We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Melia Peninsula Varadero

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Travel Alert: Licensing Restrictions Apply More details
Management photos
Melia Peninsula Varadero
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

4,460 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Melia Peninsula Varadero
See the most recent reviews
Showing 2,057: English reviews
Edmonton, Canada
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We had a great time. There was lots to do or you could just relax. My only complaints were that the exhume rant Lookea Travel staff played music too loud by the pool in the afternoon, and there was not enough knowledge about gluten free food and I am celiac. It is no fun to be afraid to eat. But...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
2Thank stephim1
MPV_General_Manager, Director General at Melia Peninsula Varadero, responded to this review

Dear stephim1: Greetings from Melia Peninsula Varadero. I would like to appreciate your comments and also for sharing it on the web sites with the rest of the travelers around the world. We are glad to know that you enjoyed your stay in our resort. We are deeply sorry that during your stay you had problems, but we know that...

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I spent 2 weeks at this hotel and was pleasantly surprised by the food as it was not bad. The Italian and japanese specialty restaurants were good, the French restaurant was good if you stayed away from the beef. The buffet was okay given Cuban standards but the wait staff such as Yudith were very good. If you measure it...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank david c
MPV_General_Manager, Director General at Melia Peninsula Varadero, responded to this review

Dear David: Greetings from Melia Peninsula Varadero. I would like to appreciate your comments and also for sharing it on the web sites with the rest of the travelers around the world. We are glad to know that you enjoyed your stay in our resort. We have a staff that work in order to satisfy and to fulfill the expectations...

Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Let me start by saying this is my 12th time in Cuba so I have a realistic expectation of resorts, and this by all accounts was the worst hotel I've been to. so much that the hotel allowed me to switch at their expense, I lasted 1.5 days at this resort before I was ready to fly back home. I...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank Nilab J
MPV_General_Manager, Director General at Melia Peninsula Varadero, responded to this review

Dear Nilab: First of all, warm greetings from Meliá Península Varadero. We are very grateful for sharing your opinions with others and your feed-back about our services, which are always welcome as a means of improving the service that we offer. You should know that comments like yours are not common about our hotel and we are deeply sorry to...

North Battleford, Canada
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Very friendly staff. We had staff members who remembered us from 2 years ago. Deneb is guest services was very accommodating. Maydel in the Italian ala carte restaurant remembered us. Yudannys in the lobby bar was incredible. Great ala carte meals

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Asig1
MPV_General_Manager, Director General at Melia Peninsula Varadero, responded to this review

Dear Asig1: Receive a warm regard from Meliá Península Varadero! It is our pleasure to read your review, thanks for sharing your wonderful experience with other travelers on TripAdvisor. . We are very happy to know you have enjoyed an amazing holidays with the family of Meliá Península. Your remarks were discussed with the heads of the envolved Department to...

Waterloo, Canada
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My 1st time in Cuba! If everyone tells you the food is awful and the buildings and facilities are in bad shape, I think they may be right! That that held true for us here, anyway! The hotel staff told us that new management is trying to improve the food and amenities and that seemed to be true. I got...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lbd59
MPV_General_Manager, Director General at Melia Peninsula Varadero, responded to this review

Dear Lbd59 First of all, warm greetings from Meliá Península Varadero.We are very grateful for sharing your opinions with others and your feed-back about our services, which are always welcome as a means of improving the service that we offer. We are deeply sorry to know that you were unable to enjoy a pleasant stay with us. Your remarks were...

Midland, Ontario
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Good service and friendly staff (Elvis for room, Isamary and Yolandes at bar were fabulous, dining room staff great, sorry cant remember names. Grounds immaculate. Beach bar and swim up bar staff great. Good choice and variety of food.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
2Thank simonelV9779UW
MPV_General_Manager, Director General at Melia Peninsula Varadero, responded to this review

Dear simonelV9779UW: Greetings from Melia Peninsula Varadero. I would like to appreciate your comments and also for sharing it on the web sites with the rest of the travelers around the world. We are glad to know that you enjoyed your stay in our resort. We have a staff that work in order to satisfy and to fulfill the expectations...

Reviewed 19 January 2017 via mobile

We have stayed at this resort twice and just booked our 3rd trip to this resort. I am really disappointed that its only rated 3.5 stars on TripAdvisor. It definitely deserves a better rating than that! Staff is wonderful and the grounds are beautiful. The beach is spectacular. People have to realize, it's Cuba - you have to lower your...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank HappyCoupleCB
MPV_General_Manager, Director General at Melia Peninsula Varadero, responded to this review

Dear HappyCoupleCB: Greetings from Melia Peninsula Varadero. I would like to appreciate your comments and also for sharing it on the web sites with the rest of the travelers around the world. We are glad to know that you enjoyed your stay in our resort. We have a staff that work in order to satisfy and to fulfill the expectations...

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 January 2017

Not a 5 star but it's Cuba not Mexico. Good standard 4 star in my opinion. Minbar not always refilled, mint not available for 5 out of 14 days, staff say it's issues with deliveries etc. This was prior to Castro death and Americans being allowed so I'd expect them to sort all the issues out eventually. Hotel and rooms...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank wnn670
MPV_General_Manager, Director General at Melia Peninsula Varadero, responded to this review

Dear wnn670: First of all, warm greetings from Meliá Península Varadero. Thanks for sharing your opinion about our Hotel on this website. We really appreciate your words of praise about our friendly and helpful staff. You should know that you have the open doors of our house, which today is also yours. We look forward to have you around here...

Calgary
Reviewed 16 January 2017

This hotel is very clean. We were a family of 4. We enjoyed the beach. They have toys for the water like paddle boats and more. Pool table, tennis, gym Doctors office We had asked away from the pool and closer the beach. We got closer to the pool and further from the beach. We had 2 rooms on the...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Doreen-Ann L
MPV_General_Manager, Director General at Melia Peninsula Varadero, responded to this review

Dear Doreen-Ann L: First of all, warm greetings from Meliá Península Varadero. We are very grateful for sharing your opinions with others and your feed-back about our services, which are always welcome as a means of improving the service that we offer. We really appreciate your words of praise about our rooms, the air conditioning system and the beds. You...

swastika, ontario
Reviewed 16 January 2017 via mobile

Okay. On my way home at the moment. Let's start with the wonderful reception we had on arrival. Our room was ready at check in even though it was 3 hours prior to the check in time. We were greeted by Jeorge. He was so helpful, made sure we had a main floor room by the pool as requested. The...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank kimberleywalker
MPV_General_Manager, Director General at Melia Peninsula Varadero, responded to this review

Dear kimberleywalker: Receive a warm regard from Meliá Península Varadero! It is our pleasure to read your review, thanks for sharing your personal experience with other travelers on TripAdvisor. We are very happy to know you have enjoyed an amazing holidays with the family of Meliá Península. We appreciate everyone of the reference in your review, and we are happy...

4,781 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (4752)
Viewed
Room/Suite (432)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1056)
Viewed
Bathroom (120)
Viewed
Dining (445)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (889)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (26)
Viewed
View from Room (129)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (142)
Viewed
1:29
Videos (3)
Viewed
Other (1510)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (29)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (6)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Varadero hotels
8.3 km away
Melia Las Americas
Melia Las Americas
#5 of 63 in Varadero
5,045 reviews
4.0 km away
Melia Las Antillas
Melia Las Antillas
#13 of 63 in Varadero
3,899 reviews
7.0 km away
Sol Palmeras
Sol Palmeras
#10 of 63 in Varadero
5,596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Paradisus Princesa del Mar Resort & Spa
2.9 km away
Royalton Hicacos Varadero Resort & Spa
0.9 km away
Hotel Melia Marina Varadero
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Room Service
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
All inclusive resort ideal for families, with a dedicated children's area, a marvelous tranquil beach, full of activities for all ages. Honeymooners also get special treatment in a quiet special area. Tennis courts, gym, non motorized water sports, drinks, a la carte and buffet dining included. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Melia Peninsula Varadero

Address: Parque Natural de Punta Hicacos | Matanzas, Varadero 42200, Cuba (Formerly Tryp Peninsula Varadero)
Region: Caribbean > Cuba > Matanzas Province > Varadero
Price Range: $275 - $538 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Melia Peninsula Varadero 5*
Number of rooms: 581
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Prestigia so you can book your Melia Peninsula Varadero reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tryp Peninsula Varadero Hotel Varadero
Tryp Peninsula Cuba
Peninsula Varadero
Tryp Varadero
Varadero Peninsula
Tryp Peninsula Varadero Cuba
Tryp Peninsula Hotel Varadero Beach
Varadero Beach Tryp Peninsula
Hotel Style:
#15 Romantic Hotel in Varadero
#23 Top resorts Hotel in Varadero
#25 On the Beach Hotel in Varadero
#26 Luxury Hotel in Varadero
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Melia Peninsula Varadero staff and other travellers.
356 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (356)

Questions? Get answers from Melia Peninsula Varadero staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“farther out east is quieter, so high 20-numbered cottages (cottages = three story building, 12 rooms per floor).”
 of 5 bubbles RESK2013, 21 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Building 25 pool view close to beach”
 of 5 bubbles AngeleA, 18 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Depends where you want to be close to, lots of walking.”
 of 5 bubbles Dar60, 12 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Upgrade if its not to much $”
 of 5 bubbles krazzySask, 8 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Avoid rooms by the main pool as they constantly play loud music and pool games”
 of 5 bubbles limoni65, 31 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5