We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel Riu Naiboa

Playa Arena Gorda, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
Special Offer
Your first gift: 500 pts
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
More options
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Show Prices
Close 
  • Princess Tower Casino
    1.5 km
  • 3 star hotel
  • Free Wifi
Reviewed 4 days ago
An Excellent Choice All-Round
The Naiboa is the smallest of the 4 Riu Resorts here but I was... more
Add Photo Write a Review

2,896 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,078: English reviews
Sarnia, Canada
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

The Naiboa is the smallest of the 4 Riu Resorts here but I was completely satisfied with every aspect of the experience. Although a 4 star resort, I never felt like anything was inadequate. The food quality and variety was excellent...there is a no-reservation a-la- carte restaurant featuring Italian and Steak House. There's also a lunch/bar facility at the beach....

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Dave K
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Riu Naiboa meet and exceeded our expectations. We arrived and were greeted with a nice juice drink. There were no lines to check in and got all of our info very quickly. We went up to the room and got unpacked. The room had a musty smell at first but that quickly aired out after we opened the doors for...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Tyler S
Montgomery Village, Maryland
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is the third resort by Riu I have stayed at over the past three years and this resort has totally made me reconsider my opinion of Riu as a company that I can trust. We had a junior suite which was beautiful until you notice the ants which seem to come in from the balcony or appear on your...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Bluebutterflyz
RiuHotelsandResorts, Online Reputation Manager at Hotel Riu Naiboa, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you for choosing RIU Hotels and Resorts once again for your vacation. We are very disappointed to find that this time your experience did not live up to what you usually expect from us. As a global brand, we strive to maintain consistent levels of quality in our hotels throughout the world. We are committed to provide...

Praia do Rosa, Santa Catarina, Brazil
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The Riu Naiboa is a good mass hotel, with correct services, correct instalations but, as everything at Punta Cana, so much crowdy to be agreable. Is correct, nothing more than this. The "all inclusive" is a fake, because you can get a good scoth whisky, just those awful drinks mixing pineaple or mango smothies with white rum ...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Rogério M
RiuHotelsandResorts, Online Reputation Manager at Hotel Riu Naiboa, responded to this review

Dear guest, Many thanks for taking the time to give us such honest and detailed feedback. For us every comment is helpful in improving the hotel’s services and for ongoing and future staff training. We would like to clarify that upgrades and room requests are always subject to availability. However, our Front Desk team does its bests to satisfy and...

Calgary, Canada
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Not as bad as some of the reviews. Definitely feels like a mill - not much personal touch. Front desk staff were some of the worst I've ever encountered. Terrible sound system for entertainers - feel bad for them as they are actually quite talented and work very hard. Animation team is great. Excursions are a complete rip off. Rooms...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank clr62
RiuHotelsandResorts, Online Reputation Manager at Hotel Riu Naiboa, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback and for expressing your concerns. We are committed to provide excellent quality of our products and services to our guests. We regret to read that you have left our hotel with an opposite idea in your mind. We appreciate our guests’ comments since they help us improve...

Ontario, Canada
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I had been to this resort about 10 years ago and there have been changes to the Riu practice since then. You can no longer stay at this one and play at any of the rest of them We spent a week with a 9 and 12 year old and we had a great time. The new Water Park was...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank canttravelenough5
hamilton
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Just arrived from a week's stay the food was ok and the beach was nice I found the staff catered to the Spanish speaking people when I tipped them this made no difference they just looked at you. Won't go back. The hotel looks like it was renovated, I didn't like the fact that the door to your room was...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank HamiltonBoo
RiuHotelsandResorts, Online Reputation Manager at Hotel Riu Naiboa, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback and for expressing your concerns. We are committed to provide excellent quality of our products and services to our guests. We regret to read that you have left our hotel with an opposite idea in your mind. We appreciate our guests’ comments since they help us improve...

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

This resort has a musty smell. The lobby is small and the lobby washroom smells terrible. The rooms are very basic. The pool is nice but does not have a swim up bar. On the other hand, entertainment is great, and the music is always loud which is great for individuals seeking some fun in the resort. The beach is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Startraveler3
RiuHotelsandResorts, Online Reputation Manager at Hotel Riu Naiboa, responded to this review

Dear guest, Many thanks for taking the time to give us such honest and detailed feedback. We are committed to give all our guests a warm welcome from the moment they arrive at our resort. We regret that your stay at our hotel did not fulfil your conception in general. Our policy is to make every attempt to please and...

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This hotel deserves 4 stars. It is not a luxury property with elegant furniture and excellent service, however it is really nice place to stay. Food is good. It is impossible to be hungry there, everyone will find something: there is poultry, beef, some fish, seafood, Dominican local cuisine and international dishes such as for example fries. A la carte...

 Report
Helpful?
7Thank Aleksandra M
Newmarket, Canada
Reviewed 18 December 2016

Staff were always accommodating and greeted you with a smile and sometimes a song. The food in the buffet and al la cartes were excellent. The beach was fantastic as you could walk for miles each way. They have little shops along the way to the beach.

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Evelyn743

3,532 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (3047)
Viewed
View from Room (93)
Viewed
Room/Suite (215)
Viewed
Bathroom (50)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (804)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (353)
Viewed
Dining (195)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (55)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (8)
Viewed
2:49
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (1273)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (442)
Viewed
Amenities (103)
Viewed
Beach (61)
Viewed
Children's Pool (6)
Viewed
Pool (77)
Viewed
Dining (66)
Viewed
Standard Double Room (PRE-RENOVATION) (45)
Viewed
The Hotel (84)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (43)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (27)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Punta Cana hotels
28.6 km away
Alsol Del Mar
Alsol Del Mar
#41 of 110 in Punta Cana
872 reviews
25.2 km away
AlSol Tiara Cap Cana
AlSol Tiara Cap Cana
#20 of 110 in Punta Cana
1,496 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel Riu Palace Bavaro
Hotel Riu Palace Bavaro
#45 of 110 in Punta Cana
3,069 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 km away
VIK Hotel Cayena Beach
VIK Hotel Cayena Beach
#78 of 110 in Punta Cana
320 reviews
0.3 km away
Iberostar Dominicana Hotel
4.1 km away
Grand Palladium Palace Resort Spa & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Breakfast included
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
* Located in Punta Cana * Inside the Riu Resort, along with the Riu Palace Punta Cana, Riu Palace Macao, Riu Palace Bavaro and the ClubHotel Riu Bambu * The Splash Water World will be opened from 1st November 2016 * Separated from the beach by just the Riu Palace Bavaro * Complimentary sun loungers on the beach * 4-story building * Surrounded by 20,000 m2 / 24,000 sq. yards of tropical gardens * 50 km / 31 miles from Hig'ey * 150 m / 495 ft. from Caribbean Street * 30 km / 19 miles from Punta Cana Int'l. Airport * Credit cards accepted: Visa, MasterCard, Amex, Diners ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Naiboa

Address: Playa Arena Gorda, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
Region: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Price Range: $172 - $296 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Riu Naiboa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 362
Also Known As:
Riu Naiboa Punta Cana
Hotel Style:
#9 Best Value Hotel in Punta Cana
#63 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#67 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel Riu Naiboa staff and other travellers.
187 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (187)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel Riu Naiboa staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Pool side of the resort is best for view.”
 of 5 bubbles davekC2124XQ, 20 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Pool side rooms are VERY loud in evening until entrainment ends.”
 of 5 bubbles clr62, 3 Jan 2017 | Read review
“We faced the pool but it was above the bar that remains open all night. We kept the balcony door closed and the air conditioner on.”
  • from our 3rd floor patio
 of 5 bubbles canttravelenough5, 3 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Our room face the back which was nice but there was construction going for a waterpark.”
 of 5 bubbles Evelyn743, 18 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Upgrade wasn't worth the extra $500”
 of 5 bubbles marcb092016, 12 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5