We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Dunbrody Country House Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Dunbrody Country House Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

629 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Dunbrody Country House Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 628: English reviews
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 8 November 2013

During the last week in August we were staying in a house in Dunmore East with the family so my husband and I decided to treat ourselves to one night, dinner bed and breakfast which was extremely poor to say the least! The room was just adequate. Our dinner was not great, we both chose the lamb for our main...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Hilary H
Wexford, Ireland
Reviewed 30 October 2013

My partner and I visited Dunbrody House over the Halloween bank holiday weekend, where we had dinner in the main restaurant. We sat to dine at 8pm in a dining room that was one third full. It was distinctly lacking atmosphere and felt echoy. Given the fact that it was Saturday night and a BH weekend, I would have expected...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Sheena H
dunbrody, General Manager at Dunbrody Country House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Sheena H, Thank you for your review of your dining experience with us last weekend. Once again let me apologise that you did not enjoy your dining experience with us when I spoke with you during the week. As I said we had a large group staying with us on the Saturday night that had alternative arrangements made on...

Fort Collins, Colorado
Reviewed 24 October 2013

I would give the hotel a 3 and the restaurant a 5, but unfortunately the restaurant does not have a separate listing. The hotel was good, but not great. It feels old because it is. While I can't really hold that against it, I have also stayed in places that have managed to maintain the feeling of old-fashioned simplicity while...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Daryle D
Limerick, Ireland
Reviewed 22 October 2013

Stayed here lately with four family members..to say we were disappointed is an understatement! Without going into every detail, being asked if we would like to order,and pay for, the following days newspaper as soon as we arrived, set the tone for our stay. We are an easy to please group who travel out to eat quite a lot and...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Rose P
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 16 October 2013

We had our civil ceremony wedding in late September this year in Dunbrody House Hotel. It was the most stress free fantastic day. From our arrival in the driveway up to the house 4 months prior to our big day, we fell in love with the setting. The staff then made us feel so welcome that we booked it more...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Grainne B
dunbrody, General Manager at Dunbrody Country House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Grainne, Thank you so much for the great review! We are delighted that you enjoyed your wedding here so much and appreciate all of the comments regarding the staff members and of course the hospitality and food. I hope you enjoyed your honeymoon and look forward to welcoming you back to Dunbrody again soon. Regards, Paul Mernagh General Manager

Reviewed 14 October 2013 via mobile

Visited here last weekend for a special family celebration, while it was nice I had expected it to be a unique and special dining experience and unfortunately it did not live up to that expectation . While the staff were in general pleasant , the food was good , not great . We had travelled a couple of hours to...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Pennyle
dunbrody, General Manager at Dunbrody Country House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Pennyle, Thank you for your recent review of your dining experience with us. I appreciate your feedback and am sorry that you did not experience the "wow" factor while with us. I do appreciate your positive comments on the food and staff I would like to know what you felt was not up to your expectation. Would it be...

Reviewed 12 October 2013

Just back from this amazing hotel & I'm suffering withdrawal symptoms. This place is a must visit. We stayed in the Lodge & it's like stepping back in time to the 50's but with all the creature comforts of today. There were 25 of us in total spread out across the facility but all converged for dinner at once. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TurasNua
dunbrody, General Manager at Dunbrody Country House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear TurasNua, Many thanks for your recent review of your stay with us last weekend. I'm delighted that you had a great time with us and will pass your comments on to Matt regarding his patience!! Hopefully we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back to see us again soon! Regards, Paul Mernagh General Manager

Dublin, Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 11 October 2013

To say a big thank you to Paul, Robbie and all the staff at Dunbrody for a wonderful twenty-fours hours staying with you. All staff without exception, were so very friendly and attentive. Paul, even when I was nosey and peering into the kitchen, you very kindly invited me in, thank you. I ordered, for my main dish that night,...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Anne B
dunbrody, General Manager at Dunbrody Country House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Anne B, We very much appreciated your lovely feedback regarding your stay with us last week. Thank you very much for the positive comments; we are looking forward to welcoming you back again soon. Best Regards, Paul Mernagh General Manager

Reviewed 8 October 2013

We visited Dunbrody for an afternoon and enjoyed a lovely lunch. Service was excellent. Everyone went out of their way to be accommodating. The food was served in good time, was presented very well, in good portions and very tasty. And don't even talk about the deserts. And if you have time, the grounds are just lovely and worth a...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Canonfan
dunbrody, General Manager at Dunbrody Country House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Canonfan, Thank you very much for your recent review. We are very pleased with your comments and thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback. We hope to welcome you back to see us again soon and very much appreciate your custom. Regards, Paul Mernagh General Manager

Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 7 October 2013

I brought my wife here for a birthday present. We took advantage of the dinner, B+B package. This was excellent value. We had a great stay from start to finish. On arrival we were upgraded in our room. The room was beautiful and was true in maintain the character of such a country house. We went for a drink before...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Tosh12345
dunbrody, General Manager at Dunbrody Country House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Tosh12345, Many thanks for the recent review of your stay here for your wife's birthday. We appreciate the lovely comments and look forward to welcoming you back to stay with us again very soon! Best Regards, Paul Mernagh General Manager

111 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (108)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (30)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Dining (25)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (35)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arthurstown
8.1 km away
Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort
11.9 km away
Granville Hotel
Granville Hotel
#2 of 12 in Waterford
1,199 reviews
6.0 km away
Faithlegg House Hotel & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
31.4 km away
Whitford House Hotel Health and Leisure Club
36.3 km away
Mount Juliet Estate
Mount Juliet Estate
#1 of 2 in Thomastown
957 reviews
16.4 km away
Brandon House Hotel
Brandon House Hotel
#1 of 1 in New Ross
621 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Small luxury country house hotel built in 1830 and set in extensive gardens and estate. Acclaimed fine dining restaurant and very popular Seafood Bar combined with on-site cookery school make Dunbrody a favourite destination amongst foodies but also for those seeking to experience Irish heritage coupled with traditional hospitality.A small boutique spa offering a range of holistic therapies completes the offering at Dunbrody. Ideal spot for those seeking to get away from it all and chill. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Dunbrody Country House Hotel

Address: R733, Arthurstown, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Wexford > Arthurstown
Price Range: $207 - $430 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Dunbrody Country House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Dunbrody Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dunbrody House Hotel
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Dunbrody Country House Hotel staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Dunbrody Country House Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The best ever dessert!”
 of 5 bubbles DeiseAoife, 12 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Rooms to the rear have nice garden views. The Local pub on site good food more casual. Try the beer from their own on site brewery.”
 of 5 bubbles 147simono, 25 Sep 2016 | Read review
“we had a ground floor room, with a door affording direct access to the big lawn.”
 of 5 bubbles PhilipRaible, 16 Aug 2016 | Read review
“We didn't stay there but the lunch was excellent”
 of 5 bubbles 768colinc, 14 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Room 206 overlooking the garden with a balcony”
 of 5 bubbles t1lagram, 8 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5