We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

John Muir Lodge

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
John Muir Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

432 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 386: English reviews
Yonkers, New York, United States
Reviewed 1 week ago

Perfect location to see the general grant tree area. This is more of a summer time destination to enjoy the park. Deep snow closed most roads and limited access on to the trails. Great place to snow shoe.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Milo M
Reviewed 10 January 2017

I was very impressed with the customer service. The staff they had working at the place was so accommodating and made you feel at home. And the view! We got a room that gave us an incredible view of the snowed landscape Thoroughly enjoyed our stay, and we're definitely going back!

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Jamie S
Dan C, General Manager at John Muir Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback and we're happy to have served you.

Budapest, Hungary
Reviewed 9 January 2017

This is a very pleasant mountain lodge in the middle of the forest, with spacious rooms, authentic wooden furniture, and a lobby fireplace that invites you to sit by it and read or have a glass of wine. The Grant Tree, Fallen Monarch and many other famous sequoias are a short walk away. Breakfast and dinner is available for extra...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jeraldine B
Saugus, Massachusetts
Reviewed 8 January 2017

Enjoyed our stay here. They worked tirelessly to remove snow on the surrounding streets to make our travel as safe as possible. Rooms are simple but efficient. A walking trail to the "General" tree was nearby and was about an easy miles walk.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank jandjhollander
Management response:

Dear J Hollander, thank you for taking the time to tell us about your trip to the John Muir Lodge. Winter access can be a challenge in the mountains. We are so pleased to hear that you able to negotiate the trails with ease and enjoy the majesty of the Giant Sequoia trees! We hope you return many times to...

Concord, North Carolina
Reviewed 5 January 2017

If you get the opportunity to stay here in the park, do it! Hike to General Grant Tree, convenient to all park places and the the "Generals" highway. Lodge feel but only built in 2000! Great breakfast and dinner!!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank threetigerboys
Management response:

Thank you for taking the time to send us your comments, threetigerboys. Our guest comments are important to us. We are very glad that you so thoroughly enjoyed your trip to Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park and we hope that you continue to seek out and enjoy these magical places.

Providence, Rhode Island
Reviewed 3 January 2017

Dirty Cabin. We didn't expect a 4 star cabin, however, we expected a room that was clean. The layers of dust and dirt showed no supervision or care had been taken in cabin #8. Wrote an e-mail to the company that runs the place to get a refund but got zero response.Electric Heater looks and ran like John Muir himself...

 Report
Helpful?
6Thank ErnieDigregioio
Dan C, General Manager at John Muir Lodge, responded to this review

I am sorry that we failed to meet the basic expectations of a clean room. If you will contact the Front Desk at the John Muir Lodge we will provide you with a refund. I am sorry that you have not heard from us sooner. Please ask for a Manager or Supervisor as I will make sure they are aware...

Reviewed 22 December 2016 via mobile

Had to cancel my reservation because of severe weather warnings in the local area for large amounts of snow fall for the days of my booking. The advisory appeared the day before my trip up to the lodge and when trying to cancel John Muir Lodge staff did not show any safety consideration for far travelers.

 Report
Helpful?
6Thank Jordan G
Madrid, Spain
Reviewed 22 December 2016

you are in Sequoia Park so don't expect luxury. the room is heated with nice comfortable queen-size beds. it is a wooden room with shared bathroom. there are only 3 showers for all the rooms, not enough for me but we didn't have to queue. the lodge is well located to visit Seqouoia and KIngs Canyon parks, and to see...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank ajja2016
Gothenburg, Sweden
Reviewed 15 December 2016

We stayed for one night in possible the dirtiest hotel room ever. There were layers of dirt (dust, food rests, stain and hair). It is hard to judge - was the bathroom dirtier or it was the room. Unbelievable! In a National Park. The health authorities should close this place immediately. Smell, noisy heating, coffeemaker that does not work… Well,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Dinko C
Dan C, General Manager at John Muir Lodge, responded to this review

Hello, This is absolutely unacceptable. I will be inspecting rooms starting immediately. I know that this cannot fix your experience but I want to make sure that we fix this problem immediately. If you would like to call the John Muir Lodge and ask to speak with a manager and refer to this we will absolutely try to make it...

Reviewed 14 December 2016 via mobile

first our GPS did not find the way but after asking a friendly park-ranger we finally did get there! a very lovely place with nice & helpful staff! The whole lodge but also the rooms are lovely decorated and we felt like at home! official restaurant was closed for renovations but the nice & homy atmosphere in the lobby made...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Sibylle B

130 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (125)
Viewed
Room/Suite (29)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (45)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Other (42)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
23.7 km away
Wuksachi Lodge
Wuksachi Lodge
#1 of 4 in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
2,165 reviews
9.4 km away
Montecito Sequoia Lodge
Montecito Sequoia Lodge
#2 of 4 in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
589 reviews
26.6 km away
Cedar Grove Lodge
Cedar Grove Lodge
#4 of 4 in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
36.8 km away
Lazy J Ranch-Americas Best Value Inn
32.4 km away
Sierra Lodge
Sierra Lodge
#5 of 6 in Three Rivers
282 reviews
35.4 km away
Comfort Inn & Suites Sequoia Kings Canyon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about John Muir Lodge

Address: 86728 Highway 180, Grant Grove, Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA 93641-9765
Region: United States > California > Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
Price Range: $141 - $263 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — John Muir Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your John Muir Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
John Muir Hotel Sequoia And Kings Canyon National Park
Hotel John Muir
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from John Muir Lodge staff and other travellers.
14 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (14)

Questions? Get answers from John Muir Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“If you can, get a room with the window along the Panoramic trail.”
 of 5 bubbles M4635PYjamies, 10 Jan 2017 | Read review
“2nd floor can be more interesting for a good forest insider-feel”
 of 5 bubbles JeraldineB, 9 Jan 2017 | Read review
“2nd floor - although we overlooked the small parking area, the trees and the snow were awesome!”
 of 5 bubbles threetigerboys, 5 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Don't stay in the cabins”
 of 5 bubbles ErnieDigregioio, 3 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Avoid this place”
 of 5 bubbles DC55_11, 15 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5