We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Brewers Lodge

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
Brewers Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

23 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 23: English reviews
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Myself and 10 others had a crimbo meal 5 with l / d i have to say they could not do enough for us the food was fad the staff very helpful made it feel like home would deffo go back, The place is very clean and cosy well worth a visit thank you sooo much x

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lew130
BrewersLodge, Manager at Brewers Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, we are glad you enjoyed your visit and hope to see you again soon.

Cirencester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 November 2016

Well, what can I say. Firstly, for people alien to the local community, using the satnav and assuming nothing beyond the cricket club, maybe Brewers Lodge need to advertise themselves more prominently. Having got to reception, earlish evening, we were treated by a lovely lady. Having got upstairs, our room was very cold, looked liked it had been recently decorated,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Nikki D
BrewersLodge, Manager at Brewers Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for taking your time to write a review, we take all feedback from our customers very seriously. We have asked the local council if we can add an additional sign to direct customers to the property but they refuse as we already have a brown tourist information sign at the bottom of the hill and insist on the...

Southern Wales, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 November 2016

Myself and my partner visited brewers lodge on a weekday, we decided to have some lunch, we were very impressed by the prices, most meals are £5, I had the lasagne which was beautiful, my partner had the curry, he ate the lot, we will definitely be visiting again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Diane H
BrewersLodge, Manager at Brewers Lodge, responded to this review

Hi Diane, Thank you for taking your time to write a review. I have passed on your kind comments to our staff. Quality and Value is important to us and its nice to hear that customers appreciate our efforts. We hope to see you soon :)

Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 November 2016

I had some concerns regards the room it was cold until the electric heater was put on, I was above the bar area which was noisy until 10.30 pm, but the new owners are working very hard to improve all the facilities and I could not fault my bedding, bathroom and linen which were spotless. Neat array of toiletries and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Torina S
BrewersLodge, Owner at Brewers Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for taking your time to write a review, we are glad that you enjoyed your stay with and as always will use customer feedback to improve. Thermostatic heating will be added in due course but in the meantime we have put in place measures to ensure rooms are heated prior to guests arrival. Our bar and restaurant is...

Reviewed 26 October 2016

I have been looking for somewhere that does Sunday Lunch that is just like homemade. We decided to try the Brewers lodge as a few people had mentioned it. Absolutely stunning lunch. So much to choose from. And Staff very helpful and polite. I would highly recommend this place.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Helen W
BrewersLodge, General Manager at Brewers Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks you for your review, I will pas your kind comments to our staff and we hope to see you again soon :)

Blackwood, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 October 2016 via mobile

A few of us recently popped into the lodge to watch the football and have a bar meal. There is a good choice of meals at reasonable prices and the drinks are not overly priced. They have a few screens to watch the sport so you will always be able to see the game. The bar staff were friendly and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 8leigh8
Catherine B, Manager at Brewers Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for taking your time to write a review, good food, good value and a good atmosphere is very important to us as we like our customers to feel valued and welcome. We look forward to seeing you again soon :)

Swindon, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 October 2016

Stayed as a solo business traveller. Room was cheap. Management welcoming. Only this was the old room was above the bar with no sound insulation. There was lots of noise well past midnight. Didn't bother with food as other guest were 'trades' and the atmosphere intimidating. The bathroom was smelly, the Saniflow noisy and the shower did not work.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MiddleagedMegs
BrewersLodge, Manager at Brewers Lodge, responded to this review

Hi Meg, thank you for taking your time to write a review. We keep our prices low and pride ourselves on customer service. Unfortunately due to the age of the building and low ceilings sound insulation is limited and some noise can occasionally be heard from the public areas below, however we close at 11pm so noise after midnight is...

Reviewed 8 October 2016 via mobile

Good value for money.Good choice of typical pub meals for a fiver.Food hot and good table service.Sports bar with pool table darts board and large screen TV with Sky sports for all the sports fans.Will definitely pop in again.Pet friendly.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sian E
Catherine B, Manager at Brewers Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks for your review, we work hard to provide good food and a good experience for our customers, hope to see you again soon.

Reviewed 6 October 2016

Wonderful corned beef pie with real chips, peas and gravy, only a fiver. Skirrid Fawr, locally brewed, real ale £2.50 a pint. I thought i had died and gone to heaven. Good honest pub grub, friendly staff and great beer, what more could you want? Oh yes, teh pub cat was really friendly too!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lewis M
Catherine B, Owner at Brewers Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks for taking your time to write a review, I will pass your comments to the staff :) Glad you enjoyed it here and hope to see you again soon :)

Reviewed 3 October 2016 via mobile

Stunning Sunday lunch again . Cant fault this pub at all. Bar staff fab Always happy to go that bit extra to please . Owners fab . Prices fab . Cant complain . Chef always does a fab lunch . . Lovely seating area when the sun is shining 😎😎😀

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank mussypeas46
BrewersLodge, General Manager at Brewers Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks for your review, its great to hear from happy customers, I will pass the comments to the chef and bar staff, hope to see you again soon :)

34 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (18)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (7)
Viewed
Other (11)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (16)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Blackwood
7.9 km away
Premier Inn Caerphilly (Corbetts Lane) Hotel
7.9 km away
Llechwen Hall Hotel
Llechwen Hall Hotel
#1 of 3 in Pontypridd
380 reviews
12.8 km away
BEST WESTERN Pontypool Metro Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 km away
Premier Inn Caerphilly Crossways Hotel
13.0 km away
The Parkway Hotel & Spa
2.3 km away
Maes Manor Country Hotel
Maes Manor Country Hotel
#4 of 6 in Blackwood
159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Banquet Room
  • Meeting Rooms
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Originally a 16th century farmhouse, this friendly country inn is set in its own grounds, overlooking the small town of Blackwood, near Newport, with the Brecon Beacons within easy reach. Brewers Lodge was once owned by the family of the infamous Captain Henry Morgan. Today, this quaint building is brimming with country charm and its own wonderful unique character, giving you a warm sense of welcome from the moment you arrive. Just a short distance from some of the region's most beautiful woodland, the lodge is nevertheless within easy reach of the cities of Newport, Cardiff and Bristol. There are 15 modern en suite rooms, each with tea/coffee making facilities and satellite TV. Wi-Fi wireless internet access is available throughout. Family run, Brewers Lodge is renowned throughout the local area for its high-quality food, first-class service and relaxed atmosphere. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Brewers Lodge

Address: Gordon Road, Blackwood NP12 1DS, Wales (Formerly Monnington Lodge)
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Caerphilly County > Blackwood
Price Range: $64 - $113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Brewers Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Brewers Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Brewers Lodge staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
over a year ago
Peterborough, England, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Brewers Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“For couples without kids....don't book”
 of 5 bubbles 199nikkid, 20 Nov 2016 | Read review
“not over the bar area”
 of 5 bubbles TorinaS, 9 Nov 2016 | Read review
2 of 2
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay