Muthu Playa Varadero Hotel

Muthu Playa Varadero Hotel

Room was cleaned every day with fresh towels.
Traveller (3518)
Dining (265)
Muthu Playa Varadero
Room & Suite (85)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Did you already book this hotel?

About

3.5
#24 of 29 all-inclusives in Varadero
4.2 of 5 bubbles
Location
3.4 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
3.7 of 5 bubbles
Service
3.5 of 5 bubbles
Value

Finding an ideal family-friendly all-inclusive resort in Varadero does not have to be difficult. Welcome to Muthu Playa Varadero, a nice option for travellers like you.

Paid internet access is offered to guests, and rooms at Coralia Playa De Oro offer a flat screen TV and air conditioning.

Guests of Playa De Oro are also welcome to enjoy a pool and free breakfast, located on site. For travellers arriving by car, free parking is available.

During your visit, be sure to check out a popular Varadero shrimp restaurant such as Pizza Piazza Restaurant, which is a short distance from Coralia Playa De Oro.

Looking to explore? Then look no further than Ambrosio Cave, which is a popular Varadero historic site – and it is conveniently located a short distance from the all-inclusive resort.

Muthu Playa Varadero looks forward to welcoming you on your visit to Varadero.

Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Paid internet
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Pool
Free breakfast
Beach
Entertainment staff
Babysitting
Parking
Internet
Outdoor pool
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Snack bar
Poolside bar
Evening entertainment
Table tennis
Nightclub / DJ
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Kids club
Airport transportation
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Concierge
Gift shop
Shops
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun umbrellas
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Safe
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Ocean view
Family rooms
Smoking rooms available
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Family Resort
Quiet
Languages Spoken
Spanish

Location

Carretera Las Morlas Km 12.5, Varadero 42200 Cuba
Getting there
Car recommended
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 40 out of 100
40
Juan Gualberto Gomez Airport
3.5
3.5 of 5 bubbles2,319 reviews
Reviews summary
This summary was created by AI, based on recent reviews.
Powered by AI

At Muthu Playa Varadero Hotel, many guests relish the vibrant atmosphere created by nightly entertainment, including music and shows, although some have pointed out that the noise can be a hindrance to a peaceful rest. The staff is frequently commended for their welcoming and attentive service, though there are occasional mentions of service lapses. Travelers have expressed concerns over the resort's value, criticizing the food quality and the state of the rooms, which suffer from cleanliness issues and dated decor. However, the cleanliness of the beach and pool areas often receives positive remarks. Amenities like the beachfront are popular, but guests have reported problems such as inconsistent hot water supply.
Atmosphere
Lively
Rooms
Neglected
Value
Disappointing
Cleanliness
Mixed
Service
Inconsistent
Amenities
Underwhelming

Was this helpful?
Tripadvisor is not responsible for this summary or the opinions in it. For more information, please read the traveller reviews and learn more about how the site works.
2,319Reviews737Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 542
  • 743
  • 493
  • 263
  • 279
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
steelersfan6 wrote a review Jan 2020
Ontario, Canada
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Spent a week here over New Years and would probably not return.

The Good: Beach was awesome with crystal clear water and soft sand, resort grounds were well maintained and had a great set up. My girlfriend said I must comment on the fluffy new bath towels as well. The public areas/bathrooms were clean and the coffee bar was great. Shower always had hot water and we got a big bottle of water each day. The entertainment on New Year's eve was very nice, and the buffet that night was above average. The luggage porter, Felix, was very nice to us and greeted us every day. He was helpful in many ways, and his service was much appreciated. There was a male bartender who worked at a small welcome bar in the lobby who always provided excellent service as well.

The not so good: The food was not the best, with the exception of the meal on News Year's eve.The bed linens weren't great and not very clean and the room was a little dated. Our first room had no safe and the sliding door had no lock. We had to change rooms again as 2048 had a cockroach (peaking at my girlfriend when she was in the shower....not good!!). They were very quick to move us to a higher floor. Service was usually slow at the bars and the buffet. They do try their best, but are under staffed. Service was better at the a la carte, but the food wasn't. Two in our party of six got sick mid week and kind of put a damper on the trip, especially New Year's eve. Personally, I could put up with most of the issues, but I was done with the food by day 3 and getting sick really turned me off returning here.
The resort does have the potential to be a good one if they improved the service and the food safety standards, variety and quality.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from MGM_Muthu_Hotels, Community manager at Muthu Playa Varadero Hotel
Responded Jan 20, 2020
Dear steelersfan6: Thank you very much for taking the time to tell us about your stay at our resort. We deeply regret the inconvenience you may have suffered while your staying with us; we are pleased to inform you in advance that we will take your suggestions into account so situations described by you are not repeated. We are very distressed due to the particular situation of the safe and the lock; all our rooms meet the established safety requirements and parameters. We are also very sorry for the unpleasant event referred by you in room 2048, know that we have already taken the necessary measures to fumigate it, although we would like to remind you that Cuba is a tropical country where lush flora and fauna abound. Because of this, hundreds of insects typical of this kind of climate such as crickets, butterflies or mosquitoes proliferate, to name a few, although none of them poisonous or harmful to human health and therefore it is likely that some of them have made you uncomfortable during your visit. We are surprised by your opinion on the quality and hygiene of food, because in the quality surveys that we carry out weekly we receive a high rating in that regard. We are also astonished to learn that you suffered stomach problems, because when that happens we immediately refer to our medical records, because the primary care post of the hotel belongs to the Cuban Health System, whose prestige distinguishes it all over the world, and we don't have cases with symptoms similar to those described by you. We are so glad you enjoyed the beach, the cleanliness of our outdoor areas, as well as our recently renovated towels. It is a pleasure to know that you liked the café bar, one of the favorite places for our customers, in addition to the quality of the service. We will send our staff your opinion about the quality of the service, especially to Felix, who will surely receive it delightedly. We reiterate our apologies for any inconvenience caused and invite you to repeat your visit on another occasion for more personalized attention. Best regards
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
christina k wrote a review Feb 2020
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
4.0 of 5 bubbles
My first trip to Cuba and I hope to be back again.
The resort is very average, but definitely a good stay. It’s important to remember that Cuba doesn’t have the resources as other countries do and for the price your paying, you’re definitely getting your money’s worth.
The buffet food is ok, I guess for Cuba it’s decent. The snack bar offers Hot Dogs, burgers and sandwiches when ever u’ve missed the buffet.
The bbq by the beach isn’t very good unfortunately. The grill hasn’t been cleaned in a veeeeery long time and everything tastes burnt. I would definitely recommend bringing some condiments from home, that way the food will taste better!
Drinks are always available and most of the staff is very friendly.
Our maid cleaned our room every day, so we had no issues with bugs or dirt. Our air-con worked, but we couldn’t turn it off, so our room was always cool, which was actually very pleasant.
The entertainment was actually surprisingly very good as well! We stayed for a week and every day there was a different show.
All in all, I would come back to this resort!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
A lot to digest? Read an AI-generated summary of recent traveller reviews.
Kim 2020 wrote a review Feb 2020
Niagara Falls, ON, Canada
3.0 of 5 bubbles
We went as a group of 22. It is Cuba. We liked the fact that this is a smaller hotel. No problem getting beach or pool chairs at any time of the day. No big lineups at made to order food stations. The roasted chicken night at the buffet was excellent. The staff were great. A special shout out to Mabel,Leysis and Yesnielis as great bar attendants. My favourite was our regular maid Marials. Our room was spotless. However the maid we had on her day off was terrible. No toilet paper left in the room. This hotel is under renovations. You can see primer paint everywhere. Having to buy beer cans and absolute vodka was inconvenient and expensive for an all inclusive. I am sure that in the future they will supply beer in room fridge and upgrade bar liquor available. The Spanish coffee at the cafe was amazing. Bacon was scarce and uncooked. One person brought bacon crisp to have cooked with his eggs. All in all a great resort for the price. Beach was gorgeous. We will be returning next year. Also met many great people that made it even better.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: We were 1232. Liked third floor and elevators always worked
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from MGM_Muthu_Hotels, Community manager at Muthu Playa Varadero Hotel
Responded Feb 4, 2020
Dear Ontariocuba: Thank you very much for taking a few minutes of your time to comment on your stay at our resort. In advance we apologize for any inconvenience you may have suffered while you were with us, please know that we will record your observations in order to resolve any possible issues identified by you. In this regard, we will review what may have happened with the toilet paper with the other maid who did your room and carry out the relevant analyses. We are very happy that you have been able to appreciate the repair process that we are carrying out and it is still in process, which involved the capital renewal of the central kitchen, the showers of the rooms, the balcony chairs, the sun loungers, as well as the sheets and towels. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us as you found a caring and professional staff, as well as being able to enjoy our beautiful beach. We are very pleased that you have found the architectural arrangement of our facilities comfortable, where all the important points where all the important points are located a few meters from the rooms. We will let our team know your good feedback about the service, especially to Mabel, Leysis, Yesnielis and Mariela, who will receive it with great pleasure. We are astonished that you refer cooking problems in some foods such as bacon, as we have not received similar complaints to yours in the previous days; however, we will take your comment into account to discuss the situation with those responsible and take actions to prevent this from happening. Thank you very much for choosing us and we will be very happy to receive you next year for an even more pleasant stay. Best regards
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Neno14 wrote a review Jul 2020
Victoria, Canada
2.0 of 5 bubbles
We love Cuba, especially the people, and have been there 6 times trying different resorts each time for the experience, and will continue to go again. However, we would never go back to Muthu Playa Varadero unless some major improvements are made to the rooms and their service. This resort apparently was under new management as our travel agent informed us. So we went with an open mind as we do understand that everyone has different expectations. Yes, we do pay more travelling from western Canada than our eastern Canadian travellers do to fly to Cuba. Our room on the ground floor was definitely a 3 star, if that, as is most of the rooms in this aged small resort. It had 2 single beds, no telephone, no remote, small TV with bad reception. Even though people don't intend to stay in their room while vacationing, it's about having choices. On our request they did show us another room on the third floor but there was hardly any improvement so we decided just to stay where we were. They had to spray our room more than once during our stay due to few bugs and a couple of cockroaches. At least our maid was good, and every time we visit Cuba or Mexico, and by leaving them a tip or other goods each day, they will do their best to show their appreciation. It means a lot to them and it's nothing for us to show our appreciation as well. You will be surprised to find few English speaking tourists at this resort, as the majority of them come from Russia, mostly in groups and unfortunately most are loud and rude, and fill their plates sky high at the buffet. Good thing the food is plentiful and it was always a pleasure to have Danita and Lester serve our table there. If you're still hungry, there's a 24 hour snack bar by the pool. But try not to get a room on the ground floor close to it or people who enjoy late snacks and drinks will keep you up during the night. We were allowed to make more than one reservation at the speciality restaurants so try to book early. The Rancon restaurant by the beach is open for lunch from 12 to 3, with barbecue chicken and ribs, and very good. Nightly entertainment every night starts at 10 pm for about an hour. You will hear it some nights from your room as this is a very small resort. Wi-Fi is available only in the lobby and for 1 peso, you can get l free hour, but it's not always that good. The Bar Cafe in the lobby is very popular serving delicious lattes, Spanish coffees, espresso and great service from Diego, Anise and Reneen. The beach had white soft sand, but it was very crowded, sometimes making it hard to find chairs. This seems to be the case as well in the pool area where people will claim their chair with a towel, then leave and come back 2 hours later. One thing we observed during our stay is that the service is very inconsistent. However, we understand if you are a repeated customer, they will treat you very well. We met a couple at one of the specialty restaurants and they'd be travelling to this resort for over 20 years! They were sitting at a table next to us and were dining on lobster tails which was not on the same menu as the rest of us. Well, to conclude, through our experience that we will not be indulging in any lobster feast, at least not at this resort.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2019
2.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Higher rooms better, probably less bugs and quieter.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jeda wrote a review Jan 2020
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We just came back from a vacatiom at Muthu Playa Varadero and we have really enjoyed it. First of all we were soo happy with our room which had a king bed for us and a twin bed for the girls, and there was still plenty of room left. Teresa was our maid (room 1306) and i can say she is great, she did an excelent job cleaning and making us beautiful swans and boats from our towels, blankets etc...she put a smile on our faces every day and she was always listening to our insrtuctions ( like when is good time for us to come clean the room) The food was very good, lots of salads wich we enjoyed the most and their desserts were good. The beach and the sea are so beautiful even when it was windy and wavy and we couldn"t swimm it was beautiful to watch and listen to the waves. The staff is amazing, good service everywhere in the resort. Our big complain is the cleanliness of the restaurant, very dissapointing, the table mats were disgusting, they should get rid if it. Also the napkins were sometimes of some kind of material very dark in colour and we were not sure how clean they were, we liked when they had paper ones but often you had to ask to give you one because they were not on every table. The snack bar had very good hamburgers and hot dogs with french fries for the first 3-4 days of our vacation, after that they gave us less and less french fries and then they ran out of it completly, but the people working there were amazing Coffee was good and good service at the coffee bar Overall we had a great vacation and we would go back at Muthu Playa Varadero.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: ocean view is better at level 4 and 5. the suit is better when you have kids with you
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from MGM_Muthu_Hotels, Community manager at Muthu Playa Varadero Hotel
Responded Jan 27, 2020
Dear doygetamell : Thank you very much for taking a few minutes of your time to comment on your stay at our resort. It has been an immense pleasure for us to read your review, because it fills us with pride and satisfaction the high score you have given us. However, we regret any inconvenience you may have suffered in the buffet, as it takes us by surprise that you refer to any problems with napkins, as our top priority is cleanliness and hygiene. We are very happy that you enjoyed the beach, our gastronomic offers and that you have perceived the professionalism of our staff. We will let our whole group know about its good impressions, in particular Teresa, who will surely be very happy. It is a great pleasure for us that you have met your expectations and we hope you will repeat your visit another time. Best regards
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
MellyMontreal_QC wrote a review Feb 2020
Chateauguay, Canada
+1
2.0 of 5 bubbles
My mom and I took this trip expecting a 4 star (Cuban 4 star) resort. Although the resort itself has potential as it's very pretty, the hotels and rooms were a disaster. The lamp shades in the room were all stained, the patio door did not lock, the ceilings in the hallway and bathroom were falling apart, the faucet in the bathroom is peeling, the television stations were not clear at all. This was our 8th time in Varadero so we are aware that the star ratings in Cuba are not the same as they are here......but we agree that this is definitely not a 4 star resort. 3 at the most.....but the rooms are definitely 2 star. The resort itself was quite nice and clean. Everyone on the resort was complaining about breathing problems, smells and the rooms being rundown. The snack bar was the other problem. It only served 2 plates. Hot dogs with fries or hamburger with fries. I'm a vegetarian and was not allowed to have only fries on a plate. I was forced to order a hotdog which came with 4 fries.....and I had to throw the hot dog out. 3 star resort snack shacks also serve mini pizzas and sometimes nachos. I really do think that the stars on this resort need to be looking into so other travellers aren't disappointed like we were.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from MGM_Muthu_Hotels, Community manager at Muthu Playa Varadero Hotel
Responded Feb 13, 2020
Dear: Thank you very much for taking a few minutes of your precious time to let us know your impressions of our hotel, as each of the reviews we receive is of valuable importance to us, as they contribute to the improvement of our work. We are deeply regretful to learn that your expectations were not met, rest assured that we will take note of your observations and, in that sense, invite you to return another time so that you can appreciate the changes we are making. We are very sorry for the situations described by you regarding the room, so we will try to identify which one you stayed in to review and resolve the maintenance issues you report. We take by surprise that you ensure that most of the people who visit us refer to breathing problems, because, in addition to not having similar medical records in recent days, our hotel is located in a protected zone which ensures air quality and fosters a healthy environment both physically and mentally. At the same time, the high levels of relative humidity that characterize tropical countries cause the appear of mold, which may have bothered you from an aesthetic point of view; however, like most Cuban natural species, it is not harmful or poisonous. We are very sorry that you did not find enough options in the snack bar, due to your vegetarian status; although, as you may have enjoyed, this is not our only gastronomic proposal. We also have several specialized restaurants, in addition to the buffet, where salads and other non-meat products abound. We are pleased to know that you were able to appreciate the cleanliness of our facilities and that you considered the geographical layout of the hotel pleasant, where all the important points are located a few meters from the rooms, especially that it is located in the first beach line. Again we reiterate our apologies for the inconvenience caused and we ask you to offer us another opportunity to turn your experience into a memorable moment. Best regards
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Eugenia M wrote a review Jan 2020
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1.0 of 5 bubbles
We booked the hotel a while ago, paid for it in advance, expecting to have a very nice new year in Varadero. First of all, the hotel is in terrible conditions, very dirty, food really bad. The room had ants and other insects, very small shower and the walls were lacking paint.
We arrived and the receptionist told us that we had to pay again as they hadn't received the payment yet (although it was already fully charged), and that she could not check us in, unless we pay again, at least one night. We argued and finally they agreed to keep only our credit card (which we didn't like).
Then we had to keep trying to clarify with booking.com but it was their problem, although they made it our problem. We spent hours every day trying to get in contact with booking.com, instead of enjoying our vacation. Their attitude was terrible, they were not flexible and were treating us as we were the problem, and we had done something wrong.
The hotel is advertised as a 4 star hotel, with very very high prices, and the service and cleanness of the whole place is the worst we had had.
The food was also very bad quality, we both got sick from it.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from MGM_Muthu_Hotels, Community manager at Muthu Playa Varadero Hotel
Responded Jan 6, 2020
Dear 627eugeniam: Thank you very much for taking the time to comment on your experience at our hotel. We deeply regret that you have not met your expectations, but we assure you that we have taken note of your observations and invite you to visit us another time so that you can check the changes we have made. It takes us by surprise to know your opinion about our rooms, since according to the quality surveys that we carry out periodically, a high percentage of our customers consider them spacious, comfortable and clean. We are pleased to explain to you that Cuba is a tropical country in which insects proliferate, especially in coastal areas such as Varadero and that is the reason some ant or mosquito had probably made you feel uncomfortable. Although we have reviewed our incident reports and have not found records of similar complaints in recent days, we assure you that we will try to identify which room you stayed in to fumigate it. We regret the inconvenience suffered with regard to payment by Booking.com and that you have noticed certain inflexibility on our part, nothing further from our intention; but as our front desk staff explained, payment is often hindered due to technical and computer complications that are beyond our competence. We are also surprised that you refer to health problems caused by our hotel's food, as we in our primary care center found no medical records of any case, similar to yours. We are very sorry that you have not felt at ease with us, so we invite you to visit us on another occasion for a more personalized attention. Best regards
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nicolas wrote a review Mar 2020
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
2.0 of 5 bubbles
The location of the hotel (really close to the beach) is great and the swimming pool is nice and the towel sculptures on the bed will make you smile but that’s pretty much everything that is positive about this place.

You can read more details about everything in other reviews but basically:
- the staff is not friendly at all
- everything is degraded or broken
- their stock is really low on everything. If you want something (even basic), there are 90% chances that they don’t have it anymore (food, drinks, clean towels, WiFi cards...)

Of course, that is not the worst place on earth.
But given the price, the kind of hotel and the expectations, I would never recommend this hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from MGM_Muthu_Hotels, Community manager at Muthu Playa Varadero Hotel
Responded Mar 12, 2020
Dear nicolasdJ4006NX: Thank you very much for taking a few minutes of your time to offer us your impressions of our resort and we are deeply sorry for any inconvenience you may have had during your stay. We are surprised that you point out unkindly of the staff, since most of the customers who visit us stand out precisely the warmth and professionalism of our workers. Likewise, we found it surprising and encompassing its perception of widespread degradation in our facilities, as we have renovated the showers, towels and sheets, balcony chairs and sun loungers, in addition to the capital repair to the central kitchen. However, we are pleased to inform you that at the moment we are starting a process of maintenance to the rooms, which is done gradually from the variation or not of the hotel occupancy, because we are in the high season of tourism in Cuba. We are very sorry for the inconvenience you may have suffered regarding the absence of certain products, but unfortunately it is an issue that relates to suppliers and which is out of our reach. Once again we reiterate our sincere apologies for the inconvenient you may have suffered with us; so we invite you to come back on another time for more personalized attention. Kind regards
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
leahanne12345 wrote a review Jan 2020
Winnipeg, Canada
4.0 of 5 bubbles
5th time in Cuba 1st time staying at Muthu. We stayed here at the beginning of December, we had 20 friends and family members with us.
The front desk staff was great, our maid was amazing our room was always clean and had fresh towels every day. All of our kids had so much fun at the pool everyday we would spend our morning at the beach then had to move to the pool. It was never hard to get a chair at the pool, lots of room and plenty of chairs for everyone. The food was okay but at lunch we really enjoyed the bbq down by the beach. All the bar staff was great never had to wait long for a drink. Every evening for dinner they had a large table ready to accommodate all 20 of us together. So at the end of the day I would recommend this hotel to anyone travelling with children of all ages. Evening entertainment was great and you have to watch the water show in the pool.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from MGM_Muthu_Hotels, Community manager at Muthu Playa Varadero Hotel
Responded Jan 9, 2020
Dear leahanne12345: Thank you very much for the deference and taking a few moment to describe your stay with us. We deeply appreciate your good opinions, which fill us with pride and satisfaction, especially when they come from regular customers whom we treat with special affection. You can be sure that we will let our staff know your feedback, which will undoubtedly be welcomed by the entire team. We are pleased that you have enjoyed the varied gastronomic proposals that we offer, mainly the Ranchón, one of the favorite places for most of our guests. We are very happy that you have found in us the ideal place to spend your holidays with your family and friends and we hope you will repeat your experience on another occasion. Best regards
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Tes wrote a review Mar 2022
Mississauga, Canada
1.0 of 5 bubbles
My family and I stayed here from March 15th. We've stayed at other Muthu resorts and they've been great. This is a 2 start at best. The buffet restaurant continuosly ran out of food, with Zero social distancing being enforced. Running water in rooms and throughout the resort was a daily issue with guests being forced to manually gather water to flush the toilets. Only one a la carte restaurant(not 3 as advertised) with same repurposed items. Open sewer was being worked on during our visit which was directly infront of the entrance to our rooms. Rooms were motel quality at best. The only positive is the staff that are trying to work with the very basics that the management fails to provide. Teresa and Tania stand out as very helpfull and accomodating. We left to a different resort(as many others) at an additional cost. We no longer felt SAFE at this resort due to the poor attention to the basic needs that one looks for in any accomodation. We will be contacting Sunwing and Muthu resorts to ensure this property and its ongoing issues are addressed.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Answer from Sebastian L
4 contributions
Wifi was free but spotty in some areas, and not available in other areas. Won't work on the beach either. I would not rely on wifi there for work.
worldtravellerWhitby asked a question Mar 2023
whitby, ontario, canada45 contributions143 helpful votes
Hi, is there a doctor or nurse onsite? Thanks!
Answer from Monica Y
Winnipeg, Canada3 contributions7 helpful votes
yes, there is during the daytime
Wendy134 asked a question Feb 2023
Miramichi, Canada22 contributions8 helpful votes
Can I get an email address for contacting directly to resort?
Jason D wrote a tip Jun 2024
Hamilton, Canada187 contributions106 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"Go somewhere else"
Read full review
Adam E wrote a tip Apr 2024
1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Food lines at buffet take an hour (literally) because locals all take 4 plates each and cut in line. "
Read full review
Catherine B wrote a tip Apr 2024
Belleville, Canada8 contributions1 helpful vote
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Take lots of food and your favourite alcohol. Pack beach towels and line up every morning at 9 am for al a cart restaurant. It’s better"
Read full review
Neda K wrote a tip Apr 2024
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"I'd suggest planning a day / evening trip to the Varadero strip in town. It helps break up the food at the resort and also has entertainment"
Read full review
rob g wrote a tip Apr 2024
11 contributions2 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Pool is gross....go to the beach"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Varadero area.
ALSO KNOWN AS
coralia club playa de oro varadero hotel varadero, playa de oro varadero, coralia playa de oro
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Hotel Playa de Oro
LOCATION
CaribbeanCubaMatanzas ProvinceVaradero
NUMBER OF ROOMS
385
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Muthu Playa Varadero Hotel - UPDATED 2024 Reviews & Photos

Frequently Asked Questions about Muthu Playa Varadero Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Muthu Playa Varadero Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Playa Varadero (0.6 km), Mi Casa Beatles (7.9 km), and Cueva de Ambrosio (2.0 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Muthu Playa Varadero Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free breakfast, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at Muthu Playa Varadero Hotel?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Muthu Playa Varadero Hotel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Muthu Playa Varadero Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Varadero 60, Waco's Club, and Snack Bar Calle 62.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Muthu Playa Varadero Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness centre during their stay.
Does Muthu Playa Varadero Hotel have airport transportation?
Yes, Muthu Playa Varadero Hotel offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Does Muthu Playa Varadero Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
Are there any historical sites close to Muthu Playa Varadero Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Cueva de Ambrosio (2.0 km).
Does Muthu Playa Varadero Hotel have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the ocean view available here.
Is Muthu Playa Varadero Hotel accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access, reduced mobility rooms, and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
All Varadero HotelsVaradero Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in Varadero
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars