We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana

Certificate of Excellence
29/06/2017 30/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Professional photos
Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

6,705 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana
See the most recent reviews
Showing 4,390: English reviews
Reviewed 26 April 2015 via mobile

The good: the beach is absolutely beautiful and the rooms are furnished nicely. That is all. The bad: cockroaches in the rooms, horrible food, inefficient reservation system for a la carte restaurants, inflexible managers, boring night time entertainment options. I would absolutely never stay here again with so many other options in Punta Cana. I would recommend you explore your...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Adrian A
Viancagraciano, customer service at Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana, responded to this review

Dear Adrian, I would like to extend our most sincere apologies for the inconvenience you have experienced during your stay. We regret very much that we were not able to fulfill your expectations. Please be assured that your comments have been shared with the Management of our Resort to analyze the points you mentioned. Best regards, Vianca Graciano Bahia Principe...

Reviewed 25 April 2015

This resort is the largest resort I have ever been into to the point they have little shuttles running every few min to bring you anywhere around the resort (e.g Beach, Lobby, etc) The food was good, the staff was friendly and catering, the beach was clean and beautiful. The only thing that I was just a tad bit annoyed...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Alex Y
Viancagraciano, customer service at Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana, responded to this review

Dear Alex, We thank you for taking the time of sharing your opinion with us which we will take in the highest consideration, and for highlighting our good food, friendly staff, clean and beautiful beach. We would like to have the opportunity to welcome you once again to experience the hospitality of our people, the quality of our services and...

Foxboro, Massachusetts
Reviewed 25 April 2015

This was my first experience vacationing to the Dominican Republic and also my first all inclusive. If you can get past the frustrations of check-in, the language barrier and the fact that the room that you booked you most likely are NOT getting, then you will have a great time! Long story short, when we booked our trip we were...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank LeeAnn P
Viancagraciano, customer service at Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana, responded to this review

Dear LeeAn, We greatly appreciate that you have chosen our hotel for your first experience at Dominican Republic. It is an honor to read that we exceeded all your expectations. Your opinion represents a challenge, an opportunity to improve our services, and maintain the magic that makes our dear customers choose for their holiday destination this paradise called Punta Cana....

Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 25 April 2015

We stayed at the Grand Bahia Principe in late December 2013. It was a family trip with our three adult children. The resort was enormous and it took far too long to navigate from the main lobby building where we ate many meals to the beach and pools. There were trams running all the time but they were crowded, noisy...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank David A
Viancagraciano, customer service at Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana, responded to this review

Dear David, We are really sorry for not being able to fulfill your expectations with our services during your first time in Dominican Republic. Concerning the lack of service you mentioned, please allow us to inform you that your point of view has quite surprised us, since it is not normal that we receive those kinds of remarks from our...

New York City, New York
Reviewed 24 April 2015

Please do not book this hotel. We stayed 4 nights last week and it was one of the worst experience I've had traveling. It was my sister's birthday and she regretted this trip; we could have stayed home and enjoyed ourselves Food- bland and tasteless. It made me and my sister physically ill literally. We were on the toilet several...

 Report
Helpful?
6Thank titi12341
Viancagraciano, customer service at Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana, responded to this review

Dear guest, I would like to inform you that we train all our staff under the standards of ethics and respect for the service under which we established the company. We regret that you did not like our food and drinks concept, you comments have been transfer to the Food and Beverage Management. We offer our sincere apologies for the...

Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 24 April 2015

We went to Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana Golden suites March 29th for 1 week. We were a group of 11 people ages 7 to 72. Overall the resort is nice. Beautiful landscaping but very huge property. They have trams all day long so its easy getting around. We upgraded to golden suites which was great since it was close...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Lidia M
Viancagraciano, customer service at Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana, responded to this review

Dear Lidia, We thank you for taking the time of sharing your opinion which we will take in the highest consideration. It is indeed with great regret to learn that we could not reach your expectations during your vacation, and we deeply sorry for the inconvenience that you have passed though. Thank you for highlighting the amazing weather, great bartenders...

Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewed 24 April 2015

Yes, as previously stated by others, this is a BIG resort with LOTS of people. However, we did find it quite enjoyable overall. We took the advice from others and "up-graded" to the Golden Club to get a room closer to the beach and be allowed a 4th restaurant option. Upon arrival, we checked in at a separate "golden club"...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Susan A
Viancagraciano, customer service at Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana, responded to this review

Dear Susan, We would like to thank you for bringing to our attention your comments about your stay in our Hotel. It is through communications of this nature that our customers give us an opportunity to assess and evaluate our performance, as well as to ensure that we maintain and deliver the level of service expected from us. Please allow...

Reviewed 24 April 2015

Upon arrival, the front desk attendant was very helpful and did provide us with rooms close to beach and pool. When we arrived to our rooms, they were adequate. The rooms smell musty and your clothes will when you leave as well. The mini bar is suppose to be stocked, but long and behold apparently water is a thing of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Karla D
Viancagraciano, customer service at Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana, responded to this review

Dear Karla, I would like to thank you for bringing to our attention your comments about your stay in our Hotel, which we will take in the highest consideration. We sincerely appreciate all feedback as it enables us to continue improving our services for our guests and we feel sad because you felt you did not received the service you...

Reviewed 23 April 2015 via mobile

Name: Guillermo Arbona Itinerary Number: 199459061807 Message: Dear Expedia: Our experience at Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana has been terrible/unacceptable for the following reasons: 1. On 03/30/15, we tried to contact the hotel via phone and email to coordinate our transportation from the airport to the hotel. As of today, no one has responded to our email, and the staff...

 Report
Helpful?
7Thank EmuugAhahahahh
Viancagraciano, customer service at Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana, responded to this review

Dear guest, I would like to let you know that we take our guests´ observations into great consideration with the aim to reinforce the quality of our services. We cannot tell you how sorry we are with the situations you have experience. We respect your opinion and I kindly inform you that if you need to send us a formal...

Montreal, Canada
Reviewed 23 April 2015

This is a beautiful hotel on a beautiful Beach but, with approximately 4200 rooms, it is too big for its own good. It takes almost 20 minutes of brisk walking to go from the lobby to the beach. There is an incredibly efficient bus system on the premises, but I spent way too much time in it to my taste....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Christian A
Viancagraciano, customer service at Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana, responded to this review

Dear Christian, We would like to state that the feedback expressed by our clients is our top priority and our main goal is to offer a service at all times according to your expectations. We are sorry that the above situations mentioned have tarnished your stay. We truly appreciate your feedback. We sincerely hope to have the opportunity to welcome...

6,091 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (5814)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1441)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1011)
Viewed
Room/Suite (478)
Viewed
Dining (407)
Viewed
View from Room (161)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (133)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (17)
Viewed
Bathroom (97)
Viewed
4:46
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (2068)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (254)
Viewed
Amenities (37)
Viewed
Beach (14)
Viewed
Junior Suite (PRE-RENOVATION) (30)
Viewed
Pool (13)
Viewed
Pool1 (19)
Viewed
Pool2 (14)
Viewed
Pool3 (6)
Viewed
Dining (40)
Viewed
The Hotel (81)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (23)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (20)
29/06/2017 30/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Punta Cana
26.1 km away
AlSol Tiara Cap Cana
AlSol Tiara Cap Cana
#24 of 111 in Punta Cana
1,713 reviews
29.4 km away
Alsol Del Mar
Alsol Del Mar
#46 of 111 in Punta Cana
935 reviews
14.3 km away
Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro
Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro
#59 of 111 in Punta Cana
10,251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Grand Bahia Principe Turquesa
Grand Bahia Principe Turquesa
#60 of 111 in Punta Cana
2,105 reviews
2.8 km away
VIK Hotel Cayena Beach
VIK Hotel Cayena Beach
#80 of 111 in Punta Cana
327 reviews
83.4 km away
Grand Bahia Principe La Romana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Beachfront
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Parking
  • Spa
About the property
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Tennis Court
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
  • Casino and Gambling
Room types
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Room Service
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Facilities and services 2 lake-style pools Jacuzzi Sun terraces Lounger, sun umbrella and towel service BAHIA SPA (additional charge) Sports facilities: gym, tennis court, multi-sports court Water activity centre Motorised sports (additional charge) WiFi access in the lobby (1h per day free of charge) and in rooms (additional charge) Meeting and convention room 1 buffet restaurant and 5 speciality restaurants Japanese restaurant 16 bars Wedding gazebo Punta Blanca Golf Club: 18 hole Punta Blanca Golf Club (additional charge) Pueblo Principe: Shopping and Leisure Mall with local craft stores, live music, shows, stores, bars, disco and casino Rooms 756 rooms including two types: Superior Junior Suite and Club Golden Junior Suite Room facilities: King size bed or two full size beds Fully-equipped bathroom with Jacuzzi, hair dryer and a full range of amenities Balcony or terrace Air conditioning Ceiling fan Telephone Satellite TV Coffee-making facilities Mini-bar Safe (additional charge) WiFi (additional charge) Club Golden Junior Suite (See page 18 Club Golden, Club Hacienda). Children Bahia Scouts The hotel is perfect for families, offering a range of facilities tailored especially for children, including the following: Children's pool Mini Club for children aged 4 to 12 Baby Station Bahia Scouts Water Park Fun Area and Adventure Park (additional charge) Teen's club Other Services 24 hour medical service (additional charge) Pharmacy (additional charge) WiFi in the lobby (1h per day free of charge) and in rooms (additional charge) Specialised service for organising weddings, incentive trips, events and anniversaries Personalised menus (for celiacs, diabetics, etc.) Available on request and subject to circumstances ... more   less 

Additional Information about Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana

Address: Crta. Arena Gorda, Punta Cana 9999, Dominican Republic
Region: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Price Range: $207 - $498 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana 4*
Number of rooms: 756
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Travelocity, Expedia, BP USA TRAVEL INC, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Bahia Principe Punta Cana Hotel Punta Cana
Punta Cana Gran Bahia Principe
Hotel Style:
#18 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
#24 Family Hotel in Punta Cana
#38 Casino Hotel in Punta Cana
#54 Luxury Hotel in Punta Cana
#54 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#55 Spa Hotel in Punta Cana
#57 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana staff and other travellers.
975 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (975)

Questions? Get answers from Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Book in the middle well away from the main road, beach, entertainment, bars and pool regions. Go top floor - worth the hike up the stairs.”
Spockyvision, 28 May 2017 | Read review
“Ask to be near pool down at beach”
Shirl20, 28 May 2017 | Read review
“If you have a big group try and get rooms next to each other, they often are connected by a small wooden door.”
TravelPhotos19, 22 May 2017 | Read review
“It is very resort. You have to like walking alot which we do. They have a bus that run 24=7 you can ride anywhere if you want”
15sandic, 20 May 2017 | Read review
“Esmeralda rooms were quieter, housekeeping threw out expensive items of mine and the hotel did not fully reimburse me.”
slc006, 20 May 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
No availability for your dates from these sites
Bookit.com
* /night
View Deal
TripAdvisor
Travelocity
Hotels.com
View all 11 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates