We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

IBEROSTAR Playa Alameda Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Travel Alert: Licensing Restrictions Apply More details
Management photos
IBEROSTAR Playa Alameda Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

3,022 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,657: English reviews
Start your review of IBEROSTAR Playa Alameda Hotel
 Click to rate
Charlottetown, Canada
Reviewed yesterday NEW

Staff and Service - Wonderful.They all worked their hearts out for us from dawn to dusk! It was sad to see them work their butts off, only to be not tipped on different occasions by other guests! Hats off to them! Great job! We would like to recognize the following people: Guests Services - Wendy, Aidolys, and Yania - Thank...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Brian F
Hamilton, Canada
Reviewed yesterday NEWvia mobile

Cuba is the cheapest of all the island nations vacations , unfortunately you get what you pay . The resort is lacking in room infrastructure, fixtures are loose or broken , the house keeping staff will make beds but may not clean the floors and washroom to your liking , especially the floors as sand from beaches is carried into...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jasdev B
Delta, Canada
Reviewed 2 days ago NEWvia mobile

Avoid! Rooms were dismal and disgusting- mildew, mice droppings and cockroaches in abundance. Rooms not cleaned, sheets changed once in 10 days! Talking to hotel staff pointless, west jet rep not helpful and leaving a tip didn't help. Both of our rooms had items (colouring books, bras and Tylenol) "taken" from them. Hotel only changed the cleaners upon complaints. Avoid...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank calmhope
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Yes, it may be slowly-crumbling elegance...but elegance nonetheless is the word I would use to describe the Iberostar Playa Alameda. A giant fountain and stained-glass windows welcome you to the reception area with its comfortable seating and access to wifi (1.5 CUC will get you one hour of on-line time). Royal palms flank the "red carpet" boulevard that runs down...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Agnes M
Ottawa, Canada
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

A group of 11 traveled to the Playa for March break. Overall, we were satisfied considering the price. We stayed in bungalow 11 and 16 (we were in 1107) and both had basic but renovated rooms with large updated bathrooms an very comfortable mattresses. Our pool towels were in the room on check in. We did not try to exchange...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Ilove2travel1970
Brossard, Quebec
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We have been all over Cuba 20-25 times and we love it, if this would have been our first time we would have never returned, needs complete over all, broken lights, walls half painted, food good for Cuba but not much to choose from, bartenders need a course, 4 days without toilet paper in lobby bathroom, hotel charges more for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jylamontagne
QualityMCuba, Manager at IBEROSTAR Playa Alameda Hotel, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you very much for choosing our hotel IBEROSTAR Playa Alameda as your preferred destination in Cuba. We are really sorry to see that your stay was not up to the standard you expected and deserve for that we want to truly apologize. Therefore we would like to explain that our Management and Maintenance Department are constantly working...

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I needed a last minute vacation and only had 3 vacation days left at work so I booked a 5 day vacation at this resort in Varadero (weekend included of course). I love Cuba so this would be my 6th time vacationing there, only my second time in Varadero though. I've been to Holguin a few times, Cayo Coco and...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Nikki B
A TripAdvisor Member
2 reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

It was a nice hotel, the beachfront is stunning and the weather was splendid, but we didn't get towels on our first day and the food wasn't really good, although there was an abundance of ice cream, which was a great thing 😊 The room wasn't really clean, there were remnants of somebody else's shaving cream in the shower as...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
QualityMCuba, Manager at IBEROSTAR Playa Alameda Hotel, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent experience at IBEROSTAR Playa Alameda. We really appreciate you mentioning our beachfront hotel beauty and its splendid water; this is something we really take pride of at Playa Alameda. On the other side, we are really sorry to read that your stay was not up...

Reviewed 1 week ago

After 16 days of backpacking and staying in casas particulares I was happy to know I was going to sleep a night in a resort. Unfortunately it was not as great and relaxing as I had imagined. The staff is friendly and overall tries to do the best they can, but in a lot of way I feel there is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jasmine M
QualityMCuba, Manager at IBEROSTAR Playa Alameda Hotel, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you very much for choosing our hotel IBEROSTAR Playa Alameda as your preferred hotel in Varadero, Cuba. We are pleased to read that you were well served by our friendly staff and that you could enjoy the bed in your room, as well as the temperature and pressure of the water. However we are saddened to hear...

Winnipeg, Canada
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Just came back from my fourth trip to Cuba (3 Varadero). The Iberostar Playa Alameda is the only one I'd consider booking for a repeat week. Pros: -staff, very friendly and accomodating -I stayed in a renovated building and the room was spacious with above average (for Cuba) plumbing. -lots of shade at the beach -animation staff kept things lively...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank jennie V

3,576 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (3563)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (755)
Viewed
Bathroom (85)
Viewed
Room/Suite (310)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (703)
Viewed
Dining (243)
Viewed
View from Room (115)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (59)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (10)
Viewed
1:29
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (1282)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (13)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (12)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Varadero
1972.6 km away
Sol Hotel
Sol Hotel
#5 of 8 in Oyster Pond
176 reviews
0.0 km away
Colombus Hotel
Colombus Hotel
#7 of 8 in Oyster Pond
30 reviews
1999.1 km away
Hotel Villa Lodge 4 Epices
Hotel Villa Lodge 4 Epices
#5 of 7 in Grand Cul-de-Sac
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Hodelpa Garden Suites
Hodelpa Garden Suites
#2 of 11 in Juan Dolio
174 reviews
0.0 km away
Royal Palms
Royal Palms
#1 of 3 in South Hill
60 reviews
12.3 km away
Barcelo Solymar Arenas Blancas Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Beachfront
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Babysitting
  • Meeting Rooms
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located on a beautiful stretch of Varadero Beach surrounded by tropical gardens. Elegant atmosphere. Wide range of gastronomy. Varied entertainment programme. Golf course nearby. ... more   less 

Additional Information about IBEROSTAR Playa Alameda Hotel

Address: Las Morlas, Km 19 | Punta Hicacos, Varadero, Cuba
Region: Caribbean > Cuba > Matanzas Province > Varadero
Price Range: $188 - $500 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — IBEROSTAR Playa Alameda Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 391
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Despegar.com so you can book your IBEROSTAR Playa Alameda Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Playa Alameda Varadero
Iberostar Varadero
Playa Alameda Varadero
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Varadero
#9 Romantic Hotel in Varadero
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Varadero
#14 Luxury Hotel in Varadero
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from IBEROSTAR Playa Alameda Hotel staff and other travellers.
211 questions
Ask a question
Grande Prairie, Canada
Toronto, Canada

See all questions (211)

Questions? Get answers from IBEROSTAR Playa Alameda Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ensure it is refurbished, higher floors have a better view”
 of 5 bubbles A5156SDbrianf, 26 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Beachfront rooms on the third level are more quiet, private and provide the best views.”
 of 5 bubbles AgnesM851, 23 Mar 2017 | Read review
“rooms with a ocean view”
 of 5 bubbles jylamontagne, 22 Mar 2017 | Read review
“The rooms are much alike, check the lock door and patio door for working security.”
  • Lockset missing the striker half
 of 5 bubbles 896lylec, 7 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Rooms in building 16 were close to the beach and had new bathrooms”
 of 5 bubbles Mifftt, 7 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5