Boutique Hotel 'T Klooster

Boutique Hotel 'T Klooster

Traveller (340)
Panorama of the Comfort at the Boutique Hotel 't Klooster
360
Panoramas (33)
Boutique Hotel 'T Klooster
Videos (1)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Did you already book this hotel?

About

4.5
#9 of 33 hotels in Willemstad
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.2 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.2 of 5 bubbles
Value
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Looking for a place to stay in Willemstad? Then look no further than Boutique Hotel 't Klooster, a charming hotel that brings the best of Willemstad to your doorstep. Guest rooms offer a flat screen TV, air conditioning, and a desk, and Boutique Hotel 't Klooster makes getting online easy as free wifi is available. You can also take advantage of some of the amenities offered by the hotel, including a concierge, a sun terrace, and shops. In addition, guests can enjoy a pool and an on-sitegastrobar Oliva during their visit. As an added convenience, there is free (street) parking available to guests. While staying at Boutique Hotel 't Klooster, visitors can check out Scharloo (0.5 mi) and Handelskade (0.6 mi), some of Willemstad's top attractions. Willemstad has plenty of seafood restaurants. So when you’re here, be sure to check out popular spots like Gouverneur de Rouville, Madero Ocean Club, and Steak & Ribs, which are serving up some great dishes. If you’re looking for things to do, you can check out Kura Hulanda Museum (0.7 mi), Punda (0.5 mi), or Queen Emma Pontoon Bridge (0.7 mi), which are popular attractions amongst tourists, and they are all within walking distance. We’re sure you’ll enjoy your stay at Boutique Hotel 't Klooster as you experience everything Willemstad has to offer.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Bar / lounge
Diving
Board games / puzzles
Car hire
Baggage storage
Wifi
Outdoor pool
Plunge pool
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Special diet menus
Vending machine
Concierge
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Sun terrace
Private check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Room features
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Safe
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Historic Hotel
Quaint
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish, Dutch
Hotel links
Special Price:10% off room rate

Location

Abraham de Veerstraat 12, Willemstad Curaçao
Getting there
Good for walkers
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 86 out of 100
86
Aeropuerto Hato
10.8 km
See all flights
Flamingo Intl Airport
71.1 km
See all flights
417Reviews12Q+A34Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 221
  • 150
  • 30
  • 14
  • 4
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
NittanyLion70 wrote a review Jan 2024
Somers Point, New Jersey
Hotel's Favourite
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed here for 5 lovely days. The ladies on the front desk were very pleasant and helpful. Room was cleaned every day. Breakfast was provided every day, eggs, omelet or Dutch pancakes. Great coffee machine.
40 minute walk to the tourist area. Nice restaurants near the hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: People smoke a lot
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Joia van Loo, Owner at Boutique Hotel 'T Klooster
Responded Jan 15, 2024
Thank you for taking time to write this amazing review about your recent stay in our hotel. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed the hospitality of the staff members, we are always happy to help. :) How nice that you also explored the neighborhood a bit, Mambo beach can be reached by foot, but Pietermaai is also a beautiful district with some nice restaurants to walk through. We certainly hope to welcome you again to our hotel! Kind regards, Zoe, on behalf of Boutique Hotel 't Klooster
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Don L wrote a review Feb 2020
Toronto, Canada
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We spent four days of a week's vacation at this hotel and, except for a couple of minor quibbles, loved the place. The central open-air atrium meant lots of bird songs and welcoming continental breakfasts, beside the small but adequate pool. All the rooms open onto the atrium, with small tables and a couple of chairs outside each one. Our room (21) was a little on the small side with no chair or table, which meant sitting on the bed and looking sideways at the TV, and having to use the laptop on a lap, not that we spent much time doing either. The bathroom had a large shower stall with good pressure and temperature, and the long shelf in front of the sink was big enough to hold all our toiletries. The hotel is a 15-20 minute saunter to the Emma bridge, lots of restaurants within walking distance, including the on-site Blessings (really good food) and the nearby, and our fave, Run the Rum. Staffers at the hotel were friendly and helpful. There was no traffic noise to speak of despite being on one of the "major" roads. Loved all the tributes (pictures) to the original monastery; the hotel is a reno of the monastery, and a dandy one at that. WiFi was strong. We recommend this hotel. This is not a five star hotel, but it makes no pretensions of being one; it is a very comfortable boutique hotel where you can simply relax.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from HotelKlooster, Front Office Manager at Boutique Hotel 'T Klooster
Responded Mar 12, 2020
Dear Don, First of all, thank you for taking the time to write us this lovely review! We enjoyed our time with you as one of our guests. Our location is indeed close to many great restaurants and beautiful places. I am glad you enjoyed your stay and we would love to welcome you again! Kind regards, Danielle Joekema Front Office Team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Lioged wrote a review Mar 2020
Kristiansand, Norway
4.0 of 5 bubbles
t Klooster is a nice place, it has a very nice courthyard with pool. Our room was big and had a little private seatingarea. The bathroom was dark without a window. Breakfast was good but is rather expensive.
The receptionists were young Dutch people, probably having their internship there, they did not know much about the area and nothing about public transport.
We wanted to rent a car but that was only possible for 3 days after some discussion it was possible for 2 days. Told her we only had 1 1/2 day left and suddenly it was possible for 1 day. I know they follow the hotel guidlines but this is a weird way of treating your guests.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jasmijn076 wrote a review May 2021
Breda, The Netherlands
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Great Boutique Hotel in the centre of Willemstad. Within 5 minutes walk you can find great restaurants like Scuba Lodge, Saint Tropez, Mosa and others. The employees are very friendly, especially the night guard, cleaning lady and owners of the hotel. We became engaged on our trip and they gave us a lovely bottle of wine. Would definetely recommend the hotel; it's clean, it looks lovely, there is a pool, great location (you need a car anyway) and 10+ service!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Kenneth K wrote a review Jan 2022
4.0 of 5 bubbles
This hotel is has a central yard where all the rooms open onto. It creates a small and safe community kind of feeling. There is also a small pool. Nothing to get exited about but good enough to cool down. Breakfast is outstanding. The hotel is situated in the neighborhood Pietermaai near the city center of Willemstad (Punda). It is nice and quiet. But as several guests mentioned, it is the perfect place to re-energize. One tip: get a rental car as all the beaches and national parks are not within walking distance of the hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Get a rental car to visit the beaches, do not forget mosquito repellent
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
SML wrote a review Apr 2024
Victoria, Canada
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed at the Klooster hotel for five nights in March and loved our time there. Our room was basic but well outfitted including a kitchen area with an excellent coffee maker, kettle and fridge. The highlight of this hotel has to be the courtyard/pool area. It is so lush, green and chill and makes for a relaxing holiday hangout. There are loungers and hammocks by the pool; with shade and sun depending on the time of day. I had read that there was sort of a community atmosphere here and that did turn out to be true, although most of the other guests spoke Dutch.
The Klooster is just outside the heart of Pietermaai, in easy walking distance of excellent restaurants. Punda is also an easy walk making this an great location. I would not hesitate to stay here again.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Joia van Loo, Eigenaar at Boutique Hotel 'T Klooster
Responded Apr 14, 2024
Thank you very much for taking the time to share this comprehensive feedback on your recent stay at 't Klooster. It is nice to hear that you enjoyed the cosy courtyard of 't Klooster so much. The rooms are built around the courtyard and this often creates a good and relaxed atmosphere. It is important that our guests feel at home and have a pleasant stay, and we are glad you experienced it that way. Nice to hear that you liked the location of the hotel. Pietermaai has many nice restaurants, bars and is at walking distance from the centre, so it is nice to explore the area. Great you enjoyed this! We hope to welcome you again in the (near) future. Kind regards, Zoe, on behalf of Boutique Hotel 't Klooster
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
russellchr wrote a review Nov 2020
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
4.0 of 5 bubbles
This former monastery is reasonably priced and in the proximity of the sea, the best restaurants and a short walk into the town centre. Very clean and organised, the hotel square that used to house catholic monks on its perriphery will not fail to delight. Breakfast a bit pricey, but plenty of eateries in the immediate vicinity.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Regine v wrote a review Mar 2020
3.0 of 5 bubbles
+location is really good if you want to eat in the Centre without using your car.
+ Nice courdyard. Relax place to read a book at the end of the day.
+spacious room.
- size of the pool is really small.
- breakfast is simple but okay.
- room is a little bit outdated.
Would go there again!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from HotelKlooster, Front Office Manager at Boutique Hotel 'T Klooster
Responded Mar 12, 2020
Dear Regine, Thank you for your review. We indeed have a great location nearby our beautiful city centre! I also want to thank you for the feedback. We added some delicious things to our breakfast. We would love to let you try this! We hope to welcome you again soon! Kind regards, Danielle Joekema Front Office Team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Quest268705 wrote a review Oct 2023
5.0 of 5 bubbles
What a wonderful funky hotel. The hotel was located within walking distance of so many restaurants and attractions. What really made this hotel shine was the staff. Do yourself a favor and avoid the big chains and give this place a try. We will stay there again when we come back to dive.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Joia van Loo, Owner at Boutique Hotel 'T Klooster
Responded Jan 15, 2024
Thank you for leaving us a review, we really appreciate the things you mention. It is really great to hear that you enjoyed the hospitable staff members. We always do our best to provide the best experience for our guests, good to hear that you experienced it this way. How nice that you explored the area, Pietermaai is a nice neighbourhood to walk through towards the centre of Willemstad. We are already looking forward to welcoming you again to our hotel! Kind regards, Zoe, on behalf of Boutique Hotel 't Klooster
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Rob C wrote a review Dec 2022
New York City, New York
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Very pleasant stay. Small room but comfortable with space to put clothes and other items away. Lovely courtyard. Rooms faced the courtyard not the street which kept things quiet, comfy hammocks by the small pool. Friendly staff. Convenient to all restaurants bars cafes in Pietermaai.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Joia van Loo, General Manager at Boutique Hotel 'T Klooster
Responded Apr 17, 2023
Thank you for taking the time to write this amazing 5 star review. We are delighted that you had a wonderful stay and look forward to your next stay with us at Klooster!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Answer from Binkie van Es
Philipsburg, St Martin / St Maarten154 contributions41 helpful votes
Send them copies of your documents beforehand and then it can be arranged with the night guard
Answer from
Plymouth, Michigan
Were not big breakfast people, and the breakfast option was pretty pricey. $16 if I recall? We bought yogurt and breakfast bars at a local mart and discovered a great bakery that opens early. Both are a close walk. Follow the sidewalk right out front toward the west. If you're adventurous, try Yammie cafe next to the mojito bar, near the synagogue. It's not listed on TA, but more than I could eat for $8, goes great with those excellent mojitos too.
lpomes asked a question Jan 2017
Long Island City, New York3 contributions
Is there a beach with in walking distance?
Answer from WillTraveloften
Plymouth, United Kingdom39 contributions28 helpful votes
Sadly, no. The taxi busses run regular services the private beaches some15 mins away.
WillTraveloften asked a question Feb 2016
Plymouth, United Kingdom39 contributions28 helpful votes
do any of the rooms have a private balcony/terrace
Answer from doreen195
Richmond, Virginia11 contributions
Most of the rooms have an area with seating right outside the rooms and in addition there is a large area where you can hang out either at poolside or in the shade of umbrellas or trees, which is rather peaceful
Answer from doreen195
Richmond, Virginia11 contributions
I was not aware of them having a shuttle, since we rented a car. Do not remember seeing a shuttle anywhere near the hotel.
Amaris C wrote a tip May 2024
32 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Perfect location to explore town "
Read full review
NittanyLion70 wrote a tip Jan 2024
Somers Point, New Jersey606 contributions204 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"People smoke a lot "
Read full review
Kenneth K wrote a tip Jan 2022
45 contributions42 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Get a rental car to visit the beaches, do not forget mosquito repellent"
Read full review
Kim wrote a tip Jun 2021
7 contributions3 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Definately talk your stay through with Max.. he has great ideas. And book directly."
Read full review
Nicole H wrote a tip Apr 2019
4 contributions3 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Our room was located away from the inner courtyard on the main street, and as such it was noisy with traffic noise during rush hour."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Willemstad area.
PRICE RANGE
C$166 - C$218 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
CaribbeanCuraçaoWillemstad
NUMBER OF ROOMS
24
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Boutique Hotel 'T Klooster - UPDATED 2024 Prices, Reviews & Photos

Frequently Asked Questions about Boutique Hotel 'T Klooster
Which popular attractions are close to Boutique Hotel 'T Klooster?
Nearby attractions include Queen of the Most Holy Rosary Cathedral (0.1 km), Historic Pietermaai District (0.3 km), and Street Art Willemstad (0.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Boutique Hotel 'T Klooster?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Boutique Hotel 'T Klooster?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a desk.
What food & drink options are available at Boutique Hotel 'T Klooster?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Boutique Hotel 'T Klooster?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Boutique Hotel 'T Klooster?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Wine Cellar, Sal The Kitchen, and Kome.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Boutique Hotel 'T Klooster?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Boutique Hotel 'T Klooster?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Boutique Hotel 'T Klooster?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, and Dutch.
Are there any historical sites close to Boutique Hotel 'T Klooster?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Fort Nassau (1.3 km), Fort Beekenburg (7.7 km), and Fort Amsterdam (1.0 km).
All Willemstad HotelsWillemstad Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in Willemstad
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars