We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Mere Brook House

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Management photos
Mere Brook House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

145 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 145: English reviews
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I cannot fault the Mere Brook House. The staff were extremely friendly and welcoming. The room and all communal areas were immaculately clean. Just before my departure, I had a look in some of the other rooms and they all looked really nice. You can pretty much ask for anything you like for breakfast and the chef is happy to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank steveN6900RX
Falkirk, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

The house and surrounds are simply beautiful. The staff, breakfast and rooms are first class. I arrived late and appreciated the crackers and cheese that were available. Wouldn't think twice about going back.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ann_riach
lornaWirral, Manager at Mere Brook House, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your lovely review, Ann. We're so glad you enjoyed the crackers and cheese! Remember us if you're ever back on the Wirral... We would love to welcome you back. Kindest regards, MBH

Perth and Kinross, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

The best B and B we have stayed at.. It's more like home from home .. Super rooms, relaxed approached throughout the stay.. Made to feel very welcome and we were offered full access to the kitchen for drinks, plus complimentary snacks.. Superb accommodation , ideal for a short break, or a family stay... Top class

 Report
Helpful?
Thank shawkes29
lornaWirral, Manager at Mere Brook House, responded to this review

Thank you so much. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We would be delighted to welcome you back in the future. Kindest regards, MBH

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We had a family party and stayed over in the house and the cottage. This is the second time we have stayed over and both times we have been looked after so well. Lorna and her team provide an excellent 5 star service in beautiful surroundings and I can't recommend Merebrook House enough. Try it for yourself!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jackie I
lornaWirral, Manager at Mere Brook House, responded to this review

Thanks so much for your review, Jackie. We look forward to the next celebration!!! All the best, MBH

England
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

A warm welcome with homemade cakes and shortbread made a potentially miserable Sunday evening a real treat! My room was spacious and comfortable with a beautiful bay window. Breakfast in the homely kitchen was freshly cooked by Lorna and was delicious. We had a meeting there too, with lots of space and a really tasty hot lunch.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Uhannah
lornaWirral, Owner at Mere Brook House, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to write this review. We are so glad you enjoyed the cakes and the lunch. We hope to see you again in the future. Kind regards, MBH

Southport, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed at Merebrook House to celebrate my 60th with a group of ladies. I knew as soon as I saw Merebrook House and met Lorna that it would be the perfect venue for my 'party time'... We arrived late morning for a full English breakfast with Buck's Fizz!! That set us up for the day of fun ahead... We returned...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jean D
lornaWirral, Owner at Mere Brook House, responded to this review

We loved having your group stay with us and enjoyed being a part of your special celebrations. We are delighted that everyone had a good time and enjoyed their trip to Liverpool in addition to their stay at Mere Brook House. We do hope you can find an excuse to return. Best wishes to everyone.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Lorna was very helpful and met us with tea and homemade cake. Unfortunately it was only an overnight stay as we had an early hospital appointment. Rooms very comfortable and tastefully decorated. Tasty breakfast. Lovely rural setting.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Shirley W
lornaWirral, Owner at Mere Brook House, responded to this review

It was nice to meet you both and thanks for taking time to provide a review. It is good to hear that you had a comfortable stay with us despite having travelled a long way in order to attend a local hospital to us. Best wishes to you both.

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Although reluctant at first, I had to stay at Mere Brook House for a few weeks with my wife and two children due to housing issues. However, I must say we all thoroughly enjoyed the experience. The house is an old Edwardian country house with an additional coach house built at the rear. Both are impeccably decorated and classically stylish....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gareth M
lornaWirral, Manager at Mere Brook House, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to provide such a lovely and comprehensive review. It was a pleasure having your family stay with us at what I know must have been a difficult time for you all. We are delighted that despite the circumstances you enjoyed your stay and of course our lovely cakes. I hope you have...

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

What a wonderful place to stay. So unexpected! We were due to stay elsewhere at a wedding venue. It was fully booked so we went for this 5 star B and B in a beautiful setting. We were greeted by Lorna ,the owner who was so lovely and welcoming. We were given coffee , biscuits and homemade cake in the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kay E
lornaWirral, Owner at Mere Brook House, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your lovely review. We're so glad you enjoyed your stay... And the cakes!! We hope to welcome you back in the future. Best wishes, MBH

Nottingham
Reviewed 1 November 2016

An amazing B&B. Would highly recommend staying here. Loran and her team were very accommodating to our needs and the breakfast was amazing. We stayed in 2 rooms (one in the main house and one in the coach house). Both equally lovely. The range of complimentary cakes and drinks available for guests at all times was second to none!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank KatyJo1
lornaWirral, Manager at Mere Brook House, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We're so glad you had a lovely time here at Mere Brook. Hopefully we can welcome you back in the not too distant future! Kind regards, MBH

80 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (48)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (23)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (32)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (15)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thornton Hough
2.8 km away
Thornton Hall Hotel & Spa
Thornton Hall Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Thornton Hough
1,044 reviews
4.6 km away
Premier Inn Wirral (Heswall) Hotel
3.2 km away
Village Hotel Wirral
Village Hotel Wirral
#2 of 3 in Bromborough
1,174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 km away
Brook Meadow Hotel
Brook Meadow Hotel
#2 of 2 in Childer Thornton
351 reviews
3.7 km away
Leverhulme Hotel & Spa
Leverhulme Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Port Sunlight
254 reviews
6.0 km away
Inglewood Manor
Inglewood Manor
#1 of 3 in Ledsham
685 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Banquet Room
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Mere Brook House is an imposing Edwardian country house offering high class bed and breakfast. It is situated in its own grounds extending to almost four acres which include a beautiful garden with sunken dell sheltered by mature trees with paddocks and a woodland area beyond running down to the Mere Brook. It is located on the edge of the picturesque village of Thornton Hough on the Wirral, between the famous cities of Liverpool and Chester. The gardens offer a truly relaxing sanctuary with numerous species of butterfly, birds and wildlife to be observed and can be viewed from the garden lounge, conservatory and all eight bedrooms. Mere Brook has facilities to host business meetings and celebrations including weddings. It is ideal for the intimate family events with high quality private dining and excellent accommodation. WiFi is available throughout and is free. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Mere Brook House

Address: Westmere Thornton Common Road, Thornton Hough CH63 0LU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Wirral > Thornton Hough
Price Range: $127 - $185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Mere Brook House 5*
Number of rooms: 8
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Mere Brook House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All rooms are excellent.”
 of 5 bubbles jackiei594, 23 Nov 2016 | Read review
“All rooms beautiful...”
 of 5 bubbles F9966YDjeand, 22 Nov 2016 | Read review
“We were in the Iris room each room is different. We liked ours but I am sure the others will be good too.”
 of 5 bubbles 713kaye, 6 Nov 2016 | Read review
“All the rooms are lovely”
 of 5 bubbles Bounderboys, 26 Oct 2016 | Read review
“We stayed in the Queen Bee”
 of 5 bubbles 453debbiet, 22 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay