We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Starfish Varadero

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Travel Alert: Licensing Restrictions Apply More details
Management photos
Starfish Varadero
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

591 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 344: English reviews
Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

First on jan 10 I went there and had a great time it has great food and great entertainment also rooms are great , should be 5 star hotel it is much better than 4 star melia in coco cayo. We had lobster very night and had free diving lessons also staff was very very friendly and helpfull . planning...

 Report
Helpful?
6Thank ktoofanian
General M, Director General at Starfish Varadero, responded to this review

Dear appreciated guest, Thank you for sharing your positive experience with us and other travelers, we are very happy to know that you enjoyed your holidays with us and that you are planning to come again in few week. Hope to see you soon. General Manager

Ottawa, Canada
Reviewed 4 days ago NEWvia mobile

First of all we had read reviews on starfish and thought we were staying downtown... so it was quite a surprise to find out there was two hotels called starfish!! Starfish varadero is way down the strip, about a 15 minute drive to the central market and bars. We took a car one time and the bus another. The hotel...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Meagan M
General M, Director General at Starfish Varadero, responded to this review

Dear appreciated guest, It is pleasant to receive nice comments of your stay with us, the Starfish Varadero team would like to thank you for sharing your experience with us and other travelers. We are glad to hear that you had a good time during your stay with us, we are sorry for the inconveniences you may had during your...

Reviewed 5 days ago NEWvia mobile

We had a fabulous time at the Starfish. Food was great. Bungalows are nicer then the rooms. We had a room. It was not fancy but had everything we needed. Lots of entertainment here. Special guest musicians every night. Beach is amazing. 2 pool sections - both great. Lots of options for eating. Grill by the pool is best for...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Corrielee65
General M, Director General at Starfish Varadero, responded to this review

Dear appreciated guest, Thank you for having chosen Starfish Varadero as your holiday destination and for sharing your positive experience with us and other travelers. We are proud to know that you enjoyed your holidays with us. We really hope to see you soon again. Regards, General Manager

Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

I stayed by the pool mainly by the gym where it was less busy and had very few little children. The music was great and there were always activities going on like Aquafit, dance lessons, mini golf and Spanish lessons. I will definitely be in touch with a few of the staff on the Entertainment Team. They were always happy...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Brigette M
General M, Director General at Starfish Varadero, responded to this review

Dear appreciated guest, First of all we would like to thank you for your nice review and the time that you spent to write it. Nice comments make us very happy because that means that you had a good time during your holidays with us, we work every day in order to improve our service and your suggestions are always...

Bowmanville, Canada
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We have been to Cuba before and had a great time. My wife and I decided to take a 5 day Cuba vacation to Starfish Varadero and were not disappointed. The staff were awesome and very friendly and the food was hot and the drinks were cold. We stayed from Jan 12 - 17th and decided on a bungalow for...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Food_Wine_13
General M, Director General at Starfish Varadero, responded to this review

Dear appreciated guest, On behalf of the management and the staff from Starfish Varadero we would like to thank you for your positive comments about our hotel. We are very glad to know that you had a good time, thank you very much for your recommendation. We are looking forward to see you again at your second home. Best regards,...

Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

I cannot say enough about the staff. All staff were friendly right down to the gardeners. We loved Betty our chambermaid,I feel sorry for others that are not comfortable with affection in Hispanic countries and especially the tender affections of Cubans. Engaging anyone was met with a big smile, a warm embrace and kissing of the cheeks. Met many great...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Y9618JMkathym
General M, Director General at Starfish Varadero, responded to this review

Dear appreciated guest, On behalf of the Starfish Varadero team we would like to thank you for your nice comments about our hotel. Our staff has received your compliments and appreciates your effort, one more time thanks for providing part of your precious time to share your experience with us and other travelers. We will be delighted to welcome you...

Calgary, Canada
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

I am not new at the whole Cuban experience, I have been there before. This was out first time staying at the Starfish. I have alot of good things to say about the resort but sadly some things just made my stay so sour. Yes they are trying to make this a better resort. Its working there were improvements noted...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank RandJ W
General M, Director General at Starfish Varadero, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you for visiting us during your holidays, we are very sorry for all the inconveniences you may had during your stay. We had an inconvenient with the water pump which is already solved. We are happy to know that you enjoyed our beach and food offer and that you had a good time with our staff. Thank...

Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

very dirty hotel.First night we slept in the lobby.People are rude,asking about your stuff,we are not going there again.Don't spend your money-go somewhere else.Very poor hotel.The same food every day.Nothing special for New Years Eve.Very poor service,not enough people to bring coffee or utensils.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ILONA290568
General M, Director General at Starfish Varadero, responded to this review

Dear guest, First of all we would like to thank you for having chosen Starfish Varadero as your holidays destination. We are disappointed and surprised to read the situations you are describing, we are working every day to improve our service and guest's experience. For example in New Years Eve we did entertainment activities and special dinner. We are sorry...

Halifax Region, Canada
Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

We stayed in the 2400 block of rooms at the Starfish on Jan 7, 2017. The staff were amazing and worked very hard. We didn't have hot water and sometimes no water.. for the entire trip it was only lukewarm. We did advise the front desk of this and a broken toilet seat. They fixed the seat within hours, however...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank lornacurnew
General M, Director General at Starfish Varadero, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you for having chosen Starfish Varadero as your holidays destination. We are very sorry for the inconveniences you may had during your stay with us, thank you for your suggestions which are always welcome. We had a problem with the water system but we are working everyday in order to improve our service and ours guest's experience....

Sudbury, Canada
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

From January 6-13th Stayed in bungalow close to pool (B2306) We've been to Cuba twice before so well aware of what to expect. Like many others say there is always something you can find to eat. Food was good but we are all not fussy eaters. Our bungalow was very spacious with four rooms. You walk into first room with...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank hotchocolate18

898 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (895)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (151)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (240)
Viewed
Bathroom (18)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (19)
Viewed
Dining (63)
Viewed
Room/Suite (67)
Viewed
View from Room (17)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
1:59
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (317)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Varadero hotels
7.8 km away
Be Live Experience Las Morlas
7.2 km away
Sol Sirenas Coral Resort
Sol Sirenas Coral Resort
#34 of 62 in Varadero
4,636 reviews
3.6 km away
Sol Palmeras
Sol Palmeras
#9 of 62 in Varadero
5,449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Melia Las Antillas
Melia Las Antillas
#13 of 62 in Varadero
3,831 reviews
4.9 km away
Melia Las Americas
Melia Las Americas
#5 of 62 in Varadero
4,969 reviews
4.3 km away
Melia Varadero
Melia Varadero
#6 of 62 in Varadero
4,457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Babysitting

Additional Information about Starfish Varadero

Address: Carretera las Morla Km 14 | Varadero Beach, Varadero 42200, Cuba
Region: Caribbean > Cuba > Matanzas Province > Varadero
Price Range: $127 - $257 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Starfish Varadero 3*
Number of rooms: 411
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelsClick so you can book your Starfish Varadero reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Resort Aguas Azules
Aguas Azules Hotel
Club Amigo Varadero Cuba
Club Amigo Cuba
Amigo Varadero Club Cuba
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Varadero
#20 Top resorts Hotel in Varadero
#21 On the Beach Hotel in Varadero
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Starfish Varadero staff and other travellers.
264 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (264)

Questions? Get answers from Starfish Varadero staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“i had garden view of the pool was great”
 of 5 bubbles ktoofanian, 18 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Bungalow is the way to go if you want to be in the middle of everything and have a little more room to stretch out and relax.”
 of 5 bubbles Food_Wine_13, 17 Jan 2017 | Read review
“They have 92 refurbished ones coming up soon.”
 of 5 bubbles Y9618JMkathym, 17 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Bungalows were good but rooms seemed to have less problems.”
  • Bungalow
  • love from our maid.
 of 5 bubbles randjw2015, 17 Jan 2017 | Read review
“The bungalow looked very nice inside and out.”
 of 5 bubbles lornacurnew, 15 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay