We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Castle Dargan

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Castle Dargan
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,085 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Castle Dargan
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,081: English reviews
Cork, Ireland
Reviewed 10 December 2015 via mobile

Myself & my husband stayed in Castle Dargan on a two night package, the hotel was beautiful, check in staff very nice & welcoming. We had dinner on the first night plenty of choice as was there at breakfast. The hotel is very peaceful and recommend if you are looking for a relaxing break.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Elaine G
CastleDargan, Guest Relations at Castle Dargan, responded to this review

Dear Elaine G, Thank you for your kind words and beautiful review of your recent stay here in Castle Dargan Resort. I am delighted that you found our reception staff to be welcoming and courteous - I will be sure to pass along your compliments. I am also glad to read that you found our food offering to be plentiful...

County Donegal, Ireland
Reviewed 7 December 2015

Stayed for one night as part of a deal rush offer. Very reasonable price which included two top class back massages. Ate in the bar on the night and couldn't complain. Staff helpful and friendly while not being intrusive. Breakfast was top class. Only downside is the out-of-the-way location but I suppose that is to some peoples tastes. Would definitely...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Brendan1954
CastleDargan, Guest Relations at Castle Dargan, responded to this review

Dear Brendan1954, Céad Míle Fáilte from all at Castle Dargan. Thank you for taking the time to share your kind review regards your recent stay at Castle Dargan Resort. I am glad that you enjoyed the Icon Spa experience and found your back massages to be 'top class'. Please be assured I will pass on your compliments to the Spa...

Dungannon, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 December 2015

Just back today after a 2 day break in Castle Dargan. Well having read some of the reviews on here I'm beginning to wonder if we stayed in the same hotel. I found it very friendly and relaxing. Upon arrival we were greeted courteously and offered a glass of prosecco. Our room was spacious and very clean. Complimentary bottles of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pat01
CastleDargan, Guest Relations at Castle Dargan, responded to this review

Dear Pat01, Thank you for your glowing review of your recent stay here at Castle Dargan Resort. It is only through guest feedback like your own that we can learn and grow and I appreciate you taking the time to share your good experience with others. I am delighted to read that you found our friendly and hardworking staff to...

Galway, Ireland
Reviewed 3 December 2015

Last August I received an offer from Living Social for a Two Night Break in this Luxurious Hotel. It was €149-00 for 2 nights in either a Deluxe Double Room or a 1 Bedroom Apartment. I looked at the Website and Looked at the photos of the Deluxe Double Rooms they looked lovely, the information about the rooms on the...

 Report
Helpful?
6Thank 583IngridR
CastleDargan, Guest Relations at Castle Dargan, responded to this review

Dear Ingrid, I would like to thank you for your feedback regard your recent stay at Castle Dargan Resort. I would like to take this opportunity to address the issues outlined in your email and trip advisor review: In reference to the fine for smoking in a non-smoking hotel room- The Guest Check-in letter does clearly state that all rooms...

A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
Reviewed 26 November 2015 via mobile

We enjoyed are stay here and found the rooms warm and spacious and the bed was awesome! My main issues was with the spa the jacuzzi was clean but it wasn't really working a lot of the jets were not working and after fiddling around with the buttons it wasn't possible to get any decent strength out of it! I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
CastleDargan, Guest Relations at Castle Dargan, responded to this review

Dear Guest Céad Míle Fáilte & thank you for your kind words regarding Castle Dargan Resort. We are so pleased that you enjoyed our 170 acre countryside estate and found our accommodation to be spacious and comfortable. Our Icon Spa Manager Edel is deeply apologetic that you did not enjoy your spa experience. She is currently looking into the broken...

Waterford, Ireland
Reviewed 24 November 2015

We arrived at about 7pm and checked in – we tried to get a table in the restaurant but were advised that they were fully booked. So ate later in the bar. We were situated in the apartments close to the hotel which the brochure states were “Superbly Appointed”. The apartments from the outside looked a little like a block...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank EddieOnTour
CastleDargan, Guest Relations at Castle Dargan, responded to this review

Dear EddieOnTour, Céad Míle Fáilte & thank you for your kind words regarding Castle Dargan Resort. We are so pleased that you enjoyed our 170 acre countryside estate and your dining experience during your stay. I am saddened to read that you were not entirely satisfied with our accommodation offering and in particular the apartments. Taste plays a huge role...

Reviewed 22 November 2015 via mobile

My wife and i stayed in the apartments and were unable to connect to wifi although i think weather affected this. Could not work heating either. Was there for a wedding and the food was nice and staff attentive. I would suggest travellers to use sat nav to plan their route also as we found it hard to find

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Larry F
CastleDargan, Guest Relations at Castle Dargan, responded to this review

Dear Larry F, Good Afternoon from all here in the Yeats County and thank you for choosing Castle Dargan Resort for your recent stay. I sincerely hope you enjoyed the wedding and I thank you for your glowing comments about our courteous and helpful staff and tasty food. My apologies that the WiFi signal was poor during your stay -...

Galway
Reviewed 17 November 2015

we stayed at Castle Dargan for two nights and thought the place was lovely. Our room was at the front of the hotel on the main courtyard entrance area which proved a bit noisy at night as every car or person that walked by made noise on the gravel yard. However, saying that we had a lovely stay and our...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Deirdre M
CastleDargan, Guest Relations at Castle Dargan, responded to this review

Dear Deirdre M, Céad Míle Fáilte from all here at Castle Dargan Resort. I am delighted to reads that you enjoyed your two night stay with us here in the 170 acres of Breathtaking Irish Countryside. I am also happy to read that you enjoyed your Icon Spa experience and found our therapists to be experienced and professional - I...

Belfast, Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 November 2015

Stayed with friends for a 2 night break last month, we had a suite in Dargan house which was ok, but a little bit soulless, very bare and not a warm atmosphere, the beds were clean though so I was happy. the dinner was very nice, but the bar was so slow, also they didnt have any limes which meant...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Ann D
CastleDargan, Guest Relations at Castle Dargan, responded to this review

Dear Ann D, Good afternoon for the Yeats County. Thank you for choosing to stay in Castle Dargan Resort – we do sincerely appreciate your business and value your custom and so I am saddened to read that your latest Castle Dargan experience did not live up to previous standards. I am saddened to read that you found the Castle...

Carrickmacross, Ireland
Reviewed 10 November 2015

Booked a one night couples retreat package at Castle Dargan. Spa treatment was either a taster facial or back, neck and shoulder massage. I had the facial and my partner opted for the massage. The facial was so relaxing and the girl doing it, Stephanie, was very good. My partner said his massage was relaxing. To be honest, the spa...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Babes-Ire
CastleDargan, Guest Relations at Castle Dargan, responded to this review

Dear Babe-Ire, Thank you for your review on Castle Dargan Resort. I am delighted to read that you found our friendly and professional staff to be courteous and helpful and also found our accommodation to be comfortable and spacious. I am sorry to read that your dining experience was tainted due to slow service. There may well have been a...

279 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (267)
Viewed
Room/Suite (55)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (37)
Viewed
Bathroom (17)
Viewed
Dining (17)
Viewed
View from Room (13)
Viewed
Other (128)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballygawley
12.0 km away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Sligo
6.7 km away
Sligo Park Hotel & Leisure Club
8.7 km away
The Glasshouse
The Glasshouse
#4 of 8 in Sligo
1,474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 km away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#2 of 8 in Sligo
297 reviews
9.2 km away
Clarion Hotel Sligo
12.9 km away
Strandhill Lodge and Suites Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
  • Golf Course
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Castle Dargan Hotel offers unsurpassed accommodation facilities ranging from stunning en-suite guest rooms and Wall Garden Suites to the magnificent Castle Dargan House Premier Suites all of which present an old world charm with modern day comforts. Our signature beds; The Vogue & Elegance mattresses with feather down duvets & pillows are featured in every bedroom, ensuring a peaceful night's slumber. We also include: direct-dial phones, complementary broadband access, digital TV, tea/coffee making facilities, smoking & non smoking wings. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Castle Dargan

Address: Ballygawley, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Sligo > Ballygawley
Price Range: $107 - $230 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Castle Dargan 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Castle Dargan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Dargan Golf Hotel And Wellness Centre
Castle Dargan Hotel Wellness Centre
Castle Dargan Ballygawley
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Castle Dargan staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question
Belfast, United Kingdom
over a year ago
Dungannon, United Kingdom
Belfast, United Kingdom

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Castle Dargan staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“If you prefer contemporary rooms you'll probably prefer staying in the modern part of the hotel.”
 of 5 bubbles juliemK6356YA, 19 Nov 2016 | Read review
“we stayed in Room 104, overlooking Garden and Old House”
 of 5 bubbles c0nniers, 1 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Get on of the apartments.”
 of 5 bubbles creaney65, 1 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Choose an alternative hotel”
 of 5 bubbles louiseo46, 1 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Book spa treatments”
 of 5 bubbles KennyE101, 18 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay