We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Kings Arms

Hotels.comUS$155*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$155*
US$155*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
The Kings Arms
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

218 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for The Kings Arms
See the most recent reviews
Showing 215: English reviews
Oxford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 April 2016

Recently enjoyed another visit to The Kings Arms, this time four of us stayed two nights. Previously experienced high standards easily maintained throughout. If you’re looking for a really nice place to stay in this part of the world, this is it. The rooms are very nice, quiet and fully equipped. The bar & restaurant are excellent, with local real...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank John P
KingsArms_CH, Manager at The Kings Arms, responded to this review

Hi John, Thanks again for you kind words, we pride yourselves on consistent high standards. We are please you all enjoyed your visit, and look forward to welcome you back in the near future. The Kings Arms Team

Bath
Reviewed 23 March 2016 via mobile

I always enjoy the food in this comfortable country pub and hotel. I'm long overdue in terms of reviewing it on here! Good service in a really nice venue with delicious modern British food. The Josper oven cooked meat dishes are fantastic.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AntWill
KingsArms_CH, Manager at The Kings Arms, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, we are glad your meal at The Kings Arms, and hope we can welcome you back in the near future. The Kings Arms Team

Reviewed 23 March 2016 via mobile

We stayed at The Kings Arms for 3 nights Thursday through to Sunday and had a very pleasurable visit. The hotel is nicely fitted out with modern decor, pictures for sale and has a pleasant relaxed atmosphere. The facilities are modern and of a high spec. Ideally situated for trips into Wiltshire, Dorset and Somerset. We dined at the hotel...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jawalton00
KingsArms_CH, Manager at The Kings Arms, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. The Kings Arms Team

Reviewed 16 March 2016 via mobile

Met with friends at the hotel for dinner. The food was excellent. The service was exemplary. The Spanish man that served us was very good. The restaurant was a little cool for our liking but the heating was turned up when we asked. If you're in the area drop in, you won't be disappointed.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank NeilBate
United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 March 2016

Nice amenities, pleasant place in a quiet area. Only problem was the fact that it was a little noisy during the day but it got better in the evening. The breakfast was excellent and the employees very nice.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ramsbircea
Sherborne, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 March 2016

My husband had booked for my birthday. Very friendly staff at the bar and in the restaurant. We both enjoyed our meals. My husband had steak which was strangely only served on a bed of rocket with a side of chips. Would have liked to have seen some mushrooms or vegetables so seemed a bit basic although he said it...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lesleypuplett
KingsArms_CH, Manager at The Kings Arms, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are pleased that you enjoyed you birthday meal. With regards to your husbands steak, it does state on the menu it is served with the rocket salad, chips and peppercorn sauce. We would have been more than happy to offer you a side of vegetables. We look forward to welcome you back to The...

Plymouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 February 2016 via mobile

We went with friends who live locally. They were paying and it wasn't cheap! But it was possibly the best pub Sunday lunch we have ever had. We had two lamb chump roasts and two venison steaks. Absolutely delicious. We hope to go again even if we have to pay.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Paul C
KingsArms_CH, Manager at The Kings Arms, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, we are pleased you enjoyed your Sunday Lunches. We look forward to welcome you back to The Kings Arms soon.

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 February 2016 via mobile

Very nice pub, good atmosphere in the front part of the pub. Pleasing and tempting menu. I had a very good roast beef and children both had a creamy chicken and mushroom pasta. Children both disappointed with the pasta which was dull and not what they expected. Worst of all was the service. Served by a young girl who did...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Geoff174
KingsArms_CH, Manager at The Kings Arms, responded to this review

We do apologies that you weren't satisfied with the level of service you received from us for Sunday lunch. We strive for a higher level of service, including silver service where you would have the waitress serve you the horseradish sauce, instead of leaving it on the table for you to serve yourself, or just thrusting it before you, for...

Honiton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 February 2016

We were a group of eight and all loved their starters. The mains were good but the general view was that the sauces/gravies and jus were not quite of the same standard. For example the asiastic pork had a hint too much soy in it, the hake was slightly overpowered by the sauce and duck just slightly overpowered in the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CustomerConsultant
KingsArms_CH, Manager at The Kings Arms, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and comments. We are always striving for perfection so your feed back is most useful. All of our sauces and stock are made fresh in house, and are individual to each dish on the menu. I hope we can welcome you back to The Kings Arms soon

Kingsclere, Hampshire
Reviewed 10 February 2016

This is the second time that we have hosted our family and friends for a celebration lunch after a confirmation in Sherborne Abbey. Both times the Kings Arms have produced a delicious lunch , at a very busy time which our guests have thoroughly enjoyed. It was organised so well in advance and all ran so smoothly on both days....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank melprater
KingsArms_CH, Manager at The Kings Arms, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. It is always a pleasure to host the confirmation lunches. We look forward to welcome you and your family back to The Kings Arms in the near future.

43 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (21)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (22)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Other (7)
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Charlton Horethorne
5.9 km away
Holbrook House Hotel
Holbrook House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Wincanton
593 reviews
4.8 km away
Best Western Dorset Oborne the Grange Hotel
7.0 km away
The Eastbury Hotel
The Eastbury Hotel
#2 of 3 in Sherborne
664 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.8 km away
Summer Lodge
Summer Lodge
#1 of 2 in Evershot
865 reviews
7.3 km away
Half Moon Inn
Half Moon Inn
#3 of 3 in Sherborne
225 reviews
31.3 km away
Bishopstrow House
Bishopstrow House
#1 of 3 in Warminster
831 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Kings Arms, with its original facade, stylishly chic interior, picturesque garden and beautiful bedrooms is the ideal venue for both social and business alike. Situated in the pretty village of Charlton Horethorne, near Sherborne close to the Somerset and Dorset border, this 5 star Inn has been totally renovated and restored by its owners, Sarah and Tony Lethbridge, and now offers a chic Dorset Country Pub and Hotel with 10 luxury en-suite bedrooms, a modern restaurant, bar and terrace area and staff ready to offer you a very warm welcome. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Kings Arms

Address: North Street, Charlton Horethorne DT9 4NL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Charlton Horethorne
Price Range: $215 - $253 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Kings Arms 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com and LateRooms so you can book your The Kings Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Kings Arms Hotel Charlton Horethorne
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Kings Arms staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
9 months ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from The Kings Arms staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for a room at the rear of the property”
AuntyH70, 6 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Room 7 was fine and quiet.”
296laurenceh, 5 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Did not stay in the hotel, ate in restaurant.”
teresaa219, 28 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Had the room overlooking the front of the hotel which is on the main road, but traffic noise was not a problem.”
Guitartech, 6 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Rooms to the side and rear have the better outlooks.”
667viviennec, 13 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Hotels.com
US$155* /night
View Deal
Expedia.com
TripAdvisorUS$155
Orbitz.comUS$155
View all 7 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates