We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Tropicoco Hotel

ElvolineUS$99*
View Deal
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Travel Alert: Licensing Restrictions Apply More details
Management photos
Tropicoco Hotel
Tropicoco Hotel
Panoramas (8)
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"]}}
Add Photo Write a Review

603 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 350: English reviews
Start your review of Tropicoco Hotel
 Click to rate
Reviewed yesterday NEWvia mobile

We we're here 2nd week of this month.The place is nothing so fancy (this is Cuba a developing country hello?) But it had everything.From AC safety box clean towels ,daily room cleaning and their sheets are more whiter than the sheets I had in the hotel I was lodge in London UK or In Boston ND Florida.It was really clean.The...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Marilou A
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We were at Tropicoco from April 3rd to 10th. Our room was awful. Toilet seat broken and air conditioning made as much noise as a truck. We asked to change rooms and were told it was not possible. We waited until the reception shift changed and when we asked again we were able to change rooms. The food was good...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Sandra C
adrianmpg1988, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Tropicoco Hotel, responded to this review

Dear client . Thank you very much for write and for all yours comments . we really sorry for all the inconveniences you suffered ,but really all your comment help us to be better every day . best regards

Vancouver, Canada
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

For an all inclusive, you can't get prices cheaper than $1000. Just make sure you don't buy souvenirs and cigars in the stores. Rum is cheap, but t shirts and other souvenirs like mugs are expensive. I bought a mug for $5 but the t shirts were $16. No way!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank EdLovesmexico
adrianmpg1988, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Tropicoco Hotel, responded to this review

Hello from Tropicoco hotel . Thank for write, we are happy that you consider your general satisfaction about the Hotel good ,the souvenir it is another thing but I can said that ,not all the stores have the same price . best regards

Calgary, Canada
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This was my l0th holiday spent at the Tropicoco Hotel which I call "my home in Cuba". Weather, good, service, ocean - everything was just so good which made for an excellent holiday. So nice to meet the pleasant staff again and also touch base with the many friends I have made, over the years, that also holiday there. Thank...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank epcanuck
adrianmpg1988, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Tropicoco Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for write about your experience in our hotel . it very nice to know that was good. thank very much on name´s of all of the workers of Tropicoco hotel will be nice to receive you one more time . best regards

Winnipeg
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We just got back from a week at the Hotel Tropicoco after spending a pleasant week there. Since our first visit in 2010 we were happy to see the improvements that they are making there. The food is more varied and pleasant tasting and the fruit and salad bar are great. Coffee in the morning at the bar bears special...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Les W
adrianmpg1988, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Tropicoco Hotel, responded to this review

hello from Tropicoco. Thank your for come back to Tropicoco hotel and for all your nice comment dear client all the changes that you saw are the result of ours work every day, your words they are very stimulating for us ,we will continue offering better ours service for you and for all ours client . best regards Public Relations...

Ottawa, Canada
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I loved my stay here. If you are one of those people who complain at a Hilton it is not for you. In fact Cuba may not be for you. The hotel is weary but it has this faded Soviet era concrete charm. The beach is excellent and stretches for miles. The location is excellent if you want to see...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank 609russelm
adrianmpg1988, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Tropicoco Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your comment It ´s always pleasant to hear from our guests who enjoyed their stay in Tropicoco hotel . In spite of the weary of the construction of ours hotel , we have the best beaches in all ¨Playas del Este ´´ In a few months Tropicoco will be one of the best hotels on...

Reviewed 2 March 2017

We arrived late, about 10 pm, after we checked in and having to get another room as our key did not work, they gave us a larger room on the south side. At first we were thinking ,,,what have we done... the hallway was dark found our room and were pleasantly surprised .large room big bed very clean.WE then went...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Bill H
adrianmpg1988, Director Comercial at Tropicoco Hotel, responded to this review

We are very pleased to make your stay pleasant despite the physical problems of the hotel, it is our most precious interest to make your holiday unforgettable and for sure we will have the opportunity to exceed even more your expectations on your next visit. Best regards

Miami, Florida
Reviewed 23 February 2017

I got a good room here ,very comfortable and I need to admit the hotel is improving its appearance .It is clean and the service from front desk is very good.But as nothing is perfect there were no beach towel at all during the weekend till Tuesday and the massage person never came. The food is is regular and what...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank trip215
adrianmpg1988, Director Comercial at Tropicoco Hotel, responded to this review

It is a pleasure for all our staff to make your stay pleasant and your holiday unforgettable. We look forward to a new opportunity to exceed your expectations on your next visit, in which we ensure the service of pool towels without interruptions. Sincerely

Toronto
Reviewed 20 February 2017

My wife, 16-month old daughter and I spent a week at the Tropicoco and liked it. It is a quirky, Soviet era hotel with a (mostly) public beach across the street. There is a small part of that beach that is reserved for Tropicoco guests, it was a bit crowded and we did not think it was ideal for us...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Charrua2010
adrianmpg1988, Director Comercial at Tropicoco Hotel, responded to this review

It is a pleasure for all our staff to make your stay pleasant and help at all times to make your holiday an unforgettable memory. We hope to receive your visit again so that you and your family have a new opportunity to enjoy our magnificent beach. Best regards

Reviewed 12 February 2017

The food was standard however a different selection of dinner meat, fish or chicken every night. 3 desserts all the same each night. I highly recommend the waiter I had Osmany he could get you anything you needed and was a wealth of information. Naiyen our waitress was affable and friendly as well.The rooms are older design, however the beds...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Jude D
Management response:
Google Translation

Muchas gracias por contactarnos, ha sido muy valiosa toda la informacion que nos ha brindado, nos da mucho placer que...

818 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (643)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (169)
Viewed
View from Room (39)
Viewed
Bathroom (14)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (70)
Viewed
Dining (26)
Viewed
Room/Suite (51)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
9:28
Videos (4)
Viewed
Other (265)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (154)
Viewed
Amenities (13)
Viewed
Beach (14)
Viewed
Pool (11)
Viewed
Dining (43)
Viewed
Standard Room (25)
Viewed
The Hotel (48)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (21)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (4)
Viewed
Other (9)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Havana hotels
26.1 km away
H10 Habana Panorama
H10 Habana Panorama
#12 of 78 in Havana
1,553 reviews
26.5 km away
Melia Habana
Melia Habana
#2 of 78 in Havana
3,207 reviews
21.2 km away
Hotel Habana Paseo
Hotel Habana Paseo
#42 of 78 in Havana
226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.2 km away
Hotel Kohly
Hotel Kohly
#39 of 78 in Havana
226 reviews
26.1 km away
Memories Miramar Havana
Memories Miramar Havana
#11 of 78 in Havana
960 reviews
19.7 km away
NH Capri La Habana
NH Capri La Habana
#4 of 78 in Havana
1,501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Beachfront
About the property
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Airport Transportation
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room

Additional Information about Tropicoco Hotel

Address: Ave Sur y Las Terrazas | Santa Maria del Mar, Havana, Cuba
Region: Caribbean > Cuba > Ciudad de la Habana Province > Havana
Price Range: $94 - $195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Tropicoco Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 188
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and Despegar.com so you can book your Tropicoco Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tropicoco Hotel Havana
Hotel Tropicoco
Tropicoco Havana
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Havana
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Tropicoco Hotel staff and other travellers.
50 questions
Ask a question
Burlington, Canada

My brother was wondering if this would be a good hotel for his girlfriend, 12 yo son,and his adult children to travel to, for a 1 - 2 week vacation. The adults are considering taking day trips into Havana, and leaving the 12 yo at the hotel, whilst they do this. (I have my own opinions about this, however they are not shared! Don't roast me!)

Are there facilities for children, ie nanny/babysitting services? Realizing they are "older", but still not quite old enough to amuse themselves for that extended period of time. Is the beach safe? Is there security, lifeguards?

No one in the group speaks Spanish - is the staff conversant in English? Do they have medical facilities or a doctor ON staff, 24/7? (My young nephew has some medical conditions that may flare up)

I am wondering if this is a "safe" place for the kind of vacation my brother envisions??

Please understand, I am looking for the input of other travellers. I have travelled extensively to Cuba, speak understandable Cubano, but have NOT been to this hotel. Personally, I would feel comfortable leaving a child alone in a hotel where I knew the staff, only if I were in the general area AT the same location and only for short periods (couple of hours) .... given that this boy neither speaks the language, nor tends to not be "streetsmart", I definitely lean towards a more family friendly resort (and vacation).

Perhaps I'm mistaken, but hope that past and regular guests of the hotel could respond. Thanks so much, and I really am appreciative of ALL input

4 months ago
Toronto, Canada

See all questions (50)

Questions? Get answers from Tropicoco Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Depends if you want an ocean view you need a room looking north - if you want a larger room you need a room looking south”
epcanuck, 31 Mar 2017 | Read review
“3rd floor up”
353lesw, 24 Mar 2017 | Read review
“3rd floor and above have an ocean view and are usually quieter”
609russelm, 23 Mar 2017 | Read review
“ocean view are small,south side larger rooms 3rd flr”
  • 3rd floor sitting area view
billhN1992NJ, 2 Mar 2017 | Read review
“South rooms have huge windows, sea view much smaller.”
  • Decent clean quite large room
Charrua2010, 20 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Elvoline
US$99* /night
View Deal
Cancelon
Despegar.com
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates