We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hodelpa Nicolas de Ovando

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Hodelpa Nicolas de Ovando
Hodelpa Nicolas de Ovando
Panoramas (85)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

759 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Hodelpa Nicolas de Ovando
See the most recent reviews
Showing 424: English reviews
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewed 29 May 2012

The entire experience at the hotel was a pleasure. I was traveling to Santo Domingo for business and sick of the usual Hilton or Marriott choices. This hotel is something special - built in a century old building, the rooms feel unique and breath character. The service is impeccable - everyone went above and beyond to make me feel welcome....

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank FreqBusTraveller
Thomassimonnet, General Manager at Hodelpa Nicolas de Ovando, responded to this review

Is an honor for us that you took the time to express your comments about your stay at the Hostal Nicolas de Ovando. Thank you for give us the opportunity to show you that we have for you and the different that we are. It's not necessary to take extra bottles of water from breakfast, in case the guest wish...

Armstrong, Canada
Reviewed 18 May 2012

We stayed at the Nicolas for 4 nights and had a very pleasant experience. The colonial ambience gives you a feel for the surrounding buildings. The service was excellent and the room, though small, was clean and well appointed. The breakfast buffet was expensive but fresh and tasty. Talk baseball to Francisco at the bar.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Sturdyart
Thomassimonnet, General Manager at Hodelpa Nicolas de Ovando, responded to this review

Is an honor for us that you took the time to express your comments about your stay at the Hostal Nicolas de Ovando. Our team is in constant training for the improvement of our services, is always a pleasure to receive positive feedbacks from our guests. Francisco and all of the team of the Hostal Nicolás de Ovando will receive...

Miami Beach
Reviewed 18 May 2012

My first room had non-functioning a/c -- i called the desk and was told it would be fixed in 30 minutes -- finally after 5 hours i called AGAIN and was told i could change rooms -- so after totally unpacking i had to repack and move to another room at 11pm -- very disappointing service -- also i had...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Bruce B
Thomassimonnet, General Manager at Hodelpa Nicolas de Ovando, responded to this review

Dear Guest, I appreciate the time you’re taking on comment about your stay at the Hostal Nicolas de Ovando. We will consider your comments bout the air conditioner in the room I confess you that I really surprise for this because it's not normal that something like this happen in the Hostal Nicolás de Ovando. I will check with the...

Helsinki, Finland
Reviewed 16 May 2012

I felt like I was at a castle with all the dark elements and bright colored walls, while staying at the hotel. The room we were staying at was nice, quite large, but seemed tiny bit too small with the huge bed taking over most of the space. The bathroom was pretty large as well. The staff of the hotel...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Olga K
Thomassimonnet, General Manager at Hodelpa Nicolas de Ovando, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Is an honor for us that you took the time to express your comments about your stay at the Hostal Nicolas de Ovando. Is always a pleasure to receive positive feedbacks from our guests. Our team is in constant training for the improvement of our services. In the hotel we have the restaurant La Residence where you can...

Memphis, Tennessee
Reviewed 11 May 2012

The great customer service started before we even arrived on the property.  We had our flight canceled the day of arrival, and I called nervously to the hotel. Miguel let me know that it wouldn't be any problem to move our reservation to the next day. Once we arrived at the airport, the driver was waiting as scheduled.  After a...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Eric J
Thomassimonnet, General Manager at Hodelpa Nicolas de Ovando, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your great comment. I guess it's wonderful how these little things make the difference between the Hostal Nicolás de Ovando and other hotels as you explained each detail that made your anniversary memorable and maybe you didn't know that we had the information about it. I like to tell you thanks for have chosen the...

San Francisco, California, USA
Reviewed 5 May 2012

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ambrose328
Thomassimonnet, General Manager at Hodelpa Nicolas de Ovando, responded to this review

Chicago, IL
Reviewed 3 May 2012

The location of this hotel can't be beat for its position near the end of the Conde, the street that has most of the shopping and cafes in the Colonial Zone. All of the common areas are beautifully designed to combine the old world elegance of the 16th century with upscale renovations. In order to save some money, we opted...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MER1
Thomassimonnet, General Manager at Hodelpa Nicolas de Ovando, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to express your comment about your stay in the Hostal Nicolás de Ovando. I felt very pleased when I read your words because you were satisfied. About your suggestion for the smell in the room, please if you can let me know which one was the room number, I need the information...

pap
Reviewed 30 April 2012

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank prophalab
Thomassimonnet, General Manager at Hodelpa Nicolas de Ovando, responded to this review

Miami, Florida
Reviewed 27 April 2012 via mobile

Beware of how this hotel billing policy. I booked my reservation through hotel website. Reservation was price was quoted in US Dollars and prepaid. Upon check-in, they confirmed pre-payment but asked me to sign two (2) credit card vouchers; one for website reservation and one for incidentals...subsequently, I found out that one of the vouchers an actual credit card authorization....

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Ralpphy R
Thomassimonnet, General Manager at Hodelpa Nicolas de Ovando, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to express your comments about your stay at the Hostal Nicolas de Ovando, we appreciate that you let us know your concerns about your stay with us. As explained you made a prepaid reservation. During the process the internet site confirm to you the validity of the payment, then within a few hours the hotel...

Santo Domingo
Reviewed 23 April 2012

I didn't stay at the hotel. I did however stop by for a quick meeting on a Sunday with some colleagues who I recommended they stay in the hotel. For my own selfish reason that consists of the hotels proximity to my home. After having a late breakfast meeting we sat and chatted for a while in a small bar...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Frecome
Thomassimonnet, General Manager at Hodelpa Nicolas de Ovando, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to express your comments about your visit at the Hostal Nicolas de Ovando. Is always a pleasure to receive positive feedbacks from our guests. The GM Mr. Thomas likes that the guests or clients of the hotel feel pleased, you could appreciate that. Our team will receive your positive words. I really appreciate your...

845 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (522)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (151)
Viewed
Room/Suite (67)
Viewed
Bathroom (14)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (29)
Viewed
View from Room (18)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Dining (27)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (212)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (256)
Viewed
Amenities (14)
Viewed
Colonial Deluxe (20)
Viewed
Colonial Room with Double Bed (23)
Viewed
Contemporary Room with One Double Bed (25)
Viewed
Contemporary Room with Two Single Beds (24)
Viewed
Junior Suite with One Double Bed (28)
Viewed
Pool (17)
Viewed
Dining (39)
Viewed
Suite (38)
Viewed
The Hotel (28)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (67)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (20)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Other (25)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santo Domingo hotels
0.4 km away
Boutique Hotel Palacio
Boutique Hotel Palacio
#14 of 79 in Santo Domingo
669 reviews
1.9 km away
Crowne Plaza Santo Domingo
Crowne Plaza Santo Domingo
#8 of 79 in Santo Domingo
858 reviews
6.2 km away
JW Marriott Hotel Santo Domingo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Billini Hotel
Billini Hotel
#19 of 79 in Santo Domingo
212 reviews
2.3 km away
Renaissance Santo Domingo Jaragua Hotel & Casino
0.6 km away
Casas del XVI
Casas del XVI
#18 of 79 in Santo Domingo
115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Spa
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
In the heart of the colonial quarter of Santo Domingo, set among remarkable buildings, stands the Hodelpa Nicolas de Ovando hotel, the former home of the Governor of the same name, a contemporary of Christopher Colombus. Built on the first paved street of the New World, where beautiful Spanish ladies strolled to display their rich costumes, the hotel's guests will enjoy an outstanding stay in a unique place where the stones, patios and fountains will take you back in time. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hodelpa Nicolas de Ovando

Address: Calle Las Damas, Santo Domingo 10100, Dominican Republic
Region: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Santo Domingo Province > Santo Domingo > Zona Colonial
Price Range: $209 - $298 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hodelpa Nicolas de Ovando 4*
Number of rooms: 104
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Priceline, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hodelpa Nicolas de Ovando reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal Nicolas De Ovando-Mgallery Hotel Santo Domingo
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Santo Domingo
#5 Spa Hotel in Santo Domingo
#8 Family Hotel in Santo Domingo
#9 Business Hotel in Santo Domingo
#9 Luxury Hotel in Santo Domingo
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hodelpa Nicolas de Ovando staff and other travellers.
12 questions
Ask a question
Boston, Massachusetts
over a year ago
New York City, New York
over a year ago

See all questions (12)

Questions? Get answers from Hodelpa Nicolas de Ovando staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for an UPSTAIRS room either near pool, or near restaurant, based on preference.”
sarahhL288YY, 18 Mar 2017 | Read review
“I liked the second floor river-view, but it is possible the courtyard rooms are quiter at night.”
, 15 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a room with a view of the river.”
PaulineB271, 2 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Old Santo Domingo Hotel”
343alejandroh, 29 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Likely any room will do.”
TorontoGuy18, 22 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5