We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Skyland

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Skyland
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

2,156 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 2,122: English reviews
Start your review of Skyland
 Click to rate
Reisterstown
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I loved to see the stars from the room balcony at night. great restaurant and bar with good food and service. skylands lodge has beautiful views of the mountains and valley. its near some nice hiking trails

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Karen G
Nick S, General Manager at Skyland, responded to this review

Hello karen Thank you for your comments in regards to your recent stay with us. Glad to hear that you enjoyed your visit and we appreciate the great rating that you provided Skyland. Please visit again soon

Chicago
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

The Skyland Resort is spread out over several acres within the 105 mile long Shenandoah National Park. You can only enter the park at the north and south ends, as well as 2 mid point locations. The resort is run by a private contractor, Delaware North Company under contract with the National Park Service. The park itself offers lots of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SlymanChicago
Nick S, General Manager at Skyland, responded to this review

Hello Slyman Thank you for your comments in regards to your recent stay with us and we hope that you will visit us again soon

Concord, Massachusetts
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

My wife and I spent four days and three nights here and loved every minute. Our room faced west, and we looked almost straight down 3,600 feet to the Shenandoah Valley and the town of Luray. It is simply a stunning location. I repeat, stunning. I still don't know whether I prefer dawn, mid-day, the stars at night, or the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CrazyAboutAcadia
Nick S, General Manager at Skyland, responded to this review

Hello Crazyabout acadia Thank you for your comments in regards to your recent stay with us. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your visit with us and we appreciate the great rating that you provided Skyland. Please visit us again soon

Mukwonago, Wisconsin
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

The beautiful views are well worth the trip. We enjoyed hiking in the area. Evening sunsets were spectacular. Loads of wildlife=drive carefully!! The restaurant is a bit pricey for what it is, but the food was good.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ChaCha8368
Nick S, General Manager at Skyland, responded to this review

Hello ChaChha Thank you for your comments and we very much appreciate the great rating that you provided us. Please visit us again soon

Alton, Illinois
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Our room had a small patio area overlooking the valley below which was quite stunning. The entire setting of the resort is magnificent. I was disappointed in the concrete block building which housed our room when compared to the architectural appeal of many others within the resort, but I'm not complaining. We'd stay here again, certainly.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank C0rgiL0ver
Nick S, General Manager at Skyland, responded to this review

Hello Corgi Thank you for your comments and we appreciate the great rating that you provided Skyland. Please visit us again soon !

Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We stayed in Trout cabin for 5 nights. Nice location to return to after a day of hiking as it was convenient to the trails we wanted to hike. Room was comfortable and we liked the many windows for the view and the open air. We didn't eat at dining hall; it seemed overpriced and was crowded and noisy, which...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Terri T
Nick S, General Manager at Skyland, responded to this review

Hello Terri Thank you for your comments and we hope that you will return to Skyland in the near future

Reviewed 6 days ago NEWvia mobile

We were only there one night as we traveled the entire blue ridge parkway. Unfortunately the weather didn't cooperate in the drive there. It the next morning was clear and gorgeous. The room was nice. Did have a few millipedes to deal with but we were in the woods! The room was nice and clean. The entire resort area is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Brian K
Nick S, General Manager at Skyland, responded to this review

Hello Brian Thank you for your comments in regards to your recent stay with us. Glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and we hope that you will visit again soon

Midlothian, Virginia
Reviewed 1 week ago NEWvia mobile

I would definitely stay here again. We had a panoramic mountain view in our cabin that was spectacular in the morning and evening. Driving the Skyline Dive was invigorating to say the least. Food was better than average in the Skyland Resort Restaurant. Hiking up to Stony Man Overlook was an experience to remember!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Amy C
Nick S, General Manager at Skyland, responded to this review

Hello Amy Thank you for your comments in regards to your comments during your recent stay with us. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we very much appreciate the great rating your provided Skyland. Please visit us again soon

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Family trip with three kids. Reserved a renovated room. We were in room 12 which is in the building by the office. Nice room with AC. Beds are ok. Dining hall leaves much to be desired. Not much selection and prices are ridiculously high for what you get. Views from our room were spectacular and the hiking was excellent. Pic...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tara m
Nick S, General Manager at Skyland, responded to this review

Hello tara Thank you for your comments and we hope that you will visit us again soon

Millsboro, Delaware
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This resort is surrounded by the beauty of the Shenandoah National Park with loads of hiking trails to enjoy. Our room was fine, rustic. We had our Golden Retriever with us so loved that the floors had no carpeting and were hardwood. Beds were comfortable but the room could use some updating especially the bathroom. Choose a second floor room...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Sandra C
Nick S, General Manager at Skyland, responded to this review

Hello Sandra Thank you for your comments and we are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Please visit again soon

839 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (835)
Viewed
Dining (37)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (132)
Viewed
View from Room (121)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (144)
Viewed
Bathroom (24)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (7)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (367)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shenandoah National Park
10.9 km away
The Mimslyn Inn
The Mimslyn Inn
#1 of 9 in Luray
935 reviews
10.9 km away
Hotel Laurance
Hotel Laurance
#3 of 9 in Luray
31 reviews
9.9 km away
The Cardinal Inn
The Cardinal Inn
#4 of 9 in Luray
130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.0 km away
Days Inn Luray Shenandoah
33.3 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Woodstock
11.0 km away
BEST WESTERN Intown Luray
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Internet
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Banquet Room

Additional Information about Skyland

Address: Skyline Dr Mile 41.7, Shenandoah National Park, VA 22835
Region: United States > Virginia > Shenandoah National Park
Price Range: $187 - $322 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Skyland 2*
Number of rooms: 177
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Cancelon, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and getaroom.com so you can book your Skyland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Skyland Resort Luray
Skyland Hotel Luray
Skyland Resort Virginia
Skyland Virginia
Skyland Resort Shenandoah
Luray Skyland Resort
Skyland Va
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Skyland staff and other travellers.
34 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (34)

Questions? Get answers from Skyland staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“arrive early for check in. all rooms are great for view, just different view”
karengV5654AD, 27 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a view. I don't think there is any shortage of rooms with a view!”
  • Is any caption needed?
CrazyAboutAcadia, 26 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Good if you're looking for a hotel/motel experience with a mountain top view.”
territ821, 24 Apr 2017 | Read review
“We requested a newly renovated room with a balcony.”
backpacker021, 21 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Walls are thin. If you have loud children, ask for an end room and make your kids aware that noise travels and may disturb others.”
988marcieg, 21 Apr 2017 | Read review
5 of 5