We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Hazlewood Castle & Spa, BW Premier Collection

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Hazlewood Castle & Spa, BW Premier Collection
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

761 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 756: English reviews
Start your review of Hazlewood Castle & Spa, BW Premier Collection
 Click to rate
Addingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed yesterday NEW

We stayed for valentines weekend. The room was spacious and comfortable and the food in the restaurant was excellent. We found the staff very friendly and the hotel is located in beautiful grounds. We will definitely be returning.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AandCArmy50
Darlington, United Kingdom
Reviewed yesterday NEW

Had an amazing time at Hazlewood Castle. Magnificent setting with spectacular grounds. Our room was beautiful, the staff were helpful, friendly and efficient. Our evening meal was outstanding. What more can I say - Well worth a visit!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank swinbanka
Newbury, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Lovely room (Elderflower),with nice furnishings.Excellent meal in the hotel restaurant and a delicious breakfast.Can thoroughly recommend the Vavasour pinot noir. Found the staff friendly and willing to help,I came without my phone charger and the lady on reception was kind enough to lend me hers. All in all a great weekend.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LilyLambert
Hazlewood-Manager, Manager at Hazlewood Castle & Spa, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review

Dear LilyLambert Thank you for your wonderful review on TA. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay. I will be sure to share with the team. The Vavasour wine, which is produced by the descendants of the Hazlewood Vavasour's, has won international awards. I am delighted you enjoyed the wine. We look forward to welcoming you back soon Yours sincerely...

Honiton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Booked via internet for an overnight re business and was looking for something with character. Size and grounds impressive but room small in lower ground floor, although clean. Short staffed on night I stayed. Breakfast included and was OK.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stephen B
Hazlewood-Manager, Manager at Hazlewood Castle & Spa, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review

Dear Stephen B Thank you for your comments via TA. I am delighted you like the castle and accommodation, Your comment regarding staffing is noted and for discussion with my team to address any shortfalls in standards. Once again thank you for taking the time to review the castle. Yours sincerely Andrew Brownridge Deputy manager

Halifax, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed in a lovely very large room (Jasmine) with a four poster bed. The room was clean and well presented. Overall the hotel could do with some updating to give it a 'quality' feel. Sitting by a fireplace with an electric stove effect fire was disappointing (most of the fireplaces had these in, not giving out heat - just...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank roseybooks
Hazlewood-Manager, Manager at Hazlewood Castle & Spa, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review

Dear roseybooks Thank you for your comments on TA. The castle has, where functionally possible, a log fire. Where this is not possible, a functional fire is installed. We would very much like to have more log fires, but regrettably the structures do not allow for this. I am sorry you felt disappointed with the dining option, or that the...

Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Nice building and grounds but booked a spa weekend and was disappointed. We paid for what was sold as 3 hours use of the spa but there wasn't one. We ended up watching TV in the room for hours as there was nothing to do before dinner. Lovely evening meal but had a mouldy yoghurt at breakfast. Had a massage...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Emily B
Hazlewood-Manager, Manager at Hazlewood Castle & Spa, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review

Dear Emily B Thank you for your review on TA. I am aware of your comments and have responded to the agent, with whom you made your booking. I am sorry you were disappointed, Imagine Spa had contacted the agent and advised in advance of your arrival, the availability. I am not aware if it was passed to you in...

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

We got married at Hazlewood Castle in August 2016, it was an amazing day and we had so many positive comments from our guests about the venue. The location is beautiful whether you're there for a wedding or just a short break. The food in the restaurant is great and the food for our wedding reception was really nice too....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Laura5004
Hazlewood-Manager, Manager at Hazlewood Castle & Spa, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review

Dear Laura5004 Thank you for your lovely comments following your wedding last year. It is very kind of you to remember to review us. We hope to create special memories for our couples that will last a lifetime. We look forward to seeing you back at Hazlewood Castle soon Yours sincerely Andrew Brownridge Deputy Manager

Wakefield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

This is the second year in a row with have stayed at Hazlewood Castle for the Valentines weekend..The castle is amazing, the staff very helpful and friendly. We dined in the main hall and the food was excptional, the music and the ambience were just perfect for the occasion. We stayed in the Rose room which was very spacious with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kath W
Hazlewood-Manager, Manager at Hazlewood Castle & Spa, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review

Dear Kath W Thank you for your lovely comments on TA. Rose room is a lovely spacious room, I am delighted you enjoyed it. We are thrilled you chose to return again. The team will be thrilled at your comments, I will be sure to share with them. Yours sincerely Andrew Brownridge Deputy Manager

United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed for one night, nice old castle, 99% of staff really nice, Chatty and helpful , Dinner was very nice, Breakfast self service , Worked for wife and I, Was good, We stayed in the main building what was good for us , But some complained about the rooms in the courtyard been damp ??? For us a nice 4...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alan B
Hazlewood-Manager, Manager at Hazlewood Castle & Spa, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review

Dear Alan B Thank you for your review on TA. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. I note your comment regarding a guest comment, please be assured none of the rooms have a damp problem. However all comments are taken seriously and an investigation is underway to ascertain the nature of comment. We look forward to welcoming...

York, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

A beautiful building in a lovely setting. Appeared lovely when we went for a wedding in September. Arrived at 3pm, staff were friendly and helpful, room (Violet) was lovely, the bathroom a disappointment (tired), there was only 1 robe, but it was also tired/tatty looking to the point I would not wear it. There was a very strong flowery smell...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Mrs_Jones253
Hazlewood-Manager, Manager at Hazlewood Castle & Spa, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review

Dear Mrs_Jones253 Thank you for your review on TA. I do hope you discussed your comments with a member of the team, it is at this point we are best able to offer redress. Where the structure allows, we have installed log fires. There are areas where a chimney was not functionally possible, is these instances a model fire for...

478 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (427)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (119)
Viewed
Dining (27)
Viewed
Room/Suite (50)
Viewed
View from Room (22)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (22)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Other (176)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (51)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (25)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hazlewood
17.0 km away
Rudding Park Hotel
Rudding Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Follifoot
4,351 reviews
17.4 km away
Middlethorpe Hall & Spa
39.5 km away
The Devonshire Arms Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.9 km away
Wood Hall Hotel & Spa
Wood Hall Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Collingham
741 reviews
19.1 km away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
15.0 km away
Oulton Hall & Spa
Oulton Hall & Spa
#1 of 1 in Oulton
2,335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Nestled in 77 acres of landscaped gardens & woodland, this former knight's residence is in an idyllic rural location only minutes from the historic city of York & the cosmopolitan city of Leeds. Dating back to 1086, Hazlewood Castle has been sensitively restored & converted into a fabulous destination offering a selection of elegant private function rooms, 32 luxury rooms & suites, an award-winning Vavasour Restaurant, & its very own chapel. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hazlewood Castle & Spa, BW Premier Collection

Address: Paradise Lane, Hazlewood LS24 9NJ, England (Formerly Hazlewood Castle & Spa, BEST WESTERN PREMIER Collection)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Hazlewood
Price Range: $114 - $321 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hazlewood Castle & Spa, BW Premier Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Hazlewood Castle & Spa, BW Premier Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hazlewood Castle Hotel Hazlewood
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hazlewood Castle & Spa, BW Premier Collection staff and other travellers.
7 questions
Ask a question
Halifax, United Kingdom
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Tyne and Wear, United Kingdom
1 month ago

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from Hazlewood Castle & Spa, BW Premier Collection staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The room we had in the original building was stunning”
 of 5 bubbles LilyLambert, 21 Feb 2017 | Read review
“We loved the Rose room”
 of 5 bubbles LydfordHouseHotel, 10 Feb 2017 | Read review
“The treatments in the spa are wonderful but make sure everything you book is clear as they are a bit disorganised.”
 of 5 bubbles mariaduffy1, 8 Feb 2017 | Read review
“The Carmalite room is right outside of the Reception area and very small”
 of 5 bubbles missytiger, 4 Feb 2017 | Read review
“We had the Elderflower room.”
 of 5 bubbles ColinT860, 16 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5