We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Kings Arms

LateRooms.comUS$133*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
The Kings Arms
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

215 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 212: English reviews
Start your review of The Kings Arms
 Click to rate
Frome, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Fantastic food served in excellent surroundings by Tony and his first class staff. This is now our favourite place to eat despite living 25 miles away. Faultless in every way. We are always made welcome and so is our little sausage dog. Thank you to all concerned.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RogerHudson
Chatteris, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Found the Kings Arms by accident looking for accommodation within 30mins of Motcombe - glad that we did! Excellent room, food and service that exceeded our expectations. Word of advice for satnav users - fastest route from Bournemouth has a lot of single track roads with limited passing places, so make sure your settings keep you off the B roads...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank drrkscott
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We enjoyed a very nice meal here. In retrospect we should have stayed in the bar area as it was a very quiet night with only us and another couple in the restaurant area. Friendly staff and a very good menu. I went for rump of lamb, my wife for fish cakes. Both delicious and substantial portions. Would recommend this...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mine64
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Dinner bed and breakfast in comfortable surroundings with good service. A quiet bedrooms (Opal) with top class bed linen and towels ensured a good night's sleep. Varied choices on the dinner menu and portions to suit all appetites. Would definitely return

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AuntyH70
Sherborne, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 March 2017 via mobile

Had a last minute visit from friends on Friday night and went to Kings Arms for supper . It didn't disappoint ! Friendly staff , delicious food , good vibe . It manages to find a balance in being a pub in a village and a restaurant , friendly but professional . I imagine you would be made welcome just...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank vickie09
Reviewed 5 March 2017

Two couples visited for an overnight away break. The Kings Arms is an excellent small hotel with willing and efficient staff, good food and extremely comfortable rooms. I have visited 126 public houses called "The Kings Arms" and this is the best.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Laurence H
Bath, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 February 2017

Stopped in for lunch as passing and thoroughly enjoyed the experience. Good food and service. I had the roast beef ciabatta, my wife the ham & cheese toasty, food served very quickly and reasonably priced.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Richard A
Poole, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 February 2017 via mobile

We stayed for 1 night room was clean and warm. We dined in the evening food was lovely the bread was delicious. Great wine list. Srevice seemed a little rushed maybe this was because it seemed to be a little over staffed. Nice art on the walls. We will be back again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank cookhouse91
Reviewed 15 February 2017 via mobile

A warm welcome at reception but the lunch was disappointing. Roast was undercooked especially the potatoes which actually were hard and not roast at all. Burger had pink meat in it, freshly cut and not minced. When we queried this we were told that that was how the chef cooks it! Google says that a burger is a type of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sheila H
KingsArms_CH, Manager at The Kings Arms, responded to this review

Dear Sheila, I do apologise that you did not enjoy your lunch with us at The Kings Arms. Our burger is sold as a rump steak burger, where we do prefer to use a higher quality cut of meat than that found in minced beef, made to use the pate type burgers you have mentioned. As we use the rump...

Reviewed 6 February 2017 via mobile

We travelled for and hour and a half to the Kings Arms to take our son and friend out for dinner. Had relied heavily on TripAdvisor in selecting the venue. Proved spot on - a fabulous dinner and great atmosphere. Wife disappointed she hadn't been there for lunch - would have been lunching with royalty! Fabulous dining experience. Book with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Henry C

43 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (21)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (22)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Other (7)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Charlton Horethorne
5.9 km away
Holbrook House Hotel
Holbrook House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Wincanton
586 reviews
4.8 km away
BEST WESTERN Dorset Oborne the Grange Hotel
7.0 km away
The Eastbury Hotel
The Eastbury Hotel
#2 of 3 in Sherborne
653 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 km away
Half Moon Inn
Half Moon Inn
#3 of 3 in Sherborne
218 reviews
20.8 km away
Summer Lodge
Summer Lodge
#1 of 2 in Evershot
847 reviews
31.3 km away
Bishopstrow House
Bishopstrow House
#1 of 3 in Warminster
822 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Kings Arms, with its original facade, stylishly chic interior, picturesque garden and beautiful bedrooms is the ideal venue for both social and business alike. Situated in the pretty village of Charlton Horethorne, near Sherborne close to the Somerset and Dorset border, this 5 star Inn has been totally renovated and restored by its owners, Sarah and Tony Lethbridge, and now offers a chic Dorset Country Pub and Hotel with 10 luxury en-suite bedrooms, a modern restaurant, bar and terrace area and staff ready to offer you a very warm welcome. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Kings Arms

Address: North Street, Charlton Horethorne DT9 4NL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Charlton Horethorne
Price Range: $162 - $245 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Kings Arms 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity and LateRooms so you can book your The Kings Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Kings Arms Hotel Charlton Horethorne
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Kings Arms staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
7 months ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from The Kings Arms staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for a room at the rear of the property”
AuntyH70, 6 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Room 7 was fine and quiet.”
296laurenceh, 5 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Did not stay in the hotel, ate in restaurant.”
teresaa219, 28 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Had the room overlooking the front of the hotel which is on the main road, but traffic noise was not a problem.”
Guitartech, 6 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Rooms to the side and rear have the better outlooks.”
667viviennec, 13 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
LateRooms.com
US$133* /night
View Deal
TripAdvisorUS$133
Booking.com
Orbitz.com
View all 9 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates