We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Camp Figtree

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Camp Figtree
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

383 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Camp Figtree
See the most recent reviews
Showing 310: English reviews
Toronto
Reviewed 11 October 2016

We had a great 3 night stay at Camp Figtree. The views are stunning, the grounds well maintained and our luxury suite was very spacious. The food is very good with variety each day. Camp Figtree is a great location if you plan to spend time in Addo Park. (Just 15 minutes away by car from the main gate.) The...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Shutterbug09
CampFigtree, Sales and Marketing Manager at Camp Figtree, responded to this review

Thank you for your wonderful review. We are so pleased to hear you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us - thank you for recommending us and we hope to welcome you again soon. Yours in Hospitality Ingrid

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 11 October 2016

We stayed in a luxury tent, which looked brand new but apparently wasn't. The view was absolutely stunning and came complete with Hornbills who greeted us each morning. All the staff were fantastic and provided anything you could ever want. Only very small niggle is the building work that was going on when we were there.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank TandT35
CampFigtree, Sales and Marketing Manager at Camp Figtree, responded to this review

Many thanks for taking the time to review Camp Figtree. We are so pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and apologies for the small inconvenience of some essential building work that was being finished. We hope to welcome you back soon. Warm Regards Ingrid

Austin, Texas
Reviewed 7 October 2016

Absolute stunner of a place - it's a harrowing drive up a mountain to get there, but our little Ford Fiesta made it, and what. a. view. The view from the veranda of our luxury tent has now become the image I think of when I need to calm down or appreciate life - it's that wonderful. The staff went...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
2Thank AimeeColleen
CampFigtree, Sales and Marketing Manager at Camp Figtree, responded to this review

Dear Aimee Thank you for your fantastic feedback - we are so pleased to hear that Camp Figtree was one of the highlights of your stay in South Africa, and that you are enjoying the memories of your stay with us. Thanks for the recommendation too! We are really looking forward to welcoming you back one day. Best wishes, until...

Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewed 3 October 2016 via mobile

Our stay here was somewhat underwhelming. The room was nice and kind of private, but management was non existent, so the service was not great. We were there while they were renovating or something, so day time relaxing at the lodge was not great.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Wayno171
CampFigtree, Sales and Marketing at Camp Figtree, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. We are sorry to hear our service did not live up to your or our expectations. In July we were doing some renovating, however everything is completed. We hope we get the opportunity to host you again. Yours in Hospitality Ingrid

Maputo, Mozambique
Reviewed 2 October 2016 via mobile

We stayed on the luxury chalets and had an amazing experience. The location is perfect on top of the mountain offering amazingly quiet and beautiful views over the valley all the way where the eyes can reach. The chalets are beautifully decorated on a romantic colonial chic style, with an enormous bathroom, walk in shower and a charming bath tub,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank NunoCaldeiraOliveira
CampFigtree, Sales and Marketing Manager at Camp Figtree, responded to this review

Dear Nuno Many thanks for your wonderful review of your stay with us. We are thrilled to hear you have a wonderful stay and hope to welcome you back again soon. Warmest Regards Ingrid

Somerset West, South Africa
Reviewed 24 September 2016

Although a mission to reach the camp (poor roads), the camp was a wonderful experience. Very relaxing and completely tranquil. The service and attention is very discreet and you feel like the only guests at the camp. The food was of a very high standard and we were fortunate to have 3 different chefs preparing our meals. Easy access to...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Karel B
CampFigtree, Sales and Marketing Manager at Camp Figtree, responded to this review

Many thanks for taking the time to write this review. We are pleased to hear you had a wonderful stay and will be returning. There are plans by the local municipality to work on the roads imminently, however in the meantime, we do suggest that guests enjoy a slow drive up admiring the stunning views. We look forward to welcoming...

Almere, The Netherlands
Reviewed 19 September 2016

going to figtree is an experience. A challinging but doable road leads to Figtree and its worth it. A beautifull and scenic view in the mountains from a bungalow or tent is amazing. The facility looks great. We had the bush tent, service was amazing. Brakfast and dinner were well taken care ot and the staff did everything to make...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank edz3
CampFigtree, Sales and Marketing Manager at Camp Figtree, responded to this review

We are thrilled to hear you had a great stay at Camp Figtree. Thank you for taking the time to write this review. Yours in Hospitality. Ingrid

Leeuwarden, The Netherlands
Reviewed 14 September 2016

We absolutely loved our stay at Camp Figtree. Super friendly staff, delicious food, great accommodation and breathtaking views. We felt so welcome. Be sure to book a game drive with one of Camp Figtree's guides to Addo Elephant Park. Our guide Mike took all the time for us and had so many interesting cactus to share. It was one of...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
2Thank sanneeva2016
CampFigtree, Sales and Marketing Manager at Camp Figtree, responded to this review

Dear Sanne Thank you for this wonderful review! We are so pleased you had a fantastic stay with us and have taken back to Holland special memories. We hope to welcome you again one day. Until then, warmest regards Ingrid

Paarl, South Africa
Reviewed 10 September 2016 via mobile

We were looking forward to our second visit and were not disappointed. What a magic place ! The friendliest people, the best views, great cuisine and wine, super luxury chalet without a TV (please keep it like this) where you can hear the birds singing, the baboons calling and see and hear the eagles. The tranquility, privacy and magic of...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Christo M
CampFigtree, Sales and Marketing Manager at Camp Figtree, responded to this review

Dear Christo, Thank you for taking the time to write this fantastic review. We are so pleased to hear that you had another wonderful stay with us, and we look forward to welcoming you again one day. Warmest Regards, Camp Figtree Team

Singapore, Singapore
Reviewed 8 September 2016

We enjoyed our stay and the delicious food served at Camp Figtree to the fullest. You do have a great view which is unforgettable. If you would like to be light years away from everyday life and get spoiled rotten this is the place to be.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Thomas G
CampFigtree, Sales and Marketing Manager at Camp Figtree, responded to this review

Dear Thomas, Thank you for your fantastic review, we are so pleased you had such a wonderful stay with us. Warmest Regards Ingrid

332 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (311)
Viewed
Bathroom (15)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (37)
Viewed
View from Room (32)
Viewed
Room/Suite (53)
Viewed
Dining (18)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (16)
Viewed
Other (140)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (21)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (13)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Addo
7.4 km away
River Bend Lodge
River Bend Lodge
#3 of 12 in Addo Elephant National Park
422 reviews
13.8 km away
Woodall Country House and Spa
29.7 km away
Kuzuko Lodge
Kuzuko Lodge
#1 of 12 in Addo Elephant National Park
318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.2 km away
Hitgeheim Country Lodge
7.9 km away
Addo Dung Beetle Guest Farm
21.9 km away
De Old Drift Guest Farm
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included

Additional Information about Camp Figtree

Address: Addo, Sundays River Valley, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Greater Addo > Sundays River Valley > Addo
Price Range: $236 - $483 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Camp Figtree 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Camp Figtree reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Camp Figtree staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All rooms appear to have a good outlook.”
Boardie234, 28 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Rooms and tented accommodation is a personal choice, all face the same view.”
kobijoy55, 18 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Our boardwalk room had a nice view over the mountains”
  • I think this is one of the new boardwalk suites or it may be a family suite
1234Col, 20 Dec 2016 | Read review
“In my opinion go for the tent rooms.”
JamieW_10, 13 Dec 2016 | Read review
“tents are very luxurious!”
  • View from the bathroom
  • Large soaker tub
  • Balcony of the room
alice_bo, 7 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5