We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel Melia Marina Varadero

Traveller (5101)
Room & Suite (908)
Pool & Beach (889)
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerAttributes":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"]}}
  • Excellent47%
  • Very good30%
  • Average13%
  • Poor5%
  • Terrible5%
Meliá Marina Varadero Hotel, the perfect combination of marina and beach A modern and comfortable All Inclusive 5 Star Resort, situated in the Marina Gaviota Varadero. The complex boasts modern rooms, a wide range of bars and specialist restaurants, meeting rooms, swimming pools with recreation areas and a Yhi Spa. It offers something unique in Varadero as its facilities are integrated with a wonderful seafront with shops and a marina. It offers the whole range of experiences that sea lovers long for. Renowned for its areas of personalised service, exclusivity and privacy on THE LEVEL floor, for Varadero's largest conference area with function rooms and banqueting service and for its luxury classic rooms and suites, decorated with nautical motifs and boasting the most amazing views of the Marina Gaviota Varadero and the Hicacos Peninsula.Ideal for families, yachting, diving, fishing, events, meetings, weddings and honeymoons.
Read more
Property amenities
Other Russian
Paid Internet
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Shuttle Bus Service
Free Parking
Wheelchair Access
Show more
Room features
Non-Smoking Rooms
Air Conditioning
Family Rooms
Smoking rooms available
Accessible rooms
Refrigerator in room
Good to know
Marina View
Lagoon View
Full view
Getting there
Juan Gualberto Gomez Airport14 km
See all nearby hotels
Nearby restaurants
See all nearby restaurants
Nearby attractions
See all nearby attractions
Traveller rating
  • 1,907
  • 1,213
  • 500
  • 195
  • 185
Traveller type
Time of year
  • More languages
Show reviews that mention
  • Filter
  • English
Saint John, Canada
Reviewed 2 days agovia mobile
My husband and I are currently at this resort, and are absolutely loving it!! The bad reviews scared me a bit, but we came anyways and have not been disappointed at all. We have been here for 3 days and are eating very well! The buffet is small, but it's their off season and we've actually only eaten there once since we've been here. The 24 hour snack bar serves amazing omelettes with bacon, hamburgers, pizzas, sandwiches, etc... We've been there a lot. We've been to the a la carts and they are simply delicious with much variety to chose from. If you want more, there is a Mexican restaurant and Steak House right beside the resort as well. The resort is huge and there is lots to do. The beach is minutes away and I'm not sure what the fuss is about it being so far away. I've parked at a mall and have walked further. Our room is huge and we have a king size bed, 4 piece bathroom and beautiful pool view. There are kids shows and adult entertainment nightly. And I've read complaints that there is only shaded areas by the pool for level up guests, and that is not true at all. We did not level up and we are receiving excellent service. Check in was quick and easy, our cleaner is amazing with fresh towels every day and our fridge is stocked with pop, beer and water daily. We do tip, and our service is amazing. The resort is clean and the grounds are well taken care of. The marina and local shops are a real bonus, and downtown Veradero is a short 5 peso bus drive away. Don't let the negative reviews stop you from coming here, it is a very wonderful place to unwind and enjoy the sunshine.
3 Thank KandK_Collins
Response from Yeinsy J, Community Manager at Hotel Melia Marina Varadero
Responded 2 days ago
Dear KandK_Collins: Thank you for having taken some of your holidays time to send us as such an amazing and gorgeous comment. We are very happy to know that you did not change your mind about visiting our hotel , and now instead you are loving it .Your positive comments has greatly motivated us at the same time that will help others travelers that would like to come. It goes without saying the great pleasure that is for us to have you here. We are really proud to know that we are able to make your stay enjoyable and that our hospitality reached your expectations. One more time thank you for every single detail that you took into account during your review and we wish you to continue having the pleasent time that you deserve. We are at your complete disposal !!! Sincerely Yeinsy Jiménez Community Manager
bay d'espoir
Reviewed 2 days ago
travelled to the melia marina nov 27 to dec 4 2018 from the time we arrived to the time we left the staff at the resort treated us like we were their family also got upgraded to level which we loved ate their every day and the service and food was great the bar staff was fantastic at all the bars on resort made alot of friends our rooms were cleanded every day and they were spotless our cleaning girl was great her name was jeni we stayed in rooms 1546 and 1547 looking over marina .the manager fransisco was a wonderful man even let my daughter and her friend come to the resort to see us and was allowed to eat and drink with us thank you again we loved the resort and we dined in all the restaurants which we enjoyed will thanks again melia marina for another fantastic trip you guys rock we will see you again
1 Thank newfie04
Response from Yeinsy J, Community Manager at Hotel Melia Marina Varadero
Responded 2 days ago
Dear newfie04: I would like to thank you for such a completely and inspirited review regarding your stay in our Hotel. We hugely appreciate your kind and sincere words. We are hugely proud to know that our team turned your stay into marvelous memories by making you feel like family !!! We are constantly working on providing our very best services for our guests, and we are glad to see that our attempts are appreciated. On the other hand we are also very happy to know that you enjoyed of the food of The Level as well as the specialized restaurants by the time that you were able to take pleasure with our beautiful marina view. Our appreciation again for sharing your experience and we look forward to serving you in the future. Best Regards Yeinsy Jiménez Community Manager
paul h
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 days ago
The hotel was basic not what we would expect for 5 star. The room clean and was spacious but furniture very tired, no table and only one chair on the veranda. Very well looked after by the maid.
We upgraded to the level after reading the brochure / webpage, which we are very happy we did, otherwise we would not have been able to cope !
There is a mention in your brochure of local beers, I asked about local beers, “sir there is a problem, you can have Heineken beer or upgrade to windmill (dutch lager) or Bavarian beer (German Beer)” A bit disappointing as we were in Cuba and surprising as you would expect the local beer to be more cost effective?
The cocktails were poor and other drinks were not premium brands, but you could upgrade!
The house wine was very poor, the white was just about drinkable and the red was ok to sprinkle on your chips! again you could upgrade, which I did on a number of occasions.
On arrival we were cordially greeted by our concierge, who personally checked us in and proudly showed off his hotel, we could not share his enthusiasm. Although he gave us a comprehensive overview of the hotel, he failed to mention anything regarding the drinks.
The level has its own restaurant that is available to all level customers and we had a decent meal on the first evening, after that it was all very poor not what you would expect from a 5 star hotel.
We tried the speciality restaurants and unfortunately they were not as good as the level, the Asian restaurant was dreadful, my wife had a lamb dish and I had a beef dish that were both inedible and lacked any flavour. We were both so disappointed we just got up and walked out, we went back to the level. We ordered the same meal we had on the first night, unfortunately this was also very poor. We thought were we being safe, but no consistency with the food. I did ask if the chef had changed apparently every two days, maybe we just got the bad chef that night? The breakfast in the level was ok but basic.
We tried the beachside restaurant the first day, the food was loaded onto the serving trolley and covered with a large perspex cover, we then saw the birds gather around, as soon as the cover was raised, the birds we eating the edge of the dishes to our astonishment!
We quickly grabbed a little food from the middle of the dishes, the food was very basic and poor and to be honest we didn’t have an appetite to eat any! We had a beef burger at the poolside bar again this was very poor and we didn’t re-visit either the beachside or the poolside restaurants again.
We have never greeted an airplane meal with such enthusiasm on the way home, thats how bad the food was!

Hotel Wi-Fi very poor but that was expected.

On a positive note, the Hotel location was good, the staff were very pleasant, especially the level staff and our concierge Michal.

We did used the Golf course which was part of the upgrade to the level, the disappointing aspect was the transport, which I thought would have been complimentary ? The taxi cost 35 CUC plus tips, this is not clear in the brochure.

We also visited friends at the Melia Varadero Hotel, this cost 86 CUC per person which considering it is the same chain also very disappointing !

We did constantly see Managers walking around and I have noted how they have commented on trip advisor reviews. It would more useful to talk to your guests when they are experiencing your hotel, then you may not have to make so many replies on
Another thing to note about the tripadvisor reviews all the positive reviews are from guests with little experience of Tripadvisor, one review!

Would we return no!
Thank paul h
Response from Yeinsy J, Community Manager at Hotel Melia Marina Varadero
Responded yesterday
Dear paul h: Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience during your last stay in our Meliá Marina Varadero. Your comments are very appreciated as they will help us to do better day by day. We are extremely sorry that we failed to meet your needs and fulfill your expectations and about the fact you did not have the pleasant stay you deserved. We apologize for any inconvenience caused. Do not hesitate that every single comment will be carefully analyzed, following our continuous improvement plan. We want you to know that, in regard to the national beer, we are having a situation that has been beyond our control and we are working on that to solve it as soon as possible.That's why meanwhile we are offering some exported beers. Nevertheless we were very susrprise about the issue with the drinks because we do have premium brands at the Lobby bar althought there is always a wider selection at The Level because it is our exclusive service.Also the wine selection respond to the chain standards and there are other options extra cart for those who prefer to have something specific or better quality. Anyway we will be more alert in this regard and again we apologize for the inconvenient that this could have cause you. The entire staff of Meliá Marina Varedero, we know we can do better. That's why I hope you come back soon to make you change your mind, and your next stay is as perfect as you deserve. Best Regards Yeinsy Jiménez Community Manager
Renfrew, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed 6 days ago
What a great place to spend an extra long weekend! This resort had everything we needed to give us a nice break from the dreary days of November. Rooms were ok. View was beautiful. Food was pretty good. I've only been to Cuba once before and I am glad we came here again. We stayed 3 nights and ate at 3 a la carte restaurants. The main buffet looked really good but we didn't have dinner there. The beach was stunning and the beach bar made great Pina Coloda's and Bahama Mama's. Not those slushy drinks...these were blended right there, creamy and tasty. The people were so wonderful. Mary, at the lobby bar, you really helped make our short time even greater as you were so friendly and sweet to us. The evening shows were really good. We were a little disappointed that there was NO local musical entertainment. We would have enjoyed some music in the lobby before dinner. Not sure why this resort did not offer any music...even in November there were alot of people here and as we talked to many of them they wondered the same thing. Over all our stay was great and well worth the quick trip.
Thank clemowclan
Response from Yeinsy J, Community Manager at Hotel Melia Marina Varadero
Responded 4 days ago
Dear clemowclan: Thank you very much for the time you took in writing your impressions about our hotel on TripAdvisor after your recent visit. We are so happy to know that yo had usch a fantastic stay in our hotel !!! We were delighted to read that you enjoyed of the restaurants a la carte, the stunning beach and our attentive staff, so friendly and sweet !!! I will share your kind words with the entire team who will be very glad to know that our effort is highly appreciated by our guests. Regarding to the evening music at the lobby we want you to know that our Hotel Managment is working into the creation of a daily program with this kind of show,that we hope to have solved shortly. We apologize for the inconvenient that this was for you and we are sure that during your next trip you will be able to enjoy of this shows. One more time , our aprecciatition for your kind words and remain at your service. Best Regards Yeinsy Jiménez Community Manager
Alix H
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 days ago
We booked on the day for $89 per person per night all inclusive.

Location is good - a short walk from the beach/marina/parade of shops and the pool is big with plenty of sun loungers. If it's too hot here, head down to the beach where you get a lovely sea breeze.

Bedrooms are spacious and clean, and the bathroom has a separate bath and walk in shower. We slept very well here after the hustle and bustle of Havana and Trinidad.

The food is terrible. There was not one redeeming feature - nothing was fresh, all processed. After complaining and getting a coveted spot in a 'restaurant' we were again disappointed, if possible the food in the restaurant is worse than the buffet!

We were only here for 3 days - I feel sorry for anyone that stays longer. You will need to go out of the resort for your meals. The hotel should look to provide more fresh food - especially fruit.

The service is hit and miss......sometimes the staff can surprise you with their helpfulness, other times you have to ask a server 3 times for a cup of coffee at breakfast.
Thank Alix H
Response from Yeinsy J, Community Manager at Hotel Melia Marina Varadero
Responded 5 days ago
Dear Alix H: We are extremely sorry that we failed to meet your needs and fulfill your expectations and about the fact you did not have the pleasant stay you deserved amd we sincerely apologize for that. We really appreciate your comments, we do take them into account in order to keep improving our service, ensuring a good quality service and guest satisfaction. On the other hand we are glad to hear that, in spite of the inconvenients with the food ,you were able to enjoy of our good location and spacious rooms. We truly hope that you come back and give us another opportunity to reach your expectations. Sincerely
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
December 6, 2018|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Yeinsy J | Property representative |
Dear Dynacared...:We have the main building with 423 rooms for the all inlcusive but we also have apartments for the european plan and they are equiped with everything to cookand have a long stay. Remain at your disposal in... More
Google Translation
Room Tips
"If you had to stay upgrade to the level"
4 days ago
Read review
"The level is definitely worth the upgrade, request a higher floor for a great view."
Nov. 3, 2018
Read review
"The 3rd floor rooms are great!"
Sep. 22, 2018
Read review
"marina view, level"
Sep. 18, 2018
Read review
Show More 
CaribbeanCubaMatanzas ProvinceVaradero
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing