We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Sponsored by:
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
    There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
    • {providername} {price}
    {providername} {price}
      {listitems}
    {sold_out_text}
    We can't find prices for this accommodation
    From {rate_price} {rate_periodicity}

    Bishops

    Bishops Cottage Main Road, West Lulworth BH20 5RQ, England
    Save
    Best prices for your stay
    04/06/2017 05/06/2017
    1 room
    • 1 room
      2 adults
      • 2 adults
        0 children
        • 0 children
          Traveller (132)
          Room & Suite (19)
          Pool & Beach (15)
          Lulworth Cove Inn
          766 reviews
          #3 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in West Lulworth
           
          Limestone Hotel
          437 reviews
          #1 of 2 hotels in West Lulworth
           
          Mortons House Hotel
          906 reviews
          #1 of 2 hotels in Corfe Castle
           
          The Smuggler's Inn
          413 reviews
          #1 of 1 hotels in Osmington Mills
           
          Overview
          • Excellent49%
          • Very good22%
          • Average11%
          • Poor10%
          • Terrible6%
          Travellers talk about
          “pool room” (13 reviews)
          “the study” (12 reviews)
          “lobster” (12 reviews)
          Free Wifi
          Free Parking
          Breakfast included
          Beachfront
          Pool
          Non-Smoking Rooms
          Restaurant
          Suites
          Bar/Lounge
          Pets Allowed
          4.0 Star Hotel
          All hotel details
          {"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
          Lulworth Cove Inn
          766 reviews
          #3 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in West Lulworth
           
          Limestone Hotel
          437 reviews
          #1 of 2 hotels in West Lulworth
           
          Mortons House Hotel
          906 reviews
          #1 of 2 hotels in Corfe Castle
           
          The Smuggler's Inn
          413 reviews
          #1 of 1 hotels in Osmington Mills
           
          Write a Review
          Reviews (176)
          Traveller rating
          Traveller type
          Time of year
          Language

          1 - 5 of 176 reviews

          Reviewed 2 days ago via mobile

          We stayed in the pool room - checked in on Friday and out on Sunday. They were really helpful we arrived midday - long before check in and were allowed to leave our bags behind the desk so we could go explore the area. The...More

          Thank Sunita K
          Reviewed 5 days ago

          I don't want to go into too many details about this hotel's rather major shortcomings as this would take too much time, but I really wouldn't recommend staying here. Instead, I'd suggest you stay at the Lulworth Cove Inn. Whilst Bishops has great potential to...More

          Thank travelivia222
          Response from Philip Bill A, Manager at Bishops

          I am trying to work out who you are and which room you stayed in. We have not had an Eve stay here at all recently. So we are back to the usual issue of anonymity, and possibly even under a pseudonym, which is such...More

          Reviewed 5 days ago via mobile

          We were informed in advance by the hotel that we would be staying in the "Bar Room". That was a first for us! We had read the reviews about the hotel & concerns about attitude of some of the staff. All staff were very friendly...More

          Thank Tony L
          Response from Philip Bill A, Manager at Bishops

          Thank you.

          Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

          This is no luxury hotel and the owners are not guest friendly. Stayed here for a weekend in beautiful lulworth. Owners kept asking us in an unfriendly fashion what we wanted every time we returned to the hotel. They still didn't know we were staying...More

          2  Thank Nikky W
          Reviewed 1 week ago

          We had a very enjoyable stay, such a comfortable nights sleep. Luxury bedding, fantastic pillows and mattress so comfortable​. Wonderfully​ attentive friendly staff. The best cooked breakfast all done fresh to order. Lovely shower easy to work. Highly recommended location with fabulous views. The Cliff...More

          Thank 403Jackie
          Response from Philip Bill A, Manager at Bishops

          Thank you. I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay

          Lulworth Cove Inn
          766 reviews
          #3 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in West Lulworth
           
          Limestone Hotel
          437 reviews
          #1 of 2 hotels in West Lulworth
           
          Mortons House Hotel
          906 reviews
          #1 of 2 hotels in Corfe Castle
           
          The Smuggler's Inn
          413 reviews
          #1 of 1 hotels in Osmington Mills
           
          About
          Awards & Recognition
          Certificate of Excellence
          Amenities
          • Top amenities
          • Pool
          • Restaurant
          • Bar/Lounge
          • Breakfast included
          • Beachfront
          • Free Parking
          • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
          • Hotel Amenities
          • Breakfast included
          • Free Parking
          • Things to do
          • Pool
          • Restaurant
          • Bar/Lounge
          Details
          • Price range
          • US$120 - US$180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
          • Hotel class
          • Room types
          • Suites ,
          • Non-Smoking Rooms
          • Number of rooms
          • 3
          • Location
          • United Kingdom >
          • England >
          • Dorset >
          • West Lulworth
          • Also Known As
          • Bishops West Lulworth, Dorset, England
          Add Photo Photos
          Traveller (132)
          Room & Suite (19)
          Pool & Beach (15)
          Dining (6)
          Hotel & Grounds (116)
          Bathroom (4)
          Nearby
          West Lulworth House
          27 reviews
          .60 km away
           
          Limestone Hotel
          437 reviews
          .67 km away
           
          Nearby Restaurants
          Limestone
          364 reviews
          .67 km away
          Lulworth Cove Inn Restaurant
          803 reviews
          .15 km away
          The Boat Shed Cafe
          98 reviews
          .04 km away
          Brody's
          120 reviews
          .14 km away
          Nearby Attractions
          Jurassic Coast Activities
          340 reviews
          .60 km away
          Lulworth Estate
          30 reviews
          .17 km away
          South West Coast Path- Lulworth Cove & The Fossil Forest Walk
          87 reviews
          .60 km away
          Stair Hole
          32 reviews
          .14 km away
          Questions & AnswersAsk a question
          Sunita K
          I've emailed Bishop's 3x now (no response as of yet) about breakfast and phoned them but the number doesn't appear to connect. I'm vegetarian and wanted to know if they could either make the full English vegetarian by substituting sausages/bacon for vegetarian alternatives (i.e. Veggie sausages, hash browns etc). Or if they could make eggs florentine (replacing the ham/salmon with spinach on their eggs Benedict) I've not received a response and we are going there next week - this would be really helpful to know.
          12 May 2017|
          Answer Show all 5 answers
          Response from ian596 | Reviewed this property |
          Hi my partner is vegiterian and enjoyed a full English beginning breakfast
          1
          Vote
          Sunita K
          As check in is between 3pm to 7pm - could we leave our bags (suitcases) at the reception or in a store room and then come back to check in? We are going to get there for around 11am because we don't want to lose hours waiting around to check in.
          22 April 2017|
          Answer Show all 3 answers
          Response from John R | Reviewed this property |
          Hi Sunita, Yes I think they did it for us so it's no problem. Enjoy your stay! John
          1
          Vote
          Jeff D
          Are there hairdryers in the rooms?
          22 August 2016|
          Answer Show all 6 answers
          Response from kiwisteph2015 | Reviewed this property |
          Good morning, No there are no hairdriers in the actual bedrooms but you can ask for free hairdriers from reception and use them for as long as required. Hope you enjoy Dorset.
          1
          Vote
          Room Tips
          "The study is wonderful"
          Read review
          "All three rooms I saw in the main building were big and comfortable"
          Read review
          "Boathouse but no wifi connection"
          Read review
          "The Cove room is a good choice"
          Read review
          Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
          Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing