Sandals Montego Bay
Traveller (10028)
Panorama at the Sandals Montego Bay
360
Panoramas (19)
Room & Suite (1969)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Did you already book this hotel?

About

4.5
#3 of 16 all-inclusives in Montego Bay
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.2 of 5 bubbles
Value
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Sandals Montego Bay is brimming with goodness. This resort embodies Caribbean all-inclusive excellence, earning the coveted title of ‘Jamaica’s Leading Resort’ for multiple years running. Get ready for days packed with adventure—this is where the swim-up bar concept first took off, a signature Sandals touch. Offering 7 standout restaurants, Sandals Montego Bay serves up authentic island flavors and irresistible indulgence. With the largest white sand beach on Jamaica’s north coast, you can soak up the scenery from your luxurious beachfront suite. Your stay here includes access to Sandals Resorts exchange privileges, giving you the chance to discover even more dining options and amenities at Sandals Royal Caribbean. For couples envisioning a dreamy wedding, look no further—the new wedding lounge boasts a beautifully appointed bridal suite, while the idyllic Overwater Chapel sets the stage for saying “I do”.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free internet
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Pool
Free breakfast
Beach
Diving
Free airport transportation
Business Centre with Internet Access
Wifi
Fitness classes
Sauna
Pool / beach towels
Adult pool
Outdoor pool
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary tea
Snack bar
Special diet menus
Wine / champagne
Swimup bar
Poolside bar
Snorkelling
Tennis court
Entertainment staff
Evening entertainment
Karaoke
Table tennis
Nightclub / DJ
Free shuttle or taxi services
Airport transportation
Shuttle bus service
Taxi service
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Foot massage
Full body massage
Head massage
Massage
Salon
Steam room
Adults only
Baggage storage
Concierge
Currency exchange
Gift shop
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun umbrellas
Butler service
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Private check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Room features
Private beach
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
VIP room facilities
Iron
Flatscreen TV
Laptop safe
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Luxury
Romantic
Hotel links
Special Offer:Sandals® Rhythm & Blues Caribbean Sale
4.5
4.5 of 5 bubbles8,814 reviews
Reviews summary
This summary was created by AI, based on recent reviews.
Powered by AI

Sandals Montego Bay garners accolades for its exceptional staff and spotless setting, nestled on a picturesque Jamaican beachfront near the Jerk Shack. While the vibrant atmosphere and live music provide a blend of tranquility and entertainment, some guests mention the hotel's amenities, including pool size and service, don't always meet expectations. Room experiences vary, with praise for views and upkeep clashing with concerns over readiness and maintenance. Despite its proximity to the airport, jet noise is cited as a manageable nuisance, though opinions on value for money are mixed, with some questioning the resort's pricing.
Location
Beachfront
Atmosphere
Lively
Rooms
Mixed
Value
Expensive
Cleanliness
Spotless
Noise level
Mixed
Service
Inconsistent
Amenities
Mixed

Was this helpful?
Tripadvisor is not responsible for this summary or the opinions in it. For more information, please read the traveller reviews and learn more about how the site works.
8,814Reviews779Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 5,886
  • 1,608
  • 695
  • 351
  • 275
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
closetjamaican wrote a review Feb 2023
Worcester, Massachusetts
Hotel's Favourite
5.0 of 5 bubbles
My husband and I have celebrated our anniversary at this resort 6 times in the past 7 years because we love this place.
I’d like to begin by thanking Mike McHugh from Dream Makers Vacation Services for his service assisting us with our reservation.
We had the best welcome upon arrival from the Loyalty Department. We were whisked through concierge and to our lovely oceanfront room in less than 10 mins. It really felt good to be recognized as loyal diamond Sandals members with 184 nights to date.
We are beach people and this place has a great one. We especially enjoy the warm sea and nice sandy beach. There is drink service on the beach by Peta-Gaye. Only drawback is a lack of alternative seating for people who have trouble getting on/off of the loungers.
We don’t use the pools so won’t comment on that.
Daytime events varied from beach trivia with Kevaun and Antony, volleyball, live music, and tie dye. Evening entertainment consisted of live music, games and broadway performances when guests could depend on Everton to assist with extra seating when someone was unable to sit on the low couches. He is such a humble and unassuming man.
The photographers were available to document memories but not intrusive. Thanks Christopher.
Housekeeping did a great job keeping our room clean and stocked with towels and supplies. Shereen W helped care for our room in the Almonds Building. Marcus kept our in room bar filled.
We found the food in the restaurants to be improved. We enjoyed the buffet at the Bayside and were greeted with the smiling face of Dalton. More than 40 years and he’s still among the most efficient employees. The waitstaff and the sweetest chef Gamalia were a pleasure.
Dinners were varied. We had no problem getting reservations for the 2 that required them. Remember that gentlemen are required to wear long pants and close toed shoes at those restaurants.
This resort has the highest number of returning guests with many of them diamond members. We will be back in the future to see the many Sandals friends we have met here but will be going to the new Sandals Dunn’s River in 2024.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Passenger566241 wrote a review Sep 2020
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We chose the Sandals Montego Bay in Jamaica for our Honeymoon and have absolutely no regrets! It was the perfect combination of romance, rest, and fun. Having never been to an all inclusive, we were told by many that Sandals was at the top. So we went big and got a great room at Sandals including a butler. We were very impressed! Going in the midst of a global pandemic brought on new challenges. However, the resort took everyone's safety seriously. I appreciated that all workers were required to wear masks (appropriately), they required and enforced the use of hand sanitizer before entering any restaurant or store, socially distanced people when dining, and had very thorough cleaning throughout the facility.
The butler service was a new realm for us. We ended up talking to another couple on the resort who were frequent flyers with butler rooms at Sandals. They told us it was all about communication and that the butlers were working for tips so would do whatever was asked. Our butler, Denesha, blew us out of the water! She anticipated our needs, sometimes even before we knew of them ourselves. She found us a great tiki covered spot on the beach each day, brought us new drinks to try throughout the morning, delivered us lunch on the beach, arranged for dinner reservations each night at all of the restaurants on the resort including another one at the Royal Caribbean Sandals, To bring romance, twice, she drew bubble baths with flowers and champagne in our room. Every time we saw her she was smiling, peppy, and eager to serve us. She made me smile with every interaction. We will be requesting her on our next visit!
The only negative we had on the trip was our tour. We decided to take the Mini Cooper trip down to Negril for $250 per person. It was a steep price, but we thought it was going to be the best way to see the country, experience the culture with a local meal, and see some favorite local spots. We were sadly disappointed in the value for our money. Basically it only covered the cost of driving a car down to Negril and lunch at Margaritaville. Not only is that restaurant in our home town in the USA, it also didn't serve true local fare. Strangely, our last stop was to a home cooked restaurant serving real local food where we had to pay extra for food. Not sure why they didn't serve us lunch there instead of the chain restaurant.
We're hooked on Sandals and have already booked our next trip for next year!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: August 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Shawn Redhead, Owner at Sandals Montego Bay
Responded Sep 6, 2020
Hello and thank you for sharing your review of Sandals Montego Bay. While we are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay overall, it is disheartening to see that there may have been some areas that you were not completely satisfied with. Your input is very important to us and assists us with perfecting our service and product. We remain dedicated to offering a service where we go above and beyond for our guests, ensuring that the memories attained will leave a smile on every face. Your review is greatly appreciated and we do hope that we will be welcoming you back to one of our resorts in the future.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
A lot to digest? Read an AI-generated summary of recent traveller reviews.
Lorog05 wrote a review Dec 2020
Kernersville, North Carolina
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Been coming annually to this resort for many years and it just keeps improving. The staff is better than ever. Food has improved in restaurants. If you are worried to come during the virus don't be. The staff keeps rooms and all the resort extremely clean, they always wear masks and sanitizers are everywhere and you must use them before going into restaurants and gift stores. Much safer than being in the US. It is the guests option to wear mask on resort. Most just social distanced with those outside their group. Would definitely leave tomorrow to go back if I could. Lamb chops at Butch's, salmon and penne ala carbonara at Italian and everthing at Soys is delicious. My guess is resort is around 70% full right now. The only downfall is if you want a palapa on beach you better have a butler as they are reserved by them. Getting a lounge chair wasn't a problem if you were up early. Some people reserved them the night before which shouldn't be allowed. In busy season a lounger on the beach would be a problem they need to resolve. They put the big chess set on the beach and no one uses is and they could of built 4 palapas that would have been used. Many guests from next door Sandals visit and use the beach making loungers scarcer if you don't get up early. Other than this the resort is very nice and no fear of the virus. I'll definitely be back next year.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2020
1.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
1.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Butler if you want a palapa. Ocean front is very nice in club level. I've never stayed in...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Jenny G Baptiste, Owner at Sandals Montego Bay
Responded Dec 9, 2020
Hello, We were delighted to welcome you back as our returning guest and to note that certain aspects of your stay were in line with your expectations based on your established Sandals experiences. We appreciate you taking the time to highlight our cleanliness protocols and staff members who went above and beyond to make your stay extra special. We look forward to welcoming you back soon to any of our Resorts, we hope to be able to garner only the highest praises from you.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
163suzanne wrote a review Mar 2020
Aughton, United Kingdom
3.0 of 5 bubbles
We have just returned from our 3rd Sandals holiday, previously having been to Barbados Royal and Grenada. This Jamaican Resort ,despite its beautiful grounds and our fabulous room did not come up to our expectations.
For a start the noise from the aircraft taking off all day took some getting used to, as the resort is right next door to the airport.
Secondly there was no large communal pool to relax around. If you were not in a swim up pool room and you could not find a lounger on the beach you were stuck.
Next we were very disappointed with the variety of food served in the buffet breakfast and lunchtime restaurant, namely the Bayside Restaurant. There was no way that the food quality or variety was any way near that of the other Sandals resorts we have stayed in.
If you were of a certain age and not American or Canadian you would find yourself very much in the minority.
Finally the entertainment at night was poor with no outside entertainers employed such as steel bands.
On the positive side, the swim up honeymoon suites at the quieter end of the resort were beautiful, large, contemporary with large baths, showers and living rooms. Their position on the beach was lovely but the only downside being the patio was in the shade all day.
The staff around the resort were all very friendly and courteous and could not do enough for you.
The food and service in all the Gourmet restaurants was very good and we ate in them all. If you prefer to eat latish around 8`clock there is no problem booking a table.
We decided to pay extra and have the services of the butlers. Our two butlers Danesha and Asha helped make our stay more enjoyable by reserving our sun loungers on the beach and around our swim up room. They were very professional, pleasant, friendly and amenable. The day of my husbands birthday Danesha made it a very special day for him, for which we were very grateful for.
If you fancy a change of scene you can take the free Shuttle bus to Sandals Plantation Resort where you can spend time, and eat in the restaurants. We chose the French Restaurant which was very good.
If you are young and require a lively holiday this resort in Jamaica is for you.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Rooms with a swim up lagoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Nadel B, Online Review Coordinator at Sandals Montego Bay
Responded Mar 11, 2020
Hello and thank you for your review of Sandals Montego Bay. We do trust that you will understand that there are some situations over which we have no control, such as the aircraft flying in the vicinity of our resort. Although being conveniently located near the airport means our guests can start their fabulous vacation a lot sooner, we regret if you felt the aircraft's flight path posed an inconvenience and if you were not pre-advised of our close proximity to the airport. We are also cognizant of the fact that Food & Beverage is an important component in our vacation package and the culinary experience is one of the memories that our guests do not forget. Any inconsistency in meal quality expressed is noted with a view to improvement as we continue in our stride for perfection and maintenance of our high standards. It also comes as a surprise to hear that you found the resort to be a bit mundane, as Sandals Montego Bay is known for its vibrancy and we have also received much great feedback on our entertainment. Nonetheless, we will share your sentiments with our team, as we understand that there is always room for improvement. At every step of the way our team remains dedicated to providing first-class standards of service, and as such we apologize for any inconsistency. Nonetheless we respect all of the opinions you have expressed and your sentiments have been duly noted for future consideration. We are pleased to see that there were other areas of your trip that you enjoyed and, should you choose to visit another one of our resorts in the future, we would certainly welcome an opportunity to have you as a guest again for an even better vacation experience.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
travelnow9876 wrote a review Apr 2021
boston
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed at SMB the first week of April. We have over 30 years of tropical travel experience. This week at the resort left us feeling slighted of a vacation. After not getting the top floor of the room category we requested things only got worse from there. (we booked this trip 14 months prior and it was our 5th time to a Sandals???!!!) We realize requests are not guaranteed, but loyalty is Sandals slogan!! (come on now) . They tried to move us to a top floor room at the far end of the building which only insulted us further because it overlooked the parking lot, airport and a large construction project. (what a joke) Needless to say we declined this room and stayed in the original room, which was next door to the designated room for all resort guests being tested for COVID. Next, we are early risers and never thought getting a beach chair would be an issue/boy were we wrong. The butlers would be out on the beach the night before and super early mornings (@530 am) throwing multiple towels on as many chairs as possible to reserve for their assigned guests. (let me add that we are low maintenance guests - just like to beach it / hang by the pool, walk the beach and read our book) We were forced to "stress" about getting out onto the beach early and still never got a good position on the beach. During our stay I overheard several guests complaining to staff about this beach chair problem. People's trash, empty plates and cups and old towels were constantly everywhere. It just seemed that every move we made was met with resistance - we sat down for lunch and the first words out of the servers mouth were "the food is going to take a while because a lot of people just ordered" - there were not enough servers at breakfast. (the buffet was not self serve) the food selection was at about 40%. There was a lack of bottled water/ constantly having to ask for more rather than give us a few extra. To sum it up the staff here have no issues with saying NO! We do have to give a shout out to Latoni in the coffee shop. She was a 5 STAR staff member. She went above and beyond. Christopher did his best checking on us to soothe the sour taste of this trip. We went into this trip thinking we would book Sandals Bahamas for next year, but we are not booking a Sandals ever again unless we are made aware of Sandals making some serious positive changes.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
2.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Jenny G Baptiste, Owner at Sandals Montego Bay
Responded Apr 20, 2021
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. It is disconcerting to note despite our best efforts you did not thoroughly enjoy your stay. What you described certainly does not meet the Sandals standard. Thank you for bringing these to our attention. We have notified all relevant Department Heads for remedial action to be taken, such that we are confident no future repetition will occur. We trust that in time, you may allow us to host you again.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Matthew wrote a review Jun 2020
Charlotte, North Carolina
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Hello! Me mad my wife booked this trip June 16th through June 20th originally in Ocho Rios but due to COVID only Montego Bay was open. Prior to arrival we had to get approval from Jamaica agreeing to C-19 testing and staying on resort property.
So anyway we got through the airport and were briskly picked up by a Sandals car and driven straight to the resort. Driver was cool can’t remember his name but good guy!
Upon our arrival as we got out of the car we were greeted by the entire staff with music playing, everyone singing and dancing offering champagne. I’ve never felt more welcome!We later learned we were the first guests or something to get there period since March so they were as excited to see us as we were to see them!
During that we were met by Mel and Carl and they introduced themselves as our butters and swiftly guided us to our rooms while giving us a short tour on the way!So after that we started to enjoy the property and we had lunch at the jerk shack and proceeded to the pool bar where we met Andrew AKA protocol “because they all had to where masks“and Romario! Became our two favorite bartenders for the remainder of the trip!
Mel and Carl together set up reservations
for our entire stay and modified it as requested if needed! Carl and Mel also went above and beyond to make our experience special as we were nearing our 11th anniversary! Carl set our room up twice with towels turned into swans with happy anniversary on our bed, champagne on ice, and drew us a bath with flowers petals in it , and blocked off our balcony with curtains for privacy!! Very romantic!
My wife happened to mention to Mel one night that she was a little sad that we couldn’t get true Jamaican food on site such as oxtail and curry goat etc. Mel said give me a minute and came back saying that one of the chefs named Vernon would make us both oxtails for lunch the very next day and that she would bring it to us at the pool or wherever at 1:30. Wow was that the best lunch! Perfectly seasoned!
We are a bit of a foodie family and was totally impressed with the food quality at all restaurants from Italian to French to wok style Asian! The chef Keiva at the Butchs came out to meet with us twice when we had a question! Super cool
Spa was outstanding both hats off to Joella and Cornelia!! Great jobs!
We have a traveled a lot and I mean a lot and we will definitely revisit Sandals in the future!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: June 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from ShawnRedhead, Online Review Coordinator at Sandals Montego Bay
Responded Jun 23, 2020
Hello and thank you for taking the time to share your review of Sandals Montego Bay. We were very happy to read your review as it seems we were successful in our endeavor to provide you with an unforgettable vacation, filled with memories that you will cherish for years to come. We remain dedicated to offering a service where we go above and beyond for our guests and we very much appreciate your positive words. We look forward to hosting you again in the near future.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Russell F wrote a review Jul 2020
Maryville, Tennessee
+1
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Everyone is friendly and speaks when they pass you no matter where you are. We stayed in room 615 a 2nd floor room behind the volleyball court, the room was updated, clean, spacious & comfortable with plenty of water pressure in the shower. The best places to eat for us was Butch's and Tokyo Jo's for Dinner & Bayside buffet for breakfast. Make sure you make reservations when you arrive for dinner because pretty much everything requires it because of covid 19 no matter what it says Online or on the App & we were told cutoff time to make reservations was 4:00 p.m.

With covid it seems they have removed some of the chairs from the beach for social distancing so it's not easy finding a chair. The 1st morning we were there I watched the butlers from my balcony saving all the chairs so we went down to look for some at 7 a.m. walked the beach and found a total of 2 chairs that weren't taken, after that we got up at 5:45 a.m. and went out to make sure we could get chairs for the day. Hated not being able to sleep in a little while on vacation.

Pools are small!

They do a good job keeping things cleaned and sanitized, they are constantly cleaning & having you sanitize your hands before you enter any restaurant or store, they sanitize the beach chairs daily and all of the water sports equipment after each use.

We enjoyed our trip but I'm not sure it's worth the price you pay for it, we have stayed at other all inclusive resorts that we've liked better.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: 2nd or 3rd floor rooms for better view they have trees and shade umbrella's that will block...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Shawn Redhead, Owner at Sandals Montego Bay
Responded Jul 16, 2020
Hello and thank you for sharing your review of Sandals Montego Bay. While we are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay overall, it is disheartening to see that there may have been some areas that you were not completely satisfied with. Your input is very important to us and assists us with perfecting our service and product. We remain dedicated to offering a service where we go above and beyond for our guests, ensuring that the memories attained will leave a smile on every face. Your review is greatly appreciated and we do hope that we will be welcoming you back to one of our resorts in the future.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
samantha m wrote a review Feb 2021
Glendale, Arizona
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We came to Sandals Montego Bay to celebrate my aunt's wedding. We were helped by a lot of attentive staff members, including Karen who we got to see multiple times throughout the trip. Rajeesh came to entertain us for a game night after the wedding, and he made sure we were having a good time every time he saw us. We were served multiple times by Dadra, who was super sweet and always came to say hi if she saw us walking. Anthony served us when we ate at the Cucina Romana for dinner, and gave very tasty recommendations for the food. Baggio helped us a lot when we would go to the Bayside, and he also helped us with some other things around the resort, like when we needed directions. We got to enjoy delicious drinks made by Ceressa and Rayon. "Sunshine" and "Midnight" were very helpful servers at Butch's, where I felt like I ate a mountain of food. There were a lot more staff members that were extremely helpful and did everything they could to make sure we had a good time. We were able to travel to the other resort (Sandals Royal Caribbean) for a couple of meals as well. I only have 2 complaints about our stay. The first would be that we could not seem to track down housekeeping or a concierge to bring us towels/robes/soaps on the last day we were there. We had left a note since 2 nights before we were going to leave, and were unable to shower until the morning of departure since we could not get ahold of anybody the night before. My other complaint would be that the resort does not seem to have all of the information about the scuba certifications. It says online that you can get certified at the resort, we spent the first 3 days in the room doing the online portion (that we paid for) and when we went to schedule our practical exam, they said it would be another $450 per person, but we had been told on the phone there would be no extra cost. The resort should have that information readily available for when customers call so we can plan accordingly.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: January 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Jenny G Baptiste, Owner at Sandals Montego Bay
Responded Feb 10, 2021
Thank you for sharing your feedback regarding some of our staff members at Sandals Montego Bay. We always want our guests to have an incredible time staying with us. It is satisfying to know the warm spirit of our staff truly made an enormous impact on your experience. We are more than happy to give all due recognition to those individuals whose outstanding service shines the brightest. It was tremendously gracious of you to take the time to highlight them. They will be thrilled to know how impressed you were with their efforts. We sincerely appreciate your many kind remarks and look forward to welcoming you back to our resort again soon for another unforgettable vacation at Sandals.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
bassaidai88 wrote a review Jul 2020
Hagerstown, Maryland
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Originally scheduled for Royal Barbados, we moved to Montego Bay due to Jamaica providing a firm opening date. We were not disappointed. The resort is literally next door to the airport and the private BMW transfer takes mere minutes. The Club level check in went smoothly and the staff all wear masks but guests are not required to wear masks. Hand sanitizer is everywhere and you are expected to use prior to entering rooms. The beach has nice sand and the waters are clear. Best of all there are no vendors or any non-resort people on the beach because there is no public access to the beach. That makes beach time peaceful. Some resort highlights are Latitudes over the water bar with the A-team of Rajiv and Sashana. They mix drinks right the first time every time. We got sloppy drinks elsewhere...either mixed poorly or not what we ordered. Soy is excellent. The manager Roberto is welcoming and Danika was so happy to see us. She made us feel so welcome. Asheka is also a great server. We went 3 times to Soy. Lunch as Bayside is also quite good. It is buffet style but they serve you. The shrimp alfredo that they made is superior to the lasagna at Cucina in my opinion.Do not order the scallops at Butches; they are like rubber. Do order the prime rib and we heard the lamb is good. If you get a massage, then I would recommend either Verona or Odane. Verona knows how to work a guy over. The loyalty guest dinner was by far the best dinner of the week with beef tenderloin and lobster tail. In the morning you can see lion fish around the rocks at Latitude. Yes, jets do fly over the resort but it isn't bad at all. It is actually cool to see. Overall it was a great vacation and we would go back to this property and the smiling staff even though you couldn't see their smiles behind the masks.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: You can hear the ocean from the almonds building
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Shawn Redhead, Owner at Sandals Montego Bay
Responded Jul 12, 2020
Hello and thank you for taking the time to share your review of Sandals Montego Bay. We were very happy to read your review as it seems we were successful in our endeavor to provide you with an unforgettable vacation, filled with memories that you will cherish for years to come. We remain dedicated to offering a service where we go above and beyond for our guests and we very much appreciate your positive words. We look forward to hosting you again in the near future.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Michelle R wrote a review Oct 2020
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We had to jump thru hoops to get everything done to go here and it was well worth it. Did our testing and sent all the paperwork in and the day before we were supposed to leave, we still hadn't gotten the thumbs up from the Jamaican Government. Located Heather at the Jamaican Tourist Board and she got us approved within an hour. Here is her email address just in case you have the same issue. hbeckno@visitjamaica.com. NOW WE ARE ALL SET TO GO. First, spend the money to do the MoBay Club. It is $80 per person but it will save you hours once you land and you won't be waiting in a long line to get thru the health checks and immigration. Well worth the money! The resort was gorgeous and the staff was very happy and helpful. We had 2 butlers, Aaron and Toniann, and stayed in room 111. This room was a corner room on the 1st level that walked out into the pool. Wasn't a private pool but was only shared with maybe 8 other couples. The views from this room at sunset were breathtaking. Never have had a butler before so that was definitely a nice treat. They do all your reservations, get your chairs/towels/floats/cooler at the beach every morning, and give you a cell phone to call if you need ANYTHING. We are tequila drinkers and Aaron made sure we always had a bottle in our room. Both were always attentive and would make sure you had everything you needed. The entertainment on the beach was always fun. Mostly you have couples that are celebrating their honeymoons, anniversaries, birthdays, or came in to attend a wedding. We enjoy our time so much here that we already booked our next trip to South Coast next year. Shout outs to the best butlers - Toniann and Aaron, Petagay (beach bar), Shinka (cabana butler who worked her butt off in the heat with a mask), Ricardo (photographer), Patrick & Hutchinson (took us out on a private ski boat trip to go snorkeling and to Margaritaville for lunch with a quick stop at a store in town) and Frank (our waiter at Butches). I have not one complaint about this resort and would encourage anyone who reads the negative stuff is that sometimes it is hard to please everyone. Hand sanitizer was used before going into any restaurant and was available at every bar we went to. At the spa, they even took your temperature before you had your service. The 90-minute massage was wonderful. Sandals is very serious about keeping everyone healthy! Also, I've seen people complain about the planes. I actually enjoyed seeing them and within 5 seconds they were gone. I would definitely recommend this location for travel. Enjoy!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Shawn Redhead, Owner at Sandals Montego Bay
Responded Oct 25, 2020
Hello and thank you for taking the time to share your review of Sandals Montego Bay. We were very happy to read your review as it seems we were successful in our endeavor to provide you with an unforgettable vacation, filled with memories that you will cherish for years to come. We remain dedicated to offering a service where we go above and beyond for our guests and we very much appreciate your positive words. We look forward to hosting you again in the near future.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Answer from closetjamaican
Worcester, Massachusetts26 contributions106 helpful votes
Paul R is correct. Millionaire Suites are in a great building but the only restaurant nearby is the Jerk Shack and is only open during the day. You will need to walk behind the Palms Building for Butch’s and Soy and to the lobby for all of the rest. There are no chairs to rest along the path. I haven’t seen any golf carts being used. We met a man who had rented a scooter and had it waiting for him at the resort. Great resort though and the footprint is fairly small and flat. Wishing you the best
Jon H asked a question May 2024
7 contributions
Can you snorkel off the beach at this resort?
Answer from Bob T
Surprise, Arizona3 contributions
It was on Tuesday.
Answer from Bob T
Surprise, Arizona3 contributions
The rooms we stayed in for 2 previous stays had no mold or mustiness issues.
Answer from ScribCincinnati
Fairfield, Ohio70 contributions68 helpful votes
That I do not know.
Liquorman58 wrote a tip Jul 14
Fairview Heights, Illinois24 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"The piano bar pool is where the music is. Small but ok "
Read full review
shirley e wrote a tip Jul 10
Lawrenceville, Georgia19 contributions7 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Keep in mind this property is located behind Montego Bay airport. Very little noise in your room. Some construction on one of restaurant. "
Read full review
LibraLady1059 wrote a tip Jul 10
Atlanta, Georgia2 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"The whirlpool jets did not provide the level of strength or force I am accustomed to. "
Read full review
hindscpa wrote a tip Jun 2024
Merritt Island, Florida62 contributions62 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Everything here is all inclusive so take advantage of all they have to offer."
Read full review
Neeley A wrote a tip Jun 2024
Cullman, Alabama8 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"The cabanas are first come so get up early to get the ones with the best views."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Montego Bay area.
PRICE RANGE
C$960 - C$1,351 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
sandals montego bay hotel montego bay, sandals hotel montego bay, montego bay sandals hotel
LOCATION
CaribbeanJamaicaSaint James ParishMontego Bay
NUMBER OF ROOMS
272
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Sandals Montego Bay - UPDATED 2024 Prices, Reviews & Photos

Frequently Asked Questions about Sandals Montego Bay
Which popular attractions are close to Sandals Montego Bay?
Nearby attractions include Beanland Tours (7.3 km), Fantasy Tours Jamaica (5.8 km), and Uton's Private Tours (5.7 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Sandals Montego Bay?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a swimup bar, free breakfast, and a pool.
What food & drink options are available at Sandals Montego Bay?
Guests can enjoy a swimup bar, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant during their stay.
What are some restaurants close to Sandals Montego Bay?
Conveniently located restaurants include Sugar Mill, Mystic India, and Juici Patties.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Sandals Montego Bay?
Yes, guests have access to a pool, a fitness centre, and a sauna during their stay.
Does Sandals Montego Bay have an airport shuttle?
Yes, Sandals Montego Bay offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Does Sandals Montego Bay have airport transportation?
Yes, Sandals Montego Bay offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Sandals Montego Bay?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Sandals Montego Bay offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Are there any historical sites close to Sandals Montego Bay?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Barnett Estate Plantation (4.7 km) and The Cage (2.4 km).
Does Sandals Montego Bay have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the harbour view available here.
All Montego Bay HotelsMontego Bay Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in Montego Bay
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars