We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Club Amigo Marea del Portillo

Save
Traveller (2559)
Pool & Beach (429)
Room & Suite (340)
Overview
  • Excellent17%
  • Very good46%
  • Average25%
  • Poor8%
  • Terrible4%
Travellers talk about
“marea del portillo”(184 reviews)
“the bus”(124 reviews)
“vip package”(117 reviews)
AMENITIES
Internet
Breakfast included
Air Conditioning
Beachfront
Pool
Non-Smoking Rooms
Restaurant
3 Star Hotel
All hotel details
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (1,162)
Filter reviews
884 results
Traveller rating
169
355
235
79
46
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
169
355
235
79
46
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmarea del portillothe busvip packagesunset cruisefishhorseback ridingchickenbeach barlobster lunchsandwicheswhite sandday triphorse and buggya la cartefarallon sectionmanzanillo airportsaturday night
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 884 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Let me premise this review by the fact that this was my 53rd trip to Cuba over the past 30 years. I have stayed at 2 star to 5 star resorts all over the island. This is definitely one of my favourite! I traveled in...More

12  Thank Scoots124
Response from Marea_Portillo, Gerente at Club Amigo Marea del PortilloResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Guest Scoots124: We would love to thank you for your kindness posting this review on this site dedicated to the advisory to future travelers. We hope very soon we will welcome you back in our place. Once again, thanks a lot for all your...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

This resort is a bit different. Many guests are regulars that come back time after time. You need to come with the right expectations. The resort offers few amenities apart from The warmth and friendship of the locals and resort workers. For any guests that...More

4  Thank lalaToronto
Response from Marea_Portillo, Quality Supervisor at Club Amigo Marea del PortilloResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear lala Toronto Thanks to share with us all your comments about your recent trip to our Resort. We will be waiting for your next visit when you decide. Thanks again for take your time to wrote your experience for future travelers. Kind Regards, Club...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

For one thing, they renewed the public bathrooms hardware and like always, the place is comparatively clean. We prefer the Farallon section of the resort (Superior rooms) and like to stay in the upper floor suite, and the extreme East end. Even if both me...More

3  Thank Roger S
Response from Marea_Portillo, Quality Supervisor at Club Amigo Marea del PortilloResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Roger S Thanks to share with us all your comments about your recent trip to our Resort. We feeling very comfortable that you founded a few improvements in the property. We will check the negative comment that you said to delete this issue. Thanks...More

Reviewed 5 weeks ago

I went to this resort with friends for a week and also booked the neighboring hotel (Punta Piedra) for. a week alone, mostly for scuba diving as the reviews and travel information said this was a great place to be. Unfortunately, the dive office was...More

4  Thank simardcook
Response from Marea_Portillo, Quality Supervisor at Club Amigo Marea del PortilloResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear simardcook, Thanks to share with us all your comments about your recent trip to our Resort. We will check the negative comment that you said to delete this issue. Thanks again for take your time to wrote your experience for future travelers. Kind Regards,...More

Reviewed May 31, 2018

We were there in September, and it is exceptionally hot. There were no crowds and it was the peace and quiet we were looking for. The staff was impeccable an extremely accommodating, always looking for ways to make the stay better. Chichi was a perfect...More

4  Thank Tricia B
Response from Marea_Portillo, Quality Supervisor at Club Amigo Marea del PortilloResponded June 1, 2018

Dear Client: We would like to thank you for your kindness posting this review on this site dedicated to the advisory to future travelers. We hope very soon we will welcome you back in our facilities. Once again, thanks a lot for all your kind...More

View more reviews
About
Amenities
Top amenities
Restaurant
Pool
Beachfront
Bar/Lounge
Breakfast included
Hotel Amenities
Shuttle Bus Service
Airport Transportation
Breakfast included
Breakfast Available
Room amenities
Air Conditioning
Things to do
Restaurant
Pool
Bar/Lounge
Outdoor pool
Tennis Court
Details
Price range
US$63 - US$104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Details
Price range
US$63 - US$104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (2559)
Pool & Beach (429)
Room & Suite (340)
Dining (96)
Family and Play Areas (22)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Fred L
June 20, 2018|
Answer
Response from Scoots124 |
There is on site laundry, but as far as I know just for the hotel to do sheets, towels etc. I take a small box of Tide, rope for a clothes line and a few clothes pegs to be able to do my own. Maybe if you asked your Chamber... More
0
Votes
Chris L
June 13, 2018|
AnswerShow all 6 answers
Response from andre m | Reviewed this property |
1hour and half
0
Votes
Chris L
June 13, 2018|
AnswerShow all 9 answers
Response from psTt | Reviewed this property |
Just short of 2 hours. It was pleasant and interesting about 5 years ago but the road damage increasing is making it longer and a little concerning. The drivers are very good, but something needs to be done.
0
Votes
Room Tips
"Farallon is for more active people. Less active? Marea section, or cabanas first floor."
Read review
"If you're a party type, stay near the pool. If you like peace and quiet ask for a room far from the pool."
Read review
"Cabanas near beach are lovely"
Read review
"#40 CABANA could use some tree branches to be cut to give a better view of the ocean"
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing