Melia Marina Varadero

Traveller (6562)
Pool & Beach (1142)
Room & Suite (739)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

4.0
#19 of 30 all-inclusives in Varadero
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.2 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.1 of 5 bubbles
Value
Meliá Marina Varadero Hotel, the perfect combination of marina and beach A modern and comfortable All Inclusive 5 Star Resort, situated in the Marina Gaviota Varadero. The complex boasts modern rooms, a wide range of bars and specialist restaurants, meeting rooms, swimming pools with recreation areas and a Yhi Spa. It offers something unique in Varadero as its facilities are integrated with a wonderful seafront with shops and a marina. It offers the whole range of experiences that sea lovers long for. Renowned for its areas of personalised service, exclusivity and privacy on THE LEVEL floor, for Varadero's largest conference area with function rooms and banqueting service and for its luxury classic rooms and suites, decorated with nautical motifs and boasting the most amazing views of the Marina Gaviota Varadero and the Hicacos Peninsula.Ideal for families, yachting, diving, fishing, events, meetings, weddings and honeymoons.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Paid internet
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Entertainment staff
Evening entertainment
Babysitting
Parking
Internet
Hot bath
Pool / beach towels
Outdoor pool
Fitness / spa changing rooms
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Snack bar
Swimup bar
Poolside bar
Fishing
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Kids club
Airport transportation
Shuttle bus service
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Head massage
Massage
Concierge
Currency exchange
Shops
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun umbrellas
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Safe
Minibar
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Smoking rooms available
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
5.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Harbour View
Modern
Languages Spoken
Spanish
4.0
4.0 of 5 bubbles5,374 reviews
Reviews Summary
This summary was created by AI, based on recent reviews.
Powered by AI
Melia Marina Varadero has sparked a range of feedback among travelers; its vibrant live entertainment and the allure of cozy rooms have been celebrated, yet the lobby's dated decor has not escaped criticism. While the beaches and entertainment are highlights, guests have experienced frustration with the erratic restaurant hours and basic amenities. Opinions on service are divided, with commendations for some staff members' friendliness contrasting starkly with reports of unresponsive service. Furthermore, room cleanliness and maintenance shortcomings have marred the experiences of several guests, despite some enjoying a spotless environment.
Atmosphere
Lively
Rooms
Neglected
Value
Expensive
Cleanliness
Mixed
Service
Inconsistent
Amenities
Mixed
Was this helpful?
Tripadvisor is not responsible for this summary or any opinions in it. Please read full traveller reviews for more details and information.
5,374Reviews1,014Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 2,685
  • 1,426
  • 606
  • 304
  • 354
Traveller safety
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
William M wrote a review Feb 2020
Peterborough, Ontario, Canada67 contributions25 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
The Melia Marina Varadero provided us with a very good to excellent vacation experience.
The room was very good with an excellent bathroom, tropical shower, private toilet, vanity sink and gorgeous soaker tub.
Our room had a king size bed, separate sitting area with sofabed, dining table for 2, large dresser and big screen TV including CTV (Ottawa), CNN and Newsy as well as all the top Cuban channels.
The mini-bar was kept well stocked, with bottled weather replenished each day
Food is notably Cuban. Excellent pork and chicken, serviceable fish, great breads, rice dishes, root veggies and wonderful ice cream.. I was surprised by the many staff who spoke excellent English and French.
The hallways are open and still bear storm scars.
The pool and beach is wonderful.
Take the Hop-On Double Decker Bus $5 CUC (based on 1:1 USD conversion). It covers the entirety of the Hicacos Peninsula

Tipping is appreciated. A $1 CUC tip is generous in most applications. 25 centavos for Madams Pipi at public washrooms and $3 in specialty restaurants and 10% at privately operated restaurants.
On site entertainment (especially the Baracoa Water Ballet) is spectacular and virtually everyone enjoys the musicians at the Lobby Bar.
The Marina is one of the most modern in the Caribbean with many specialty shops, Bars, restaurants and a massive fleet of Tahiti 80’ catamarans and fully equipped Deep Sea Fishing Boats.

Not quite 5 star yet but ABSOLUTELY GREAT VALUE!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from JavierPiqueresFayos, Manager at Melia Marina Varadero
Responded Feb 21, 2020
Dear William M, Thank you very much for your comments on Tripadvisor. We have read carefully your comments and we are very happy to learn that you had a nice stay with us. We will transfer all this comments to all our employees, it will boost their motivation to offer their best all times. Please, next time you decide to stay with us, don't hesitate to contact me and we will make sure you have another memorable stay. Sincerely,
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Alison wrote a review Jan 2020
15 contributions7 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We loved our Suite room 6123. This room was awesome! Well maintained, and stocked. The staff were very happy and helpful. Food and beverages were always available at the snack bar. The buffets were well stocked and there are a few a la cart restaurants you have to book. We booked three for the week on the first day we got there and got our pick of times. There is also a really nice BBQ lunch restaurant at the beach with entertainment. We loved the pools and the beach. It was a nice walk to the beach or you could take the shuttle. The entertainment was great! The lobby bar had different singers in the evening followed by a show. The magic show was amazing! The dancers were fantastic and energized the crowd. The only pet peeve is there was not enough seating around the pools. People reserve them super early in the morning and then they aren’t in them the majority of the time. Bring your bug spray as there are lots of sand flies. Also bring your own mug to save on the little plastic cups that they serve your drinks in. It is Cuba so also remember to bring medication. Air Transat did a nice job with transportation and the rep at the resort was very helpful. The hop on hop off to Varadero was worth it.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from JavierPiqueresFayos, Manager at Melia Marina Varadero
Responded Feb 2, 2020
Dear Aliho222, Thank you very much for sharing your experience on tripadvisor. Kindly be informed that we have read your comments carefully and we are very happy to know that you had a nice stay with us. Thank you very much for mentioning the quality of our rooms, the good service provided by our staff, the availability of food and drinks at the snack bar, the BBQ restaurant at the beach, the pool, the hotel´s entertainment and shows provided. Please, if you decide to stay with us again, don't hesitate to contact us and we will honored to welcome you back. Thank you very much for choosing Melia Marina Varadero. Sincerely,
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
A lot to digest? Read a summary of these reviews, created with our new AI-powered tool.
MCL wrote a review Feb 2020
2 contributions1 helpful vote
4.0 of 5 bubbles
I spent a great week with my friend at the melia marina. For the price paid, it is a good value. Things you should know: the beach is far from the resort ( I did not mind as that meant more exercise for me ). There are many restaurants on site that are not part of the all inclusive so ask before ordering. There are cockroaches, but that is to be expected in the Carabean. Just ask the front desk to have your room sprayed if they are in your room. The à la carte restaurants are not gastronomic experiences. Avoid desserts and go for ice cream instead.
Staff were all very helpful from the front desk, bell boys, room cleaning staff and the buffet staff. Melia should ensure staff have the proper tools to do their job. Line ups were long at the buffet but when you flip pancakes on old pans with a spoon what do you expect. The juice maker also had seen better days. The animation was great on the beach and at the pool. Yunior really helped us have a great time at the resort. He would make sure to include as much people as possible and he was always very appropriate with me and my friend. He was fun to be with. So overall a great time, but if no improvement is done in the next few years on the property, it will loose some of their stars. All the beach chairs were broken, many water leaks in the apartments that were not repaired. No lights at night on pathways, many paths broken, toilets not flushing properly. Those are more things under the responsibility of Melia than the staff.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from JavierPiqueresFayos, Manager at Melia Marina Varadero
Responded Feb 10, 2020
Dear Vacation633574, Thank you very much for your comments on Tripadvisor. Kindly be informed that we have read your comments carefully and we understand you had a nice stay with us. Thank you very much for mentioning the service provided by our staff members, especially Yunior, who is one of our service top performers. Please, next time you decide to stay with us, don't hesitate to contact us and we will be honored to welcome you back again. Thank you for choosing Melia Marina Varadero
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jennifer wrote a review Jan 2020
Ottawa, Canada16 contributions20 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
We paid quite a bit extra for the Level. Been to Cuba before, understand the limitations, but they do advertise the Level as extending the norm. Great check in, smooth with concierge saying we will be cared for. Very promising. Marina view room with Level, extremely noisy as directly above show area. Show ended at 11p, but then huge scraping noises. We insisted on a quieter room on the pool side. Better, but now do they remember we're the Level? No turn down service with fresh beach towels daily, no watching mini bar to refresh. Requested extra towels and pillows, 2 towels in room for 2 people one with long hair, 4 times over 2 days before they arrived. First a la carte was casa burgette, almost threw up when lobster was substituted without notice for yesterdays frozen salmon. Don Ernesto not bad, left Don Pepporoni after 50 min wait for our order to begin to arrive. The Level restaurant is interesting, stale breads available and cold cuts. Takes forever for food. The entire hotel is out of lobster and shrimp, except when we see people from parent company Melia touring at Pescador by beach, suddenly lobster is there for them. We see lobster being pulled from ocean every day at seafood place in marina. That's okay, I don't expect food to be great here. If only they served me cuban food and not what they think I want. They also continue to substitute salmon and mussels in things that are supposed to be clams, lobster or shrimp without saying anything. The concierge who is supposed to be available 9a to 11a is rarely there, and often don't understand any english, just say yes yes to everything. Went to spa today, got covered in oil and my earlobes tickled as a "strong" massage. The grill on the beach is not open, the buffet has turned us away saying closed a half hour prior to closing hours, restaurant by pool should be 24 hours is not at all, coffee bar with cigars not open. Nothing like advertised online. Staff appear to want to please, but can't do anything about anything. I am disabled and brought my mobility scooter upon Westjet recommendation, I have a power converter to charge it, it charged in the first room, but not the second, and of course no one can help or knows anything, even where I could purchase another converter. The staff seem to want to help you, but no matter the Level or not you are nothing and no one. I should've gone to Punta Cana. The beach is over crowded, with no beach service despite the Level, 90% chairs are broken, people dump broken glasses and plastic wear and it is not picked up. Extremely disappointing,
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: First don't stay here, but if you want quiet go pool view
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from JavierPiqueresFayos, Manager at Melia Marina Varadero
Responded Feb 2, 2020
Dear Jennifer N, Thank you very much for your comments on Tripadvisor. Kindly be informed that we have read your comments carefully and we are sad to know you didn't enjoy your stay with us. Regarding the menu at the restaurants as well as the speed of service, we have communicated your comments to our executive chef to analise what happened and make sure we improve our services. Kindly be informed that the Grill services at the beach are provided at the pescador restaurant, upstairs on the beach where we offer wide variety of meats, fish, paellas, some rices and pastas, desserts and fruits, we are very sorry to hear that you were not satisfied with the restaurant. Regarding the case of your scooter, I have checked with our customer service department and they informed me that the maintenance team went to assist you, I'm very sorry to hear their service didn't match your expectations. Please accept my sinceres apologies, hoping to have the opportunity to better serve you in the future. Sincerely,
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Bernard C wrote a review Jan 2020
2 contributions6 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Poor managed hotel. Long lines for Buffet and once you got in there was little to no food. Rooms are lacking housekeeping lamp shades stained, sticky floor, towels not replaced when required, always had to ask customer service for water and coffee replacement. Our safe was not attached to the wall and our toilet was leaking when reported it was not addressed so demanded to be moved. They moved us all right into a moldy smelling room with door that would not lock! After the 3rd day we finally got move to another room it was not perfect but okay. Really don' t know who is writing reviews on this place because they are falsified. You can book this place or follow my review and go some where else. BEWARE!!!!!!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from JavierPiqueresFayos, Manager at Melia Marina Varadero
Responded Feb 3, 2020
Dear bernardcP9039WX, Thank you very much for sharing your experience on Tripadvisor. Kindly be informed that we have read your comments carefully and we are sad to learn that we didn't match your expectations this time. Please rest assure that all the issues mentioned related to the buffet food replacement, rooms, replacement of coffee and water, has been addressed to the related departments in order to improve our services. Kindly be informed that we respect your point of view about the hotel as we do with other customer opinions, we do think that we have customers who enjoy their stay. Please accept our sinceres apologies. Sincerely,
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
blacklocus wrote a review Jan 2020
Chesley, Canada75 contributions74 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
The Melia Marina is beautiful looking in a nice setting with beach and major marina nearby. Unfortunately this hotel has some staffing issues reception registration took 2.5 hours for 20 people January 02. The hallways often were not clean. Had to change room twice. Bathroom bath tube and sinks have no working drain plugs, bed quality is a C, first room had TV that continued to turn off after 2 minutes. 30% of pool and beath furniture was broken. Buffet food quality was the same most days, and a C. The A La Carte's falsely advertise beef filet that was 12 year old dairy cattle shank, very poorly prepared not pounded or simmered for three hours. Cooks need to learn how to marinate and cook lower quality cuts.

Often door locks malfunctioned with door not locking on leaving the room. Be very careful you think it is lock ed and it is not. Wednesday I had to return six times to reception before I could get my door unlocked in the third room they provided me.

Maintenance is a problem. Lack of supplies. Hotel rarely serves much in the way of fruit. Oranges, bananas, mangoes, gratefruits did not exist Jan 02-09 2020.

Powdered lime and powdered strawberry flavour is uused in daquaris. real limes and real lemons do not appear to exist.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Yeinsy, Public Relations Manager at Melia Marina Varadero
Responded Jan 12, 2020
Dear Blacklocus, Thank you very much for taking the time to share your review on TripAdvisor. I am deeply sad to learn that you had an unpleasant experience with us during your recent visit. Please accept my sincere apologies. Your comments are taken very seriously and will be taken on broad for future improvement. You have noted in your review the beautiful location and environment of our hotel, which is much appreciated. I hope to have the chance to better serve you in the future. Please, if you decide to stay with us again, don't hesitate to contact me, I'll be honored to welcome you back and make sure you have a nice stay. Best wishes,
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nena A wrote a review Feb 2020
Toronto, Ontario, Canada3 contributions1 helpful vote
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We had a one week Sunday to Sunday trip booked in Feb at the Melia Marina Varadero hotel. We also decided to travel and stay in Havana Tuesday to Thursday. Upon arriving at the hotel, check in was easy, although our room was not ready for another hour since we were early for check in. We stored our bags and were able to grab a sandwich from the snack bar by the pool.
The hotel is large and clean. Everyone was courteous and attentive. It is at the very end of the peninsula so you will be the last ones to get dropped off, and first ones to get picked up on any shuttles.
Our room was large and although somewhat dated, was maintained clean. The bed and pillows were really not comfortable but you get used to it.
Between Sunday to Tuesday we felt that the hotel was actually quite empty, with an older Canadian crowd. When we came back from Havana, the hotel was full of Cuban families and couples and the vibe was much more lively. Turns out they had a promotion for Valentine’s day. Because of this, there were some lines to eat at the buffet, which we were able to skip by making reservations for the Hotel restaurants. The food at the buffet had enough variety to keep us happy. Our favourite was the snack bar by the beach for lunch as they had great vegetable options and a charcoal BBQ. The Hotel restaurants were okay, the service was great, but I think I prefer the options at the buffet. The process to book the restaurants was easy, and could be done in advance – I booked on Tuesday for Thursday, and on the same day for Valentine’s day.
The pools are huge, and even when the hotel was full, were never crowded. There are aquafit classes and Zumba classes throughout the day, that after a few drinks are quite fun to participate in.
The bars can get crowded but all the bartenders do a great job at multi-tasking. The drinks are generous pours and delicious. White wine sometimes ran out but you could always get more for $2 CUC at the tapas bar under the main staircase.
The beach is a short walk away, as the hotel is on the marina side, with a convenient shuttle that takes you back and forth if you need it. We never struggled to find chairs on the beach (although many were broken). There is some seaweed, but really the beach is quite magical.
The only con I really had was with fellow Canadians who were not on their best behaviour, and I am not talking about kids on spring break. We heard complaints about food not being made fast enough (it is literally being bbq'd in front of you), about not all staff being fluent in English (you would never expect the same if someone travelled to Canada), and just a level of impatience, forgetting they are on vacation.
I would stay again and recommend it to my friends and family.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from JavierPiqueresFayos, Manager at Melia Marina Varadero
Responded Feb 21, 2020
Dear AudrieRogue, Thank you very much for your comments on Tripadvisor. We have read carefully your comments and we are very happy to learn that you had a nice stay with us. We will transfer all this comments to all our employees, it will boost their motivation to offer their best all times. Please, next time you decide to stay with us, don't hesitate to contact me and we will make sure you have another memorable stay. Sincerely,
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Marllorye P wrote a review Mar 2020
Runaway Bay, Jamaica3 contributions6 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We just came back from a 1 week family getaway at Melia Marina and we must say we had an amazing time... I traveled with my husband and 2 small kids, and they were really accommodating, specially with any special request we had for the kids. The room was really comfortable, we had all amenities we needed for the entire family, our housekeeper was very sweet. The Food has a lot of variety, we cant complain, there was something for all. During our visit we got to meet the General Manager, Guillermo Sastre - we commend him for his staff and how accommodating they are, as well for how the property is kept. We will definitely come back!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from SalesManagerMMV, Director of Sales at Melia Marina Varadero
Responded Mar 8, 2020
Dear marlloryep2017, Thank you very much for your comments on Tripadvisor. Kindly be informed that we have read your comments carefully and we are happy to learn that you did enjoy your stay with us. Please, next time you decide to stay with us, don't hesitate to contact us and it will be an honor to welcome you and provide you another fantastic stay. Thank you very much for choosing Melia Marina Varadero. Sincerely,
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
peluche m wrote a review Mar 2020
1 contribution
3.0 of 5 bubbles
I have been to Cuba over 20 times going to 2 star to 5 star hotels. I must say I was a bit disappointed in my stay. We went in a group of 15 people for my parent's 50th Anniversary. The hotel has so much potential and I am leaving this review to hopefully let the hotel know where they can improve.

ROOMS: Very spacious, great view, however I went three days with one dirty towel even after I called reception. I was left with one towel even after tipping :(

Entertainment: great animators, all of them were super nice and great at what they do! The shows were extremely entertaining, the only thing I would suggest is a proper stage for the performers. The band were awesome and I especially loved that they played at the beach snack bar during the day :) entrainment overall was GREAT!!

Service: Ok, here we go....Reception depending on the day some were extremely rude and unprofessional. I speak the language fluently so there was no miscommunication. My last day had the nicest staff, wish they were there before!!! The buffet staff depending on the day were either great or just hated being there. The A la carte was my biggest disappointment... we had reserved a the ONLY available time at 9 pm for my parents 50th, and the waitresses were just downright rude and unprofessional to the point where I was tempted to get up and leave. I would suggest the hotel reviewing the staff because after speaking with other guests they had the same experience, It took us 45 minutes to get a glass of water.

The pool and beach were great, no complaints there! :)

The hotel is clean overall, and like I said has more much potential to be better.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from SalesManagerMMV, Director of Sales at Melia Marina Varadero
Responded Mar 8, 2020
Dear Michita_ri, Thank you very much for your comments on Tripadvisor. Kindly be inform that we have read your comments carefully and we are sad to learn that we didn’t match your expectations. Please, rest assure that all your comments are taken with a very high importance and has been transferred to the related departments in order to implement corrective actions. Please, accept our sinceres apologies, hoping to better serve you in the future. Sincerely,
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
trip_1A wrote a review Mar 2020
Ottawa21 contributions13 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Spent the week of 10 January 2020 at this resort in solo. Weather was nice. Basically the resort is a chunk of concrete, if you are used to small buildings surronding a central one , this is not it. I had a room with a nice view on the marina from the third floor above the restaurants à la carte, sun all afternoon on the balcony.

The resort is in need of TLC probably caused by abusing customers. There was no balcony furniture so I called twice but no action, finally I took a chair from inside the room.
pros:
Nice beach a nice walk away (best part of the beach for the resort)
Catamaran tour is a walk away (no need to take bus and tour the resorts)
Pool is clean and lots of towels
Nice view on Marina and boats comings and goings
Room cleaned and fridge replinished every day
Resort personnel friendly
Walking along marina is relaxing (with musquito repellent)
Walking on the beach for hours if you want

Cons:
Resort need repairs and upkeep
Long chairs broken at beach and pool (they keep broken chairs on display instead of putting them away)
Many people bitten by musquitos (repellent is a must)
No windsurfing available at beach
For the food buffet or à la carte... let say that you will not gain weight from over heating gastronomic food.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: Rooms facing Marina are quieter and select third floor or higher
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from SalesManagerMMV, Director of Sales at Melia Marina Varadero
Responded Mar 8, 2020
Dear trip_1A, Thank you very much for taking some of your time to write on us on Tripadvisor. Kindly be informed that we have read your comments carefully and we are sad to know that we didn't match your expectations this time. Please rest assure that your comments have been taken seriously and passed to the related departments in order to implement corrective actions. Please, acept our sinceres apologies, hoping to have the opportunity to better serve you in the future. Sincerely,
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Deanna G asked a question Mar 2024
1 contribution
Is there a disco?
Answer from Anthony B
Bathgate, United Kingdom82 contributions119 helpful votes
Great question, the plumbing is one of the very few things that does work reasonably
Answer from Anthony B
Bathgate, United Kingdom82 contributions119 helpful votes
No idea, golf is a rubbish game and should be banned. Golfers are fuds
Answer from N.E. THING
Winnipeg, Canada18 contributions97 helpful votes
Families with kids stay here & the resort does have a kids club in a separate building. In the afternoons & evenings we saw hotel staff that played/amused the kids by the pool, by the lobby or by the evening show area without the parents being present.
Omar Daniel F wrote a tip Apr 9
Miami Beach, Florida1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Get an private Air&b , don’t give money to the Tyrant that control the country"
Read full review
Bob D wrote a tip Mar 2024
3 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Take spices from home, food is a bit bland"
Read full review
Catarina wrote a tip Mar 2024
3 contributions2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"The variety of the food is very narrow so be mindful of that"
Read full review
Vinay K wrote a tip Mar 2024
1 contribution1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Bring hot sauce and your favorite condiments. Be prepared to eat elsewhere every now and then. Don't purchase pesos at the airport or bank. "
Read full review
Jamie S wrote a tip Feb 2024
1 contribution2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Bring mosquito repellent. There are lots of mosquitos at night. "
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Varadero area.
LOCATION
CaribbeanCubaMatanzas ProvinceVaradero
NUMBER OF ROOMS
423
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Melia Marina Varadero - UPDATED 2024 Reviews & Photos

Frequently Asked Questions about Melia Marina Varadero
Which popular attractions are close to Melia Marina Varadero?
Nearby attractions include Varadero Beach (5.0 km), Cueva de Ambrosio (3.3 km), and Plaza Las Morlas (0.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Melia Marina Varadero?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a swimup bar, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Melia Marina Varadero?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Melia Marina Varadero?
Guests can enjoy a swimup bar, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Melia Marina Varadero?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Melia Marina Varadero?
Conveniently located restaurants include La Panchita, Paradisus Varadero Resort & Spa - Royal Service, and Kike-Kcho.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Melia Marina Varadero?
Yes, guests have access to a pool, a fitness centre, and locker rooms available in the fitness centre during their stay.
Does Melia Marina Varadero have airport transportation?
Yes, Melia Marina Varadero offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Melia Marina Varadero?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Melia Marina Varadero offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Are there any historical sites close to Melia Marina Varadero?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Cueva de Ambrosio (3.3 km).
All Varadero HotelsVaradero Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in Varadero
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars