We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Thornton Manor

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Thornton Manor
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

252 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Thornton Manor
See the most recent reviews
Showing 252: English reviews
Isle of Man
Reviewed 21 December 2016

We were looking forward to staying here for a wedding. We had originally booked at a B&B but when told we could stay at the Manor we cancelled the B&B. What a mistake! We drove into, as we thought, the main entrance. Not a soul in sight, just a notice saying use the office entrance, or tradesmen's entrance! which we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Manxie52
Marc S, General Manager at Thornton Manor, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your recent review following your stay at Thornton Manor. I was disappointed to read of your poor experience with the accommodation and I am very sorry for this, I do however consider that all feedback is a personal opinion and what one might find not suitable would be absolutely perfect for another - as in...

Reviewed 21 December 2016 via mobile

There are too few superlatives to describe this venue to enjoy the biggest day of your life! My now wife & I viewed in December 2015 & booked the date pretty much there & then; a truly magical venue in the winter. Just over a year on we have experienced getting married in a dream venue & it would not...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Liam M
Marc S, General Manager at Thornton Manor, responded to this review

Dear Mr & Mrs MacCarthy, Thank you so much for your wonderful '5 STAR' review following your amazing wedding at Thornton Manor. It was an absolute pleasure for us to host your special day and it was lovely to meet you both and spend time talking to you and your guests - what a great day, not only for you...

Birkenhead, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 December 2016

A very impressive building from the outside and was not disappointed with the inside. We attended a family wedding and was not let down by the attentive staff. The ballroom was were the meal was set out. We had a beautiful meal, the lamb was excellent considering they were catering for about 200 guests. I would recommend a stay here.

Review collected in partnership with ASUS 12 W8 IE Bookmark
 Report
Helpful?
Thank lestom
Marc S, General Manager at Thornton Manor, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Many thanks for your wonderful '5 STAR' review following your recent stay at Thornton Manor, I was delighted to read your feedback and have shared this with the team. We hope to welcome you back again in the near future. Many thanks, Marc Smith General Manager

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 November 2016 via mobile

On the 26th November 2016 we had our wedding at Thornton Manor in the Manor House. We picked the venue over a year before our big day. We had appointments booked at other venues, which we cancelled once we seen Thornton Manor. We knew that this was our perfect place for our wedding. The building and grounds are beautiful. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank muj1982
Marc S, General Manager at Thornton Manor, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for your amazing '5 STAR' review following your wedding at the Thornton Manor Estate and thank you for allowing us to be a part of your amazing day!! I was thrilled to read your feedback and have shared it with the team. You have described Thornton Manor perfectly, everything we do at the estate...

Reviewed 29 November 2016 via mobile

The Manor House is a very special place & spks for its self :) The staff are amazing there from the day we booked our wedding date which was 26.11.2016 they all have been incredibly helpful with anything we needed for our big day! Our special day went without a glitch & this wouldn't have happened with out there help...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank keels000
Marc S, General Manager at Thornton Manor, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for your amazing '5 STAR' review following your wedding at the Thornton Manor Estate. I was thrilled to read your feedback and have shared it with the team. You have described Thornton Manor perfectly, everything we do at the estate on your special day revolves around you - and only you and I am...

Accrington, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 November 2016 via mobile

Beautiful,ethereal with stunning views.Make you feel very special when attending any wedding and will definitely recommend if within close locality for a white wedding.Only visited for a wedding and there was plenty of space to park.All rooms in thornton manor are stunning and staff are attentive and strict.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bupZ15
Marc S, General Manager at Thornton Manor, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for your recent review following your stay at the Thornton Manor Estate. I was delighted to read your great feedback which I have shared with the team. Many thanks, we look forward to seeing you again. Regards, Marc Smith General Manager

St Helens, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 November 2016

I do not believe that Thornton Manor is a Hotel, it offers space fro presentations & has also apartments where one may go elsewhere for a meal or self cater. My wife & I were at Thornton Manor which is approached from Junction 4 of the M53 for a presentation by Regent Seven Seas Cruises. A lovely experience, a beautiful...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BrianB321
Marc S, General Manager at Thornton Manor, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review following your recent meeting at Thornton Manor. The Thornton Manor Estate is the North Wests Leading Wedding and Events Venue - we offer four unique venues for hire and to compliment this we have 23 bedrooms in the Manor House (once home to the Viscount Leverhulmes) and we also have 14 self catering...

Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 November 2016

The manor itself is great venue for a wedding, however when it is time to retire, you feel as though you have left a stately home, and gone to a room fit for a homeless shelter. Our room, the housekeepers annex, had no tv, no telephone, no wardrobes, but a hanging space under a shelf. the floor was dirty, and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kimrts
Marc S, General Manager at Thornton Manor, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your recent review following your stay at Thornton Manor. It was nice to read that you found the venue great but not so good to read your comments relating to the accommodation. The Housekeepers Annex is one of our smallest rooms and is priced accordingly, although small it is comfortably set with antique furniture and...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 November 2016

We had our wedding ceremony & reception here a few weeks ago in the Manor House & it was without doubt the best day & night of our lives. Our family and friends stayed in various cottages on site the night before - all of which were gorgeous - and then in the stunning House itself on the wedding night....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank l0vecat
Marc S, General Manager at Thornton Manor, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your wonderful '5 STAR' review following, by all accounts, your amazing wedding at Thornton Manor! We were delighted you chose Thornton Manor as your venue for this special day and your comments have been fed back to the team, they were really pleased to hear your comments - especially Joe, he is a great member...

Cheshire, UK
Reviewed 5 November 2016 via mobile

I read some reviews and went to a wedding yesterday, fully expecting to come straight home after it. I had visions of a cold damp greenhouse to be honest :) Okay, there are some stairs to climb and a cobbled courtyard to navigate which ladies need to know if wearing heels. The Gardeners mews itself- wasn't bad at all. Very...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank soojay
Marc S, General Manager at Thornton Manor, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review following your recent stay at the Thornton Manor Estate in the Gardeners Mews. It was lovely to read the balance in your feedback as it is very easy for one to be put off by reading previous guest reviews. The accommodation at Thornton Manor is very unique and in fitting with the Manor...

118 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (86)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (15)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (16)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Other (40)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (32)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thornton Hough
1.4 km away
Thornton Hall Hotel & Spa
Thornton Hall Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Thornton Hough
1,110 reviews
7.5 km away
Inglewood Manor
Inglewood Manor
#2 of 3 in Ledsham
725 reviews
2.2 km away
Premier Inn Wirral (Heswall) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 km away
Macdonald Craxton Wood Hotel & Spa
24.1 km away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
4.9 km away
Leverhulme Hotel & Spa
Leverhulme Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Port Sunlight
268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Room types
  • Suites
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A stunning Cheshire venue for weddings and celebrations both large and intimate, whilst also the perfect choice for meetings, conferences and corporate events. Exclusive use Manor House- 200 dining Lakeside Marquee- 500 guests Manor House- 22 double bedrooms, 12 Cottage & Mews apartments. Whether planning your wedding, looking for the perfect venue, a place to stay whilst in on business, or a country cottage getaway - Thornton Manor is the perfect venue to relax and unwind. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Thornton Manor

Address: Thornton Manor Manor Road, Thornton Hough CH63 1JB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Wirral > Thornton Hough
Price Range: $109 - $724 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Thornton Manor 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your Thornton Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thornton Manor Hotel Thornton Hough
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Thornton Manor staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
Wirral, United Kingdom
Leeds, United Kingdom

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Thornton Manor staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Choose another nearby hotel.”
 of 5 bubbles sickbag7, 27 Feb 2017 | Read review
“For a Wedding - Bedrooms on the first floor are magnificent”
 of 5 bubbles WirralGabby, 27 Feb 2017 | Read review
“family run as well as professional staff - all rooms are unusual, have a look and see!”
 of 5 bubbles , 1 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Don't choose the Housekeeper's annexe.”
 of 5 bubbles Manxie52, 21 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Don't choose the Mews”
 of 5 bubbles Geoffy, 11 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5