We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Fenchihu Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
Fenchihu Hotel
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

46 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 15: English reviews
Reviewed 30 September 2016 via mobile

The hotel located right in the middle of the fenchihu old town, a very different experience by staying there. The room is small without soundproof wall, you probably can listen others conversation from next door in your room. The bathroom come with a huge wood bail / wood bathtub, no hot water supply after 10pm. But I like that little...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jacky Y
Kota Kinabalu, Malaysia
Reviewed 10 July 2016

The hotel is famed for the historical value. Room is comfortably big. I stayed in building A with tatami floor room with the thin mattress on the floor. It comes with the traditional wooden bathtub. The picture of the tub looks so much better than the actual and you probably would think twice before soaking in it. Personally, the additional...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ITravel0ne
奮起湖大飯店, 櫃台人員 at Fenchihu Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Thank you very much for your suggestions Our building B just changed the new comfortable bed from LADY AMERICANA In the near future, we will renovate building A and building B We will become better and look forward to seeing you next time.

Reviewed 29 June 2016

I have been to Taiwan for at least 5 times for the last 2 years and stayed in lots of hotels/hostels. This is the worst hotel that I have stayed so far. Not only the room that was not clean but what made us unacceptable was the front desk staffs' attitude. They have the worst front desk staff attitude that...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bernice_per
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewed 4 April 2016 via mobile

Room is not clean, rundown and also has a mouldy smell. Bathroom is small and the bath towel provided are those cheap and thin material. Hot water is only available only on specific timing in the morning and evening. The only good thing about the hotel is the nearby shops to walk around during the night to keep you occupied.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Edward1299
奮起湖大飯店, 業者 at Fenchihu Hotel, responded to this review

Hello, we apologized that the room let you felt not clean, we will supervise our housekeepers to do their best to keep the room clean. And the hot water for using time because of the moutain area, the tempurture in fenchihu here is much lower, we use the environment friendly material heat pump to make the hot water,so we don't...

Chicago, Illinois
Reviewed 1 January 2016

It was not that clean. Room smelled funny and had mold on the ceiling. Walls were marked up with scuffs and food stains. Some staff generally tried to be helpful, but other acted put out when we asked for anything. Fenchihu is a great hiking destination, but I believe there are better (and cheaper) hotel options in town.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kai E
奮起湖大飯店, 櫃台 at Fenchihu Hotel, responded to this review

We apologize for how you felt in our hotel. Thank you for your suggestion. We will improve all the points you mentioned. Hope we have honer can serve you next time.

Singapore, Singapore
Reviewed 10 November 2015

This hotel is what I would call a laid back with an old school Japanese design which might not resonate much with travelers looking for a modern stay. However, it was nice for both my partner and me as we like this old school, rustic feel places which brings us away from the bustling city life. We arrived earlier than...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BrandonNg
Jakarta
Reviewed 24 September 2015

Room and bathroom not so clean, bed on the floor difficult for the old people. Breakfast not so bad. Located a little away from Alishan, you have to take bus at certain schedule. Many shops around the hotel, but unfortunately in the weekdays many close early

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Yahyaand
奮起湖大飯店, 業者 at Fenchihu Hotel, responded to this review

Hello~ Maybe next time you take a trip around Alishan , and if you have a chance come to Fenchihu Hotel again, you could choose the other room style ,Deluxe Room it will be better . you could join our free tour around Fenchihu , and you will find how amazing we are:)

Reviewed 12 June 2015 via mobile

FR ---- Groupe d amis en voyage autour de Taiwan, nous avions prévu de visiter le park national d'Alishan et notemment d'effectuer la fameuse montée dans le petit train rouge entre Chiayi et Alishan via la ligne forestière autrefois construite par les japonais. La montée via train coute environ 250NT$ et il n y a qu un seul aller par...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Hubert I
Taichung, Taiwan
Reviewed 13 December 2014

Well located hotel with warm and helpful staff. Room was spacious and clean. Hotel complimentary tours were well conducted. A good starting point to explore the quiet town. Our family definitely had an enjoyable stay.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank 1thomasho
Reviewed 5 October 2014

We did not stay at this hotel but we got vouchers for the bento there via a driver. We were looking around as it was close to lunch period and it was right at the entrance of the town. We walked in and wanted to walk out almost immediately. The place smells off-putting and their service is horrible. Asked the...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank Mingee_le
奮起湖大飯店, 經理 at Fenchihu Hotel, responded to this review

We're really sorry about that. We apologize to you here sincerely. It's not allowed to take place in our hotel. As to the situation you mentioned here, we'll take action to deal with it. We will improve our staff training to enhance the class of our staff so that we can serve more customers in a proper and better way....

96 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (95)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (25)
Viewed
Dining (17)
Viewed
Room/Suite (22)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (25)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiayi County hotels
0.0 km away
Alishan House
Alishan House
#1 of 34 in Chiayi County
247 reviews
0.0 km away
F Hotel Chiayi
F Hotel Chiayi
#2 of 34 in Chiayi County
30 reviews
0.0 km away
Da Fong Hotel
Da Fong Hotel
#22 of 34 in Chiayi County
59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Alishan Shermuh International Tourist Hotel
Alishan Shermuh International To...
#19 of 34 in Chiayi County
73 reviews
0.0 km away
Qinghua Lion House
Qinghua Lion House
#50 of 130 in Chiayi County
2 reviews
0.0 km away
Grand View Resort
Grand View Resort
#4 of 34 in Chiayi County
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet

Additional Information about Fenchihu Hotel

Address: No.178-1 Fenqihu, Zhonghe Village, Zhuqi Town, Chiayi County, Taiwan
Region: Taiwan > Chiayi County
Price Range: $68 - $141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Fenchihu Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fenchihu Hotel Taiwan/Chiayi County
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Fenchihu Hotel staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Fenchihu Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Choose deluxe room but pay more”
 of 5 bubbles Yahyaand, 24 Sep 2015 | Read review
“Check the AC!”
 of 5 bubbles TanSihui, 26 May 2012 | Read review
2 of 2
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay