We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Fort Young Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Fort Young Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

791 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Fort Young Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 677: English reviews
Bridgetown, Barbados
Reviewed 16 May 2016

The hotel has rustic a charm and since I only spent one night, I did not have a chance to really experience the property fully. However the staff provided good service and the room was clean. I had to request a converter for the electrical outlet because it was 220V. The door on the closet was not working properly and...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Kevin L
FortYoungHotel, General Manager at Fort Young Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Kevin We thank you for choosing the Fort Young Hotel and thank you for your feedback. We appreciate your positive comments in regards to the service and we thank you for mentioning the areas where we did not meet your expectations. We are quite disappointed and wished we had the opportunity to fix them during your stay with us....

Miami
Reviewed 9 May 2016

Ok hotel in the capital. It's a great location, good for meeting but front desk staff not very responsive. Had to escalate a request for a converter for a computer cord.. Bathrooms need updating. Toilets leaked, shower was minimal.. Room windows allow in insects, mosquitos..

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
3Thank janetzt
FortYoungHotel, General Manager at Fort Young Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Janet We thank you for choosing the Fort Young Hotel for your stay in Dominica. We do appreciate your feedback and are totally disappointed that we were unable to meet your expectations. I am now investigating what went wrong in regards to the converter for your computer to ensure that something like this does not occur again. In regards...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 May 2016

All the staff - bar none - are very friendly and helpful, but the star of the show is Sonia at the tour desk. She will arrange group or individual tours to all of the many attractions on the island - her brother Martin is a very good driver and a "raconteur par excellence". As other posters have said, the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Berbician
Guadeloupe, Caribbean
Reviewed 4 May 2016

A pleasant ambience at Fort Young Hotel, near markets and seaport of Roseau. Thanks to the staff (Courtesy of Alberts a restaurant server, Elise to the yoga, Kanrauwn the bartender ...) and, you ladies managers Richards and James. See you very soon !

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank elodie940
Lyon, France
Reviewed 30 April 2016

Enter Strong Youg Hotel. Sit you in the room of the bar. Taste one of the excellent cocktails prepared by the barman for your request. Make up then a meal thanks to the choice varied of the card. And cross an unforgettable moment...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank FABRE69
Ottawa, Canada
Reviewed 30 April 2016

I enjoyed the food and atmosphere in the bar and especially the restaurant. The room was pretty bad. The toilet ran on and on, the counter was cracked and splitting, the shower was dingy and the locks were flimsy and not secure ( no chain to reinfore door). There was no room to work and the television reception. Was poor....

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Maureen T
West Sussex, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 April 2016

I stayed at the hotel for 3 nights. The staff were very helpful and for my needs and was perfectly located. Its a large hotel with many levels but has a lovely charm and lots of history. The bar area is well serviced and plenty of variety with the food menu.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank G1292FRdavidc
Bedford Park
Reviewed 28 April 2016

there was no light in the shower, the shower faucet was difficult to maneuver, so i had to bathe in very hot water. I had to follow a guest to get to the breakfast area, bacon was hard, coffee was not hot.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
2Thank R4422UQchristinel
FortYoungHotel, General Manager at Fort Young Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Client, We would like to thank you for your valuable feedback. We thank you for pointing out the areas where we did not meet your expectations. We are extremely disappointed that this happened and we have now taken the relevant actions to fix the issues that you have mentioned. We hope we have the opportunity to serve you again...

North Carolina
Reviewed 27 April 2016

We picked this place due to Buddy Dive (Bonaire) setting up a dive operation here. We had a wonderful time! The diving was great and reefs were in wonderful shape. We enjoyed meals at the hotel as well as in the town. We also did a lot of sight seeing! The falls, Fort Shirley, rain forest, Indian River, hot springs...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank DivaDiverDan
FortYoungHotel, General Manager at Fort Young Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Diva DiverDan Thank you for choosing the Fort Young Hotel and your Buddies on Dominica. We are delighted to hear you had a wonderful experience and enjoyed the great variety of marine life and natural wonders here on the Island. It means a lot to all the staff to hear that you had a great time. We will look...

South Hampton
Reviewed 26 April 2016

The hotel is well maintained and has attractive landscaping throughout the property. We received a coupon for a complimentary house beverage upon arrival and it was very much appreciated after having a long hot morning. The rooms are well kept and cozy. The pool was a refreshing treat and we enjoyed our swim. I was looking forward to a delicious...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank MayGoEZ

441 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (394)
Viewed
Room/Suite (43)
Viewed
View from Room (44)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (36)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (89)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (22)
Viewed
Dining (22)
Viewed
2:24
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (133)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (47)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (30)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Roseau
29.4 km away
Secret Bay
Secret Bay
#1 of 4 in Portsmouth
471 reviews
31.7 km away
Pagua Bay House Oceanfront Cabanas
29.7 km away
The Champs, Hotel, Restaurant & Bar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 km away
Castle Comfort Dive Lodge
1.6 km away
Anchorage Hotel & Dive Center
15.9 km away
The Tamarind Tree Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Spa
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
  • Spa
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
First built in 1699, the Fort Young has been at the heart of Dominica's story for several hundred years. Travellers from across the globe have stayed within our walls from the very beginning, all sharing the same breath-taking setting that our guests do today. Today our site on the capital's main quay is still the focal point of the capital city, with the main market and ferry port connecting island hoppers to neighbouring islands just a minute's walk from our entrance. The Fort Young Hotel is a 3 star property with historical ambience and the most recognized name in quality hospitality services in Dominica The Fort Young marries traditional elegance with breath taking views of the ocean. Our 71 guest rooms and suites are ideal for both business and leisure travellers. All rooms are fully air-conditioned, with free wi-fi throughout and all feature a terrace or balcony offering the most dramatic sea and sunset views imaginable. The Fort Young is perfectly situated to discover all this island's treasures. You can dive or go whale watching directly from our jetty. Hike the rainforests and waterfalls that stretch up behind our hotel.     Whatever you desire to do, Fort Young is The Key to Dominica ... more   less 

Additional Information about Fort Young Hotel

Address: Victoria Street | P.O. Box 519, Roseau, Dominica
Region: Caribbean > Dominica > Saint George Parish > Roseau
Price Range: $196 - $352 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Fort Young Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 71
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Fort Young Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Fort Young
Fort Young Roseau
Fort Young Hotel Dominica/Roseau
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Fort Young Hotel staff and other travellers.
13 questions
Ask a question
Cambridge, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (13)

Questions? Get answers from Fort Young Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Make sure you get an ocean-view room”
 of 5 bubbles K3NZ, 24 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Spring for the ocean view rooms near the water. The ones toward the back, you can hear street parties at night.”
 of 5 bubbles AlexL681, 22 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Deluxe ocean view are larger ando have a fabulous view”
 of 5 bubbles austint327, 13 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Choose a room overlooking the harbor”
 of 5 bubbles AlliecatOOB, 6 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Don't accept any room with a 500 number especially 501.”
 of 5 bubbles JaneE604, 1 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5