We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

El Zopilote

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Management photos
El Zopilote
View Map
{"widget":{"template":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"name":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

368 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for El Zopilote
See the most recent reviews
Showing 267: English reviews
Reviewed 23 September 2016

I have been for 1 week in this hostel which is pretty amazing place in the middle of the jungle . They are doing permaculture here and they have a tour 3 times a week around the farm where a worker teach and show permaculture works in the site: was my first permaculture meeting and was a very good experience...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lena B
baltimore
Reviewed 22 September 2016

Our BNB lady suggested this place. Said Tuesdays are unique with dancing and to catch the sunset. We went too late but the dark walk up is interesting. Bring a headlamp! The pizza is really good. You walk by 2 restaurants on the hill b4 you get there. you listen to music, dance, sometimes watch hula hoop, fire & aerial...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank xyliafanta
Reviewed 21 September 2016 via mobile

I spent one full week in this beautiful paradise , i wish i had more time to stay a month ,the beds in the dorms are very comfortable .. the farm looks great , even getting lost in the many trails of the property is a way to have fun , i really felt like Tarzan in the jungle ,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Byron C
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewed 19 September 2016

I love animals, but this place is just filthy. There is a weird vibe, which rather made me feel unsafe than 'hippie-free'. In my opinion the owner is arrogant and insulting his guests. I can't wait for him to reply to this review with humor, cause that would be hilarious...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SF24189
ometepezopilote, Owner at El Zopilote, responded to this review

PLEASE DO NOT GET ANGRY BUT WE LIKE TO ANSWER WITH HUMOR. Hola SF , i am very happy that you like my humor .....like you many other people that recently red my answer in this website, are very happy to read a different answer than the usually boring ones ....Maybe you do not believe me, but those answers bring...

Sedona, Arizona
Reviewed 18 September 2016

If you're looking for down time, hippie friendly, eco friendly living this is the place. Compost toilets, no fans, no lights at night except In the main areas. Definitely bring a head lamp if you have it or flashlight. We used the flashlight on our phones and it was fine but not the most convenient. Bring the most heavy duty...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank eskimo85
Reviewed 18 September 2016

I traveled to El Zopilote with my boyfriend and stayed for two nights. We had an incredible experience on the permaculture finca. The pizza was AMAZING with all fresh organic ingredients and the staff was so hospitable. We were offered FREE yoga and numerous dance classes that we both found enjoyable and enriching. I reccomend this permaculture eco-lodge to all...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Morgan C
Schaumburg, Illinois
Reviewed 16 September 2016 via mobile

I stayed here in July with my husband. We found this place very interesting. We loved to partecipate in all the courses. They have a lot good variety like Yoga (free 2 times a day ) , permaculture, Silk, Ceramic, dancing class and bread couse.... We did many of them and we stayed 2 weeks! It was a wonderful experience...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank meliara21
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewed 14 September 2016

Cool concept, though not as on the photos. We received no clean sheets and the dorms were smelling. Even saw cockroaches crawling in the beds. That was not just "nature", but simply because of poor hygiene. A pity for the beautiful environment, the permaculture idea does fit here very well!!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank coco24124
ometepezopilote, Owner at El Zopilote, responded to this review

SORRY, DO NOT GET ANGRY BUT WE LIKE TO ANSWER WITH HUMOR.... Hola Coco, looks like you are another one of the intellegent group that came here at 9.30 pm and left after 1 1/2 hours loosing all the money......yes, you are....all of you wrote the same things.......which i think are completely false.......if you are not prepared to leave with...

Reviewed 12 September 2016

We were very looking forward to our stay at El Zopilote because we had heard great things about it and the activities the hostel offers seemed like fun. But something must have changed over time, because honestly we didn't have the chance to experience the additional services the hostel offers because the basics were just terrible. Even though one wall...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Lara B
ometepezopilote, Owner at El Zopilote, responded to this review

PLEASE DO NOT GET ANGRY, BUT I LIKE TO ANSWER WITH HUMOR..... Hola Lara, looks like that you are part of the very intelligent group that payd 2 days in advance and stayed in the drom 1 hour and 30 minutes.... I recognize from the intelligent way how you write your review. Please, come back again....but next time reserve for...

Reviewed 8 September 2016

It's the first time I write a bad review... I'm use to hostel and cheap hotel. When I got to El Zopilote, I wasn't expecting luxury. I knew I was getting into something rustic. But honestly, my experience was horrible. It's sad, because Isla de Ometepe is nice and the jungle is impressive. But the ''hut'' I was sleeping into...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Katherine T

161 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (151)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (48)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (89)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Cruz
3.5 km away
Hotel Villa Paraiso
Hotel Villa Paraiso
#1 of 4 in Isla de Ometepe
366 reviews
5.6 km away
Finca Montania Sagrada
Finca Montania Sagrada
#7 of 35 in Isla de Ometepe
115 reviews
6.2 km away
Finca San Juan de la Isla
Finca San Juan de la Isla
#1 of 4 in Altagracia
263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 km away
Totoco Eco-Lodge
Totoco Eco-Lodge
#1 of 5 in Balgue
328 reviews
2.7 km away
Selvista Guesthouses
Selvista Guesthouses
#3 of 5 in Balgue
11 reviews
0.0 km away
Hostel Lazy Crab
Hostel Lazy Crab
#1 of 1 in Balgue
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Internet
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Internet
  • Free Internet
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
El Zopilote is a permaculture farm/hostel. We have hammock, dormitory, and rooms. We have a organic restaurant serving Nica and Italian food (like handmade pastas, lasagnas, fettuccine, melanzane alla parmigiana) open at breakfat, lunch and dinner tevery day and 3 nights a week we have pizza night ,cooked in wood-bricks oven.In the reception we sell food and organic product hand made here.The land is completely planted with fruit trees, bananos and much more...Our goal is to be 100% sustainable. We have a look out tower where you can see the Volcanos and the farm. We organize tour to both volcanoes, horseback riding, spanish lessons, yoga classes (free), ceramic, bread and bees courses and there is free WI-FI 24h and free filtered water. You can work with us in the permaculture garden and in the work shop and learn something nice (free). ... more   less 

Additional Information about El Zopilote

Address: from Madronal 300m south, Santa Cruz, Isla de Ometepe 044, Nicaragua
Region: Nicaragua > Rivas Department > Isla de Ometepe > Santa Cruz
Price Range: $14 - $30 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your El Zopilote reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Zopilote Nicaragua/Isla De Ometepe - Santa Cruz
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from El Zopilote staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from El Zopilote staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Book a cabin!”
 of 5 bubbles shmatherine, 23 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Dorm rooms are treehouse and hot with no fans or screens!”
 of 5 bubbles lukebW1687RZ, 21 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Go for a private cabin - they aren't much more and they are beautiful!”
 of 5 bubbles mollyw464, 5 Jun 2016 | Read review
“The Colibri cabin at La Brisa is the best!”
 of 5 bubbles Q9894CKamandad, 19 Mar 2016 | Read review
“anywhere! All rooms/ lofts looked super cool”
 of 5 bubbles ilaw2016, 13 Mar 2016 | Read review
5 of 5