Iberostar Origin Bella Vista

Iberostar Origin Bella Vista

Carretera Las Morlas Km 11 Sector Punta Hicacos, Varadero 42200 Cuba
Traveller (6353)
JUNIOR-SUITE_SIMPLE
Room & Suite (852)
REST_THEM
Dining (412)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

4.0
#35 of 79 hotels in Varadero
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Location
3.9 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
3.9 of 5 bubbles
Service
3.7 of 5 bubbles
Value
Flying solo, as a couple or with the family? These are all perfect options for getting the most out of the 5-star Iberostar Bella Vista Varadero. The colours decorating the rooms, the interior and exterior design are living proof that there’s a world for every guest. Located barely 10 metres from the sand of a world-famous beach, the complex is surrounded by a lovely and beautifully kept tropical environment. There are activities for the little ones (who won’t want to leave the children’s pool) and for the adults (some of whom won’t want to leave the golf course), as well as facilities tailored for every need and welcoming staff who make this hotel one of the best in Varadero. And it’s All Inclusive…
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Wifi
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Beach
Diving
Children's television networks
Paid wifi
Pool / beach towels
Adult pool
Outdoor pool
Fitness classes
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Kids' meals
Snack bar
Swimup bar
Poolside bar
Rooftop bar
Tennis court
Water sport equipment rentals
Aerobics
Billiards
Entertainment staff
Evening entertainment
Table tennis
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Kids club
Kids pool
Highchairs available
Car hire
Taxi service
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Foot massage
Full body massage
Head massage
Manicure
Massage
Pedicure
Salon
Rooftop terrace
24-hour security
Concierge
Convenience store
Currency exchange
Gift shop
Sun deck
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
Sun umbrellas
First aid kit
Infirmary
Umbrella
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Room features
Air conditioning
Interconnected rooms available
Private balcony
Room service
Minibar
Cable / satellite TV
Sofa bed
Bath / shower
Safe
Sofa
Telephone
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Bottled water
Clothes rack
Iron
Laptop safe
Tile / marble floor
Flatscreen TV
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Ocean view
Pool view
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
5.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Trendy
Bay View
Languages Spoken
English, French, Spanish, German

Location

Carretera Las Morlas Km 11 Sector Punta Hicacos, Varadero 42200 Cuba
Getting there
Car recommended
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 44 out of 100
44
Juan Gualberto Gomez Airport
4.0
4.0 of 5 bubbles4,536 reviews
Reviews summary
This summary was created by AI, based on recent reviews.
Powered by AI

At the Iberostar Origin Bella Vista Varadero, guests have called out the spotless beaches and well-kept rooms as highlights in terms of cleanliness, despite some facing challenges with housekeeping. The atmosphere, with its vibrant entertainment including live music, garners appreciation from many visitors, although there are notes of potential enhancements. However, the value proposition of the hotel is questioned by numerous guests, who cite additional costs for certain upgrades and service issues. Concerns regarding room cleanliness, maintenance, and basic amenities such as towels and toilet paper also detract from the overall guest experience.
Atmosphere
Lively
Rooms
Neglected
Value
Expensive
Cleanliness
Mixed
Service
Inconsistent
Amenities
Underwhelming

Was this helpful?
Tripadvisor is not responsible for this summary or any opinions in it. Please read full traveller reviews for more details and information.
4,536Reviews883Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 2,376
  • 819
  • 533
  • 336
  • 472
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Jennifer B wrote a review Feb 2020
1 contribution
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Spent 4 days at this resort as part of a Westjet package vacation. The resort was a disappointment given the price and star rating. It was adequate, but hardly a 5 star experience.
The beach (the reason to come to Varadero) is lovely. Soft white sand, turquoise water. The hotel has plenty of loungers and lots of shade on the beach.
Room was of a good size, comfortable and clean.
Pools were large but quite cool, didn't see a lot of people swimming. In the afternoons there is very loud music playing at both the pool and on the beach. Even taking loungers are far away as possible from the music, it's still not quiet or relaxing.
The resort is relatively new but yet seems to need a lot of repairs - saw lots of cracked and broken floor tiles, sharp metal exposed edges in the elevator.
The resort was constantly running out of towels, if you didn't get a fresh beach towel first thing in the morning chances are good you wouldn't be able to get one.
Food was mediocre at best and there aren't really any options to get a light snack during the times between meals. There is a 24 hour casual restaurant, but it's junk food to order (such as burgers, hot dogs, fries) - there's no place to quickly get a piece of fruit, muffin, etc between meals.
The a la carte restaurants had no reservations available earlier than 8:30 pm even though I asked on my first day (this is much earlier than my parents would typically eat and hard on people who are traveling out of their normal time zone).
The bar serves drinks in very tiny sizes which just feels cheap when it's an all inclusive. Recommend that you bring some large insulated tumblers if you want to have drinks by the pool or beach. Had someone come by to take a drink order on the beach once in 4 days and never by the pool.
Won't be back. There are better vacation spots at this price point.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from ReputationOnline, Quality Manager at Iberostar Origin Bella Vista
Responded Feb 17, 2020
Dear Jennifer, We appreciate the time you have taken to share your thoughts regarding your recent stay at our all inclusive Iberostar Selection Bella Vista Varadero resort. Although we are pleased you enjoyed the beach, we are disappointed you did not find all aspects of your stay impeccable. We are sorry the music was too loud for you and we understand this could be disruptive if you are wishing to relax, so we thank you for bringing this to our attention and we will look into it immediately. We always recommend for our guests to speak to one of our friendly staff if there is anything they are not happy with, as our team will do their best to make your stay as comfortable as possible. Rest assured we have taken on board your constructive comments and will pass them onto the relevant departments. We hope you had a safe journey home and we would be delighted to offer you a perfect Iberostar holiday in the future at one of our worldwide destination. Best Regards, Quality Manager Iberostar Selection Bella Vista Varadero
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Tahnya R wrote a review Jan 2020
61 contributions49 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
The good: mid size so you get around very easily. Modern. 2 nice pools. Beautiful beach. Restaurant and bar staff are friendly and fast. Food is pretty good (for Cuba).

The bad: Resort is falling apart. It's only a few years old but you see the wear and tear everywhere. Although the food is good it is hit and miss at dinner and in the restaurants. Not up to Mexico and Dominican standards. Elevators are super slow. The bath tub in the room is way too deep, you say a prayer getting out. The front desk could be more friendly and smile. They don't seem to care as they don't get tips.

The ugly: when we checked in, the room wasn't clean. Bedding had stains. There was a pee stain on the toilet, yes pee, DISGUSTING. I had to wash the toilet with beer because it was the only alcohol I could find in the room and the next day I appeared like an alcoholic as I asked for a large glass of straight up vodka which I used throughout the week to keep everything clean. I spoke to the public relations lady who didn't really seem to care and was completely aloof.

Bottom line - go here if you get an amazing cheap deal and bring a lot of disinfectant.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from ReputationOnline, Quality Manager at Iberostar Origin Bella Vista
Responded Jan 9, 2020
Dear guest, Although we sincerely regret reading that your recent stay at Iberostar fell short of your expectations, we are grateful for the time you spent sharing your feedback with us. Firstly, we are grateful for the praise you reserved for our wonderful and friendly staff. We are proud of their hard-working attitude and their enthusiasm towards making our guests have a truly special stay. On the other hand, we are disappointed to hear you did not feel the same about the staff at reception and we will pass on your comments to ensure consistency in our impeccable service. Furthermore, we regret to read you felt your room wasn't spotless upon your arrival and that the hotel lacked maintenance. We take great care in the upkeep of our resort and we believe our housekeeping ensure the hotel is always in pristine condition. We are sorry for any discrepancy you may have encountered and we will be sure to investigate the concerns you shared. Finally, we are delighted you enjoyed the beautiful beach and the exquisite cuisine. We would like to think that you will give us another opportunity and visit one of our many hotels in the future, so we can give you the full Iberostar experience. Best regards, Quality Manager Iberostar Selection Bella Vista Varadero
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
A lot to digest? Read an AI-generated summary of recent traveller reviews.
Erin_Leigh_519 wrote a review Jan 2020
118 contributions49 helpful votes
+1
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Travelled with a group of 12 including 6 kids for a New Years trip. This place could use a facelift but it’s Cuba so I managed my expectations ahead of time. This is our second trip to Cuba. We’ve travelled to the Paradisus Varadero before and I did prefer this Iberostar. I was surprised that the food was better than I expected! The specialty restaurants were great, especially the Italian. Our maid kept our room very clean and the staff was always very friendly. We could have used more amenities in the room... toilet paper, Kleenex, etc. And the towel hut ALWAYS ran out of clean towels. I feel like they ran out of a lot of things during the week but we managed. For the money, it was good value. Vacation is what you make it and we all had a good time.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from ReputationOnline, Quality Manager at Iberostar Origin Bella Vista
Responded Jan 3, 2020
Dear Erin, Thank you very much for your review of our establishment. We are always very happy to receive confirmation our guests have enjoyed an excellent holiday and have left with wonderful memories. Our combination of both a friendly and competent service is one of our highest priorities and we are constantly working to provide our guests with an excellent experience. Finally, we thank you once again for your kind comment and we look forward to welcoming you back again. Until then, we wish you all the best. Kind Regards, Quality Manager Iberostar Selection Bella Vista Varadero
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Ray B wrote a review Feb 2020
Edmonton, Canada1 contribution1 helpful vote
2.0 of 5 bubbles
150 ft from lobby (32 broken tiles in that distance). My wife attempted to exchange the beach towels 5 times in our 14 day stay (she was never given clean towels). The only bar to have premium vodka was the lobby bar (two times in 14 days). The staff are nice people but there is a management problem here, the hotel is very short on glassware, plates were in short supply for our first week. The sand flies ate me alive ( i thought the better hotels fogged them with insecticide?) but not this hotel. Our room was BAD! First night was a big black hand print on the bedspread and 6 cigar ash spots, closets that jammed ,a toilet seat so loose that it was unsafe, the safe needed batteries twice in our two weeks.The pools are not heated and not very clean, broken tiles are everywhere in this hotel, broken glass on the side of lobby bar, staircase has broken glass and dented handrail. The elevator door is nasty ( looks like somebody sprayed it with cola ( I took a picture of it the first day and noticed it still not clean the day we left). The hotel was nicely designed when built but management has let it fall in to disrepair and filth. When I booked this the ratings were 4 1/2 star, I say its 2 1/2 star and the wife says 3 star. I got Castro's revenge from the snack bar the day we left! I killed a cockroach at supper in the Japenese restaraunt. Buyer beware!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from QualityMCuba, Quality Manager at Iberostar Origin Bella Vista
Responded Feb 17, 2020
Dear guest, Thank for taking the time to review our classic beachfront resort Iberostar Selection Bella Vista Varadero. Knowing that you left our resort not completely satisfied with your stay, is unpleasant news for us. We carefully train our team to guarantee the high standard of service our guests expect from Iberostar. It is of utmost importance to us that our establishment is always in pristine condition and that every detail is taken care of. Our maintenance staff carry out regular checks to ensure any discrepancies are taken care of promptly and our housekeeping perform their daily cleaning routine meticulously. Nonetheless, we are grateful for your comments and will pass on your concerns to the relevant departments. We would also like to reassure you that we do have a strict pest control plan in place, however, it is not always possible to avoid the presence of insects entirely. We apologise for any inconvenience caused. We hope you enjoyed the stunning beach and that you had a safe journey home. Best Regards Quality Manager Iberostar Selection Bella Vista Varadero
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
MegM wrote a review Dec 2020
12 contributions1 helpful vote
+1
1.0 of 5 bubbles
This hotel is barely a 3 star do NOT stay here.
The food is awful and very limited, most of the vegetables and potato’s have this horrible vinegar flavour to them, as do the fruit juices we think they had gone way past there use by date. Breakfast, lunch and dinner is very repetitive, my family and I stayed here for 2 weeks and never had one enjoyable meal. We even lost weight because there was nothing edible most nights.
The drinks are terrible, serving pints of beer in tiny Sherry glasses or plastic beakers. The bar ran out of every drink we asked for, Mojito, Vodka, Champagne, dark rum, Diet Coke, strawberry daiquiri, Pina Colada’s even hot chocolate!
Some of the toilets are missing seats and you’re lucky if they have toilet roll in them.
The towels at the pool have holes in, the sun beds are uncomfortable, the layout of the pool is poor and the water is ice cold.
The shower in our room regularly ran cold when we were wanting our evening showers, when reception was informed nothing was done. Our room was also flooded one night from the shower into the bedroom, behind the cabinets with all the wires, onto the bed sheets.
Key cards to the room would stop working daily, there was always a queue of people at reception asking to have there key cards fixed. There is no entertainment on of an evening at all except for a kids club 8-11pm which plays the same setlist every night, the one bar that is open to serve all guests shuts at 11pm.
There is also no shop in this hotel that is useful, you have to walk along the beach to the hotel next door to buy Pringles which cost close £10 you can’t buy any chocolate, sweets, sun lotion, there is no chemist either.
This hotel is NOT 5 star, we were completely miss sold by TUI. The facilities are not 5 star, the food and drink is not 5 star, do NOT stay here unless you want a mediocre hotel with vinegary food and hit an miss if they have your requested drink at the bar. Oh and if you want to be in bed by 11:30pm.
When we informed the Rep of our complaints he sighed as we were an inconvenience and did not do anything to help, we requested that we were moved to a better hotel. 24 hours later still nothing from TUI about switching hotels, again we inform the rep he sighs, presses a few buttons on his iPad and says TUI will contact us within the hour, 48 hours later still nothing. We spent the majority of our holiday trying to get out of this horrible hotel!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Yanisley Álvarez, Other at Iberostar Origin Bella Vista
Responded Jan 8, 2021
Dear guest: We would like to begin by expressing how deeply sorry I am to learn about your dissatisfaction in relation to your recent stay at Iberostar Selection Bella Vista Varadero. Our greatest purpose is to offer our customers the best service and attentions we can. Therefore, the opinions of our clients are pivotal for Iberostar, and we would like to thank you for bringing to our attention the situations you encountered during your stay. We regret that you were not satisfied with the service provided by our hotel. We apologize for not being able to meet your expectations in this regard. It saddens us that this situation might have affected your opinions about our hotel and our company. We can assure you that we will be giving these matters the proper attention it deserves and that the corresponding measures will be taken, in order to avoid situations such as this one from reoccurring. In order to regain your trust as a client we invite you to revisit us once more and allow us the privilege of offering you our great services and attentions. Best regards, Quality Manager Iberostar Selection Bella Vista Varadero
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Oceans_beaches100 wrote a review Feb 2022
1 contribution3 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
First off there was no vodka, gin, whiskey, tequila ANY of the days we stayed there!!! None! We asked every single day, multiple times a day, at multiple bars. 3/7 days during our stay there was no champagne. There was also no orange juice anytime during our stay. And diet pops were basically impossible to come by. We were told it was a supply chain issue due to covid etc., but people we had spoke to at the resort beside us had all of those alcohol options and more and also had a fridge in their room that was stocked daily with alcohol. When we spoke with the sunwing rep about our issues with the alcohol asking if Sunwing could somehow bring in alcohol
or something or what could be done for us, he informed us there was nothing that could be done but yet you could purchase vodka at the gift shop.

Secondly, there was no toilet paper, paper towel, or toilet seats in most of the public washrooms on the resort. The bathrooms also rarely had hand soap, and no option for hand sanitizer.

Thirdly, we upgraded to the star prestige due to the fact that the adults only, premium alcohol, alcohol in the room, 3pm check out, and separate dining features were a selling factor.
- On a few occasions there were kids up in the prestige lounge, as well as in the adults only area by our room.
- We asked on the first day about alcohol in our room fridge and they provided us with a glass to go to the bar and get our own alcohol there.
- The 3pm checkout: when we returned to our room they had already disconnected our keys so we didn’t have access to our room anymore, although it was clear we were still returning as all of our bags and belongings were in there.

Fourthly, the way the meals are organized is also a joke. They want you to have a phone at all times to scan QR code’s for menus. When you order your food off the menu at the star prestige restaurant, they’ll tell you they don’t have it or they will just bring you something you didn’t even order.

There is also huge inconsistency on the resort. We were told we can’t pay cash for our covid tests, but our neighbours were told $30 Canadian in cash for their covid tests. They also had complained to the star prestige rep and were given a free couples massage and a bottle of rum, but yet all we had got when we complained about there only being rum and beer to drink was a bottle of rum. That’s exactly what we didn’t want to drink.

I highly recommend shopping around prior to booking this resort and reconsidering booking with Sunwing due to the fact they offer resorts and features on a resort that the resorts clearly don’t have.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Iberostar Hotels and Resorts, Other at Iberostar Origin Bella Vista
Responded Feb 8, 2022
Dear guest, Although we sincerely regret reading that your holiday at our hotel was not to your liking, we are grateful that you have taken the time to send us your review. Please accept our sincere apologies if our selection of beverages has failed to meet your expectations. At Iberostar we aim to please our guests in all aspects, so we will take note of your suggestions and will study the viability of extending our range. Thank you for bringing this to our attention, and we are sorry for any inconvenience caused. Please rest assured that we have taken your concerns seriously and we hope that you will allow us another opportunity at one of our hotels in the future. Best regards, Quality Manager Iberostar Selection Bella Vista Varadero
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
CanadianMuscleOnTheMove wrote a review Jun 2022
Toronto, Canada26 contributions4 helpful votes
+1
3.0 of 5 bubbles
At first glance this hotel (which I'm still currently in June 10th, 2022) looks better than the other hotels we stopped at to drop other tourists off, but when you stay here you can see the flaws quite early on in your stay.

It's the low season right now in Cuba, so the hotel is at half capacity at the moment. But with that, the maid staff member that we had was very rude every morning, and rationed towels as if she made them herself. You get one roll of toilet paper, no face cloths for washing your body, and no hand towels. You're issued 2 towels and that's it. We called down multiple times on MANY days for more towels, and for someone to tighten the toilet seat. And there is black mould growing in the bathroom and on the adjacent wall from the shower.

On a positive note, the room is a decent size, and our view was very nice overlooking the grounds which consists of plenty of palm trees and swimming pools, and of course the beautiful white sand beach, which has the most amazing sunset views!

The food is edible at best. Breakfast is your best bet for a good meal. Lunch and dinner is always met with very tough red meat, and the chicken dishes are mediocre. Salt and ketchup (which I never use on food!) is your best friend here. The serving staff give you you kid sized portions, and you have to ask for more while serving, which is annoying bcz it's all inclusive for a reason. The Wait staff is friendly and very helpful, but they don't always see things that are standard to do right away, like basic cutlery and napkin placement, etc. But once you ask they'll gladly bring it right over for you.

The Lobby has a bar, which serves strong drinks and you can meet people from all over the world if you so choose. It get's loud at times in the evenings, but I assume that's to be expected in a vacation atmosphere like this.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
2.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: Try and get a room on the higher floors, facing the pool/ocean views.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Bibiana Carbonell Castelo, Other at Iberostar Origin Bella Vista
Responded Jun 15, 2022
Dear guest, We always welcome the opinions of our guests as they give us an insight into areas of our hotel through their eyes. Regarding your comments on the service that you received during your stay, we will take note of the improvement opportunities that your observations offer us. Excellence in service truly is one of our strengths and we work with enthusiasm for it to remain so. Customer orientation and a personalized service are essential to achieving maximum satisfaction among our guests and we are sad that during your stay we did not conquer you with the personlised treatment that identifies us. We will, of course, pass on your comments to the correct department for their consideration and we apologise for the inconvenience caused. On the other hand, we are glad that you enjoyed our beautiful beach and the wonderful view from your room. Although it would appear this was not the perfect fit for you, we hope you will join us again at one of our many other beautifully located Iberostar hotels for your next holiday. Best regards, Quality Manager Iberostar Selection Bella Vista Varadero
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Buchbergers wrote a review Mar 2020
Winnipeg, Canada24 contributions21 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Our hotel room was booked and paid in full months earlier than our arrival, however, when we arrived, to a desk with one clerk, and 60 visitors, everyone who booked an upgrade was told that the resort was overbooked and we were being put into a lower category room. There were 4 families that this affected.
We spent the entire next morning trying to get this sorted out only to be told we could be moved to an inferior room, for the same price, or take $70 per person refund, which was $140 less per person than we paid for the upgrade. We were "encouraged" to take the offer and sign an agreement.
Needless to say, this was beyond disappointing!
In addition to this OVERCHARGE, our travel agent had booked a late stay since our flight left at midnight, charging us for another evening. Due to a family emergency, we had to early, fully realizing that we forfeit our booking, however, since the last day booking was solely for a late stay, we were told by the hotel that that money would be refunded as they wouldn't transfer it to our fellow travelers.

Again, this money has not been returned, as promised by the hotel and Sunwing!

We will NEVER trust this chain of hotels as they have kept $500 of my money, we have filed a complaint with SUNWING - no response, and one with the travel agent, who is being stonewalled by the hotel.

Avoid this hotel if you expect to get what you paid for!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
2.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
2.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Book elsewhere!!! You do not get what you booked when they overbook the hotel, without warning.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from ReputationOnline, Quality Manager at Iberostar Origin Bella Vista
Responded Mar 11, 2020
Dear guest, Although we sincerely regret reading that your recent stay at Iberostar fell short of your expectations, we are grateful for the time you spent sharing your feedback with us. We are very sorry about the incident surrounding your booking and that you were not satisfied with your allocated room. As we explained during your stay, the price that was charged was for the room category you stayed in and if you feel there if any discrepancy with your original booking, we advise you immediately address this with the travel agent you booked through. We do hope that despite the misunderstandings with your booking, you enjoyed the breathtaking beachfront location and the crystal clear Caribbean waters. We would like to think that you will give us another opportunity and visit one of our many hotels in the future. Best regards, Quality Manager Iberostar Selection Bella Vista Varadero
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Max S wrote a review May 2022
Saint-Tropez, France23 contributions16 helpful votes
+1
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Before opting to stay at this property, I've spent days/nights reading about various hotels in the area, and thinking about Mexico experience at Iberostar, opted to stay at Iberostar Selection Bella Vista. This is overall review of the trip to Cuba and the hotel as well:

Upon arrival many opted to exchange dollars to pesos at the airport, where they offer 18 pesos for $1 CAD, on the transfer bus to the hotel, we were offered 40 pesos to $1 CAD, at the resort some will offer 60-70 pesos for $1 CAD, and in town of Varadero you can exchange to 80-85 pesos for CAD. The choice is yours.

Upon arrival at hotel, no difference whether you are star prestige or regular customer. Check in was fairly ok, as not many people arrived. Upon arrival you get WIFI username and password, which works here and there, and you need to login very and very frequently as it kicks you out often. Internet is tolerable as you are on a vacation mode, and not there to watch netflix. What bothered the most was that at restaurants and bars, you need to scan the bar code and download the menu, for which you need a wi-fi. I suggest you download the menu, and email it to yourself, so you have a copy for the rest of the stay.

We did not use room service, but fridge had 2 bottles of water, and we saw only 2 cans of beer in 7 days, so don't expect to have more. Not much to say about the food, not the greatest but enough to survive the holiday. Cuban restaurant not good at all, Japanese restaurant was a bit of show and fried rice with chicken and shrimp, and Italian was the better one out of specialty restaurants.

For star prestige you are supposed to get unlimited dining at the restaurants, but this was not the case, after 3 bookings, we would not allowed to book any more. Only option was to use dedicated restaurant on 11th floor for star prestige members, where food was OK.

If you want to rent a scooter or a car, there is a rental place in the hotel next door, Sol Palmeras, where we rented a scooter for $25USD on the credit card plus $10 USD cash supposedly for gas, we rented for a day and enjoyed it.

Beach is great, ocean is fantastic and tons of chairs available on the beach. Really enjoyed long walks along the beach.

Staff is hit and miss, some are pleasant and good, others are a bit rude, I would say.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Bibiana Carbonell Castelo, Other at Iberostar Origin Bella Vista
Responded May 27, 2022
Dear guest, Thank you for taking the time to write this very helpful review about you experience at our hotel located on the shores of the beautiful Varadero. We are thrilled to read that you enjoyed our amazing views and remarkable beach. However, in regards to the inconsistencies in our services that you describe, we offer you our most sincere apologies since the description you make does not match the high standards set forth by Iberostar for all its hotels. Our management team has already received your opinion and is working towards finding suitable solutions where necessary. We thank you for the improvement possibilities your review offers us and wish more than anything to offer you a better stay. Best regards, Quality Manager Iberostar Bella Vista Varadero
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Mike M wrote a review Feb 2020
Hamilton, Canada13 contributions3 helpful votes
+1
4.0 of 5 bubbles
This was our first trip to Cuba and it didn’t disappoint. Our room was clean and serviced everyday in a timely manner. The pools were good and the beach was kept clean of whatever washed ashore with plenty of chairs to go around. Drinks were no problem and food was plentiful and good quality, but variety won’t be the same as home. We tried the other restaurants and enjoyed the food but wondered why the steak house was called a steakhouse with no steak on the menu. After a meal the little coffee shop by the buffet was a nice place to sit and chat. For a family with small kids they have two pools for them to enjoy. We ventured off the hotel grounds to walk to a shopping center and felt completely safe and no one bothered us to sell us anything. Definitely a place I’d return to in the future.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2019Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from QualityMCuba, Quality Manager at Iberostar Origin Bella Vista
Responded Feb 14, 2020
Dear guest, We would like to, first of all, thank you for your kind review of your recent holiday with us at Iberostar. Such pleasant feedback of our hotel is, of course, a great pleasure to read and confirms for us that our daily actions are worthwhile and that we are on the right path with our numerous efforts. Again we thank you for your positive review of our hotel and we hope that we will continue to provide you with excellent holiday experiences in the future. Best Regards, Quality Manager Iberostar Selection Bella Vista Varadero
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Answer from gat0
Montreal, Canada15,671 contributions80 helpful votes
Yes they do . I can't remember if it was 3pm or 5pm . As for the menus no idea .
Answer from Tara-Eric
Moncton, Canada232 contributions41 helpful votes
They take both but prefer US
Wander20273970154 asked a question Apr 2024
Stratford, Canada
Do u take canadian or american money?
Answer from gat0
Montreal, Canada15,671 contributions80 helpful votes
I always bring Canadian . But if you want to tip the staff bring some US $1 better for tips then the Canadian coins wich they are stuck with till another Canadian takes them in exchange for paper money .
Answer from Scott Marchell
Canada1 helpful vote
Hello, yes there is an access card for the rooms
Wander20273970154 asked a question Apr 2024
Stratford, Canada
Is there clamato juice on the resort?
Answer from gat0
Montreal, Canada15,671 contributions80 helpful votes
They have a Cuban brand .
Nizam K wrote a tip Jun 11
Toronto, Canada27 contributions5 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"The pool great "
Read full review
lovetogoKitchener wrote a tip Jun 11
Waterloo, Canada19 contributions72 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Elevators are old and slow. But work fine. Do an old vintage car ride into town see the culture. Or hopper double decker bus. Fun"
Read full review
Matthew F wrote a tip Jun 9
Regina, Canada1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
" Visiting each restaurant, each one offers you something new"
Read full review
Anton k wrote a tip Jun 1
London, United Kingdom1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Cuban vacation, Rum, Mojito"
Read full review
Sightsee675263 wrote a tip May 2024
9 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"If you’re someone who likes to eat seasoned, bring your favourite condiments plus Ketchup and Mustard for a tasteful experience."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Varadero area.
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Iberostar Bella Vista Varadero
LOCATION
CaribbeanCubaMatanzas ProvinceVaradero
NUMBER OF ROOMS
827
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Iberostar Origin Bella Vista - UPDATED 2024 Reviews & Photos

Frequently Asked Questions about Iberostar Origin Bella Vista
Which popular attractions are close to Iberostar Origin Bella Vista?
Nearby attractions include Playa Varadero (2.5 km), Mi Casa Beatles (5.8 km), and Cueva de Ambrosio (4.1 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Iberostar Origin Bella Vista?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a swimup bar, a rooftop bar, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at Iberostar Origin Bella Vista?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Iberostar Origin Bella Vista?
Guests can enjoy a swimup bar, a rooftop bar, and an on-site restaurant during their stay.
Is parking available at Iberostar Origin Bella Vista?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Iberostar Origin Bella Vista?
Conveniently located restaurants include La Gruta El Vino, Varadero 60, and Waco's Club.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Iberostar Origin Bella Vista?
Yes, guests have access to a pool, a fitness centre, and fitness classes during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Iberostar Origin Bella Vista?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Iberostar Origin Bella Vista offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Iberostar Origin Bella Vista?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, French, and German.
Are there any historical sites close to Iberostar Origin Bella Vista?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Cueva de Ambrosio (4.1 km).
All Varadero HotelsVaradero Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in Varadero
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars