We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Strawberry Hill

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Strawberry Hill
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

303 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 281: English reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago

This is an amazing location, views to die for, lovely comfortable slightly quaint cottages to stay in perched on a mountain top overlooking Kingston. A fascinating room to view all of Chris Blackwell's stunning gold and platinum record awards and full of wonderful photographic portraits of the music world. Staff were all excellent, very friendly, obliging and keen to please....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nigel B
Kingston, Jamaica
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Great view with lush plants and flowers dotted all around the property. Very relaxing and with the fresh air you feel that you are much more alive than on the plains of Kingston. Good escape from the hustle and bustle of the daily grind if you can get away for an afternoon or preferably a day or two. You get...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank SweetandSourforever
Adriana V, General Manager at Strawberry Hill, responded to this review

Dear SweetandSourforever, You are right, just a short drive will take you to a completely different world; with lots of clean mountain air and beautiful nature all around. Come any time you want to escape the busy city! We value the privacy and relaxation time of our in-house guests, and that is why access to the pool side is restricted...

Mississauga, Ontario
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

This is my second time staying at the Strawberry Hill Resort. The property is lush and well manicured, and the views are absolutely spectacular, especially at nights when the city glimmers below! The rooms are beautifully adorned, clean, and modern! We stayed at T4, and had views of the hills as well as the city. Beds were super comfy! The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank scarlej
Adriana V, General Manager at Strawberry Hill, responded to this review

Dear scarlej, It is lovely to know that you enjoyed your second stay with us. We feel happy and proud to hear that we achieved our goal! Thank you for letting us know that your experience was memorable, and thank you for choosing us to spend your vacation time. We hope to see you again when you visit Jamaica next....

Ottawa, Canada
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

While on business, we decided to take the 30 minute drive (by taxi) up to Strawberry Hill from New Kingston. Was it ever worth it. (Brace yourself for tight, winding mountain roads). Once you pass through the unassuming fence door, you walk up stone steps to a breezy, colonial-style, mansion-like structure with an easy elegance that draws you in. Enjoy...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank IrmaNova
Adriana V, General Manager at Strawberry Hill, responded to this review

Dear IrmaNova, I am sure other readers will enjoy your beautiful description as much as we did! Thank you for sharing your experience, it makes our day to know that your visit was great. Come back to visit when you are in Kingston next, it is lovely having guests returning to enjoy our place and hospitality. One love, Adriana &...

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed here in July 2016 after 4 days in Jamaica Inn in Ocho Rios. The drive up to the property from Kingston was scenic and our experience at check-in was pleasant. We stayed in the 1 bedroom villa which really was magnificant - outdoor shower area, gazebo and far-reaching views from the panoramic balconies. The whole preoperty has an...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ali K
Adriana V, General Manager at Strawberry Hill, responded to this review

Dear Ali K, It is great to hear that you enjoyed beautiful Strawberry Hill, its surroundings and history. The tours with Ricky are definitely 5 star and our guests enjoy his knowledge of the area, birds, plants, fruits and most importantly, his gentle demeanor. We are very pleased that it was a great experience for you as well. Our guests...

Santa Cruz, California
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Such a nice setting but after traveling through Jamaica, wow the service was bad. That wouldn't bother me but at this price point that is a problem! I've stayed at plenty of nice places and have never experienced the cold shoulder like at this spot. The staff, exp the staff at the overpriced restaurant, are cold to the point of...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank RasRenee
Adriana V, General Manager at Strawberry Hill, responded to this review

RasRenee, We are sorry to hear that your experience with us was not a positive one. We appreciate our guests’ patronage and do our best to make their visit a memorable one; it is evident that we did not achieve this goal with you. We remember you and your guests and we know that we did try to please you,...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Absolutely stunning location - high in the hills above Kingston with fantastic views of the city and the hills. The room and facilities in the room are great. The gardens are beautiful and well kept. Staff seem efficient and pleasant. We would highly recommend one of the guided walks in the area - the Rasta guide was lovely and very...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SWHN16
Adriana V, General Manager at Strawberry Hill, responded to this review

Dear SWHN16, Thank you for letting us and other readers know about your great experience, we are pleased to know that you enjoyed your time at Strawberry Hill. The Gordon Town Trail hike is very popular and it is the perfect opportunity to explore the local area and see the beautiful country side and its residents. Listening to our guests’...

