We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hosteria Del Mar

Booking.comUS$107*
View Deal
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Professional photos
Hosteria Del Mar
Hosteria Del Mar
Panoramas (5)
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

406 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Hosteria Del Mar
See the most recent reviews
Showing 355: English reviews
Reviewed 13 January 2017 via mobile

I normally don't leave reviews for anything but this place is just terrible.To begging with, the place is in a very nice spot and this is why decided to stay there, although we should have payed attention to the reviews. Service is terrible apart from few girls at the bar, the rooms are so old and need massive upgrade, the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jesus M
Elsie H, General Manager at Hosteria Del Mar, responded to this review

At Hostería del Mar we appreciate every customer opinion and encourage us to better and improve our customer service every day. Right now, we are on the process of renovating and under new management. We will take in consideration your comments and invite you to come and visit us again. Our goal is to fulfill every customer expectation. Please accept...

Reviewed 28 December 2016

Sits right at the beach. Watch the kite surfers and have a nice meal. A nice menu, great service and reasonable prices for the location! And they get extra points because later that afternoon I went to pay for coffee at another location and had left my credit card behind. A call to the restaurant confirmed they had it and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kansasrfl
Elsie H, General Manager at Hosteria Del Mar, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. At Hostería del Mar we are always striving to maintain our facilities and customer service on excellence. We hope to see you back very soon. Thank you.

Lancaster County, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 1 December 2016

On the positive side it was very clean, the staff was pleasant and accommodating. It was on the beach and the view from the deck/restaurant was beautiful. First reason I was disappointed is the listing mad it look like there would be a view from the room, instead the room had NO windows. Then at check in you are forced...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank mccord278
Elsie H, Manager at Hosteria Del Mar, responded to this review

Dear Ms. McCord, Thank you for your frank and direct feedback. We appreciate that You are highlighting certain issues, we are in the process of correcting. The listing on the website does not amplify the fact, that the room You had occupied does not have much of a view. Our premium rooms have beautiful views however that is reflected in...

Reviewed 13 November 2016 via mobile

Beautiful view, relaxing atmosphere and great food! We almost didn't come because of a bad review but our service was great and we loved the place! They have really good appetizers, burgers and entrees. The prices were good and even better that at nearby places.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Degustapr
Portland, Oregon
Reviewed 22 October 2016 via mobile

I book a room with an ocean when I arrived to check in Gladys the receptionist told me that I didn't have a oceanview room my vice call and make sure you have that Romeo ordered because they will do a room swap on you

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Levi C
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Reviewed 5 October 2016

Service was ok, restaurant was a bit pricey, although had beach view - great breakfasts.No parking, no elevator that I remember (stayed on second floor). Portion of beach in front of hotel has a sand bar/rip currents, not a good idea to go swimming right there, but you can walk a couple minutes in any direction and its fine.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank FLEOG
Reviewed 28 September 2016 via mobile

Coming home after a 4 week overseas trip and finding A blackout with no power was not a dissapointing; same baggage and onto an ocean view hotel in the neighborhood residential area Hosteria del mar in Ocean Park. Checkin and service is slow however the place is very cozy and meets the needs of a world traveler if you enjoy...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Eileen P
Elsie H, Front Office Manager at Hosteria Del Mar, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review. We apologize for not having electric service, but the power blackout was nationwide. As an eco-friendly hotel we are committed to offer our guests a peaceful and serene ambiance during their stay. Come back and stay with us during the summer where our beach is in its peak. You may enjoy the shoreline...

Toa Baja, Puerto Rico
Reviewed 7 September 2016

A little food served for $60.00 was to expensive, the mofongo with shrimp we ordered I had to clean the guts out, which was nasty and really turned me off, the place is regular not classical, has a good view of the ocean, don't have much to say about this place, I really didn't like it.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ROBERTO P
Elsie H, Front Office Manager at Hosteria Del Mar, responded to this review

At Hosteria del Mar we appreciate your feedback which is very important to us! We are very sorry your visit at our restaurant was not as expected. We are constantly reviewing our menu to meet our client's taste and preferences. Your feedback was taken in notice to improve our services. We would love to have you back as a guest...

A TripAdvisor Member
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 5 September 2016 via mobile

Bed and pillow are awful! Uncomfortable My husband and I woke with backaches headache and neck ache whole weekend.They over-sale the place while needs to update all around starting from front staff is not a warming welcome. Even they are Beachfront is like being in the public beach, they don't have beach chair or umbrella we had to sit all...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Elsie H, Front Office Manager at Hosteria Del Mar, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with others. At Hosteria del Mar we appreciate your feedback which is very important to us! We are very sorry your visit was not as expected. Since 2013 we are constantly renovating our facilities to meet our guest's needs and train our personnel to offer the best service. Our rooms...

Caguas, Puerto Rico
Reviewed 27 August 2016 via mobile

Top prime beachfront location! You can sleep with the sound of the waves! Friendly staff, in house restaurant, beach chairs and towel facilities and confortable and spacious rooms. It just steps away from the water! There's no parking in the property; you have to park on the street.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kei N
Elsie H, Front Office Manager at Hosteria Del Mar, responded to this review

Best Regards! At Hosteria del Mar we appreciate your feedback which is very important to us! We are glad you enjoyed your stay and our hotel met all of your needs. We would be happy to have you back soon. Thank you.

389 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (197)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (16)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (33)
Viewed
Room/Suite (18)
Viewed
Bathroom (12)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
Dining (13)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (97)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (170)
Viewed
Beach (14)
Viewed
King Room with Ocean Access (27)
Viewed
King Room with Ocean View (27)
Viewed
Dining (58)
Viewed
The Hotel (44)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (22)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Juan
2.7 km away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
3.2 km away
San Juan Water & Beach Club Hotel
0.9 km away
Acacia Boutique Hotel
Acacia Boutique Hotel
#30 of 46 in San Juan
620 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 km away
Caribe Hilton San Juan
Caribe Hilton San Juan
#21 of 46 in San Juan
6,887 reviews
2.0 km away
San Juan Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino
2.4 km away
La Concha Renaissance San Juan Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Hosteria del Mar is located on the beach in one of San Juan's top touristic spots. Our ocean front rooms have an unforgettable view to the sea. All rooms have air conditioners, cable TV, Mini Bars and private baths. Try our breakfast, lunch and dinner at UVVA Restaurant where you may enjoy a unique gastronomic experience of local and International cuisine. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hosteria Del Mar

Address: 1 Tapia St | Ocean Park, San Juan 00911, Puerto Rico
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Price Range: $157 - $295 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hosteria Del Mar 2.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Hosteria Del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hosteria Del Mar Hotel San Juan
Hosteria Del Mar San Juan
Hosteria Puerto Rico
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hosteria Del Mar staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question
Charlotte, North Carolina
3 months ago
Orlando, Florida
over a year ago
New Milford, Connecticut

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Hosteria Del Mar staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“only 24 rooms, most water front, but ask to be sure that you will be on the ocean view side”
MrFozzie, 27 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Avoid rooms by the front desk, since it is too close to the kitchen.”
HaroldIvan, 11 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Definitely stay on the second floor (first floor is way too loud)”
, 23 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Second floor with a balcony and kitchenette, overlooking the beach”
lautertrails, 14 Jan 2017 | Read review
“There are rooms with views to the beach - ask for one.”
FLEOG, 5 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Booking.com
US$107* /night
View Deal
HRS.comUS$119
Hotwire.comUS$106
Orbitz.comUS$106
View all 12 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates