We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Sol Caribe Beach

Calle K Y Avenida De Las Américas, Varadero 42200 Cuba
avatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (1453)
Dining (49)
Pool & Beach (47)

View prices for your travel dates

C$193
C$193
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#19 of 80 hotels in Varadero
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
The hotel is near the Plaza América Convention Centre and Varadero Golf Club. A unique architectural style, with buildings of up to five storeys set around two large swimming pools. It provides a 1,200-metre stretch of beach with white sand and shallow waters, special activities and areas for kids, and free Wi-Fi.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free public parking nearby
Free internet
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Beach
Snorkelling
Children's playground
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Outdoor pool
Personal trainer
Bar / lounge
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Kids' meals
Outdoor dining area
Snack bar
Poolside bar
Water sport equipment rentals
Entertainment staff
Evening entertainment
Tennis court offsite
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Kids club
Kids pool
Taxi service
Conference facilities
Meeting rooms
Massage
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Gift shop
Outdoor furniture
Shops
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun umbrellas
Infirmary
24-hour front desk
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Private balcony
Safe
Telephone
Minibar
Cable / satellite TV
Bath / shower
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Bottled water
Clothes rack
Iron
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Pool view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
4.0 of 5 stars
Languages Spoken
English, French, Spanish
518Reviews46Q+A20Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 369
  • 85
  • 33
  • 18
  • 16
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
Kevin J wrote a review Yesterday
Bracebridge, Canada14 contributions5 helpful votes
Best service and food is back.thanks for the best week .varadaro beach beats the beaches we've been to.better than Dominican grenada curacao costa Rica panama .food was great. Thanks to kilowatt and Mabel in the jazz lounge. Gotta give it a try.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Lots of chairs on beach.wheelchair friendly
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Katrina O wrote a review Yesterday
3 contributions
We had an amazing girls trip at this hotel..perfect location..staff are very polite and the beach is beautiful...the beach workers are excellent..always attentive..they get the chairs as soon as you arrive at the beach...all the people that are saying that you have to pay for blue chairs is complete nonsense..of course we always give them a tip but please stop saying that they sell the blue chairs..it’s not true..we loved it so much that we are returning again in May..can’t wait
Read more
Date of stay: April 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
rose p wrote a review Apr 16
Toronto, Canada77 contributions23 helpful votes
We booked this trip as a family of 14 people (kids and grandkids). What an awful experience. We booked this resort because of the Melia name. Very very disappointed. We sure did not get our moneys worth. The good things: Great staff especially at the buffet. Thank you Yanuvia Hernandez Gomez and Eduardo Aconda Vasquez. Amazing service and attention to details. Customer Service Yolanda Mejias Garcia and Aleandro. For taking care of some of our issues. The not so nice: The resort is very unsafe. No railings on wide steps and lots of little steps and not very well lit at night. A tripping hazard for sure (I did trip and hurt my ribs) we were there 11 days and only got fresh beach towels 2 times. Food was bland and only had the powered eggs for breakfast and very limited on a lot of things. the reservation desk for a la carte restaurants was only Wednesday and Sunday. If you arrived in between the only option was buffet. I’ve never been to a resort where to get a decent meal had to go out of resort for dinner 4 times. I’ve never had anything missing from my room in my 20+ years of travelling but my favourite cover up went missing, sheets on be had stains (clean but full of stains). We paid a lot of money for this resort that says it’s a 4 star. Not even close at best a 2 star and I’m being generous Pre Covid we went with a group of 10 friends to a hotel in Holguin Cuba it was excellent. That is why we chose this one in Varadero because of the Melia name. I will not be using a Melia hotel anytime soon Not worth the money we paid
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Departamento de Ventas Sol Caribe Beach, Ventas at Sol Caribe Beach
Responded 2 days ago
Dear rose p Thank you for your comments on TripAdvisor. We regret that the issues mentioned have overshadowed your stay at the hotel. We will continue working to improve our services. Best regards,
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Dan F wrote a review Apr 14
1 contribution2 helpful votes
Great trip to this resort! Modern, clean, nice pools and the beach is beautiful. The bar staff are skilled and creative, fun to watch them prepare cocktails. Shout out to Jovier who always remembered our favourite drinks and suggested new cocktails to try and always with a big smile! The Kitchen buffet staff were always friendly and attentive. I had to see the doctor for a minor medical issue and she and the nurse were great! Lively atmosphere. Will definitely return! Had fun exploring Havana and Varadero as well.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Departamento de Ventas Sol Caribe Beach, Ventas at Sol Caribe Beach
Responded 2 days ago
Dear Dan F Thank you for your comments on TripAdvisor. We are glad that your stay was pleasant and that you felt comfortable in our facility with the services received. We will be happy to welcome you again. Best Regards,
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Vladana S wrote a review Apr 12
Waterloo, Canada1 contribution
Everything in this resort is as advertised. I would only suggest to bring your own beach towels because there is a lack of beach towels in the resort. We got their beach towels on the third day of our stay. The room: Our room was in the building number one on third floor. It was spacious, modern, clean, with two double beds and mattresses were very comfortable. There were two elevators in the building for those who don't like climbing stairs. The view from the balcony was amazing. We didn't have any problem with bathroom towels, toilet paper, and fresh water bottles as some reviewers complain. Jade, the hard working maid was in charge of our room and she did a great job. Entertainment: There is plenty of entertainment in my opinion for kids and for adults during a day and in the evening. Evening entertainment ends at 11.p.m. The beach: Beautiful! We spent most of the time on the beach, which is 2-3 minutes walk from the lobby. A lot of activities on the beach such as aqua fit, stretching, beach volleyball etc. or you can simply walk along the beach, swim in the ocean, sunbathe, read a book etc. The resort is at walking distance from downtown Varadero and it is a nice walk as well. That is the advantage of vacationing in Cuba that you can walk around safely. Food: We don' t have complaints about food. It is different of what we eat at home of course, but it worked well for us. No heavy meals, everything is light, diet food and healthy too, in my opinion. Daily trips: We took a sugar, rum and tobacco tour and I can gladly recommend that tour. Be aware that you cannot use american credit cards, Capital One for example, and Tangerine also didn't work in Cuba. You don't have that problem if you make reservation from Canada, or if you pay there with cash, in canadian dollars, or with one of the Canadian bank cards. Cons: The only set back was hygiene of the dishes in the buffet (The Kitchen). I found couple of times traces of coffee in the cups or traces of lipstik or lips on the edge of a glass or a cup. Plates had some kind of residue on them which may be only a due to hard water. We got used on that, and I believe they will manage to solve that problem.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Bring your own beach towels in case they don't have any when you chek in.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Departamento de Ventas Sol Caribe Beach, Sales at Sol Caribe Beach
Responded 4 days ago
Dear Vladana First of all, thank you very much for sharing your experience at the resort on Tripadvisor. We are very happy that you had such a pleasant stay and that you were satisfied with the services provided. We hope you return soon. Greetings.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Jakub Lenard wrote a review Apr 10
6 contributions2 helpful votes
Great hotel, very friendly and hard-working staff (especially Manuel from Salt & Pepper Restaurant!). Clean and modern, food was good - buffet OK and restaurant great (but let's be honest you don't go to Cuban resorts for food!). Wi-fi was problematic for some of us but that's even better! Very nice cocktail bars and the coffee corner. Beautiful beaches. Bring your own beach towels. I would say very good value for money.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Departamento de Ventas Sol Caribe Beach, Sales at Sol Caribe Beach
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Jakub Lenard Thank you so much for commenting on Tripadvisor and for choosing us to enjoy your vacation. We are glad that you had a pleasant stay and that the services received were to your liking. We hope you visit us again. Greetings.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
milance445 wrote a review Apr 8
Windsor, United Kingdom2 contributions8 helpful votes
Most reviewers appear to be a bunch of Karens wanting $7000 accommodation for $1000 that they paid. Especially the French Canadian and "European" reviewers. I am European and beside maybe Melia Internacional, there is no better resort currently in Varadero. Most people complaining about food are obese, used to consuming over processed and deep fried North American junk food. If you really don't like the variety at the resort, use the $ saved by coming to Cuba and visit many of the off resort restaurants. A group of us stayed on the 3rd floor of the main building and the rooms were flawless. Staff is very friendly. Also, the aforementioned Karens like to come at night or really early in am to take up a bunch of beach chairs by simply putting a towel over them and not return for hours or at all. Don't be that a-hole and take the chair available when you actually need to use it. Highly recommended resort!
Read more
Date of stay: April 2024Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
7 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Departamento de Ventas Sol Caribe Beach, Ventas at Sol Caribe Beach
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Milance We are very grateful for leaving your opinion on Tripadvisor and for choosing our resort to enjoy your vacation. We are glad that you had a pleasant stay. We look forward to your return. A warm greeting.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Adrianne75 wrote a review Mar 2024
Vancouver, Canada4 contributions5 helpful votes
Beautiful, clean updated resort. The beach of course is amazing and the pools are clean. There are 4 restaurants and the one large buffet. The a la carte restaurants are good, the buffet is repetitive with limited selections. We were at the resort 10 days and only saw eggs at the buffet the last 2 days. Cuba is going through a rough time with food shortages so we understood this. The coffee bar is excellent. You can get everything from espresso to frappuccino. Very good. We did the jeep safari excursion. It was good. Lots to see. Cave swimming, snorkel at a reef, boat ride, horse riding. Lunch was included at a farm where they have the horse riding. Bring dog treats or food for strays in your backpack. We did as a tip from another traveler and I was so thankful, as there are stray dogs at the farm that are starving. They were very happy to see us! Over all good stay. The beach makes up for everything. Totally amazing!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from ADRIAN GONZALEZ, General Manager at Sol Caribe Beach
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Adrianne Thank you so much for commenting on Tripadvisor and for choosing us to enjoy your vacation. We are glad that you had a pleasant stay and that the services received were to your liking. We hope you visit us again. Greetings.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Laetitia T wrote a review Mar 2024
1 contribution2 helpful votes
I went on vacation with my friends at this hotel. (We are all 19 years old) The bartender Jovier Esquijaroza made our stay memorable. He was always kind and joyful. He also remembered our favorite drinks. He was always happy to see us and every customers. Amazing service from Jovier!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Departamento de Ventas Sol Caribe Beach, Sales at Sol Caribe Beach
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear Laetitia T : Thank you very much for sharing your comment about our resort on Tripadvisor. We hope you enjoyed your vacation to the fullest. For us it is a pleasure to always receive you. Sincerely
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
benjamin20122024 wrote a review Mar 2024
Windsor, Canada1 contribution
Very pour selection of the food. Every single day was same food. We had bugs in the room. 3 times I asked the customer service to fix the issue but no one was able to make. Not enough beach towels. The very 3 days we didn't get because we didn't go 1 hour before opening.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: March 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Departamento de Ventas Sol Caribe Beach, Sales at Sol Caribe Beach
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear Benjamin : Thank you for your comments on TripAdvisor. We have taken note of the suggestions you mentioned to improve our services, we will continue working to achieve full customer satisfaction. Sincerely,
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Varadero area.
PRICE RANGE
C$164 - C$206 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
CaribbeanCubaMatanzas ProvinceVaradero
NUMBER OF ROOMS
393
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Sol Caribe Beach - UPDATED 2024 Prices, Reviews & Photos

Frequently Asked Questions about Sol Caribe Beach
Which popular attractions are close to Sol Caribe Beach?
Nearby attractions include Varadero Beach (6.4 km), Mi Casa Beatles (1.9 km), and Josone Park (4.3 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Sol Caribe Beach?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free breakfast, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Sol Caribe Beach?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and blackout curtains.
What food & drink options are available at Sol Caribe Beach?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Sol Caribe Beach?
Yes, free public parking nearby is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Sol Caribe Beach?
Conveniently located restaurants include Restaurante Bar Atlantida, La Gruta El Vino, and Varadero 60.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Sol Caribe Beach?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness centre during their stay.
Does Sol Caribe Beach offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to meeting rooms and conference facilities during their stay.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Sol Caribe Beach?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, and French.
Are there any historical sites close to Sol Caribe Beach?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Cueva de Ambrosio (8.0 km).
Is Sol Caribe Beach accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.