Chicago, Illinois
Reviewed 11 January 2017 via mobile

We stayed for 2 nights which I think is enough for this hotel. The views are amazing, food was expensive but decent, not extraordinary, service was slow but the views compensated. Breakfast was extremely austere for the expensive room, more like a hostel breakfast, just some bread and pastries, no protein, we had to order more food. Also, we were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bella134
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 January 2017 via mobile

The setting and views are extraordinary, and the rooms and main buildings are beautifully simple and melt into the landscape. It is a great place to relax and enjoy the view. We also did some hiking in the local area, we didn't make time to climb The Peak but those who did said it was worth the early start. There...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank PGlovebox
Adriana V, General Manager at Strawberry Hill, responded to this review

Dear PGlovebox, We trust that your visit was relaxing and enjoyable, and that you left Strawberry Hill feeling renewed. During the holidays season and in periods of high occupancy we offer buffet for the continental breakfast included in the room rate; this is done in an effort to reduce the wait time and facilitate for our guests a timely start...

Reviewed 6 January 2017 via mobile

I will write the main part in english..for germans ist die deutsche Bewertung vom 6. November ebenso aussagekräftig. Generally location is outstanding, service and rooms okay but especially in the relation to the price it is fully overpriced!!! We stayed for 5 nights with a king of the hill booking. Main part of the hotel had to be paid upfront....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jörg S
Adriana V, General Manager at Strawberry Hill, responded to this review

Dear Jorg S. Thank you for choosing Strawberry Hill to spend your Honeymoon! We are sorry about the delivery of your amenities not being done timely; however, we hope that you did enjoy them. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed our grounds and setting, as well as our hospitality. However, we regret to hear that you did not...

1,223 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (368)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (36)
Viewed
View from Room (30)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (54)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (84)
Viewed
Dining (44)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
Other (106)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (824)
Viewed
Amenities (117)
Viewed
Birdshill One Bedroom Deluxe Villa (144)
Viewed
Cedar Studio (70)
Viewed
Highgate Two-Bedroom Villa (189)
Viewed
Plunge Pool (20)
Viewed
Pool (58)
Viewed
Dining (65)
Viewed
The Hotel (96)
Viewed
Timbuk 2 Standard One-Bedroom Suite (65)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (31)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kingston
7.7 km away
The Spanish Court Hotel
The Spanish Court Hotel
#1 of 25 in Kingston
771 reviews
7.8 km away
Terra Nova All Suite Hotel
8.6 km away
Courtyard Kingston, Jamaica
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 km away
The Courtleigh Hotel and Suites
36.5 km away
Geejam
Geejam
#1 of 16 in Port Antonio
439 reviews
8.5 km away
The Jamaica Pegasus Hotel
The Jamaica Pegasus Hotel
#7 of 25 in Kingston
469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Breakfast included
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Breakfast included
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Banquet Room
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Strawberry Hill Hotel, Spa & Gardens, a 26-acre mountain top resort, is located in the heart of one of the world's most famous coffee-producing mountain ranges, Jamaica's Blue Mountains. Listed in the New York Times #1 bestselling book, 1,000 Places To See Before You Die, Strawberry Hill is 3100 feet above sea level and features one of the most awe-inspiring views of the Blue Mountains in one direction as well as the city of Kingston in the other. On a clear day, one can see up to 100 miles from the property's infinity-edge pool, and at night the city far below becomes a twinkling mirror of the night sky. The property's 12 Georgian-style cottages, spa, exotic gardens and restaurant offerings underwent an extensive refurbishment in October 2011. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Strawberry Hill

Address: New Castle Road, Kingston, Jamaica
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Kingston Parish > Kingston
Price Range: $456 - $903 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Strawberry Hill 4.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Strawberry Hill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Strawberry Hill Irish Town
Strawberry Hill Jamaica/Kingston
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Kingston
#4 Luxury Hotel in Kingston
#4 Business Hotel in Kingston
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Strawberry Hill staff and other travellers.
13 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (13)

Questions? Get answers from Strawberry Hill staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Be aware that many cottages have steep & numerous steps leading to them.”
 of 5 bubbles Wayne_Cowan, 15 Nov 2016 | Read review
“We had the Gong cottage - Wonderful. About 40 odd steps up and down to it. Property in general hilly with steps.”
 of 5 bubbles BermudaBella, 24 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Although all of the cottages are gorgeous, I think the choicest one is the "Tree House".”
 of 5 bubbles johnsaje2010, 1 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Birdshill cottage has views to die for, full balcony, outdoor shower, full kitchen, and a covered gazebo facing the sunset.”
 of 5 bubbles SGNYC, 22 Jul 2016 | Read review
“All rooms are spectacular”
 of 5 bubbles brad_gioia, 23 Jun 2016 | Read review
5 of 5