We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Idle Awhile The Beach

Show Prices
#19 of 84 Hotels in Negril
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
Idle Awhile The Beach
Idle Awhile The Beach
Panoramas (2)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

372 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 367: English reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Excellent location on 7 Mile Beach. Small, exquisite stretch of sand. Nice quiet bar/restaurant. Live reggae one night. Very nice, modern rooms. Helpful, friendly staff. Only gripe was spotty wi-fi. Other than that, just about perfect!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank NJerzy
Kerry Ann S, Director of Sales at Idle Awhile The Beach, responded to this review

Dear NJerzy, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience of your time spent here with us at Idle Awhile Beach. We apologize about the spotty wi-fi. We look forward to seeing you again on your next visit. Kind regards, Kerry-Ann

Blacksburg, Virginia
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We had to book at Idle Awhile because our original lodgings didn't have openings for the second half of our trip. Idle is a small intimate hotel which is nice if you're looking to stay away from large super resorts. The staff is polite but not as fun and engaging as other places I've stayed in Negril. I booked an...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank EmilyCaribeLover
Kerry Ann S, Director of Sales at Idle Awhile The Beach, responded to this review

Dear Emily, We appreciate you staying with us at Idle Awhile. We do apologize for not fully meeting your expectations. In regards to your discomfort with the mosquitoes, just want to advise you that we have periodic fogging of the property in an effort to minimize the mosquitoes. But as with any location in the tropics we cannot completely get...

Alexandria, Virginia
Reviewed 5 December 2016

Friendly staff, spacious rooms, fantastic beach, great location with great chicken (Best of the West) on street nearby, the best beach loungers and towels without being at an all inclusive, try the pumpkin soup at their restaurant, tasty rum punches! Very popular during the busy seasons at this small resort- any room is fine! It's about the beach!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Rick P
Kerry Ann S, Director of Sales at Idle Awhile The Beach, responded to this review

Dear Ricky P, Wow! We appreciate you taking the time to write a review on your time spent with us at Idle Awhile. Thank you for sharing your comments on our rooms, beach lounge, towels, soup and beach. See you on your next visit!!! One Love from the Idle Awhile Family. Kerry

Reviewed 3 December 2016 via mobile

By far my favorite hotel . It is a slice of paradise . The rooms are clean with zen vibe . The beach is intimate and friendly , along with the staff. This is my go to place every year , been here 5 times already. Will be back next year.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Julie G
Kerry Ann S, Director of Sales at Idle Awhile The Beach, responded to this review

Dear Julie, Thank you for your loyalty to Idle Awhile Beach. We appreciate you sharing a review of your time spent with us. We always look forward to your return. See you next year! One Love from the Idle Awhile Family. Kerry-Ann

England
Reviewed 17 November 2016

Outstanding location right in the heart of seven mile beach with great access to all the beach has to offer but at the same time a peaceful little hideaway. Rooms are neat and perfectly functional, lovely big beds with good mattress. Staff are helpful and attentive without being pushy, made some great recommendations for local dining and trips. On site...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank SparklehorseEngland
Kerry Ann S, Director of Sales at Idle Awhile The Beach, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for sharing your review of your time spent at Idle Awhile Beach. We are appreciative of your comments on our rooms, beach and our staff. We look forward in welcoming you back again soon. Regards, Kerry-Ann

Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewed 12 November 2016 via mobile

Beyond all expectations, beautiful natural setting , and that's before you get to the beach. Impeccable rooms, clean and fresh, open air rooms fitting for the cool Negril breeze. But the best part about Idle Awhile is the people!! Attentive to details, and above and beyond approach to guests needs. Trust me , travel the world but if in Jamaica...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Patrice B
Kerry Ann S, Director of Sales at Idle Awhile The Beach, responded to this review

Dear Patrice, We appreciate you sharing your review of your time spent with Idle Awhile with the Trip Advisor family. Thank you for your recommendation and for your comments made on our rooms and our staff. We look forward to welcoming you home on your next trip to Idle Awhile. One Love from the Idle Awhile Family. Kerry-Ann

Exeter, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 November 2016

My wife and I with our son and his fiancee recently spent a short break at Idle Awhile. What a superb choice. We had a suite which was enormous. Bedroom, bathroom, living room, kitchen and terrace. A short walk took us to the bar/restaurant and the beach. A good menu and drinks.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank archie j
Kerry Ann S, Director of Sales at Idle Awhile The Beach, responded to this review

Dear Archie & Pat, Thanking you for taking your family to stay with us at Idle Awhile. We appreciate your review on our property and for sharing details of our suites. Again I thank you and we look forward welcoming you home on your next visit. Warm regards, Kerry- Ann

Memphis, Tennessee
Reviewed 2 November 2016

We loved our room, right up front on the 2nd floor. It had a vintage island vibe, with a huge patio, Master BR, Living area that included a daybed type lounger, as well as a full kitchen. It was more space than my husband and I needed, which proved to be a boon on the one rainy afternoon we spent...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kimble4020
Kerry Ann S, Director of Sales at Idle Awhile The Beach, responded to this review

Dear Kimble4020, Thank you for taking the time to write your review of your time spent with us at Idle Awhile Beach. We appreciate you telling the Trip Advisor family on the unique features of your accommodation. And also for recommending our property. We look forward to welcoming you home on your next trip. Warm regards, Kerry-Ann

Reviewed 30 October 2016 via mobile

This small boutique hotel was excellent. The rooms were perfect size with a nice patio for afternoon cocktails. The beach space and was small and but extremely nice, Gorgeous calm water. My only complaint are the other guests. It seemed like they had been going their for years and 'owned the beach chairs'. They always sat in the same spot...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Pam D
Kerry Ann S, Director of Sales at Idle Awhile The Beach, responded to this review

Dear Pam, We appreciate you sharing your review of your time spent with us at Idle Awhile Beach. You manage to capture the calm relaxing atmosphere of Idle Awhile. We apologize for the experience you encounter with other guest staying at the resort. We are however happy that this did not ruin your stay and look forward to seeing you...

Reviewed 28 October 2016

I hate to write this review because I want to keep Idle Awhile The Beach a secret. It is just the perfect getaway. We find ourselves pulled back each year for an extended R&R vacation. Don't go there if you want action, activities and noise. Go there for a break from the world, the beach, the ocean and the sunsets....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Henry Y
Kerry Ann S, Director of Sales at Idle Awhile The Beach, responded to this review

Dear Henry, Thank you for sharing your review with the Trip Advisor family and not keeping it a secret. We are especially thrilled that you shared information on the ambiance of Idle Awhile. We look forward to welcoming you home each year. See you soon... Warm regards, Kerry-Ann

748 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (518)
Viewed
Dining (44)
Viewed
Room/Suite (97)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (113)
Viewed
View from Room (25)
Viewed
Bathroom (15)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (63)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (157)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (201)
Viewed
Beach (20)
Viewed
Jacuzzi (3)
Viewed
One Bedroom Suite (63)
Viewed
Dining (14)
Viewed
The Hotel (39)
Viewed
Whitehouse Suite Upper Level (62)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (29)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Negril hotels
2.8 km away
The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel
5.7 km away
Tensing Pen Resort
Tensing Pen Resort
#4 of 84 in Negril
756 reviews
0.1 km away
CocoLaPalm Resort
CocoLaPalm Resort
#14 of 84 in Negril
1,022 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Negril Tree House Resort
5.8 km away
Catcha Falling Star
Catcha Falling Star
#6 of 84 in Negril
958 reviews
1.5 km away
Beaches Negril Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Room Service
  • Concierge
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Babysitting

Additional Information about Idle Awhile The Beach

Address: Norman Manley Blvd, Negril, Jamaica
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > Negril
Price Range: $283 - $618 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Idle Awhile The Beach 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Idle Awhile The Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Idle Awhile Hotel Negril
Hotel Style:
#15 Top resorts Hotel in Negril
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Idle Awhile The Beach staff and other travellers.
20 questions
Ask a question
London, United Kingdom
Virginia Beach, Virginia
27 days ago
Tenafly, New Jersey

See all questions (20)

Questions? Get answers from Idle Awhile The Beach staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Top floor front room had vaulted ceilings and a view of the ocean through the palms.”
 of 5 bubbles Kimble4020, 2 Nov 2016 | Read review
“All the rooms on the Beach side of the property are set back from the road, so road noise is minimum.”
  • One of the lovely suites.
  • Safe haven
  • Cool and breezy Patio
  • Fresh, crisp and comfortable!
  • Comfortable suite life
  • Spacious, elegant bathroom
 of 5 bubbles maggie196127, 21 Oct 2016 | Read review
“If you want an ocean-view, ask for it. Most do not have views”
 of 5 bubbles TravelingGrandma66, 6 Oct 2016 | Read review
“The villas are truly amazing! If you're staying for a while, stay there!”
 of 5 bubbles 617rhiannac, 12 Sep 2016 | Read review
“I would recommend an upper level or ocean view room. Only reason is for this recommendation is for the privacy. .”
 of 5 bubbles eddineg2016, 8 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay