerned and they appreciate your recognition of their high standards. Congratulations on...

Ballymena
Reviewed 17 August 2015

well once again we spent a very pleasant weekend at the Ballyliffin Lodge Hotel. As always we got a wonderful welcome from all at the Ballyliffin Lodge. It really is a home from home for us as we are made so welcome by all of the staff. The rooms are first class and the staff are unbelievable, so nice an...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Margaret R
BLCustomerCare, Manager at Ballyliffin Lodge & Spa Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Margaret R Thank you for such a comprehensive review of the services & the facilities that we provide at the Ballyliffin Lodge & Spa, the team in all of the departments are keen to ensure that all of our guests have a relaxing break at our award winning 4 star coastal hotel. Your kind comments have been passed on...

Newry, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 August 2015

We recently had our wedding at the lodge on 11 July 2015 and we cannot express how fantastic it was. The staff were superb at the bar, reception and wedding team!! Particularly Ricardo and his guys. They were so tentative to all our guests which made the day run without a glitch. All of the small touches meant so much...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Hannah L
BLCustomerCare, Manager at Ballyliffin Lodge & Spa Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Hannah & Neil McArdle Congratulations once again on your recent wedding. We are delighted that the Ballyliffin Lodge has met your expectations on such a momentous day and we thank you for your recommendation. We pride ourselves on our quality of food & service and attention to detail. Your comments have been passed on and all of the team...

Reviewed 15 August 2015 via mobile

Went here for dinner with friends on my holiday in Inishowen. The views surrounding the hotel are beautiful and it's a very warm, welcoming place to dine. The staff were very helpful and the food was delicious. The strawberry daiquiris went down well too.

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank CeireDoh
BLCustomerCare, Manager at Ballyliffin Lodge & Spa Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Ceire Doh Went here for dinner with friends on my holiday in Inishowen. The views surrounding the hotel are beautiful and it's a very warm, welcoming place to dine. The staff were very helpful and the food was delicious. The strawberry daiquiris went down well too. Thankyou for taking the time to post your review. Great to hear that...

613 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (168)
Viewed
View from Room (12)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (19)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (36)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (85)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (413)
Viewed
Amenities (64)
Viewed
Dining (68)
Viewed
Standard Double Room (67)
Viewed
Standard Family Room (79)
Viewed
Superior Room (61)
Viewed
The Hotel (74)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (32)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballyliffin
0.2 km away
Ballyliffin Hotel
Ballyliffin Hotel
#3 of 4 in Ballyliffin
347 reviews
22.0 km away
Redcastle Hotel
Redcastle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Moville
1,812 reviews
17.6 km away
Inishowen Gateway
Inishowen Gateway
#1 of 5 in Buncrana
839 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
The Strand Hotel
The Strand Hotel
#4 of 4 in Ballyliffin
296 reviews
0.3 km away
Ballyliffin TownHouse
Ballyliffin TownHouse
#2 of 4 in Ballyliffin
109 reviews
34.4 km away
Shandon Hotel and Spa
Shandon Hotel and Spa
#1 of 1 in Portnablagh
596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Beachfront
  • Spa
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting
  • Business Centre with Internet Access

Additional Information about Ballyliffin Lodge & Spa Hotel

Address: Ballyliffin Lodge Ballyliffin Lodge Inishowen, Ballyliffin, Ireland
Region: Ireland > County Donegal > Ballyliffin
Price Range: $141 - $265 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ballyliffin Lodge & Spa Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Ballyliffin Lodge & Spa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ballyliffin Lodge And Spa Hotel
Ballyliffin Hotel Ballyliffin
Ballyliffin Donegal
Ballyliffin Hotel Donegal
Ballyliffin Lodge Hotel
Ballyliffin Spa Hotel
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Ballyliffin Lodge & Spa Hotel staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question
Belfast, United Kingdom
4 months ago
over a year ago
Belfast, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Ballyliffin Lodge & Spa Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rooms looking towards the sea are idyllic.”
 of 5 bubbles Lyn214, 18 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Above the entrance are the best view.”
 of 5 bubbles OwenD493, 16 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Front rooms have a magnificent view.”
 of 5 bubbles barbsb20, 11 Mar 2017 | Read review
“If you are looking a lunch go to Nancy's Barn - almost on the doorstep.”
 of 5 bubbles gav353530, 7 Mar 2017 | Read review
“try for a sea view and a few have a balcony.”
 of 5 bubbles J5445KVroberts, 1 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5