Chogogo Dive & Beach Resort Bonaire

Chogogo Dive & Beach Resort Bonaire

Traveller (408)
Pool & Beach (36)
Room & Suite (13)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Did you already book this hotel?

About

4.5
#11 of 26 hotels in Kralendijk
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.8 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Value
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Ocean View
Romantic
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish, Dutch
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Bar / lounge
Beach
Bicycle rental
Outdoor furniture
Sun deck
Secured parking
Lazy river
Pool / beach towels
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Diving
Snorkelling
Evening entertainment
Sun loungers / beach chairs
First aid kit
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Interconnected rooms available
Private balcony
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Extra long beds
Walk-in shower
Safe
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Tile / marble floor
Kitchenette
Refrigerator
Stovetop
Electric kettle
Kitchenware
Hair dryer
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms

Location

75B Kaya Gobernador N Debrot, Kralendijk Bonaire
Getting there
Somewhat walkable
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 79 out of 100
79
Flamingo Intl Airport
Aeropuerto Hato
73.4 km
See all flights
1 Attraction
within 0.5 kilometers
4.5
4.5 of 5 bubbles204 reviews
Reviews summary
This summary was created by AI, based on recent reviews.
Powered by AI

The Chogogo Dive & Beach Resort Bonaire garners praise for its cleanliness and well-maintained rooms that offer comfort and views, though guests have suggested adding hand towels and soap. While the friendly service is a highlight, there are occasional mentions of slower restaurant service. Travelers find the pricing fair, especially for day passes, even though the on-site restaurant may lean towards the expensive side. The resort's amenities, such as snorkeling and the lazy river, contribute to the overall appeal, despite some missing items. The modern atmosphere is generally well-received, but some believe there's room for enhancement.
Atmosphere
Stylish
Rooms
Comfortable
Value
Reasonable
Cleanliness
Mixed
Service
Inconsistent
Amenities
Satisfactory

Was this helpful?
Tripadvisor is not responsible for this summary or the opinions in it. For more information, please read the traveller reviews and learn more about how the site works.
204Reviews13Q+A21Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 111
  • 61
  • 17
  • 10
  • 5
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Tenley C wrote a review Dec 2023
Atlanta, Georgia
5.0 of 5 bubbles
The resort is absolutely beautiful, and all of the staff are very nice. We had a deluxe ocean view room, and the view was beautiful. We liked having a small kitchen and a nice size balcony to enjoy the view. There are plenty of supermarkets/grocery stores close by. The balcony has a ceiling fan and 2 comfortable chairs and a small table. The pool and lazy river are very fun. We also did some scuba diving with Scuba Do located on the property.
There are just a few suggestions for the resort: Provide hand soap – the only soap was the body/hair wash in the shower and the very diluted dish soap at the kitchen sink. Provide hand towels – only 2 small bath towels in the bathroom. Provide a box of Kleenex/tissues. Provide more than 2 tiny pillows for a king size bed – the 2 pillows we had were smaller than US standard size pillows. Provide a lightweight blanket for the bed – we only had sheets on the bed. Yes, in Bonaire it’s not “cold”. But with the AC blowing down on the bed, a lightweight blanket would be nice. Fortunately we had a couple of large beach towels we brought that we used as a blanket. Provide plastic drinking glasses in the kitchen – glassware is very nice, but with tile floors and balconies – breakage will happen and did happen – we broke one glass on our last night washing it in the sink. Provide a doormat outside each front door to the room to help with keeping sand/dirt off the floor. Maid service shouldn’t be every 3 days – at least every other day.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from A S, Marketing at Chogogo Dive & Beach Resort Bonaire
Responded Dec 31, 2023
Thank you for sharing your experience at Chogogo Dive & Beach Resort Bonaire. Great to hear that you enjoyed your stay at our resort, that the resort was absolutely beautiful and that our staff was very nice. We will take into account your feedback and we hope to welcome you again in the future! Sunny regards, Team Chogogo
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Robin wrote a review Jul 2022
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Hotel's Favourite
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed for 10 days in this brand new resort. Simple but nice rooms with a nice kitchenette. Great airco en fan. Amazing view from a nice but small balcony. Very nice bathroom.

We really appreciated our staff, they made our stay! Cocktails were great as well, and reasonably priced. Food prices were a bit steep, and sometimes lunch didn't even include french fries, e.g. a hamburger for 22,50 Dollars. Quality was excellent, but the prices were steep for what is essentially barfood. Exception: the orange juice at breakfast is advertised as "fresh", but it was a medium quality concentrate that varied per day.

Snorkling right in front of the location, and a great pool. The resort is new, so the garden is still a bit bare, give it a few years!

Booking a late checkout was worth it, but at 50 Dollars, again a bit steep in pricing. At the other hand, we felt that 58 Dollars a day for car rental was very reasonable.

All in all, we would book it again!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: Always book sea view, or you will be looking at a parking
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Analy Schoots, Marketing at Chogogo Dive & Beach Resort Bonaire
Responded Aug 9, 2022
Thank you for sharing your experience at Chogogo Dive & Beach Resort. Good to hear that you enjoyed your stay at our resort. We are sorry to hear that some of the prices and the orange juice did not meet your expectations. We will take into account your feedback and we hope to welcome you again in the future! Kind regards, Team Chogogo
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
A lot to digest? Read an AI-generated summary of recent traveller reviews.
Ftlchip wrote a review Apr 2023
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We did a trip to Chogogo Dive and Beach Resort Bonaire. We had a port visit from our cruise ship and decided to take a day trip to this resort. What a great experience! The staff is very friendly and helpful the day pass when we went was only $25 per person and included a $10 food and beverage credit. The resort is gorgeous and the beach OH MY! They have a dive shop on location (Scuba Do) that we took advantage of. The dive site in front of there facility is excellent. We will be back to stay with them soon. Only a $15 cab ride from the port for 4 of us.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from A S, Marketing at Chogogo Dive & Beach Resort Bonaire
Responded Apr 20, 2023
Thank you for sharing your experience at Chogogo Dive & Beach Resort. We are glad to hear that you had a great experience at our resort, and that you enjoyed our beach and dive site. We hope to welcome you again soon! Kind regards, Team Chogogo
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Osvaldo P wrote a review Oct 2022
Houston, Texas
3.0 of 5 bubbles
We were one week in October 2022. here is a summary with some impression/comments
Location and beach: very good. Reality check: very often there are contradictory information, for example service to airport, as advertised, I was told by the staff does not exist.Dinner reservation: someone says do it at the receptions, other says no. Who is right? Letter of check out (I presume) was written only in Dutch..
Room: very well equipped :the kitchen corner is great.Cleaning is good but it is not acceptable to have the room cleaned ONLY every 3 days! In particular in a sand environment like this. Without the proper maintenance(that includes room cleaning) this place will deteriorate fast.A couple of small water bottle as welcome would be nice, for 200$/Night I would expect that. Bed: good mattress, only one pillow per person, we needed to ask. Bathroom, nice but no basics are provided like facial bars, shampoo& conditioner, and Kleenex.Furniture, very basic, maybe a sofa would not hurt. Also, there were no racks to put the luggage, we kept them open in the floor,Kindeness of personnel: excellent but they need training, including the waiters. We did not see any senior supervisor/manager going around.. The place sometime gets VERY NOISY. Workers using drill at 2-4 PM. Kids screaming near the water slide at all the time. The access there should be regulated Now is from 9am to 7 pm. It should be less, so people can enjoy quiet atmosphere for a few hours. Or change the location of waterslide. Suggestion: do not book the room in building 2 unless you like continuous high pitch noises.Food: good and well presented , including breakfast. Wine selection is extremely poor.
Now I give 3 stars but with the right management this plase can exceed 4 stars in a few months.
ciao
OP
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Analy Schoots, Marketing at Chogogo Dive & Beach Resort Bonaire
Responded Oct 13, 2022
Thank you for sharing your experience at Chogogo Dive & Beach Resort. Good to hear that you enjoyed our location and beach, the accommodation and the food at our restaurants! We are sorry to hear that we did not meet your expectations in some other areas. Due to sustainability reasons we offer a cleaning service every three days, this is mentioned on our website. We have never offered a service from or to the airport, this is also mentioned on our website. Could you please let us know in an email to marketing.bonaire@chogogo.com where you have seen advertisements from Chogogo about an airport service? We would like to avoid any confusion! We will take into account your feedback and hope to welcome you again in the future. Kind regards, Team Chogogo
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Arlene H wrote a review Mar 2024
Boulder, Colorado
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We enjoyed everything about our week at Chogogo. The minimalist design of our room with colorful Smeg appliances felt very European, the bed was comfortable, and the balcony was perfect for enjoying breakfasts as well as sunsets. The drying racks tucked into the side of the balcony were a great touch. The staff was pleasant and accommodating, and the extra pillows and blanket that I requested when making the reservation were in our room when we arrived. Our room was very clean, and the air conditioning worked well. After reading other reviews, I did bring small hand soaps for the bathroom and kitchen sinks. We reserved a rental car through the resort. It was a reasonable price and ready when we got there - so easy! The restaurant food was very good, fresh, and served in a timely fashion. We especially enjoyed the seafood salad and appetizer tuna tacos at the beach bar. It was great to be able to snorkel right from the property. Unfortunately, the coral reefs all over the island are bleached, but we still saw lots of beautiful fish. There were plenty of chairs and some shade along the beach, and the day visitors were no problem. The large pool and lazy river were clean and never crowded. Most of the guests were from the Netherlands. There only seemed to be a few American guests. If you enjoy a modern, minimal design, Chogogo would be a great choice. We loved it!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from A S, Marketing at Chogogo Dive & Beach Resort Bonaire
Responded Mar 24, 2024
Thank you for sharing your experience at Chogogo Dive & Beach Resort Bonaire. Great to hear that you enjoyed your stay at our resort. We hope to welcome you again in the future! Sunny regards, Team Chogogo
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Cynthia wrote a review Feb 2024
Illinois
4.0 of 5 bubbles
The resort property is beautiful, the landscaping very well done, and the lazy river so relaxing.
The rooms are spacious but poorly designed. No couch, poor tv placement and wardrobe location inconvenient. The room could be so much better if they used a professional room designer. But the most troubling part of the room is lack of amenities such as no hand soap in the bathroom. A very serious virus could wipe that place out with one sick person with poor hygiene. What a lack of sense on the part of management. I also missed having hand towels, wash cloths, tissues, paper towels in the kitchen. A rug by the door and bed would be helpful to manage the sandy floors.
The service was so hit and miss. One day we waited 37 minutes for water and over one hour for a sandwich. Other days it was better but not great. The food was good and reasonable priced. Some of the staff were friendly while others wouldn’t even look at you, rather they would just look at their shoes. I think some customer service training would help them understand that tourists are paying their salaries.
The snorkeling is wonderful right off the reef in front. The water is crystal clear.
This resort could be a five star with some needed changes.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Bring your own hand soap and sanitizer plus a converter for the electric outlets
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from A S, Marketing at Chogogo Dive & Beach Resort Bonaire
Responded Mar 24, 2024
Thank you for sharing your experience at Chogogo Dive & Beach Resort Bonaire. Great to hear that you enjoyed your stay at our resort. We value and take into account your feedback and we hope to welcome you again in the future! Sunny regards, Team Chogogo
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Valerie wrote a review Aug 2022
5.0 of 5 bubbles
My and my boyfriend stayed at Chogogo for 8 days. The resort is very new, has beautiful interior & rooms, and a great customer service. I would recommend this resort to anyone, also include breakfast in your booking because food and drinks are expensive on Bonaire
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Analy Schoots, Marketing at Chogogo Dive & Beach Resort Bonaire
Responded Sep 1, 2022
Thank you for sharing your experience at Chogogo Dive & Beach Resort. Good to hear that you enjoyed your stay at our resort. We hope to welcome you again in the future! Kind regards, Team Chogogo
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jonas K wrote a review Feb 2023
5.0 of 5 bubbles
New ,clean, well situated and well fitted kitchen We like the hotel, the area and the service, the staff is friendly and helpful and the views are stunning. There are bikes to borrow and the city is at walking distance, though a bit to walk to get to a supermarket.
As come to Bonaire as a vacation destination we rate it on the top of the ABC islands, though renting a car for at least a part of the time should be mandatory to get around in general but of course to explore some of the stunning diving and snorkeling sites.
We recommend Bonaire, and we recommend Chogogo, and if going here again we will most probably split our vacation into two different hotels at different location, style of hotel and different pricing to get the most out of the vacation, as we did this time
Read more
Date of stay: February 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from A S, Marketing at Chogogo Dive & Beach Resort Bonaire
Responded Feb 17, 2023
Thank you for sharing your experience at Chogogo Dive & Beach Resort. Good to hear that you enjoyed your stay at our resort. We hope to welcome you again soon! Kind regards, Team Chogogo
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Turkey D wrote a review Jan 2024
Ottawa, Canada
4.0 of 5 bubbles
The room, bathroom and balcony were all comfortable and very clean. What they didn't have in the room, was available at reception like extra blankets and adapters (North American to European). The kitchenette was well stocked for cookware, but only had two of everything for tableware and no cooking ingredients so you will need to consider getting things like salt, pepper, condiments, etc. when grocery shopping. We had booked an apartment which is like two hotel rooms with connecting doors in-between, but ended up having to split up our group because they didn't have any other apartments available, but no one was turned away. The service from the dive center onsite (Scuba Do) was fantastic. They are in the process of improving the drive and dive experience. (Reviewed separately) Restaurants/bar onsite were also good, but a bit pricey if you aren't planning to use the kitchenette. The lazy river was nice, but we spent more time swimming in the ocean/diving. We didn't have much rain, but when it did rain the walkways and stairs were very slippery and one of the people in our group slipped and hurt themselves, so be careful.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Room Tip: The apartments are two connected rooms so consider upgrading to a villa or just booking separate...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from A S, Marketing at Chogogo Dive & Beach Resort Bonaire
Responded Mar 24, 2024
Thank you for sharing your experience at Chogogo Dive & Beach Resort Bonaire. Great to hear that you enjoyed your stay at our resort. We are very sorry about the inconvenience of the slippery floor. We value and take into account your feedback and we hope to welcome you again in the future! Sunny regards, Team Chogogo
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Michiganbelle wrote a review Mar 2023
Midland Michigan
4.0 of 5 bubbles
This a very nice ocean front property. The room was attractive and the bed very comfortable. We thought it was odd that they didn't have any hand soap at the bathroom sink since they provided dish soap and a combo bodywash/shampoo. We had to buy our own! We've been going to Bonaire for years, but this was the first time we'd stayed at a resort. We have favorite restaurants from previous trips, but ate once at the restaurant and had drinks at the bar a few times. The food was good and the drinks reasonably priced. The only real issue was the music. The website says they have live music about twice a week. No. They have it almost EVERY NIGHT and it's so loud we could still hear it with our doors closed. A few of the groups weren't so loud and we enjoyed those from our balcony, but really after 3 hours these groups have done all the songs they know at least twice. Live music twice a week would be fine, and I'd suggest two hours.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from A S, Marketing at Chogogo Dive & Beach Resort Bonaire
Responded Mar 13, 2023
Thank you for sharing your experience at Chogogo Dive & Beach Resort. We are glad to hear that you had a pleasant stay at our resort. We will take into account your feedback about the live music and hope to welcome you again in the future! Kind regards, Team Chogogo
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Andrea W wrote a tip Apr 2024
Nepean, Canada56 contributions54 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Used hotels.com for an ocean facing room, but when we got there they told us that is not what we booked and had to pay extra to upgrade. "
Read full review
Erdee wrote a tip Apr 2024
Toronto, Canada100 contributions37 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Bring hand soap and hand towels for bathroom"
Read full review
Luc6745 wrote a tip Apr 2024
Frisange, Luxembourg27 contributions4 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"You need to bring your hand towels and buy hand soap."
Read full review
danamK1171BU wrote a tip Mar 2024
Dearborn, Michigan2 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Need easier lounge chairs to move in sand. "
Read full review
Bianca M wrote a tip Feb 2024
Hoek van Holland, The Netherlands4 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Take watershoes with you, the beach is rocky and lot of coral. There are rental bikes, but you have to ride busy streets. Few shops nearby"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Kralendijk area.
PRICE RANGE
C$203 - C$269 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
CaribbeanBonaireKralendijk
NUMBER OF ROOMS
200
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Chogogo Dive & Beach Resort Bonaire - UPDATED 2024 Prices, Reviews & Photos

Frequently Asked Questions about Chogogo Dive & Beach Resort Bonaire
Which popular attractions are close to Chogogo Dive & Beach Resort Bonaire?
Nearby attractions include Empire Cinema (0.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Chogogo Dive & Beach Resort Bonaire?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Chogogo Dive & Beach Resort Bonaire?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Chogogo Dive & Beach Resort Bonaire?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Chogogo Dive & Beach Resort Bonaire?
Yes, free parking and secured parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Chogogo Dive & Beach Resort Bonaire?
Conveniently located restaurants include Eddy's Bar & Restaurant, Breeze 'n Bites, and Yhanni's Arepas.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Chogogo Dive & Beach Resort Bonaire?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Chogogo Dive & Beach Resort Bonaire?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, and Dutch.
Are there any historical sites close to Chogogo Dive & Beach Resort Bonaire?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Hilma Hooker (6.7 km) and Fort Oranje (2.2 km).
Does Chogogo Dive & Beach Resort Bonaire have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the ocean view available here.
Is Chogogo Dive & Beach Resort Bonaire accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
All Kralendijk HotelsKralendijk Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in Kralendijk
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars