We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Kariega Game Reserve

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
Kariega Game Reserve
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,219 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Kariega Game Reserve
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,100: English reviews
Reviewed 28 August 2016 via mobile

We stayed in "Main Lodge" which is one of 5 accommodation areas associated with Kariega. When we booked with Trailfinders this was not made clear to us. Had it been we may have chosen differently. (See a separate review of the lodge and accommodation). The safari trips are identical no matter in which lodge you stay. The safari drives were...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Simon L
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 August 2016

A fantastic week - not only because of the amazing animals but largely due to our amazing ranger Daniel who went out of his way to make sure we got the best out of our time there. Nothing was too much trouble. We were so sad to leave !

 Report
Helpful?
Thank emma c
Kansas City, Missouri
Reviewed 25 August 2016

This was my first visit to Kariega (Settler's Drift Lodge), and it certainly will not be my last! From the initial welcome to the check out, the staff was warm, friendly, and genuinely happy to host us in one of the loveliest spots in the Eastern Cape. The boat ride to the lodge is NOT to be missed, so arrive...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Margaret A
East London, South Africa
Reviewed 25 August 2016

Fabulous one night stay at the Main Lodge. Our ranger, Victor, was friendly and very informative. His patience allowed us a very special game viewing experience. would love to stay longer next time!! So convenient and worth the trip!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 436hayleyr
Bronwen d, Manager at Kariega Game Reserve, responded to this review

Great to read that you had a super one night stay at Main Lodge. Sorry that you couldn't stay longer. We hope that you might be able to come and visit us again in the not too distant future! With kind regards from all at Kariega.

West Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 August 2016

Fantastic experience of both safari and accommodation. The chalets are currently being renovated but we had one that was still waiting. Saying that it was adequate and clean. Very knowledgeable rangers who made the holiday.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 169hugha
Bronwen d, Manager at Kariega Game Reserve, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind review on your safari holiday with us at Main Lodge. We are super excited and very close to completing the renovations of our chalets and so looking forward to guests enjoying the upgraded bathrooms, new soft furnishings, outdoor furniture, decks, banisters and more! We are glad that you enjoyed the comfort and space...

Southampton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 August 2016

We spent 4 days in the expert hands of our ranger, Bongani. He was full of interesting insight and showed us some great animal sights and experiences. Amazing lion encounter was the start and it didn't disappoint after. Only safari downside was lack of leopard spotting, which seems common for Kariega. Spacious accommodation but we had some maintenance issues with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank claireJ9412GZ
Bronwen d, Manager at Kariega Game Reserve, responded to this review

Dear Claire, Great to read that you had a super safari experience and enjoyed your ranger Bongani. We think that he is a gem too! We are sorry that you did not spot a leopard, they are indeed very difficult to see in our terrain. We are also sorry about the maintenance issues. Please accept our sincere apologies about the...

Newton Abbot, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 August 2016

We really enjoyed our stay at Kariega staying at Main Lodge - chalet was excellent with fabulous views and the kids loved the plunge pool! Our ranger Allen was fantastic - v professional and informative and he really went the extra mile (literally) to ensure that we saw as many animals as possible. Our 4 day stay on the reserve...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SarahSimba
Bronwen d, Manager at Kariega Game Reserve, responded to this review

Thank you Sarah for your super feedback. We have passed on your thanks to Allen. Thank you too for recommending Kariega. This is very much appreciated as guest recommendations are the heart of our business. With kind regards from all on the reserve.

Port Elizabeth
Reviewed 22 August 2016

Very good service! Great experience! Very good ranger! Our meals was top quality! The Game drives was a very experience! We will definitely come and visit again! Overall everything was good from the service, food , beautiful and clean rooms. Nice views!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank denysw7
Bronwen d, Manager at Kariega Game Reserve, responded to this review

Yay! Super to read that you and your family had such a great time with us. Loved your review - thank you!

Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 22 August 2016

I loved every minute of my time to Kariega. I wish I had stayed longer. My range Victor was amazing. I stayed there from August 17 to Aug 20. The accommodations are these private lodges which are sort of like what you would see as a time share without a kitchen. There were only 2 of us, but we were...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank tmbrake
Bronwen d, Manager at Kariega Game Reserve, responded to this review

Thank you for adding your information packed review. This is so helpful for prospective guests. So glad that you enjoyed your stay and we really appreciate you recommending Kariega. With kind regards from the reserve.

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 August 2016

We had the most amazing stay at Kariega main lodge. Our ranger Bianca was informative and also great fun. She answered all our questions and taught us so much while we were there. The chalets were well equipped and the food good. Great choice of food and drink.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank marysim

627 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (603)
Viewed
View from Room (33)
Viewed
Room/Suite (63)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (22)
Viewed
Dining (29)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (67)
Viewed
Bathroom (17)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (4)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
1:41
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (366)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (24)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (15)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kenton-on-Sea
7.6 km away
Kariega River Lodge
Kariega River Lodge
#1 of 1 in Kenton-on-Sea
192 reviews
39.3 km away
Kichaka Luxury Game Lodge
Kichaka Luxury Game Lodge
#1 of 4 in Grahamstown
307 reviews
0.0 km away
Kwandwe Private Game Reserve
Kwandwe Private Game Reserve
#1 of 1 in Kwandwe Private Game Reserve
43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.7 km away
Royal St Andrews Hotel
Royal St Andrews Hotel
#1 of 6 in Port Alfred
221 reviews
11.1 km away
Sibuya Game Reserve & Tented Camp
8.0 km away
Kariega Settlers Drift Tented Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Free Internet
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free Breakfast
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Free Breakfast
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Kariega Game Reserve is a 10,000 hectare Big 5 malaria-free private game reserve in the Eastern Cape region of South Africa. The safari experience combines close up Big 5 game viewing, an expansive variety of fauna, flora and birdlife, a landscape spanning 5 eco-systems and dramatic views and vistas. Kariega Game Reserve has five safari lodges. Main Lodge consists of 21 separate log chalets, each with en-suite bathrooms, lounge and private balcony; River Lodge has 10 suites and is located on the Bushman's River; Ukhozi Lodge has 10 spacious suites, each with private pools and great views; Settlers Drift Tented Lodge has 9 modern but intimate suites surrounded by natural bush and overlooking the Bushman's River wilderness area and lastly the Homestead private lodge is perfectly suited for families or groups of friends of up to 14 people. Rates include accommodation, meals, morning and evening game drives with your experienced guide, walking safaris and a river trip. Fishing, canoeing and other activities can be arranged. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Kariega Game Reserve

Address: R343 | Between Kenton On Sea and Grahamstown, Kenton-on-Sea 6191, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Greater Addo > Kenton-on-Sea
Price Range: $661 - $928 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kariega Game Reserve 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Kariega Game Reserve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kariega Game Reserve Hotel Kenton-On-Sea
Kariega Lodge
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Kariega Game Reserve staff and other travellers.
13 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (13)

Questions? Get answers from Kariega Game Reserve staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All chalets are different depending of individual needs”
 of 5 bubbles LyndaC990, 5 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Try and get a lodge with a pool”
 of 5 bubbles Racing-Hippo, 17 Oct 2016 | Read review
“We were in Jackal Buzzard which had a fabulous view over the valley below.”
 of 5 bubbles 993anitat, 5 Oct 2016 | Read review
“We had chalet number 2, a 5 minute walk from the main restaurant area”
  • King of the Jungle
  • The King of the Jungle
  • A sunset viewed during our game drive
  • Our plunge pool
 of 5 bubbles C9159VBterryh, 1 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Any room is superb. We have experienced several over the last few years.”
 of 5 bubbles peerden, 28 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay