We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Tropical at Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Tropical at Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

4,546 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Tropical at Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort
See the most recent reviews
Showing 4,225: English reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago

Not too keen on not having a enclosed shower so the floor got soaked. The room was just okay nothing to write home about. The lighting was hard to find. The air conditioning was good though. Loved the beach though and the shows and the spa.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank cherie h
The Management T, Manager at The Tropical at Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort, responded to this review

Dear guest Cherie, Thank you for your nice comments. It was our pleasure to host you at The Tropical at Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort Puerto Plata and we look forward to welcoming you back for another unforgettable vacation. Sunny regards, The Management

Bronx, New York
Reviewed 1 week ago

I booked a 5 day vacation through Cheapcarribean.com to Puerto Plata and paid almost 5 grand which was totally not worth the trip. The resort we stayed at was called The Tropical Lifestyle Holidays Resort & Spa, which was a complete mess...for starters the hotel room beds were not very comfy, they gave my husband a back ache which he...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Lifewith J
The Management T, Manager at The Tropical at Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort, responded to this review

Dear guest, We appreciate the time that you disposed to share your valuable feedback with us. It is clear that our customers are the most important, thence their reviews also are. We sincerely regret for haven’t met your expectations. You can be sure that your observations have been treated with the utmost interest; as it is the best way to...

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Beach and drinks were really good. Hotel and restaurants were not. I feel really sorry if somebody took better hotel and had the same restaurants as we did. You can pay 500$ per day and still have access only to crappy restaurants. There are definitely better rooms in the resort. Rooms in Tropical are the worst. Humidity in the room...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Łukasz P
The Management T, Manager at The Tropical at Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort, responded to this review

Dear guest, First of all we thank you for choosing The Tropical at Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort for your holidays and for the time you took to share your review with the TripAdvisor community. We would like to apologize for any inconveniences that you may have experienced; we sincerely regret that on this occasion we were not able to fully...

New York City, New York
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

This resort was huge and all over the place. The men standing out of the Casablanca buffet are a waste of time; don't even bother falling into their schemes. The restaurants were average and the buffet could use a bit more variety. The entertainment staff at the pool was awesome. The evening shows were boring and could be better. A...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank socinso
The Management T, Manager at The Tropical at Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you for choosing The Tropical at Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort Puerto Plata for your holidays. In the name of our entire staff, we want to thank you for taking time to share your review with us. We take all guest feedback very seriously because we want improve with you, and we're constantly changing all aspects of our...

Plainfield, Connecticut
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

There was way to many places yu couldn't enter because it was only for there shareholders. No place to sit back and relax all you had was a few bar stools or a bed on the make believe beach. Way to many stairs. Did not like the open air restaurants with the birds flying in and out and hanging around...

Review collected in partnership with Armed Forces Vacation Club
 Report
Helpful?
Thank poorchoice2017
The Management T, Manager at The Tropical at Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort, responded to this review

Dear guest, First of all we thank you for choosing our hotel The Tropical at Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort for your holidays and for the time you took to share your review with the TripAdvisor community. We really respect your opinions but you have to be aware that in all the resorts which have Vacation Clubs there are set some...

West Conshohocken, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We were at Lifestyles for 4 nights. I have traveled a lot, used to work for Apple Vacations. We stayed in the Tropical. The rooms were a 2.5 maybe a 3. They were clean but outdated and being 5 foot I had trouble with the shower head let along if you were 6 foot! Only hot water came out of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kate G
The Management T, Manager at The Tropical at Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort, responded to this review

Dear guest Kate, Thank you for choosing The Tropical at Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort Puerto Plata for your holidays. In the name of our entire staff, we want to thank you for taking time to share your review with us. We take all guest feedback very seriously because we want improve with you, and we're constantly changing all aspects of...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I visited this resort with my family. We had a very nice time. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. They were always willing to help. The resort was clean with lots to do. The animation staff were so much fun, they always had something for us to do. MANNY was very friendly and a lot of fun. We thoroughly...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kimberly P
The Management T, Manager at The Tropical at Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort, responded to this review

Dear guest, The nice notes like the one you kindly posted about our staff member Manny, are very appreciated by us. All of our employees are very motivated by comments like this. We will share your nice comments with him and the rest of the team. Thank you so much for taking some time to express your impressions during your...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My trip here was simply amazing the staff at the hotel was so kind it really made my stay there unforgettable. But the best part was the animation team it was so entertaining especially Many you have to go talk to him he's so funny.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cindy B
The Management T, Manager at The Tropical at Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort, responded to this review

Dear guest Cindy, Thank you for posting such a nice review on TripAdvisor!! It is a pleasure for us that our guests enjoyed our facilities out it most and that the efforts made by the staff on providing the highest level of service possible is appreciated and rewarded with such kind words. Thank you so much! Rest assured that your...

Norwalk, Connecticut
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Vacation with two little kids ( 2 and 1 years old) is always challenging wherever you go! But I would love to compliment the Tropical resort for its food selection, one could find absolutely any type of cuisine - American, Italian, Hispanic, Asian etc. GREAT FOOD and BEVERAGE service!!! Most of the restaurant staff was very welcoming, friendly and accommodating...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank KaterynaDeLos
The Management T, Manager at The Tropical at Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort, responded to this review

Dear guest Kateryna, We are delighted to hear that you were pleased with our facilities, food and A la Carta Restaurants. We are really grateful that you share in TripAdvisor your opinions regarding your vacations with us!! Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to be able to welcome you back. Warmest Regards The Management

New Jersey
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

This is my 5th trip to lifestyles. I am happy to say that it gets better with each visit. All the staff is welcoming and friendly! Especially Manny from the animation team ! He always has a smile on his face keeping all the guests happy. He made my trip with my son a great time. He kept us busy...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank AmyRiv
The Management T, Manager at The Tropical at Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you for having chosen again The Tropical at Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort as your host and for sharing your experience with us through this website. We really appreciate our repeaters clients!! It was a pleasure having you and we are grateful that you took the time to share your unforgettable experience with us and took the time...

4,056 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (3384)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (896)
Viewed
Dining (217)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (25)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (589)
Viewed
View from Room (91)
Viewed
Room/Suite (318)
Viewed
Bathroom (39)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
3:14
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (1204)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (655)
Viewed
Adult Pool (21)
Viewed
Amenities (81)
Viewed
Beach (69)
Viewed
Children's Pool (7)
Viewed
Children's Pool 2 (4)
Viewed
Children's Pool 3 (3)
Viewed
Pool (61)
Viewed
Pool 2 (17)
Viewed
Dining (133)
Viewed
Standard Room with King Bed (79)
Viewed
Suite with King Bed (146)
Viewed
The Hotel (25)
Viewed
VIP Beach Pools (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (17)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Plata hotels
0.5 km away
Cofresi Palm Beach & Spa Resort
8.6 km away
Be Live Collection Marien
Be Live Collection Marien
#9 of 41 in Puerto Plata
3,412 reviews
10.6 km away
Sunscape Puerto Plata Dominican Republic
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.6 km away
VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort
VH Gran Ventana Beach Resort
#4 of 41 in Puerto Plata
5,323 reviews
10.7 km away
BlueBay Villas Doradas Adults Only
8.7 km away
Iberostar Costa Dorada
Iberostar Costa Dorada
#2 of 41 in Puerto Plata
6,809 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Beachfront
  • Free Parking
  • Spa
About the property
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Spa
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Set within the sprawling Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort, The Tropical offers a classic hotel vacation experience set within quaint, two- and threestory, Mediterranean-style buildings. The mood is laid-back and distinctively Caribbean. Guest enjoy all resort facilities and amenities (excluding the V.I.P areas) including swimming pools, a choice of excellent restaurants, exercise rooms, tennis courts, windsurfing and so much more. The Lifestyle Tropical is Ideal for couples seeking a private island hide-away with all the advantages of a world-class resort. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Tropical at Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort

Address: Columbus Torre 1 | Playa Cofresi, Puerto Plata 57000, Dominican Republic (Formerly Lifestyle Tropical Beach Resort & Spa)
Region: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Puerto Plata Province > Puerto Plata
Price Range: $123 - $282 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Tropical at Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 282
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Groupon, Priceline, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, BookIt.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your The Tropical at Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lifestyle Tropical Beach Resort And Spa
Lifestyle Tropical Beach Hotel Puerto Plata
Lifestyle Tropical Beach Resort Spa
Hacienda Tropical
Hotel Lifestyle Tropical Beach
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Puerto Plata
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Plata
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Plata
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Tropical at Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort staff and other travellers.
441 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (441)

Questions? Get answers from The Tropical at Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The TV in the room was not working very well, but I didn't watch it much anyway.”
AlexeyPronin, 23 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Definitely the first floor room”
charlxtte_2000, 21 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Update and clean!!!!!”
DeniseR990, 20 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Working toilet would be a start. Had constant trouble with the toilet not flushing ”
415shaim, 20 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Prenez les chambres dans la section Cofretsi et non Tropical. Il y a une énorme différence de qualité pour un écart petit.”
601anastasiyam, 1 Apr 2017 | Read review
5 of 5