We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Sunset at the Palms

Norman Manley Blvd, Negril Jamaica
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Lowest prices for your stay
View deal
Free cancellation until 21-08-29
View all 17 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (5164)
Pool & Beach (1259)
Room & Suite (987)
What is Travellers’ Choice Best of the Best?
This award is our highest recognition and is presented annually to those businesses that are the Best of the Best on Tripadvisor, those that earn excellent reviews from travellers and are ranked in the top 1% of properties worldwide.
Learn more
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitised in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
Read more
Updated 20-08-18 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Sunset at the Palms
Updated 20-08-18 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.


#10 of 83 hotels in Negril
2021 Travellers' Choice Best of the Best
A great spot for romantics or a destination wedding. Nestled amongst tropical gardens and flowering plants at the edge of Negril, this unique all-inclusive gem is best described as intimate, chic and serene. The resort offers 85 "tree-house-style," elegantly appointed guestrooms on ten-acres of lush landscaping, a design praised by Architectural Digest. Melt away with a soothing spa service in our unique treatment garden, cool off at the swim-up bar with a tropical drink or "chill" at the resort's five beachfront acres and two miles of white sand beach, just steps away. When dining is on the menu, you'll enjoy both international and authentic Jamaican cuisine at four restaurants and bars.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free internet
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Taxi service
Secured parking
Hot bath
Pool / beach towels
Adult pool
Outdoor pool
Bar / lounge
Coffee shop
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary instant cofffee
Complimentary tea
Complimentary welcome drink
Outdoor dining area
Snack bar
Special diet menus
Wine / champagne
Swimup bar
Poolside bar
Water sport equipment rentals
Evening entertainment
Table tennis
Body wrap
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Foot massage
Full body massage
Head massage
Makeup services
Adults only
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Convenience store
Currency exchange
Gift shop
Outdoor furniture
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
Sun umbrellas
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Private beach
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Walk-in shower
Private balcony
Room service
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Private bathrooms
Flatscreen TV
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
Languages Spoken
English, French, Spanish
3538Reviews693Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 2,558
  • 694
  • 182
  • 72
  • 33
Time of year
Traveller type
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Claudia Sankar wrote a review Yesterday
Bronx, New York1 contribution
We just came back from celebrating our wedding anniversary and let me tell you, it exceeded our expectations. From the moment we stepped out of the plane with the VIP Fast Track Club Mobay at the airport, to the transportation (big shout out to Wayne from Rockys Tours) to the excellent attention and welcome at the hotel. The hotel staff was nothing short than amazing! From housekeeping to the cross guard. Thanks a million guys for the exceptional experience, attention to detail and terrific food. The concierge services had our itinerary ready for us when we got there all the way through to taking us to get covid tested before our departure. Thank you Mr. Patrick Lindsay from Butler Services for making us feel comfortable and welcome all the time. Your attention to detail and your friendliness are amazing. We are already planning to go back! Thank you guys! The Sankars
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: With good planning everything will run smoothly. Jamaican people are the most friendly.
See more room tips
Tash wrote a review Jul. 26
Las Vegas, Nevada40 contributions4 helpful votes
Celebrated my birthday here 7/9-7/15. First the property is very well kept. The landscape walking to and from our room was simply beautiful! Our room was very clean and comfortable. However we constantly had an issue with getting hot water, and noticed our room 411 had the smallest hot water heater in comparison to the other rooms. There was no soda or beer stocked in the frig besides a few bottles of water that initially came in the room so we had to constantly get drinks and water from the bar. My biggest disappointment was w the food. They have 2 restaurants which in reality really felt like one as most nights our only choice was their main restaurant which became very repetitive for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Their 2nd restaurant, the lotus ( their formal dining room) was only open on certain nights and eating there was set up by the staff who checked us in. After talking to other guests we had all only been scheduled to eat there once during our stay. I was very disappointed in the Caribbean options available. We found ourselves eating off property a few nights after going by the restaurant and seeing pretty much the SAME food options. The entertainment on the property was limited to karaoke which was pretty cool and a guy playing the piano the other night. The servers seem robotic most days in taking your order and dropping off your food was the existent of our interaction w them, with the exception of Alicia who was very personable both at the coffee bar and main restaurant. The beach was well kept and getting set up w/ a place to sit was never an issue as there was always someone to greet you right away and get you setup w seating. The food at the beach was just ok and I found it weird they were constantly out of fries or would have burgers but no cheese, it was always something they didn’t have lol but for the most part everyone at the beach ( lifeguards, security and bartenders) were really nice. Overall, it was just an ok stay.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Tangie719 wrote a review Jul. 24
Raleigh, North Carolina65 contributions24 helpful votes
Nothing short of Amazing. From the time we stepped out of the cab we were greeted with a Welcome home and Water and really really amazing cookies. Stephon was amazing all week long. The front office Staff Daniella, Nadine (Wedding Planner and much more) and the other ladies are all great and will help with anything. The Bartenders Pool Damion Master at his job, Kerry with the beautiful Dimples and that Bob Marley shot., (you have been warned) Carson soft spoken and super friendly Rashawn at the Beach, just walk up and say shots shot shot, he likes that, it makes him happy to see you happy and Esroy at the Martini Bar, great Martinis! The food was amazing we enjoyed it all. The greens (Callaoo), seafood night, and Jamaican Night. Yumm. The sandwiches left out at night so you can soak up the alcohol if you need that late night snack. Claudette with the Jiggy coffee in the am. Shout out to her. And all the grounds keepers for the beautiful grounds. All the plants and trees are beautiful. If you need a cab ask for Omar or Manner they will get you there safely and on time. And the girls at the Spa were amazing. Shaba no and Brenda. My Birthday was amazing and I met new friends along the way. Great place to stay.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Travelled with friends
Room Tip: Pack light
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote
Response from Kamarla Simms, General Manager at Sunset at the Palms
Responded 5 days ago
Congratulations once again on getting married! Thank you for taking the time out to share your experience with us on Trip Advisor. We are delighted we could make your vacation an awesome one. I will share your review with all the highlighted team members that made sure your stay was a perfect one. Looking forward to hosting you once again.
Read more
Jon R wrote a review Jul. 20
Springfield, Oregon336 contributions50 helpful votes
My wife and I were married 07/10 and stayed at this wonderful resort from 07/11 - 07/18 and we were glad we chose SatP! First, our room. We had requested as private as a room as we could get and the first night it wasn't available but would be for the rest of our trip. So, we stayed in a nice room (502) our first night and then stayed in 404 for the rest of our trip. The room was nice (sure, a little dated but with Covid who is throwing money into small improvements?), clean and most importantly the AC was top notch! Our lanai overlooked the field where Betty and the other goats were kept so we had jungle and goat views which we enjoyed immensely! The bed was a nice king bed, firm but not too firm and the bedding was nice and fresh. The concierge staff was very attentive and Iesha was our main concierge contact. She was awesome and friendly at all times. She and the rest of the concierge staff were great and took very good care of our needs and requests during our stay. Most of the rest of the hotel staff were pretty great as well. The cleaning staff was friendly and reset the room anytime we asked them to. The only thing they could have done better was restocking the water in our fridge. I had to request it at the front desk several times, which was unexpected because the high heat should keep them reminded to keep us hydrated! Bar staff was fun and friendly. One of our favorites was Rasheem, he had jokes and shots which made him a favorite for drinking at the pool bar after dinner. Most of the bar staff moves between the beach or the pool bar so you'll find him at different spots at different times, but he'll always take care of you guys! The most fun and funniest thing about the staff is that EVERYONE thought I was famous wrestler (because of my large, red beard) the first few days. I had to convince staff that I wasn't someone famous hiding behind a fake name, this actually worked in my favor as they were all convinced they were helping a famous person so I had some great service! The beach was kept super clean, my only complaint is that we had to cross a super busy street to get to the beach. The resort has a crossing guard to help so I really couldn't complain too much about having to walk 100 yards to the beach. With a bar right there is wasn't like we had to go back to the resort for drinks so no real complaints. Having all of the non-motorized water sports was a blast! Coming from Oregon we can't play in our oceans so kayaking in the ocean was super fun and an experience I will treasure forever! Thank you so much to the Sunset staff and management for making our honeymoon so awesome!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021
Room Tip: Quite hotel compared to the rest of the larger resorts, perfect for couples looking for privacy!
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote
Response from Kamarla Simms, General Manager at Sunset at the Palms
Responded 5 days ago
Thank you for taking the time out to share your experience with us on Trip Advisor. We are delighted we could make your vacation an awesome one. I will share your review with all the highlighted team members that made sure your stay was a perfect one. Looking forward to hosting you once again.
Read more
Cam wrote a review Jul. 16
1 contribution
The resort is beautiful. The people who work there were so nice and helpful, they did everything to make the stay wonderful. We had several things come up during the visit that were challenging and you should know about it before booking a stay. I felt the website was misleading. They discuss a buffet, a stocked fridge and WiFi as part of the visit. I know COVID-19 has changed somethings they have to do but we are a year and half plus into the pandemic and the website could have been updated to include the information that there is no longer a stocked fridge, just some bottles of water in it upon your arrival. Also that there is no buffet and the choices for dinner are limited and very repetitive, although the food is good. The breakfast changed onetime during our week long stay and it was basically the same except French toast changed to pancakes. The Wifi was unavailable for the first two days of our stay but was restored but was still spotty depending upon where you were on the resort. If you are going to get away and just relax this is the resort you are looking for. The night life is a piano player for an hour plus three days a week, karaoke 2 days a week and then outside live entertainment the other two nights. They all lasted a little over an hour. We were told it was because of a curfew, but heard some other things from the entertainers. The bartenders were great and provided an excellent service. However, the majority of the liquor tasted watered down, except for the rum, even if you had something "neat". Often times there was no Redstripe on drat and we were stuck with drinking Redstripe from the can. Not what I expect from an all-inclusive resort. They ran out of a number of things including straws for 4 days. On several occasions you would ask for something on the menu, whether it was breakfast, lunch, or dinner and they would be out of it. They had no decafe coffee for 2 days as well. The mosquitoes were really bad at night especially where you eat at the Palm. Take lots of bug spray with you or be prepared to scratch. The treehouse experience was a different type of resort and it was nice. We enjoyed the peace and tranquility, but if you have been to other all inclusive if you will have to have a way different mindset from your previous experiences. Finally you have to pay $50 US dollars a person for a COVID test in order to leave Jamaica plus $5 round trip in the taxi to get the test. I understand the resort has nothing to do with having to be tested, but the fact that an expense of an additional $110 dollars was told to us upfront or on the website was very disappointing. I know of others who have traveled to other countries and resorts and were not charged for the testing. I am not saying you shouldn't go, but what I am saying is be prepared for what I shared above and know I have had better value at other resorts for the same or close to the same amount of money.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021
Sleep Quality
Response from Kamarla Simms, General Manager at Sunset at the Palms
Responded 5 days ago
Thank you for taking the time out to share your experience with us on Trip Advisor. We are delighted we could make your vacation an awesome one. We have acknowledged all highlighted points. Looking forward to hosting you once again.
Read more
US$260 - US$566 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
sunset at the palms hotel negril, sunset at the palms negril, sunset palms jamaica, sunset palms negril, sunset at the palms resort
CaribbeanJamaicaWestmoreland ParishNegril
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Sunset at the Palms
Which popular attractions are close to Sunset at the Palms?
Nearby attractions include Seven Mile Beach (4.9 km), Bloody Bay (0.2 km), and Mary, Gate of Heaven Catholic Church (5.6 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Sunset at the Palms?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a swimup bar, free breakfast, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at Sunset at the Palms?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Sunset at the Palms?
Guests can enjoy a swimup bar, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant during their stay.
Is parking available at Sunset at the Palms?
Yes, free parking and secured parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Sunset at the Palms?
Conveniently located restaurants include Fireman's Lobster Pit, Office of Nature, and Rasta Ade Refreshments.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Sunset at the Palms?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness centre during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Sunset at the Palms?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Sunset at the Palms?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, and French.