We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Pooley Bridge Inn

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pooley Bridge
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Pooley Bridge Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

359 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 359: English reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Looks good from outside with lots of parking. Inside looks very tired and cramped. Very busy and noisy when we visited staff ignored our requests for menu. Tables were not particularly clean and were not being cleared quickly. Gave up and went elsewhere.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Tudor J
Ricki L, Owner at Pooley Bridge Inn, responded to this review

hi tudor thankyou for reviewing the Pooley Bridge Inn. We apologise that you did not get the experience we do our upmost to deliver. We were very busy that day and all though that is not an excuse that's all we can put it down to, as our staff are always friendly and reliant, so there must of been a...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 December 2016 via mobile

25 of us ate Sunday lunch here on 11th Dec. The portions were large, the service very good and the quality of the food also great - not easy with a party of 25! We arrived via the steamer ferry and managed to eat 2 courses and coffee before having to catch the last ferry back.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mcmark222
Ricki L, Manager at Pooley Bridge Inn, responded to this review

thankyou for taking the time to review us, we are very happy to accommodate all groups however big or small. hope to see you soon regards

Preston
Reviewed 12 December 2016

Was staying nearby but decided to eat here. So glad we did. Place was friendly, warm and inviting. The choice of food exceptional, especially for those with a larger appetite. Ham Hock to die for and so was the beef bouginon cottage pie. Would recommend :0)

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Atlantis1964
Ricki L, Manager at Pooley Bridge Inn, responded to this review

thank you for taking the time to review us, we are glad you enjoyed it, we do try our best to deliver locally source, homemade hearty food, our kitchen team will be pleased to read this regards

Reviewed 3 November 2016 via mobile

Never been somewhere so dog friendly. It was really busy but the food still came pretty fast and was really tasty. All pooches were well behaved and service was fast and friendly. Great atmosphere too, with lots of happy faces around the pub.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hannah S
Ricki L, Owner at Pooley Bridge Inn, responded to this review

thank you for taking the time to review us, we are glad you enjoyed it, we do try our best to deliver locally source, homemade hearty food, our kitchen team will be pleased to read this. We are a family run business and treat all our staff as one big family, hence why they are happy to work with us....

Reviewed 3 November 2016

Delicious food, great value and lovely atmosphere. Great for families, the chef is very talented and we'd definitely visit and eat here again. The decor is 'oldie worldie' and comfortable, lovely wooden booths and some beautiful stained glass windows that are well worth a look.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Marion S
Ricki L, Owner at Pooley Bridge Inn, responded to this review

thank you for taking the time to review us, we are glad you enjoyed it, we do try our best to deliver locally source, homemade hearty food, our kitchen team will be pleased to read this regards

Reviewed 1 November 2016 via mobile

We visited here as a family on Halloween. The pub was very traditional and welcoming. The staff for very friendly and accommodating. Three of us ordered starters - prawn cocktail was substantial and delicious. The other two were garlic mushrooms - rather large for a starter and the sauce was a little watery - but overall tasty. Mains were adjusted...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank cannies
Ricki L, Owner at Pooley Bridge Inn, responded to this review

thank you for taking the time to review us, we are glad you enjoyed it, we do try our best to deliver locally source, homemade hearty food, our kitchen team will be pleased to read this regards

england
Reviewed 30 October 2016 via mobile

Visited here for lunch on a busy Saturday lunchtime. Firstly plenty of parking, interior of pub is cosy and very well maintained with different combinations of tables/ booths. Staff were lovely throughout our lunch. Food potions are huge and really good. I hag chicken and sweet chicken sizzler plate it was lovely and could of easily fed two. Drinks reasonably...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank polperro
Ricki L, Owner at Pooley Bridge Inn, responded to this review

thank you for taking the time to review us, we are glad you enjoyed it, we do try our best to deliver locally source, homemade hearty food, our kitchen team will be pleased to read this regards

Whitehaven
Reviewed 29 October 2016 via mobile

Visited this pub load of times over the years so expected another good experience. Unfortunately this was not the case. Ordered 2 rib eye steaks and would probably have stayed for a few drinks, asked to change chips for jacket potato. Sorry can't do it we don't have enough jacket potatoes. Pub lost our custom and spend for a jacket...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 5030berty
Ricki L, Manager at Pooley Bridge Inn, responded to this review

hi berty firstly I would like to point out to people reading this, how rude you were towards a member of staff. before she had got chance to explain the situation you were already walking away. we did not have any jackets available at the time when you ordered, the foh manager was in the process of explaining other healthier...

Pembroke Dock, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 October 2016 via mobile

Stopped here for lunch on arrival into the area. Really impressed. Had a ciabatta roll. Lots of filling, with lovely side salad & coleslaw. Cappuccino was amazing too. Really nice service from the two gents who were behind the bar. Called in again that evening & had the pasta of the day. Once again fab food. Lots of it and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Welsh_smiley
Ricki L, Owner at Pooley Bridge Inn, responded to this review

Thankyou very much for taking the time to review us at the Pooley Bridge, I have taken great delight in passing these kind words on the team! hope to see you again soon!

Reviewed 8 October 2016 via mobile

Amazing Inn, very friendly, helpful staff can't do enough for you, food fantastic, plenty of choice and cheap. Been 3 times now and can never complain at quality or quantity, will be returning. Definitely recommend going if near pooley bridge.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank deborah u
Ricki L, Owner at Pooley Bridge Inn, responded to this review

We are very happy that you enjoyed your visits with us, hope to see you again soon Pooley Bridge Inn Team

49 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (45)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (21)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pooley Bridge
2.9 km away
Sharrow Bay Country House Hotel
Sharrow Bay Country House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Pooley Bridge
314 reviews
4.0 km away
Macdonald Leeming House, Ullswater
6.4 km away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
#5 of 13 in Penrith
920 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.1 km away
Inn on the Lake
Inn on the Lake
#1 of 2 in Glenridding
1,506 reviews
2.3 km away
Another Place, The Lake
Another Place, The Lake
#1 of 2 in Watermillock
792 reviews
21.8 km away
The Daffodil Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Traditional Lakeland Inn in the Heart of Pooley Bridge, open fires, outdoor courtyard, home-cooked food and 11 en-suite rooms ... more   less 

Additional Information about Pooley Bridge Inn

Address: Main street, Pooley Bridge, Penrith, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Eden District > Penrith > Pooley Bridge
Number of rooms: 11
Also Known As:
Pooley Bridge Hotel Pooley Bridge
Pooley Bridge b&b
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Pooley Bridge Inn staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Aberdeen scotland
over a year ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Pooley Bridge Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Go somewhere else!”
 of 5 bubbles 567zoe, 6 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Rooms 1-4 at the front have a lovely Balcony !!”
 of 5 bubbles DebiS190, 4 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Rooms very clean but very dated.”
 of 5 bubbles travellingman227, 25 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Front balcony rooms are good value.”
 of 5 bubbles COLINT426, 20 Aug 2016 | Read review
“The lower numbered rooms overlook the front courtyard, which may get a little noisey.”
 of 5 bubbles U8166PLjohns, 11 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5